DETAILED ACTION
The office acknowledges Applicants filing of the claim amendments on 9/1/2026. Claims 1-20, 24, 26 has been cancelled. Claims 22, 23, 28-40 has been amended and claims 41-42 has been added new. Claims 21-23, 25, 27-42 are pending and are examined based on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21-23, 25, 27-42 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Beumer et al. (IDS: WO 2006029818 A2) in view of Cupferman et al. (IDS: EP 1000542A1)
Beumer et al. teach a cosmetic composition comprising a compound, e.g. octanoic acid hydroxamide (see page 4, line 29, examples of formula I, CAS 7377-03-9), p 5, lines 12-13, claims 1, 10). The amount of the compound in the composition if from about 0.001-20% by weight of the composition (See claims 1, 14). The composition can comprise additive such as glycerin (p 9, line 17, p 11, line 17). Beumer further teach that the cosmetic composition can contain further additives, e.g. propylene glycol (p 11, line 29).
Beumer et al. do not teach caprylyl glycol in the composition.
Cupferman et al. teach an antimicrobial system that comprises at least one polyol, selected from octane-1,2 diol, octoxylglycerine, etc. and mixtures (See claim 1). The composition comprises 0.01-20% by weight of polyol relative to the total weight of the composition (see claim 5). The composition is useful for topical use, e.g. cosmetic or dermatological (See claims 9-10).
From the teachings of the prior art it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose here in cosmetics, in order to form a final composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include an alkylhydroxamic acid, e.g. caprylohydroxamic acid, octane-1,2 diol (caprylyl glycol) and a solubilizer, e.g. ethylhexylglycerin (aka octoxylglycerine) (a diol) and glycerin into a single cosmetic composition with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to arrive at the claimed composition to provide enhanced cosmetic effects. Thus claims 21-22 are addressed. As to claim 23, Beumer teach additive, propylene glycol can be added to the cosmetic composition. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to add propylene glycol additive to the cosmetic composition formulated from the combined teachings of the prior art to enhance the property of the cosmetic composition. As to claims 25, 27-33, 41 from the combined teachings of the prior art a person skilled in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at a composition consisting of caprylohydroxamic acid, caprylyl glycol aka 1,2 octane diol (vicinal diol, 1,2 alkane diol) or ethylhexylglycerin (aka octoxylglycerine, 1, 2 vicinal diol) and glycerin or propylene glycol with a reasonable amount of success. In regards to the limitation of solvent, glycerin or propylene glycol can function as a solvent (when the same agent(s) are added to the composition) because it is the property of the agent and the prior art need not explicitly describe the properties. As to the amount in claim 30, Cupferman teach 0.01-20% by weight of polyol relative to the total weight of the composition. Hence a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to add, for example, 1% of the solvent or diol, for e.g. 1%. As to claims 34-40, 42 a person skilled in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at a cosmetic composition that is blend consisting of caprylohydroxamic acid, a vicinal diol, e.g. 1,2 octane diol aka caprylyl glycol, or ethylhexylglycerin (aka octoxylglycerine, 1, 2 vicinal diol) and glycerin or propylene glycol from the combined teachings of the prior art. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to arrive at the claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success and for its cosmetic effects. As to claims 41-42, ethylhexylglycerin (aka octoxylglycerine) is a glyceryl monoether.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 25 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21, 25 and 34, recite a limitation, 'or a complex thereof'. The term is not defined in the specification with what the caprylohydroxamic acid(s) complexes with and what complexes are made or the number of complexes with each component that it complexes with. The claims are indefinite as to the number and state of the complexes.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-23, 27-30, 32-37, 39-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No.10,897,899 (‘899) or claims 1-18 of US 11292204(‘204).
The instant claims are directed to:
The dependent claims are limited to specific agents, specific amount of certain agents.
