Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. application Ser. No. 17/760,804 entitled Focused Image Grabbing, which was filed on Mar. 16, 2022, which is a national stage entry of PCT Application No. PCT/US20/51908, entitled Focused Image Grabbing, which was filed on Sep. 22, 2020 and claims the benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/903,892, entitled Data Reduction and Privacy Governance using Focused Image Grabbing, which was filed on Sep. 22, 2019. The disclosures of the prior applications are incorporated by reference herein in their entirety.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/09/2024 was filed along with the mailing date of the Non-Provisional Patent Application on 10/09/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to a Non-Provisional Patent Application received on 10/09/2024. In the application, claims 1-20 dated 02/19/2025 have been received for consideration and have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US12141273B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claim and patented claim recite similar subject matter as disclosed below:
Instant Application # 18/910,709
US Patent No. US12141273B2
1. A computer-based method comprising:
monitoring user activities at an endpoint device on a computer network;
determining that one of the user activities at the endpoint device presents a potential threat to network security;
creating an alert of the potential threat; and
providing the alert with a redacted version of a screenshot from the endpoint device,
wherein one or more open windows are obscured in the redacted version of the screenshot from the endpoint device,
wherein providing the redacted version of the screenshot comprises:
receiving metadata describing characteristics of the one or more open windows from an operating system of the endpoint device;
receiving an unredacted screenshot from the endpoint device; and
obscuring the one or more open windows by creating one or more visual covers based on the metadata describing the characteristics of each of the one or more open windows and placing each of the one or more visual covers over a corresponding one of the one or more open windows.
1. A computer-based method comprising:
monitoring user activities at an endpoint device on a computer network;
determining if one of the user activities at the endpoint device presents a potential threat to network security;
classifying each open window from a screen of the endpoint device, at a time of the user activity, according to whether that window is likely to contain private or confidential user information;
creating an alert of the potential threat; and
providing the alert, along with a redacted version of a screenshot from a screen of the endpoint device,
wherein the redacted version of the screenshot is a version of the screenshot where each of the open windows from the screen of the endpoint device that has been classified as likely containing private or confidential user information is obscured or removed from view.
2. The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising classifying each of the open windows according to whether that window, at a time of the one of the user activities, is likely to contain private or confidential user information.
Claim 1 – Limitation # 2 - classifying each open window from a screen of the endpoint device, at a time of the user activity, according to whether that window is likely to contain private or confidential user information
3. The computer-based method of claim 2, wherein the redacted version of the screenshot is a version where each of the open windows that has been classified as likely containing private or confidential user information is obscured from view.
Claim 1 – Limitation # 5 - providing the alert, along with a redacted version of a screenshot from a screen of the endpoint device, wherein the redacted version of the screenshot is a version of the screenshot where each of the open windows from the screen of the endpoint device that has been classified as likely containing private or confidential user information is obscured or removed from view
4. The computer-based method of claim 2, wherein classifying each of the open windows comprises:
comparing window parameters for each of the open windows against a list of parameters for classifying windows as likely to contain private or confidential user information.
2. The computer-based method of claim 1, wherein classifying each of the open windows comprises:
comparing window parameters for each window against a list of parameters for including or excluding a window.
5. The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
enabling a human administrator to view the alert with the redacted version of the screenshot.
3. The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
enabling a human administrator to view the alert with the redacted version of the screenshot.
6. The computer-based method of claim 1, wherein determining that one of the user activities at the endpoint device presents the potential threat to network security comprises:
assessing data regarding that user activity collected by a computer-based endpoint agent deployed at the associated endpoint device.
4. The computer-based method of claim 1, wherein determining if one of the user activities presents a potential threat to network security comprises:
assessing data regarding the user activity collected by a computer-based endpoint agent deployed at the associated endpoint device.
7. The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising, for each of the user activities at the endpoint device:
receiving, at a computer-based endpoint agent on the endpoint device, an indication of that user activity; and
collecting data about that user activity from the operating system of the endpoint device with the computer-based endpoint agent, wherein determining that one of the user activities at the endpoint device presents the potential threat to network security comprises assessing the collected data.
