DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 3, 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nason (US 2013/0042528).
Regarding claim 1, Nason discloses a germination tray suspended between inner walls of the pod (plates 28 and 30, fig. 5); and anchoring cones extending from the inner wall of the pod (ledge members 56, fig. 2); wherein the germination tray comprises flexible elements configured to support plant seeds (ribs 33, para. 0023), and said anchoring cones support and anchor plants from the seeds and expanding out a top of the pod (ledges 56 allows plates 28 and 30 to rest on the ledges, para. 0023).
Regarding claim 3, Nason discloses a first part and a second part (halves 2 and 4) said first and second parts being locked together in a closed position of the pod and unlocked in an open position of the pod (para. 0023).
Regarding claim 4, Nason discloses comprising a first part and a second part (halves 2 and 4), said first and second parts being locked together in a closed position of the pod and unlocked in an open position of the pod (para. 0023); wherein: the first part (half 2) comprises first anchoring cones extending along a height of an inner wall thereof between a bottom wall and a top edge thereof (ledges 56, fig. 2); the second part (half 4) comprises second anchoring cones along a height of an inner wall thereof and extending from an inner wall thereof between a bottom wall and a top edge thereof (ledges 56, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Nason discloses made in an elastomer (halves can be injection molded from rigid plastic, para. 0025).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nason.
Regarding claim 11, Nason teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach wherein said flexible elements are bristles of at least one of : selected lengths, selected diameters, and selected density, on the germination tray. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the before the effective filing date to make the different portions of the ribs of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 13, Nason teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach made in a food grade silicone. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a food grade silicon, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obviousness. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-10 and 14 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Nason does not teach flexible elements configured to support plant seeds, nor anchoring cones configured to support and anchor plants growing from the seeds and expanding out a top of the pod, the Examiner disagrees. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, seeds can be positioned on false bottom 28 and 30 i.e. figure 4 clearly discloses that false bottom 28 and 30 and ledge members 56 are configured to support items positioned on the upper surfaces, thus false bottom 28 and 30 and leges members 56 are configured to support a seed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647