DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui et al. (US 2019/0258101) in view of Kuroda et al. (WO 2020/100869; translation previously attached).
Regarding claim 1, Yasui discloses an optical laminate (see figures 1-2, for instance), comprising: a polarizing plate (60) including a polarizing film (61) having a first main surface (bottom surface of 61) and a second main surface (top surface of 61) opposed to each other; a first pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (65) arranged on a first main surface side of the polarizing film (61); a second pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (63; [0073]) arranged on a second main surface side of the polarizing film (61), a support (64c) bonded to the polarizing plate (61) via the second pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (63), and a third pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (55, of element 50) arranged on the support (64c) at the opposite side with respect to the polarizing plate (61), wherein the second pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (63) has a haze of 66% or more ([0073], “As an example, haze values of light diffusion layers 53 and 63 are 80%.”), and wherein the polarizing film (61) includes a polyvinyl alcohol-based film containing iodine ([0071]). However, Yasui does not expressly disclose wherein the polarizing film contains a compound including one of a nitroxy radical or a nitroxide group.
Kuroda discloses an optical laminate (see figure 1, for instance), including a polarizing film (10), wherein the polarizing film contains a compound including one of a nitroxy radical or a nitroxide group (see Abstract of attached translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the nitroxy radical or nitroxide group as Kuroda in the polarizing film of Yasui. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain an excellent effect of suppressing a decrease in single transmittance due to coloring of the polarizing membrane in a high-temperature environment, as taught by Kuroda (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Yasui in view of Kuroda discloses the optical laminate according to claim 1, wherein the polarizing film contains the compound including one of a nitroxy radical or a nitroxide group in a content of 20 wt % or less (see Kuroda Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Yasui in view of Kuroda discloses the optical laminate according to claim 1, wherein the polarizing film (61) contains the iodine in a content of 1 wt % or more and 15 wt % or less (paragraph 4, page 17 of Kuroda).
Regarding claim 7, Yasui in view of Kuroda discloses the optical laminate according to claim 1, wherein the first pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (65) is formed of a pressure-sensitive adhesive composition containing a (meth)acrylic polymer and a cross-linking agent, wherein the cross-linking agent contains an isocyanate-based cross-linking agent, and wherein a content of the isocyanate-based cross-linking agent is less than 1 part by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the (meth)acrylic polymer (see Kuroda page 12, paragraph 6 of attached translation).
Regarding claim 8, Yasui in view of Kuroda discloses the optical laminate according to claim 7, wherein the isocyanate-based cross-linking agent is a non-aromatic system (see Kuroda page 12, paragraph 6 of attached translation).
Regarding claim 9, Yasui in view of Kuroda discloses the display apparatus, in which a plurality of display panels (200, 100) each including a liquid crystal cell (13, 23) are arranged so as to overlap each other, and which is configured to display an image on each of the display panels, the display apparatus comprising: a first display panel (200); a second display panel (100) arranged at a position closer to an observer as compared to the first display panel; and the optical laminate (50, 60) of claim 1 arranged between the first display panel (200) and the second display panel (100), wherein the first pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (65) of the optical laminate is bonded to the first display panel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 3/19/2026