7. The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, at a computer-based endpoint agent on the endpoint device, an indication of the user activity; and
collecting data about the indicated user activity from the operating system of the endpoint device with the computer-based endpoint agent,
wherein determining if one of the user activities at the endpoint device presents a potential threat to network security comprises assessing the collected data.
8. The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
making the alert, with the redacted version of the screenshot, available in electronic form to a human administrator.
8. The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
making the alert, with the redacted version of the screenshot, available in electronic form to a human administrator.
9. The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
providing, with the alert, a redacted version of one or more other screenshots from the endpoint device, wherein the redacted version of the one or more other screenshots are from a time of one or more other user activities at the endpoint device that happened before and/or after the user activity that was determined to present the potential threat to network security.
9. The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
providing, with the alert, a redacted version of one or more other screenshots from the endpoint device, wherein the one or more other redacted screenshots show a redacted version of the screen of the endpoint device during one or more other user activities before and/or after the alert-related user activity.
10. A computer-based method comprising:
monitoring user activities at an endpoint device on a computer network;
determining that one of the user activities presents a potential threat to network security;
classifying each window in a screenshot from the endpoint device, taken at a time of the one of the user activities, according to whether that window is likely to contain private information; and
creating an alert of the potential threat, wherein the alert includes a redacted version of the screenshot where the windows in the screenshot that have been classified is likely to contain private information are obscured by one or more visual covers.
1. A computer-based method comprising:
monitoring user activities at an endpoint device on a computer network;
determining if one of the user activities at the endpoint device presents a potential threat to network security;
classifying each open window from a screen of the endpoint device, at a time of the user activity, according to whether that window is likely to contain private or confidential user information;
creating an alert of the potential threat; and
providing the alert, along with a redacted version of a screenshot from a screen of the endpoint device, wherein the redacted version of the screenshot is a version of the screenshot where each of the open windows from the screen of the endpoint device that has been classified as likely containing private or confidential user information is obscured or removed from view.
The table above shows that claim 1 of an instant application recite similar limitations in a broader concept as a computer platform claim presented in the patent publication, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary person skills in the art to build a system or a computer program product, provided with corresponding method.
Remaining Independent and dependent claims in the instant application recite similar subject matter as mentioned in the patented claims.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are anticipated by the claims in US Patent no. US12141273B2.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schran et al., (US20050086255A1) in view of Skinner et al., (US10347293B1).
Regarding claim 1, Schran discloses:
A computer-based method comprising:
monitoring user activities at an endpoint device on a computer network ([0008] Supervising, monitoring, and controlling user computer activity is described herein. A client monitoring application operating on a client device records and monitors user activity performed thereon);
determining that one of the user activities at the endpoint device presents a potential threat to network security ([0010] In another innovative implementation, the human supervisor is able to request notification when a particular activity is performed on the client device. For instance, the human supervisor can request that an alert message be sent to the human supervisor if certain subjects, such as, but not limited to, sex, drugs, violence, infidelity, hate language, and other subjects designated by the human supervisor are performed (e.g., viewed, created, transmitted, or received) on the client device. The alert message may be generated in accordance with when an activity is performed);
creating an alert of the potential threat ([0010] The alert message may be generated in accordance with when an activity is performed, when a certain duration of an activity performed is reached, or other parameters designated by the human supervisor; [0065] In another scenario, the alert message may notify the human supervisor via e-mail, if the user of the client device has attempted to play computer games for more than two hours in one day and include the name of the games played); and
providing the alert with [0013] monitoring and recording of user activity performed on the computer includes capturing screen shots of real-time user activity performed on the client device. These captured screen shots include screen shots generated by applications or devices that transmit and receive information in an encrypted format).
Schran fails to disclose:
the screenshot being a redacted version, wherein one or more open windows are obscured in the redacted version of the screenshot from the endpoint device, wherein providing the redacted version of the screenshot comprises: receiving metadata describing characteristics of the one or more open windows from an operating system of the endpoint device; receiving an unredacted screenshot from the endpoint device; and obscuring the one or more open windows by creating one or more visual covers based on the metadata describing the characteristics of each of the one or more open windows and placing each of the one or more visual covers over a corresponding one of the one or more open windows.
