DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 181-184, 187-190, 192-196 and 199-200 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of USPNs 2021/0174934 to Kilmer et al, 2021/0035585 to Gupta, and 2023/0021339 to Bosnak et al.
With regard to claim 181, Kilmer discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions that when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations for generating synthesized representations of facial expressions (paragraph [0042], a computer program installed on a computer performs gathering facial images, processing images and outputting image analysis results), the operations comprising:
controlling at least one coherent light source in a manner enabling illumination of a portion of a face (paragraphs [0055]-[0057] and Fig. 2, light is projected onto and imaged face);
receiving output signals from a light detector, wherein the output signals correspond to reflections of coherent light from the portion of the face (paragraphs [0055]-[0057] and [0062]-[0066], The face is imaged using the light and the speckle pattern projected onto the face);
applying speckle analysis on the output signals to determine speckle analysis-based facial skin micromovements (paragraphs [0055]-[0057] and [0062]-[0066], The face is imaged using the light and the speckle pattern projected onto the face);
using the determined speckle analysis-based facial skin micromovements to identify at least one change in a facial expression during the time period (paragraphs [0045]-[0050], Facial Action Coding System or FACS is used to determine facial expressions using coded muscle movements in combination with the speckle analysis of tracking movement of facial muscles. The FACS system tracks muscles and determines facial expressions according to the detected facial muscle action units); and
Kilmer does not disclose using the determined speckle analysis-based facial skin micromovements to identify at least one word prevocalized or vocalized during a time period.
Gupta teaches a similar facial element tracking system to that of Kilmer and further teaches using facial features to perform lip reading i.e. words being vocalized or mouthed (paragraphs [0035], [0058], [0069] and [0076]-[0078]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use the lip-reading by tracking facial features of Gupta, in combination with the facial feature tracking of Kilmer in order to determine what a person is saying in addition to facial expression tracking in order to gather more information about the person being monitored.
Kilmer and Gupta do not explicitly disclose during the time period, outputting data for causing a virtual representation of the face to mimic the at least one change in the facial expression in conjunction with an audio presentation of the at least one word.
Bosnak discloses a system for monitoring and recognizing both a person’s facial expressions and their speech in order to determine emotional metrics (paragraphs [0008]-[0010]) and further teaches outputting an avatar or virtual representation that mimics facial expressions and voice/speech audio (paragraphs [0057]-[0058] and [0107]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to output a virtual representation or avatar of an imaged person as taught by Bosnak in combination with the facial expression recognition taught by Kilmer and the voice/lip-reading recognition taught by Gupta in order to create an accurate representation of an observed person.
With regard to claim 182, Kilmer discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 181, wherein controlling the at least one coherent light source in a manner enabling illumination of the portion of the face includes projecting a light pattern on the portion of the face (paragraphs [0055]-[0057] and [0062]-[0066], The face is imaged using the light and the speckle pattern projected onto the face).
With regard to claim 183, Kilmer discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 182, wherein the light pattern includes a plurality of spots (paragraphs [0055]-[0057] and [0062]-[0066], The face is imaged using the light and the speckle pattern projected onto the face including spots).
With regard to claim 184, Kilmer discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 182, wherein the portion of the face includes cheek skin (Fig. 2, and (paragraphs [0055]-[0057] and [0062]-[0066], The face is imaged using the light and the speckle pattern projected onto the face including the cheeks of the face).
With regard to claim 187, Kilmer discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 181, wherein the output signals from the light detector emanate from a non-wearable device (Fig. 2, The camera and speckle detection/tracking sensor does not appear to be worn).
With regard to claim 188, Kilmer discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 181, wherein the determined speckle analysis-based facial skin micromovements are associated with recruitment of at least one of: a zygomaticus muscle, an orbicularis oris muscle, a genioglossus muscle, a risorius muscle, or a levator labii superioris alaeque nasi muscle (Figs. 1 and 5, and paragraphs [0045]-[0047] and [0066], Kilmer discloses that many different facial muscles are tracked and the FACS system used assigns values to different facial muscles for detecting facial expressions).
With regard to claim 189, the combination of Kilmer, Gupta and Bosnak discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 181, wherein the at least one change in the facial expression during the period of time includes speech-related facial expressions and non-speech-related facial expressions. Kilmer discloses recognizing specific facial expressions by observing specific facial muscles. Gupta teaches the recognition of speech-related facial expressions through the process of lip-reading facial/mouth element movement.
With regard to claim 190, the combination of Kilmer, Gupta and Bosnak discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 189, and Bosnak discloses wherein the virtual representation of the face is associated with an avatar of an individual from whom the output signals are derived, and wherein mimicking the at least one change in the facial expression includes causing visual changes to the avatar that reflect at least one of the speech-related facial expressions and the non-speech-related facial expressions (paragraphs [0008]-[0010], [0057]-[0058] and [0107], Bosnak discloses a system for monitoring and recognizing both a person’s facial expressions and their speech in order to determine emotional metrics and further teaches outputting an avatar or virtual representation that mimics facial expressions and voice/speech audio. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to output a virtual representation or avatar of an imaged person as taught by Bosnak in combination with the facial expression recognition taught by Kilmer and the voice/lip-reading recognition taught by Gupta in order to create an accurate representation of an observed person.