‘899 reference claims are directed to a preservative composition blend comprising about 4.5% to about 15% caprylohydroxamic acid or a salt thereof, wherein caprylohydroxamic acid is the only hydroxamic acid in the composition blend, and about 7% to about 95.5% of a diol selected from the group consisting of a propanediol, methylpropanediol, a butylene glycol, 1,2-pentanediol, 1,2-hexanediol, caprylyl glycol, 1,2-decanediol, caprylyl glyceryl ether, ethylhexylglycerin, glyceryl monolaurate, glyceryl monocaprate, glyceryl monocaprylate, and combinations thereof. The dependent claims are limited to 5% to about 15% caprylohydroxamic acid; 30% to about 95% of the diol; wherein the caprylhydroxamic acid is present in a concentration of about 5% to about 15% and comprising about 70% to about 95% of the diol; the diol comprises a compound selected from the group consisting of caprylyl glyceryl ether, a propanediol, methylpropanediol, butylene glycol, 1,2-hexanediol, caprylyl glycol, glyceryl monocaprylate, ethylhexylglycerin, and a combination thereof; the formulation comprising the preservative composition comprises one or more additives; The formulation of claim 7, the formulation has a pH of about 4 to about 8; composition blend according to claim 2, further comprising an alcohol selected from the group consisting of phenoxyethanol, o-cymen-5-ol, and combinations thereof; claim 11 further comprising a propylene carbonate.
‘204 reference claims are directed to a preservative composition comprising (i) a hydroxamic acid or a salt thereof consisting essentially of a single alkylhydroxamic acid or a salt thereof selected from: hexanohydroxamic acid, caprylohydroxamic acid, caprinohydroxamic acid, and laurohydroxamic acid present in a concentration of about 4.5% to about 15%, and (ii) at least one diol present in a concentration of about 7% to about 95.5% selected from the group consisting of: propanediol, methylpropanediol, a butylene glycol, 1,2-pentanediol, 1,2-hexanediol, caprylyl glycol, 1,2-decanediol, caprylyl glyceryl ether, ethylhexylglycerin, glyceryl monolaurate, glyceryl monocaprate, glyceryl monocaprylate, and combinations thereof, wherein the composition is free of parabens. The dependent claims are limited to hydroxamic acid or a salt thereof is present in a concentration of about 5% to about 15%; diol is present in a concentration of about 70% to about 95%; the formulation comprising the preservative composition comprises one or more additives; the formulation has a pH of about 4 to about 8; preservative composition of claim 4, wherein the at least one hydroxamic acid or salt thereof consists essentially of caprylhydroxamic acid and salts thereof in a concentration of about 5% to about 15% and comprises about 70% to about 95% of the at least one diol; preservative composition of claim 10, wherein the diol comprises a compound selected from the group consisting of: caprylyl glyceryl ether, a propanediol, methylpropanediol, butylene glycol, 1,2-hexanediol, caprylyl glycol, glyceryl monocaprylate, ethylhexylglycerin, and a combination thereof. Claim 16 is directed to a preservative composition consisting essentially of: (i) a single alkylhydroxamic acid or a salt thereof selected from: hexanohydroxamic acid, caprylohydroxamic acid, caprinohydroxamic acid, and laurohydroxamic acid present in a concentration of about 4.5% to about 15%, and (ii) at least one diol present in a concentration of about 7% to about 95.5% selected from the group consisting of: a propanediol, methylpropanediol, a butylene glycol, 1,2-pentanediol, 1,2-hexanediol, caprylyl glycol, 1,2-decanediol, caprylyl glyceryl ether, ethylhexylglycerin, glyceryl monolaurate, glyceryl monocaprate, glyceryl monocaprylate, and combinations thereof, wherein the composition is free of parabens. Claim 18 is to a preservative composition of claim 16, consisting of: (i) a single alkylhydroxamic acid or a salt thereof selected from: hexanohydroxamic acid, caprylohydroxamic acid, caprinohydroxamic acid, and laurohydroxamic acid present in a concentration of about 4.5% to about 15%, and (ii) at least one diol present in a concentration of about 7% to about 95.5% selected from the group consisting of: a propanediol, methylpropanediol, a butylene glycol, 1,2-pentanediol, 1,2-hexanediol, caprylyl glycol, 1,2-decanediol, caprylyl glyceryl ether, ethylhexylglycerin, glyceryl monolaurate, glyceryl monocaprate, glyceryl monocaprylate, and combinations thereof.
