DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (U.S. 2024/0064546), hereinafter Sun.
With regard to Claim 1, Sun teaches a method for cell measurement, applicable to a terminal device (¶ 0014, “The exemplary embodiments describe operations for a serving cell to configure a user equipment (UE) to perform layer 1 (L1) mobility measurements for a neighbor cell in an inter-cell multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) (multi-TRP) arrangement.”) the method comprising:
performing neighbor cell layer 1 (L1) measurement based on an L1 measurement configuration (¶ 0014, “The exemplary embodiments describe operations for a serving cell to configure a user equipment (UE) to perform layer 1 (L1) mobility measurements for a neighbor cell in an inter-cell multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) (multi-TRP) arrangement.”)
With regard to Claim 2, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, Sun teaches wherein the L1 measurement configuration comprises a configuration of a measurement reference signal, wherein the configuration of the measurement reference signal is defined to perform the neighbor cell L1 measurement (¶ 0014, “According to various exemplary embodiments, the UE may be configured to measure a synchronization signal block (SSB) and/or a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) transmitted from the neighbor cell and report computed measurement values, such as an L1 reference signal received power (RSRP) (L1-RSRP) value or an L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) (L1-SINR) value, to the serving cell in a configured CSI report.”)
With respect to Claim 3, Sun teaches the method according to claim 2, Sun teaches wherein there is one of: the measurement reference signal comprises a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), and the configuration of the measurement reference signal comprises a configuration corresponding to an SSB resource of a to-be-measured neighbor cell (¶ 0014, “According to various exemplary embodiments, the UE may be configured to measure a synchronization signal block (SSB) and/or a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) transmitted from the neighbor cell and report computed measurement values, such as an L1 reference signal received power (RSRP) (L1-RSRP) value or an L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) (L1-SINR) value, to the serving cell in a configured CSI report.”);
the measurement reference signal comprises a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), and the configuration of the measurement reference signal comprises a configuration corresponding to a CSI-RS resource of a to-be-measured neighbor cell (¶ 0014, “According to various exemplary embodiments, the UE may be configured to measure a synchronization signal block (SSB) and/or a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) transmitted from the neighbor cell and report computed measurement values, such as an L1 reference signal received power (RSRP) (L1-RSRP) value or an L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) (L1-SINR) value, to the serving cell in a configured CSI report.”); or
the measurement reference signal comprises an SSB and a CSI-RS, and the configuration of the measurement reference signal comprises a configuration corresponding to an SSB resource of a to-be-measured neighbor cell and a configuration corresponding to a CSI-RS resource of the to-be-measured neighbor cell (¶ 0014, “According to various exemplary embodiments, the UE may be configured to measure a synchronization signal block (SSB) and/or a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) transmitted from the neighbor cell and report computed measurement values, such as an L1 reference signal received power (RSRP) (L1-RSRP) value or an L1 signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) (L1-SINR) value, to the serving cell in a configured CSI report.”).
With respect to Claim 4, Sun teaches the method according to claim 3, Sun teaches wherein the configuration corresponding to the SSB resource of the to-be-measured neighbor cell comprises at least one of:
a cell identifier of the to-be-measured neighbor cell (¶ 0037, “The first/serving TRP can configure 1) a physical cell ID (physCellId),”);
at least one SSB identifier of the to-be-measured neighbor cell (¶ 0037, “2) an SSB frequency domain pattern/location (ssbFrequency), 3) an SCS of the SSB (ssbSubcarrierSpacing), 4) an SSB time domain pattern (ssb-PositionsInBurst, SSB-ToMeasure, ssb-periodicity), 5) a transmit power of the SSB (ss-PBCH-BlockPower),”); or
a configuration of a reference signal measurement window corresponding to the SSB resource of the to-be-measured neighbor cell (¶ 0055, “Thus, when the CSI-RS or SSB from the neighbor cell has a SCS different from the serving cell, a measurement gap window may be configured for the UE during which the UE may tune away from the serving cell to the neighbor cell. During the measurement gap window, the UE is not required to monitor the current serving cell and may tune to the neighbor cell.”)
