DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 & 12-15, & 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okuno et al. (US 2016/0276112).
In regards to claim 1, Okuno ‘112 discloses
A method of amplifying interfacial capacitance in an electrochemical storage device, the method comprising:
applying a voltage ([0001]) to a porous metal electrode ([0050]) of an electrochemical storage device,
the electrochemical storage device comprising
the porous metal electrode ([0050]);
an electrolyte forming an interface with a surface of the porous metal electrode ([0178]), the electrolyte comprising an ionic liquid and a redox active metal ion ([0074]); and
a counter electrode ([0050]) in electrical communication with the porous metal electrode,
wherein at the voltage applied, the electrochemical storage device exhibits an increased capacitance as compared to the electrochemical storage device at the voltage applied but absent the redox active metal ion (abstract & [0074] - When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent).
In regards to claim 2, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the electrochemical storage device exhibits a capacitance value that is at least 400% of a capacitance value of the electrochemical storage device at the voltage applied but absent the redox active metal ion (abstract & [0074] - When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent).
In regards to claim 3, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the voltage applied is less negative than the redox active metal ion’s equilibrium potential and the method does not comprise application of a voltage at which the redox active metal ion deposits on itself ([0238]).
In regards to claim 4, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the redox active metal ion is selected from alkali metal ions ([0077]).
In regards to claim 5, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the redox active metal ion is selected from alkali metal ions other than Li+ ([0077]).
In regards to claim 6, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the redox active metal ion is Na+ ([0077]).
In regards to claim 7, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte comprises at least two different types of redox active metal ions ([0077]).
In regards to claim 8, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 7, wherein the at least two different types of redox active metal ions are selected from alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, Zn2+, Al3+, La3+, and Fe3+ ([0077]).
In regards to claim 9, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 7, wherein the at least two different types of redox active metal ions comprise K+ and at least one of Li+ and Na+ ([0077]).
In regards to claim 10, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 7, wherein the at least two different redox active metal ions are K+ and Na+ ([0077]).
In regards to claim 12, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the porous metal electrode is gold, copper, silver, or an alloy thereof ([0103] & [0226-0027]).
In regards to claim 13, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the ionic liquid is an imidazolium sulfonimide; the redox active metal ions are selected from alkali metals ([0096]); and the porous metal electrode is gold, copper, silver, or an alloy thereof ([0103] & [0226-0027]).
In regards to claim 14, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 13, wherein the redox active metal ions comprise Na+ ([0077]).
In regards to claim 15, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 13, wherein the redox active metal ions comprise K+ and at least one of Li+ and Na+ ([0077]).
In regards to claim 17, Okuno ‘112 discloses
A method of amplifying interfacial capacitance in an electrochemical storage device, the method comprising:
applying a voltage ([0001]) to a porous metal electrode ([0050]) of an electrochemical storage device, the electrochemical storage device comprising
the porous metal electrode ([0050]);
an electrolyte forming an interface with a surface of the porous metal electrode ([0178]), the electrolyte comprising an ionic liquid and at least two different types of redox active metal ions ([0074] & [0077]); and
a counter electrode ([0050]) in electrical communication with the porous metal electrode,
wherein the voltage applied is less negative than that of each redox active metal ion’s equilibrium potential ([0238]).
In regards to claim 18, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 17, wherein the at least two different types of redox active metal ions are selected from Li+, Na+, and K+ ([0077]).
In regards to claim 19, Okuno ‘112 discloses
The method of claim 18, wherein the ionic liquid is an imidazolium sulfonimide ([0096]) and the porous metal electrode is gold, copper, silver, or an alloy thereof ([0103] & [0226-0027]).
In regards to claim 20, Okuno ‘112 discloses
An electrochemical storage device comprising:
a porous metal electrode ([0050]);
an electrolyte forming an interface with a surface of the porous metal electrode ([0178]), the electrolyte comprising an ionic liquid and a redox active metal ion ([0074] & [0077]); and
a counter electrode ([0050]) in electrical communication with the porous metal electrode, wherein at a voltage applied to the porous metal electrode that is less negative the redox active metal ion’s equilibrium potential, the electrochemical storage device exhibits an increased capacitance as compared to the electrochemical storage device at the voltage applied but absent the redox active metal ion ([0238] - When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno ‘112.
In regards to claim 11,
Okuno ‘112 disclose all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 11, except for wherein the redox active metal ion is present in the electrolyte at an amount of from 7 mole percent to 13 mole percent. However, Okuno ‘112 disclsoes that the amount of redox metal ions in the electrolyte is a result effective variable, particularly for reducing increasing the capacity capacitor ([0098]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Okuno ‘112 such that the redox active metal ion is present in the electrolyte at an amount of from 7 mole percent to 13 mole percent order to increasing the capacity of the capacitor, as taught by Okuno ‘112. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 16,
Okuno ‘112 disclose all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 16, except for wherein the redox active metal ion is present in the electrolyte at an amount of from 7 mole percent to 13 mole percent. However, Okuno ‘112 disclsoes that the amount of redox metal ions in the electrolyte is a result effective variable, particularly for reducing increasing the capacity capacitor ([0098]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Okuno ‘112 such that the redox active metal ion is present in the electrolyte at an amount of from 7 mole percent to 13 mole percent order to increasing the capacity of the capacitor, as taught by Okuno ‘112. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0255830 – [0069] US 2011/0043968 – [0041]
Ionic Liquids for Supercapacitor Applications – abstract
Biredox ionic liquids with solid-like redox density in the liquid state for high-energy supercapacitors – abstract
Electrochemical performance of electrochemical capacitors using Cu(II)-containing ionic liquid as the electrolyte - abstract
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847