However, Skinner discloses:
the screenshot being a redacted version (Col. 5, Line # 61 – Col. 6, Line # 1; In some embodiments, captured images or video may be redacted to form versions without confidential information. Forming a new version, modifying, redacting, or otherwise obfuscating may be performed by modifying values in memory encoding an existing version, for instance, changing bytes in a data structure in memory at addresses storing the existing version or by creating a new copy with the changed values; Col. 12, Line # 12-27; Some embodiments may include an obfuscator 44 configured to redact or otherwise obfuscate depictions of text classified as confidential in bitmap images. In some embodiments, the obfuscator may modify pixel values in memory of a single copy of the bitmap image, or some embodiments may form a new copy of the bitmap image in which a subset of the pixel values are modified to obfuscate some of the text classified as confidential or otherwise transform images representing text. In some embodiments, the obfuscator 44 may determine which text is classified in a way that accords with a particular transformation to the image and then apply that transformation),
wherein one or more open windows are obscured in the redacted version of the screenshot from the endpoint device (Col. 5, line 61 – col. 6, line 1; In some embodiments, captured images or video may be redacted to form versions without confidential information. Forming a new version, modifying, redacting, or otherwise obfuscating may be performed by modifying values in memory encoding an existing version, for instance, changing bytes in a data structure in memory at addresses storing the existing version or by creating a new copy with the changed values; Col. 12, lines 12-27; Some embodiments may include an obfuscator 44 configured to redact or otherwise obfuscate depictions of text classified as confidential in bitmap images. In some embodiments, the obfuscator may modify pixel values in memory of a single copy of the bitmap image, or some embodiments may form a new copy of the bitmap image in which a subset of the pixel values are modified to obfuscate some of the text classified as confidential or otherwise transform images representing text. In some embodiments, the obfuscator 44 may determine which text is classified in a way that accords with a particular transformation to the image and then apply that transformation),
wherein providing the redacted version of the screenshot comprises:
receiving metadata describing characteristics of the one or more open windows from an operating system of the endpoint device (Col. 5, Line # 61 – Col. 6, Line # 1; In some embodiments, captured images or video may be redacted to form versions without confidential information. Forming a new version, modifying, redacting, or otherwise obfuscating may be performed by modifying values in memory encoding an existing version, for instance, changing bytes in a data structure in memory at addresses storing the existing version or by creating a new copy with the changed values. Reference to a “bitmap image” or “frame” singular includes reference to the various versions along a processing pipeline, including where the different versions exist as different copies with different processing or other transformations applied thereto or where a single copy has a subset of its values changed through such processing or transformation; Col. 12, Line # 12-27; Some embodiments may include an obfuscator 44 configured to redact or otherwise obfuscate depictions of text classified as confidential in bitmap images. In some embodiments, the obfuscator may modify pixel values in memory of a single copy of the bitmap image, or some embodiments may form a new copy of the bitmap image in which a subset of the pixel values are modified to obfuscate some of the text classified as confidential or otherwise transform images representing text. In some embodiments, the obfuscator 44 may determine which text is classified in a way that accords with a particular transformation to the image and then apply that transformation);
receiving an unredacted screenshot from the endpoint device (Col. 5, line 61 – col. 6, line 1; In some embodiments, captured images or video may be redacted to form versions without confidential information. Forming a new version, modifying, redacting, or otherwise obfuscating may be performed by modifying values in memory encoding an existing version, for instance, changing bytes in a data structure in memory at addresses storing the existing version or by creating a new copy with the changed values); and
obscuring the one or more open windows by creating one or more visual covers based on the metadata describing the characteristics of each of the one or more open windows and placing each of the one or more visual covers over a corresponding one of the one or more open windows (Col. 12, Line # 12-27; Some embodiments may include an obfuscator 44 configured to redact or otherwise obfuscate depictions of text classified as confidential in bitmap images. In some embodiments, the obfuscator may modify pixel values in memory of a single copy of the bitmap image, or some embodiments may form a new copy of the bitmap image in which a subset of the pixel values are modified to obfuscate some of the text classified as confidential or otherwise transform images representing text. In some embodiments, the obfuscator 44 may determine which text is classified in a way that accords with a particular transformation to the image and then apply that transformation).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Schran to incorporate the redacting of confidential information from captured image, and window-specific screenshots as disclosed by Skinner, in order mitigate leaking of confidential information (Skinner, col. 12, lines 40-42), and provide more efficient resource utilization by only capture windows that triggers the alert rules.
