DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see application, filed 07/01/2026, with respect to the majority of the 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The majority of the 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the parent application (not clear which application applicant is referring to) fails to disclose “a quantization unit configured to quantize transform coefficients in a block in an image, using a first quantization matrix, wherein the block comprises a luma component and chroma components, and the first quantization matrix is a quantization matrix for one of components comprising the luma component and the chroma components, wherein a code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the second mode is used”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. App. ‘566 claims the above limitations in claims 1-2, App. ‘585 claims the above limitations in claims 1-2 & App. ‘615 claims the above limitations in claims 1-2.
Applicant argues that the 112a rejection in regards to para. [0072] merely suggests one possible variation. However, this provides support for additional quantization matrices when the claim is attempting to limit the quantization matrices to “only” three sizes when the block size is equal to or smaller than 8x8.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the prior 112 rejections but has removed the allowable subject matter from the independent claims. Therefore, the prior art previously cited still applies. Lim disclose the limitations “wherein for a block size which is equal to or smaller than 8x8, only quantization matrices of three sizes are decoded as the second quantization matrices” and “the sizes correspond to 2x2, 4x4 and 8x8” (Lim, para. 0015 and/or 0309, 0619 and 1063-1064). Furthermore, Tanaka discloses encoding the quantization matrices of smallest to largest (Tanaka, para. 0182 and Fig. 13).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/695,638, filed on 03/30/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation “wherein for a block size which is equal to or smaller than 8x8, only quantization matrices of three sizes are decoded as the second quantization matrices” appears to be new subject matter. For example, applicant’s published spec. para. [0072] states in part “the quantization matrices that are generated are, however, not limited thereto, and quantization matrices corresponding to the shape of the subblocks such as 4x8 and 8x4 may be generated”. Therefore, the specification provides support for non-square matrices when the block size is equal to or smaller than 8x8.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 of copending Application No. 18/910,566. This instant application is broader in claim scope and omits a limitation from the co-pending app. ‘566. Additionally, co-pending app. ‘566 claims the luma/chroma details in claim 2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 of copending Application No. 18/910,585. This instant application is broader in claim scope and omits a limitation from the co-pending app. ‘585. Additionally, co-pending app. ‘585 claims the luma/chroma details in claim 2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-15 of copending Application No. 18/910,615. This instant application is broader in claim scope. Additionally, co-pending app. ‘615 claims the luma/chroma details in claim 2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim) (US 20220321885) in view of Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim '396) (US 20150334396) and in further view of Tanaka (US 20150063447).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses an image encoding apparatus comprising:
a quantization unit configured to quantize transform coefficients in a block in an image, using a first quantization matrix, [See Lim [0024] Quantizing transform coefficients of a current block of a current picture based on the quantization matrix set. Also, see Fig. 1, quantization unit (140).]
wherein the block comprises a luma component and chroma components, and the first quantization matrix is a quantization matrix for one of components comprising the luma component and the chroma components; and [See Lim [0098] Block includes luma and two chroma components. Also, see Figs. 9-17, quantization matrices for luma/chroma.]
an encoding unit configured to encode the first quantization matrix, [See Lim [Fig. 1] Entropy encoding unit (150).]
wherein (a) in a case where a first mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes, into a scaling list data syntax structure, information indicating that the first quantization matrix is the same as a second quantization matrix to be referenced, and encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, information for specifying the second quantization matrix, [See Lim [1045] Quantization matrix copy mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag.]
(b) in a case where a second mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, the information for specifying the second quantization matrix, and encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, information for deriving a difference between an element of the first quantization matrix and an element of the second quantization matrix, and [See Lim [1046] Inter-quantization matrix prediction mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag.]
(c) in a case where a third mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes a difference between an element and another element within the first quantization matrix, [See Lim [1046] Intra-quantization matrix DPCM mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded.]
wherein a size of the second quantization matrix can only be 2x2, 4x4, or 8x8, [See Lim [1063-1064] The embodiments are applicable only when the size of the current block is equal to or less than 8x8. Also, see 0015, Quantization matrix is defined according to a size of a block.]
wherein the second quantization matrix having a size of 2x2 can be applied to chroma blocks, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 2x2 is not applied to luma blocks, and [See Lim [0494-0495] Quantization matrix having size of 2x2 is not used for luma, and quantization matrix having size of 2x2 is used for chroma.]
wherein for a block size which is equal to or smaller than 8x8, only quantization matrices of three sizes are decoded as the second quantization matrices, and [See Lim [1063-1064] The embodiments are applicable only when the size of the current block is equal to or less than 8x8. Also, see 0015, Quantization matrix is defined according to a size of a block. Also, see 0619, quantization matrix having a size of 2x2, 4x4, or 8x8.]
the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2 [See Lim [1063-1064] The embodiments are applicable only when the size of the current block is equal to or less than 8x8. Also, see 0015, Quantization matrix is defined according to a size of a block. Also, see 0619, quantization matrix having a size of 2x2, 4x4, or 8x8.]
Lim does not explicitly disclose
wherein a code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the second mode is used,
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used,
wherein the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2 is encoded first, when encoding the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2, the second quantization matrix having a size of 4x4, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 8x8.
However, Lim '396 does disclose
wherein a code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the second mode is used, [See Lim '396 [0203] Scaling list pred mode flag is 0 when matrices are identical and copying is used, and scaling list pred mode flag is 1 when prediction is used. Also, see 0049, exp-Golmb coding.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Lim to add the teachings of Lim '396, in order to improve upon coding efficiency [See Lim '386 [0005]].
Lim (modified by Lim '386) do not explicitly disclose
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is not greater than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used,
wherein the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2 is encoded first, when encoding the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2, the second quantization matrix having a size of 4x4, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 8x8.
However, Tanaka does disclose
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is not greater than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used, [See Tanaka [0119-0123] 1st mode is 0, 2ⁿᵈ mode is 1 and 3ʳᵈ mode is 2. Also, see 0195, Golomb coding.]
wherein the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2 is encoded first, when encoding the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2, the second quantization matrix having a size of 4x4, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 8x8. [See Tanaka [0182] Loops for every size and type of quantization matrix, starting at size 0 (i.e. in view of Lim, 2x2 will be encoded first).]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Lim (modified by Lim '396) to add the teachings of Tanaka, in order to improve upon coding efficiency related to quantization matrices [See Tanaka [0009-0010]].
Regarding claim 2, Lim (modified by Lim '396 and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein the first quantization matrix is for the luma component. [See Lim [Figs. 9-17] quantization matrices for luma/chroma.]
Regarding claim 3, Lim (modified by Lim '396 and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein the chroma components comprises a Cb component and a Cr component. [See Lim [0018] Cr and Cb components.]
Regarding claim 4, Lim (modified by Lim '396 and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein the second quantization matrix is a quantization matrix which has already been encoded or a default quantization matrix all elements of which are 16. [See Lim [Fig. 21] Default matrix having values of 16.]
Regarding claim 6, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, see examiners rejection for claim 3 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, see examiners rejection for claim 4 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486