DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant must address every rejection. For example, applicant states “Applicant is currently considering filing a terminal disclaimer to overcome the rejection”. This is not suffice. Applicant may request the examiner to hold the rejection in abeyance until prosecution closes.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11 and 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/910,615 in view of Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim ‘396) (US 20150334396).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Co-Pending App. ‘615 claims the majority of the claim limitations except for
wherein in a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 4x4, the size of the second quantization matrix is 4x4.
However, Lim ‘396 does disclose
wherein in a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 4x4, the size of the second quantization matrix is 4x4. [See Lim ‘396 [0019] Quantization matrix having the same size as a quantization matrix when coding/decoding is being performed. Also, see 0191, quantization matrix size of 4x4.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the claimed apparatus by Co-Pending App ‘615 to add the teachings of Lim ‘396, in order to improve upon coding efficiency [See Lim ‘396 [0005]].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (herein after will be referred to as Lim) (US 20220321885) in view of Ray et al. (herein after will be referred to as Ray) (US 20200413092) and in further view of Tanaka (US 20150063447).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses an image encoding apparatus comprising:
a quantization unit configured to quantize transform coefficients in a block in an image, using a first quantization matrix; and [See Lim [0024] Quantizing transform coefficients of a current block of a current picture based on the quantization matrix set. Also, see Fig. 1, quantization unit (140).]
an encoding unit configured to encode the first quantization matrix, [See Lim [Fig. 1] Entropy encoding unit (150).]
wherein in a case where a first mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes, into a scaling list data syntax structure, (i) information indicating that the first quantization matrix is the same as a second quantization matrix to be referenced and (ii) information for specifying the second quantization matrix, [See Lim [1045] Quantization matrix copy mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag.]
wherein in a case where a second mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, the information for specifying the second quantization matrix, and encodes information used to derive, from all elements of the second quantization matrix, a first one-dimensional matrix comprising of a plurality of elements comprising: (a) a first element which is a 1st element in a predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 1st row and a 1st column of the first quantization matrix and an element at a 1st row and a 1st column of the second quantization matrix; (b) a second element which is a 2nd element in the predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 2nd row and a 1st column of the first quantization matrix and an element at a 2nd row and a 1st column of the second quantization matrix; (c) a third element which is a 3rd element in the predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 1st row and a 2nd column of the first quantization matrix and an element at a 1st row and a 2nd column of the second quantization matrix, and [See Lim [1046] Inter-quantization matrix prediction mode. Also, see 1048. Also, see 0016. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are exp-Golomb coded. Also, see Fig. 65, diagonal scan and para. 0709 and/or para. 0692-0693, 1D coefficient array. Also, see 0694, difference values by the scan method.]
wherein in a case where a third mode is used to encode the first quantization matrix, the encoding unit encodes a difference value of two consecutive elements in the predetermined scan order within the first quantization matrix so that the encoding unit; (a) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) the element, corresponding to a 1st element in the predetermined scan order, at the 1st row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) a predetermined value; (b) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) the element, corresponding to a 2nd element in the predetermined scan order, at the 2nd row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) the element at the 1st row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix;(c) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) the element, corresponding to a 3rd element in the predetermined scan order, at the 1st row and the 2nd column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) the element at the 2nd row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix; and (d) encodes, into the scaling list data syntax structure, a difference value between (i) an element, corresponding to a 4th element in the predetermined scan order, at the 3rd row and the 1st column of the first quantization matrix and (ii) the element at the 1st row and the 2nd column of the first quantization matrix, [See Lim [1046] Intra-quantization matrix DPCM mode. Also, see 1047. Also, see 0472-0475, scaling_list_pred_mode flag. Also, see 1069-1073, syntax elements for flags are Golomb coded. Also, see 0694, difference values by the scan method, and Fig. 65, diagonal scan. Also, see 0039, differential matrix coefficient indicating a difference between a matrix coefficient of the current quantization matrix and a matrix coefficient of the reference quantization matrix.]
wherein the decoding unit is capable of using, as the second quantization matrix, a quantization matrix all elements of which are set as 16, [See Lim [Fig. 21] Default matrix having values of 16.]
wherein the second quantization matrix having a size of 2x2 can be applied to chroma blocks, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 2x2 is not applied to luma blocks, [See Lim [0494-0495] Quantization matrix having size of 2x2 is not used for luma, and quantization matrix having size of 2x2 is used for chroma.]
