Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20100076631 to Mian.
Regarding claim 1, Mian discloses a system for allocating a plurality of railcars in a rail yard based upon analysis of contents of the plurality of railcars, the system comprising:
a network interface configured to communicatively couple the system to a plurality of mobile computing devices for a plurality of rail yard workers (e.g. see [0096];
a LiDAR sensor configured to create images of the plurality of railcars (e.g. see [0066] - [0067]);
an image database configured to store the images of the plurality of railcars (as evident from at least [0068] “recognize certain stored patterns”);
an analysis unit configured to analyze the images of the plurality of railcars (e.g. [0035], [0067], [0068]);
a notification module configured to send at least one of: the images of the plurality of railcars or the analysis of the images of the plurality of railcars to at least one of the plurality of mobile computing devices (e.g. see [0096]);
one or more tangible, non-transitory memories storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of the system, cause the system to:
generate the images of the plurality of railcars (e.g. see [0066] - [0067]);
send the images of the plurality of railcars to the analysis unit (e.g. see [0053] describing sending evaluated data to management component 24; also see [0096]);
analyze the images of the plurality of railcars (e.g. [0035], [0067], [0068]);
based on the analysis, determine a contents status for each railcar of the plurality of railcars (e.g. see [0053]); and
transmit at least one notification to at least one of the plurality of mobile computing devices (see [0053]),
each of the at least one notification including at least one of: one or more of the railcar contents status or one or more of the images of the plurality of railcars; wherein,
in response to the transmitting of the at least one notification, the plurality of railcars are sorted to at least two different locations via at least one of the plurality of rail yard workers (see [0053], [0054]),
each of the at least two different locations based on a respective one of the one or more of the railcar contents status. (as evident from [0053], [0054])).
BRI comment: the use of “contents…[of the railcar]” is broad enough so that any objects associated with the railcar such as parts requiring maintenance reads on this limitation. It is noted that the claims do not recite contents “within” the railcar body which may require closer analysis of the prior art to determine whether such would continue to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 5, Mian in view of Salter discloses system of Claim 1, wherein the sorting further comprises adjusting one or more train routing devices associated with a track section positioned between a current location of each of the plurality of railcars and at least one of the at least two different locations (see [0053]).
Claims 6 and 11 are commensurate in scope with claim 1 and thus rejected using similar citations / rationale.
Claims 10 and 15 are commensurate in scope with claim 5 and thus rejected using similar citations / rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mian in view of US 10146226 to Salter et al. (“Salter”).
Regarding claim 2, Mian discloses system of Claim 1, but does not disclose that wherein each of the plurality of railcars comprises an autorack including at least one automobile. Salter discloses such (e.g. see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate such with the motivation of managing space within the autorack.
Claims 7 and 12 are commensurate in scope with claim 2 and thus rejected using similar citations / rationale.
Regarding claim 3, Mian in view of Salter discloses system of Claim 2, wherein each of the at least two different locations are located within an autorack facility (e.g. see col. 4, ln 32 to 44 describing components of a facility consistent with the instant specification). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate such with the motivation of managing space within more than one autorack.
Claims 8 and 13 are commensurate in scope with claim 3 and thus rejected using similar citations / rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or suggest using “positioning” of a car in an autorack as a basis for moving the autorack.
Conclusion
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666