DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shapiro et al. (10,397,751).
Regarding claim 1: Shapiro discloses location monitoring and tracking wearable device comprising: a band (51); a housing (40) including a control board (10, 20) with a plurality of electronic components; and a paired device (communications module, 16; col. 10, lines 7-22); wherein said housing storing said plurality of electronic components (Figs. 2A, 2B, 2D; col. 38, lines 11-52); wherein said housing contacts the skin of the wearer when said location monitoring and tracking wearable device is worn by a user (abstract, col. 6, lines 41-58; col. 7, lines 32-51) wherein said control board having an SOS button (help button) for sending an alert signal to said paired device when actuated (col. 52, lines 32-35, 56-65); wherein said paired device is a remote monitor unit possessed by another individual remote from said location monitoring and tracking wearable device; wherein said another individual is selected from the group consisting of a parent, a guardian, and a caretaker (col. 5, lines 38-44); and further wherein said remote monitor unit monitoring a location and tracking signal from said location monitoring and tracking wearable device (col. 8, lines 18-67).
Regarding claim 2: Shapiro discloses the remote monitor unit selected from the group consisting of a smartphone, a smartwatch, a tablet, and a laptop (col. 20, lines 14-29).
Regarding claim 3: Shapiro discloses the location monitoring and tracking wearable device wirelessly coupled with said remote monitor unit through a wireless communication channel (col. 7, lines 9-18; col. 13, lines 28-62; col. 14, line 48-6; col. 29, lines 50-63).
Regarding claim 4: Shapiro discloses the location monitoring and tracking wearable device having a plurality of LEDs disposed on a surface of said housing (series of LED lights), wherein said plurality of LEDs illuminate in a first color upon actuation of said SOS button (series of LED light of different color) (col. 6, lines 13-20; col. 52, lines 32-65).
Regarding claim 5: Shapiro discloses the band having a material selected from the group consisting of a metal, a rubber, and a silicone (Shapiro discloses the wearable device is a piece of jewelry including a wrist bracelet; col. 37, line 32-col. 38, line 52; thus, jewelry of all kinds comprises metal, rubber or silicone).
Regarding claim 6: Shapiro discloses the band securable around a body part of the user (col. 37, line 57-col. 38, line 10).
Regarding claim 7: Shapiro discloses the plurality of LEDs having a second color for low battery indication (col. 6, lines 14-20; col. 50, lines 36-44; col. 52, lines 36-55).
Regarding claim 8: Shapiro discloses the plurality of LEDs having different colors; thus, first color is different from said second color (col. 6, lines 14-20).
Regarding claim 9: Shapiro discloses the housing is weatherproof including at least IP67 waterproof rating (col. 6, lines 41-58; col. 32, lines 5-18).
Regarding claim 10: Shapiro discloses the location monitoring and tracking wearable device selected from the group consisting of a wristband, a bracelet, an ankle band, an anklet, and an armband (col. 37, lines 32-56).
Regarding claim 11: Shapiro discloses the plurality of electronic components having a vibration module disposed in said housing adapted to vibrate said location monitoring and tracking wearable device upon actuation of said SOS button (col. 6, lines 13-20).
Regarding claim 12: Shapiro discloses the plurality of electronic components having a vibration module disposed in said housing adapted to vibrate said location monitoring and tracking wearable device upon notification signal sent from said paired device (col. 6, lines 13-20).
Regarding claim 13: Shapiro discloses a location monitoring and tracking wearable device comprising: a band (51); a housing (40); a control board (10, 20) with a plurality of electronic components; and a paired device (communications module, 16; col. 10, lines 7-22); wherein said housing storing said plurality of electronic components; wherein said housing contacts the skin of the wearer when said location monitoring and tracking wearable device is worn by a user (abstract, col. 6, lines 41-58; col. 7, lines 32-51); wherein said control board having an SOS button (help button) for sending an alert signal to said paired device when actuated (col. 52, lines 32-35, 56-65); wherein said paired device is a remote monitor unit possessed by another individual remote from said location monitoring and tracking wearable device; wherein said another individual is selected from the group consisting of a parent, a guardian, and a caretaker (col. 5, lines 38-44); wherein said remote monitor unit monitoring a location and tracking signal from said location monitoring and tracking wearable device; wherein said remote monitor unit having a monitoring application and user interface for monitoring a present location of said location monitoring and tracking wearable device (col. 8, lines 18-67); wherein said monitoring application having a pre-set geofence area around said paired device; and further wherein said alert signal actuated when said location monitoring and tracking wearable device is beyond said pre-set geofence area (col. 7, lines 8-17; col. 25, lines 13-67).
Regarding claim 14: Shapiro discloses the plurality of said location monitoring and tracking wearable devices, wherein each of said plurality of said location monitoring and tracking wearable devices having a unique identifier (col. 25, lines 30-47).
Regarding claim 15: Shapiro discloses the remote monitor unit selected from the group consisting of a smartphone, a smartwatch, a tablet, and a laptop (col. 20, lines 14-29).
Regarding claim 16: Shapiro discloses the location monitoring and tracking wearable device wirelessly coupled with said remote monitor unit through a wireless communication channel (col. 7, lines 9-18; col. 13, lines 28-62; col. 14, line 48-6; col. 29, lines 50-63).
Regarding claim 17: See claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 18: Shapiro discloses the alert signal actuated when said location monitoring and tracking wearable device is beyond said pre-set geofence area (col. 7, lines 8-17; col. 25, lines 13-67).
Regarding claim 19: Shapiro discloses the remote monitor unit selected from the group consisting of a smartphone, a smartwatch, a tablet, and a laptop (col. 20, lines 14-29).
Regarding claim 20: Shapiro discloses the location monitoring and tracking wearable device wirelessly coupled with said remote monitor unit through a wireless communication channel (col. 7, lines 9-18; col. 13, lines 28-62; col. 14, line 48-6; col. 29, lines 50-63).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Cohen (US 10,477,008) discloses a personal emergency triggering, notification and communication for smartwatches.
-Sulaiman et al. (US 9,954,995) discloses an end to end design of personal emergency service utilizing M2M cellular XMPP/XL technologies on mobile help button.
-Bartletta (US 9,747,770) discloses a child tracking device.
-Lee (US 9,674,697) discloses a method for operating mobile device, mobile device using the same, wearable device using the same, and computer readable medium.
-Pridgen (US 9,472,081) discloses a child locator system.
-Derrick et al. (US 7,804,412) discloses a remote tracking and communicating device.
-Sobol (US 11,978,555) discloses a wearable electronic device and system using low-power cellular telecommunication protocols.
/TOAN N PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 1/9/26