With regard to claim 192, Gupta teaches wherein the audio presentation of the at least one word is based on a recording of an individual (paragraph [0076], Gupta teaches speech-to-text recognition using recorded audio data).
With regard to claim 193, Bosnak teaches wherein the audio presentation of the at least one word is based on a synthesized voice (paragraphs [0008]-[0010], [0057]-[0058] and [0107], Bosnak discloses a system for monitoring and recognizing both a person’s facial expressions and their speech in order to determine emotional metrics and further teaches outputting an avatar or virtual representation that mimics facial expressions and voice/speech audio).
With regard to claim 194, Bosnak discloses wherein the synthesized voice corresponds with a voice of an individual from whom the output signals are derived (paragraphs [0008]-[0010], [0057]-[0058] and [0107], Bosnak discloses a system for monitoring and recognizing both a person’s facial expressions and their speech in order to determine emotional metrics and further teaches outputting an avatar or virtual representation that mimics facial expressions and voice/speech audio).
With regard to claim 195, Bosnak discloses wherein the synthesized voice corresponds with template voice selected by an individual from whom the output signals are derived (paragraphs [0059], [0104]-[0105] and [0109]-[0110], the synthetic voice is created based on the recorded voices and modeled for tone, cadence, speech rate, etc.).
With regard to claim 196, Bosnak discloses wherein the operations further include determining an emotional state of an individual from whom the output signals are derived based at least in part on the facial skin micromovements and augmenting the virtual representation of the face to reflect the determined emotional state (paragraphs [0008] and [0016], FACS system is used to monitor facial action micromovements and the monitored movements are used to determine the facial expression and to generate the synthetic avatar to match the emotional state associated with the recognized facial expressions).
With regard to claim 199, the discussion of claim 181 applies. The method is disclosed in the operation of the computer program system of claim 181.
With regard to claim 200, the discussion of claim 181 applies. The references o Kilmer, Gupta and Bosnak all disclose systems that use processors and cameras to perform the steps discussed in claim 181.
Claim 186 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of USPNs 2021/0174934 to Kilmer et al, 2021/0035585 to Gupta, and 2023/0021339 to Bosnak et al. and further in view of 2007/0047768 to Gordon et al.
With regard to claim 186, Kilmer, Gupta and Bosnak disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 181, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the output signals from the light detector emanate from a wearable device.
Gordon discloses a system similar to Kilmer that tracks facial movement data and uses speckle patterns on the facial skin (paragraph [0030]). Gordon further teaches that tracking device can be worn by the subject (paragraph [0024] and Figs. 1A and 1B). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use a wearable device as taught by Gordon in combination with the speckle projection and imaging of Kilmer in order to image the user’s face consistently while t user may move their head in order to gather consistently imaged facial motion.
Claim 191 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of USPNs 2021/0174934 to Kilmer et al, 2021/0035585 to Gupta, and 2023/0021339 to Bosnak et al. and further in view of 2011/0252344 to Van Os.
With regard to claim 191, Bosnak discloses an avatar but does not explicitly disclose wherein the visual changes to the avatar involve changing a color of at least a portion of the avatar. The ability to control the appearance of an avatar such as in a video game or messaging application is very well known in the art. Van Os discloses ana avatar in which the color of the avatar can be changed (paragraph [0042]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use a color changeable avatar as taught by Van Os in combination with the avatar generation of Bosnak in order to allow a user to customize the appearance of the avatar.
Claims 197-198 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of USPNs 2021/0174934 to Kilmer et al, 2021/0035585 to Gupta, and 2023/0021339 to Bosnak et al. and further in view of 2008/0301577 to Kotlyar
With regard to claim 197, Bosnak discloses an avatar for conveying facial expressions but does not explicitly disclose wherein the operations further include receiving a selection of a desired emotional state, and augmenting the virtual representation of the face to reflect the selected emotional state.
The act of manipulating an avatar is well known in the art. Kotlyar discloses a dating application that uses avatars to communicate facial expressions and emotions and teaches that the user has control of how the avatar’s represented desired emotional state is conveyed (paragraphs [0004], [0009], [0017], [0038] and [0057]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to use allow a user to manipulate the facial expressions to reflect a desired emotional state of the avatar as taught by Kotlyar in combination with the avatar representation of Bosnak.
With regard to claim 198, the discussion of claim 197 applies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before time of filing to omit undesired facial expressions as well in order to convey only the desired facial expressions to convey the desired emotion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 185 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/WESLEY J TUCKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661