The instantly claimed composition would have been obvious over the reference claims because they teach a preservative composition consisting of the same agents, caprylhydroxamic acid and its salts, a diol selected from caprylyl glycol and at least one glyceryl monoether is ethylhexyl glycerine thus addressing claims 21-22, 27, 28, 34-37, 41-42. It is noted that diol can act as a solvent (to address the limitation in claim 27). As to claims 29-30, 39 the reference claims teach 1,2-pentane diol, butylene glycol etc. in the composition. As to the amount ‘204 and ‘899 teach the amounts of diols that can added to the composition. As to claims 23, 32-33, 40-42 the reference claims teach propane diol, e.g. methylpropanediol in the composition.
Claims 25, 31 and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims1-16 of U.S. Patent No.10,897,899 (‘899) or claims 1-18 of US 11292204(‘204) and in view of Beumer et al. (IDS: WO 2006029818 A2).
The instantly claimed composition as above.
The reference claims as above. The reference claims do not teach glycerine in the composition.
Beumer et al. teachings as discussed above. Beumer further teach that the cosmetic composition can comprise additive such as glycerin (p 9, line 17, p 11, line 17 and propylene glycol (p 11, line 29).
From Beumer a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to add an additive, e.g. glycerine to the cosmetic composition with a reasonable expectation of success and to enhance the properties of the composition. Thus claims 25, 31 and 38 would have been obvious over the combined teachings of the reference claims and Beumer.
Claims 21-22, 27-30, 34-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of US 8,993, 641 (‘641).
The instantly claimed composition as above.
‘641 reference claims are to a method of preserving a topical cosmetic, toiletry or pharmaceutical formulation against microbiological growth comprising adding an effective amount of a blend consisting of at least one hydroxamic acid, or a salt and/or a complex thereof and a diol, wherein the formulation is preserved against microbiological growth over time; at least one hydroxamic acid comprises an alkylhydroxamic acid; alkylhydroxamic acid is selected from the group consisting of hexanohydroxamic acid, caprylohydroxamic acid, caprohydroxamic acid, laurohydroxamic acid and mixtures and combinations thereof; at least one diol is a vicinal diol elected from the group consisting of 1,2-pentanediol, 1,2-hexanediol, caprylyl glycol and mixtures and combinations thereof; wherein the at least one vicinal diol is a glyceryl monoester and/or a glyceryl monoether; at least one glyceryl monoether is ethylhexyl glycerine. Claims 19-23 are to a method of preserving a topical cosmetic, toiletry or pharmaceutical formulation against microbiological growth comprising adding an effective amount of a blend consisting of at least one hydroxamic acid, or a salt and/or a complex thereof and a diol, wherein the formulation is parabens free and is preserved against microbiological growth over time.
The instantly claimed composition would have been obvious over the reference claims because they teach a preservative composition consisting of the same agents, caprylhydroxamic acid and its salts, a diol selected from caprylyl glycol and at least one glyceryl monoether is ethylhexyl glycerine thus addressing claims 21-22, 27, 28, 34-37. It is noted that diol can act as a solvent (to address the limitation in claim 27). As to claims 29-30 the reference claims teach 1,2-pentane diol in the composition. As to the amount of the agent in the composition it is within the skill of an artisan to routinely adjust the amounts and arrive at the claimed limitation.
Claims 25, 31-33, 38-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of US 8,993, 641 (‘641) in view of Beumer et al. (IDS: WO 2006029818 A2).
The instantly claimed composition as above.
The reference claims as above. The reference claims do not teach glycerine, propylene glycol or butylene glycol in the composition.
Beumer et al. teachings as discussed above. Beumer further teach that the cosmetic composition can comprise additive such as glycerin (p 9, line 17, p 11, line 17 and propylene glycol (p 11, line 29). Beumer teach that other fatty acid components that can be added to the composition include butylene glycol (see p 10, line 20).
From Beumer a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to add an additive, e.g. glycerine, propylene glycol and/or butylene glycol to the cosmetic composition with a reasonable expectation of success and to enhance the properties of the composition. Thus claims 25, 31-33, 38-42 would have been obvious over the combined teachings of the reference claims and Beumer.
Conclusion
/Umamaheswari Ramachandran/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627