DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see application, filed 12/09/2025, with respect to the specification objection, 112 rejections and double patenting rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection/rejections above have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (i.e. Applicant argues that the Lim ‘396 reference does not teach the newly added limitations. However, the references Lim & Tanaka still read on the newly added limitations).
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that the provisional double patenting rejections are overcome due to the amendments. This is unclear. The co-pending applications have been amended with the same limitations.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/695,638, filed on 03/30/2022.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 of copending Application No. 18/910,566 in view of Lim (US 20220321885). Co-pending App. ‘566 does not claim:
(a) a first element which is a 1st element in a predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 1st row and a 1st column of the first quantization matrix and element at a 1st row and a 1st column of the second quantization matrix; (b) a second element which is a 2nd element in the predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 2nd row and a 1st column of the first quantization matrix and an element at a 2nd row and a 1st column of the second quantization matrix; (c) a third element which is a 3rd element in the predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 1st row and 2nd column of the first quantization matrix and an element at a 1st row and a 2nd column of the second quantization matrix, and
(a) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) the element, corresponding to a 1st element in the predetermined scan order, at the 1st row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) a predetermined value and; (b) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) the element, corresponding to a 2nd element in the predetermined scan order, at the 2nd row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) the element at the 1st row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix; (c) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) the element, corresponding to a 3rd element in the predetermined scan order, at the 1st row and the 2nd column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) the element at the 2nd row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix; and (d) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) an element, corresponding to a 4th element in the predetermined scan order, at the 3rd row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) the element at the 1st row and the 2nd column of the first quantization matrix.
However, Lim does disclose inter and intra quantization matrix prediction mode (para. 1046), difference values by the scan method (para. 0694), and Fig. 65, diagonal scan.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by copending Application No. 18/910,566 to add the teachings of Lim, in order to improve upon video quality [See Lim [0004]].
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-9 of copending Application No. 18/910,585 in view of Lim (US 20220321885). Please refer to the same rationale applied above in regards to the DP rejection in view of the co-pending App. No. ‘566.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-12 of copending Application No. 18/910,601 in view of Lim (US 20220321885). Please refer to the same rationale applied above in regards to the DP rejection in view of the ‘224 Patent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim) (US 20220321885) in view of Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim ‘396) (US 20150334396) and in further view of Tanaka (US 20150063447).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses an image encoding apparatus comprising:
a quantization unit configured to quantize transform coefficients in a block in an image, using a first quantization matrix, [See Lim [0024] Quantizing transform coefficients of a current block of a current picture based on the quantization matrix set. Also, see Fig. 1, quantization unit (140).]
an encoding unit configured to encode the first quantization matrix, [See Lim [Fig. 1] Entropy encoding unit (150).]
wherein in a case where a first mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes, into a scaling list data syntax structure, (i) information indicating that the first quantization matrix is the same as a second quantization matrix to be referenced and (ii) encodes information for specifying the second quantization matrix, [See Lim [1045] Quantization matrix copy mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag.]
wherein in a case where a second mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, the information for specifying the second quantization matrix, and encodes information use to derive a first one-dimensional matrix comprising of a plurality of elements comprising: (a) a first element which is a 1st element in a predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 1st row and a 1st column of the first quantization matrix and element at a 1st row and a 1st column of the second quantization matrix; (b) a second element which is a 2nd element in the predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 2nd row and a 1st column of the first quantization matrix and an element at a 2nd row and a 1st column of the second quantization matrix; (c) a third element which is a 3rd element in the predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 1st row and 2nd column of the first quantization matrix and an element at a 1st row and a 2nd column of the second quantization matrix, and [See Lim [1046] Inter-quantization matrix prediction mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag. Also, see Fig. 65, diagonal scan and 0709 and/or 0692-0693, 1D coefficient array. Also, see 0694, difference values by the scan method.]
wherein in a case where a third mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes a difference value of two consecutive elements in the predetermined scan order within the first quantization matrix so that the encoding unit; (a) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) the element, corresponding to a 1st element in the predetermined scan order, at the 1st row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) a predetermined value and; (b) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) the element, corresponding to a 2nd element in the predetermined scan order, at the 2nd row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) the element at the 1st row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix; (c) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) the element, corresponding to a 3rd element in the predetermined scan order, at the 1st row and the 2nd column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) the element at the 2nd row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix; and (d) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) an element, corresponding to a 4th element in the predetermined scan order, at the 3rd row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) the element at the 1st row and the 2nd column of the first quantization matrix, [See Lim [1046] Intra-quantization matrix DPCM mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded. Also, see 0694, difference values by the scan method, and Fig. 65, diagonal scan. Also, see 0039, differential quantization matrix coefficient indicating a difference between a matrix coefficient of the current quantization matrix and a matrix coefficient of the reference quantization matrix.]