Regarding claim 10, it is a method claim and recites similar subject matter as claim 1 and therefore rejected under similar ground of rejections.
Regarding claim 18, it is a computer system claim and recites similar subject matter as claim 1 and therefore rejected under similar ground of rejections.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Schran and Skinner discloses:
The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising classifying each of the open windows according to whether that window, at a time of the one of the user activities, is likely to contain private or confidential user information (Schran: [0071] & [0073]).
Regarding claim 19, it is a computer system claim and recites similar subject matter as claim 2 and therefore rejected under similar ground of rejections.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Schran and Skinner discloses:
The computer-based method of claim 2, wherein the redacted version of the screenshot is a version where each of the open windows that has been classified as likely containing private or confidential user information is obscured from view (Schran: [0071] & [0073]).
Regarding claim 20, it is a computer system claim and recites similar subject matter as claim 3 and therefore rejected under similar ground of rejections.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Schran and Skinner discloses:
The computer-based method of claim 2, wherein classifying each of the open windows comprises:
comparing window parameters for each of the open windows against a list of parameters for classifying windows as likely to contain private or confidential user information (Schran: [0071] & [0073]).
Regarding claim 11, it is a method claim and recites similar subject matter as claim 4 and therefore rejected under similar ground of rejections.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Schran and Skinner discloses:
The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
enabling a human administrator to view the alert with the redacted version of the screenshot (Schran: [0010], [0071], [0073] & Skinner: Col. 11, line 61 – Col. 6, line 1, and, Col. 12, lines 12-27).
Regarding claim 12, it is a method claim and recites similar subject matter as claim 5 and therefore rejected under similar ground of rejections.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Schran and Skinner discloses:
The computer-based method of claim 1, wherein determining that one of the user activities at the endpoint device presents the potential threat to network security comprises:
assessing data regarding that user activity collected by a computer-based endpoint agent deployed at the associated endpoint device (Schran: [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, it is a method claim and recites similar subject matter as claim 6 and therefore rejected under similar ground of rejections.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Schran and Skinner discloses:
The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising, for each of the user activities at the endpoint device:
receiving, at a computer-based endpoint agent on the endpoint device, an indication of that user activity; and collecting data about that user activity from the operating system of the endpoint device with the computer-based endpoint agent, wherein determining that one of the user activities at the endpoint device presents the potential threat to network security comprises assessing the collected data (Schran: [0009]).
Regarding claim 15, it is a method claim and recites similar subject matter as claim 7 and therefore rejected under similar ground of rejections.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Schran and Skinner discloses:
The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
making the alert, with the redacted version of the screenshot, available in electronic form to a human administrator (Schran: [0010], [0013], [0071] & [0073]).
Regarding claim 16, it is a method claim and recites similar subject matter as claim 8 and therefore rejected under similar ground of rejections.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Schran and Skinner discloses:
The computer-based method of claim 1, further comprising:
providing, with the alert, a redacted version of one or more other screenshots from the endpoint device, wherein the redacted version of the one or more other screenshots are from a time of one or more other user activities at the endpoint device that happened before and/or after the user activity that was determined to present the potential threat to network security (Schran: [0013] & [0015]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Schran and Skinner discloses:
The computer-based method of claim 10, further comprising:
providing the redacted version of the screenshot, wherein providing the redacted version of the screenshot comprises:
receiving metadata describing characteristics of the windows from an operating system of the endpoint device; and obscuring the windows in the screenshot that have been classified as likely to contain private information by sizing and placing the one or more visual covers based on the metadata describing the characteristics of the windows (Skinner, col. 5, line 61 – col. 6, line 1, and, col. 12, lines 12-27).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Schran and Skinner discloses:
The computer-based method of claim 10, further comprising: providing, with the alert, a redacted version of one or more other screenshots from the endpoint device, wherein the redacted version of the one or more other screenshots are from a time of one or more other user activities that occurred at the endpoint device before and/or after the user activity that was determined to present the potential threat to network security (Schran: [0010, 0071, 0073] & Skinner: col. 5, line 61 – col. 6, line 1, and, col. 12, lines 12-27).
Conclusion
/SYED M AHSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491