wherein for a block size which is equal to or smaller than 8x8, only quantization matrices of three sizes are encoded as the second quantization matrices, and [See Lim [1063-1064] The embodiments are applicable only when the size of the current block is equal to or less than 8x8. Also, see 0015 and/or 0309, Quantization matrix is defined according to a size of a block. Also, see 0619, quantization matrix having a size of 2x2, 4x4 or 8x8. Also, see 0303, size of quantization matrix is derived based on the size of the transform block. For example, a non-square quantization matrix is derived for a non-square transform block (i.e. and a square quantization matrix is derived for square transform blocks).]
the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2 [See Lim [0619] Quantization matrix having a size of 2x2, 4x4 or 8x8.]
wherein in a case where a size of the first quantization matrix to be encoded is 4x4, the size of the second quantization matrix is 4x4. [See Lim [0475] Current quantization matrix is equal to a reference quantization matrix or a default quantization matrix. Also, see 0603, equal quantization matrices. Also, see 0619, quantization matrix having size 4x4.]
Lim does not explicitly disclose
wherein a code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the second mode is used,
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used,
wherein among the code amount information representing that the first mode is used, the code amount information representing that the second mode is used, and the code amount information representing that the third mode is used, the code amount information indicating that the first mode is used is the smallest,
the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2 is encoded first, when encoding the second quantization matrix having the size of 2x2, the second quantization matrix having the size of 4x4, and the second quantization matrix having a size of 8x8, and
However, Ray does disclose
wherein a code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the second mode is used, [See Ray [0180] Golomb codes for different prediction mode indexes and comprises 3 modes. Also, see Table 8, different amount of code information for modes 0, 1 & 2, where 0 is the least out of the 3 and 2 is the largest out of the 3.]
wherein the code amount of information representing that the first mode is used is less than a code amount of information representing that the third mode is used, [See Ray [0180] Golomb codes for different prediction mode indexes and comprises 3 modes. Also, see Table 8, different amount of code information for modes 0, 1 & 2, where 0 is the least out of the 3 and 2 is the largest out of the 3.]
wherein among the code amount information representing that the first mode is used, the code amount information representing that the second mode is used, and the code amount information representing that the third mode is used, the code amount information indicating that the first mode is used is the smallest, [See Ray [0180] Golomb codes for different prediction mode indexes and comprises 3 modes. Also, see Table 8, different amount of code information for modes 0, 1 & 2, where 0 is the least out of the 3 and 2 is the largest out of the 3.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Lim to add the teachings of Ray, in order to improve upon coding efficiency [See Ray [0005]].
Lim (modified by Ray) do not explicitly disclose
However, Tanaka does disclose
[See Tanaka [0182] Loops for every size and type of quantization matrix, starting at size 0 (i.e. in view of Lim, 2x2 will be encoded first).]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Lim (modified by Ray) to add the teachings of Tanaka, in order to improve upon coding efficiency related to quantization matrices [See Tanaka [0009-0010]].
Regarding claim 2, Lim (modified by Ray and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein types of components of the blocks include a luma component and two chroma components, and transform coefficients of each component are quantized using the first quantization matrix corresponding to the component. [See Lim [Figs. 9-17] Quantization matrices for luma/chroma.]
Regarding claim 3, Lim (modified by Ray and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein the second quantization matrix is a quantization matrix which has already been encoded or a default quantization matrix all elements of which are 16. [See Lim [Fig. 21] Default matrix having values of 16.]
Regarding claim 5, Lim (modified by Ray and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein the first quantization matrix and the second quantization matrix has the same size. [See Lim [0604] Having the same size.]
Regarding claim 7, Lim (modified by Ray and Tanaka) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Lim discloses
wherein the plurality of elements comprises a fourth element which is a 4th element in the predetermined scan order and which is an element of a difference value between an element at a 3rd row and a 1st column of the first quantization matrix and an element at a 3rd row and a 1st column of the second quantization matrix. [See Lim [0694] Values by the scan method to align coefficients in a 2D quantization matrix in a 1D coefficient array, and Fig. 65, diagonal scan. Also, see 0039, differential quantization matrix coefficient indicating a difference between a matrix coefficient of the current quantization matrix and a matrix coefficient of the reference quantization matrix.]
Regarding claim 8, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, see examiners rejection for claim 3 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, see examiners rejection for claim 5 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, see examiners rejection for claim 7 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486