wherein the encoding unit uses, as the second quantization matrix, a quantization matrix all elements of which are set as 16, [See Lim [Fig. 21] Default matrix having values of 16.]
wherein a size of the second quantization matrix can only be 2x2, 4x4 or 8x8, [See Lim [1063-1064] The embodiments are applicable only when the size of the current block is equal to or less than 8x8. Also, see 0015, Quantization matrix is defined according to a size of a block.]
wherein the second quantization matrix having a size of 2x2 can be applied to chroma blocks, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 2x2 is not applied to luma blocks, [See Lim [0494-0495] Quantization matrix having size of 2x2 is not used for luma, and quantization matrix having size of 2x2 is used for chroma.]
wherein the second quantization matrix [See Lim [1063-1064] The embodiments are applicable only when the size of the current block is equal to or less than 8x8. Also, see 0015, Quantization matrix is defined according to a size of a block. Also, see 0619, quantization matrix having a size of 2x2, 4x4, or 8x8.]
Lim does not explicitly disclose
wherein a code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the second mode is used,
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used,
wherein the second quantization matrix
However, Lim ‘396 does disclose
wherein a code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the second mode is used, [See Lim ‘396 [0203] Scaling list pred mode flag is 0 when matrices are identical and copying is used, and scaling list pred mode flag is 1 when prediction is used. Also, see 0049, exp-Golmb coding.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Lim to add the teachings of Lim ‘396, in order to improve upon coding efficiency [See Lim ‘386 [0005]].
Lim (modified by Lim ‘386) do not explicitly disclose
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used,
wherein the second quantization matrix quantization matrix
However, Tanaka does disclose
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used, [See Tanaka [0119-0123] 1st mode is 0, 2nd mode is 1 and 3rd mode is 2. Also, see 0195, Golomb coding.]
wherein the second quantization matrix [See Tanaka [0182] Loops for every size and type of quantization matrix.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Lim (modified by Lim ‘396) to add the teachings of Tanaka, in order to improve upon coding efficiency related to quantization matrices [See Tanaka [0009-0010]].
Regarding claim 2, Lim (modified by Lim ‘396 and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein types of components of the blocks include a luma component and two chroma components, and transform coefficients of each component are quantized using the first quantization matrix corresponding to the component. [See Lim [Figs. 9-17] quantization matrices for luma/chroma.]
Regarding claim 3, Lim (modified by Lim ‘396 and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein the second quantization matrix is a quantization matrix which has already been encoded or a default quantization matrix all elements of which are 16. [See Lim [Fig. 21] Default matrix having values of 16.]
Regarding claim 5, Lim (modified by Lim ‘396 and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein the first quantization matrix and the second quantization matrix has the same size. [See Lim [0604] Having the same size.]
Regarding claim 6, Lim (modified by Lim ‘396 and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein a position of the 1st element in the predetermined scan order within the two dimensional matrix is a position at the 1st row and the 1st column of the two dimensional matrix, a position of the 2nd element in the predetermined scan order within the two dimensional matrix is a position at the 2nd row and the 1st column of the two dimensional matrix, a position of the 3rd element in the predetermined scan order within the two dimensional matrix is a position at the 1st row and the 2nd column of the two dimensional matrix, and a position of the 4th element in the predetermined scan order within the two dimensional matrix is a position at the 3rd row and the 1st column of the two dimensional matrix. [See Lim [0694] values by the scan method to align coefficients in a 2d quantization matrix in a 1D coefficient array, and Fig. 65, diagonal scan. Also, see 0039, differential quantization matrix coefficient indicating a difference between a matrix coefficient of the current quantization matrix and a matrix coefficient of the reference quantization matrix.]
Regarding claim 7, Lim (modified by Lim ‘396 and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein the plurality of elements comprises a fourth element which is a 4th element in the predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 3rd row and a 1st column of the first quantization matrix and an element at a 3rd row and a 1st column of the second quantization matrix. [See Lim [0694] values by the scan method to align coefficients in a 2d quantization matrix in a 1D coefficient array, and Fig. 65, diagonal scan. Also, see 0039, differential quantization matrix coefficient indicating a difference between a matrix coefficient of the current quantization matrix and a matrix coefficient of the reference quantization matrix.]
Regarding claim 8, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, see examiners rejection for claim 3 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, see examiners rejection for claim 5 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, see examiners rejection for claim 6 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, see examiners rejection for claim 7 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486