With respect to Claim 5, Sun teaches the method according to claim 4, Sun teaches wherein the configuration of the reference signal measurement window comprises at least one of: a periodicity of occurrence of the reference signal measurement window (¶ 0056, “In a first option, the UE reports the regular L1 measurement without considering any further conditions. In other words, for a periodic and semi-persistent report, the measurement quantity is reported for every configured periodicity.”);
an offset within a periodicity of occurrence of the reference signal measurement window;
a duration of the reference signal measurement window; or
cell identification information corresponding to a time reference cell associated with the reference signal measurement window (¶ 0037, “2) an SSB frequency domain pattern/location (ssbFrequency), 3) an SCS of the SSB (ssbSubcarrierSpacing), 4) an SSB time domain pattern (ssb-PositionsInBurst, SSB-ToMeasure, ssb-periodicity), 5) a transmit power of the SSB (ss-PBCH-BlockPower),”).
With respect to Claim 11, Sun teaches the terminal device according to claim 9, Sun teaches wherein the configuration corresponding to the CSI-RS resource of the to-be-measured neighbor cell comprises at least one of:
a cell identifier of the to-be-measured neighbor cell (¶ 0043, “1) a physical cell ID (physCellId),”);
a logical identifier corresponding to at least one CSI-RS resource of the to-be-measured neighbor cell;
a time-domain resource configuration corresponding to at least one CSI-RS resource of the to-be-measured neighbor cell (¶ 0043, “2) a reference point (point A) for the CSI-RS frequency domain pattern/location configuration (refFreqCSI-RS) in the resource grid.”)
a frequency-domain resource configuration corresponding to at least one CSI-RS resource of the to-be-measured neighbor cell (¶ 0043, “2) a reference point (point A) for the CSI-RS frequency domain pattern/location configuration (refFreqCSI-RS) in the resource grid.”)
or a quasi co-location (QCL) reference signal configuration associated with at least one CSI-RS resource of the to-be-measured neighbor cell.
With respect to Claims 7-10, the claims are the method corresponding to the terminal device of claims 1-4, and are rejected accordingly.
With respect to Claims 13-17, the claims are the network device corresponding to the terminal device of claims 1-5, and are rejected accordingly.
With respect to Claim 18, the claim is the network device corresponding to the terminal device of Claim 11, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (U.S. 2024/0064546), hereinafter Su, in view of Li et al. (U.S. 2025/0220601), hereinafter Li.
With respect to Claim 6, Sun teaches the method of claim 1, Sun fails to explicitly teach wherein an object of the neighbor cell L1 measurement comprises at least one of: at least one intra-frequency neighbor cell of a serving cell; or at least one inter-frequency neighbor cell of the serving cell
Li teaches wherein an object of the neighbor cell L1 measurement comprises at least one of: at least one intra-frequency neighbor cell of a serving cell; or at least one inter-frequency neighbor cell of the serving cell (¶ 0053, “In 5G NR, measurement objects are defined for intra-frequency and inter-frequency measurements. The information indicative of the reference signals to be measured can be sent by the network using an IE MeasObjectNR.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Sun with the invention of Li as 5G NR is designed to do intra-frequency and inter-frequency measurements which is describing the 5G NR standard to which applying the standard would provide greatly improved industrial applicability.
With respect to Claim 20, the claim is the network device corresponding to the method of Claim 6, and is rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (U.S. 2024/0064546), hereinafter Su, in view of Fu et al. (U.S. 2021/0168677), hereinafter Fu.
With respect to Claim 12, Sun teaches the terminal device according to claim 8, Sun fails to explicitly teach wherein there is one of: the configuration of the measurement reference signal is defined based on a physical cell identity (PCI) granularity;
the configuration of the measurement reference signal is defined based on a combined granularity of frequency point and PCI; or
the configuration of the measurement reference signal is defined based on a cell granularity.
Fu teaches wherein there is one of: the configuration of the measurement reference signal is defined based on a physical cell identity (PCI) granularity;
the configuration of the measurement reference signal is defined based on a combined granularity of frequency point and PCI; or
the configuration of the measurement reference signal is defined based on a cell granularity (¶ 0113, “when the second node sends the resource information used by at least one RRM measurement corresponding to the neighbor node of the second node to the first node, the neighbor cell of the second node may be used as the granularity for sending, or the frequency point of the neighbor cell of the second node may be used as the granularity for sending.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the application to combine the invention of Fu with the invention of Sun in order to better improve the measurements of the system of Sun.
With respect to Claim 19, the claim is the network device corresponding to the terminal device of Claim 12, and is rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/ANGELA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479