DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 depends from a canceled claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 8-15, 18-21, and 23-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 14-15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morita (US 2023/0223196 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Morita discloses in fig. 1, a multilayer electronic component (100), comprising:
a body (11-13) including a dielectric layer (11) and an internal electrode (12); and
an external electrode (20a, 21) disposed on the body and comprising a conductive metal [0054], a ceramic material (23, [0068]) and glass (diffused, [0076]),
wherein the ceramic material includes BaTiO₃ [0068],
wherein when a content (wt%) of the ceramic material (23, [0076]) included in the external electrode is referred to as CE and a content (wt%) of glass (diffused, [0076]) included in the external electrode is referred to as GL, the external electrode satisfies GL < CE [0076].
Regarding claim 14, Morita discloses the glass includes lithium (Li, [0073]).
Regarding claim 15, Morita discloses the ceramic material includes barium (Ba) and titanium (Ti) [0076].
Regarding claim 18, Morita discloses conductive metal comprises Ni [0094].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 12-13, 19-21, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (US 2023/0223196 A1) in view of Nagamoto et al. (JP 2001-297628A).
Regarding claim 1, Morita discloses a multilayer electronic component (100), comprising:
a body including a dielectric layer (11) and an internal electrode (12); and
an external electrode (20a, 21) disposed on the body and comprising a conductive metal [0094], a ceramic material [0076],[0094] and glass (diffused, [0076])
wherein the ceramic material includes a perovskite (ABO₃)-based material [0094], and
wherein when a content (wt%) of the ceramic material [0076] included in the external electrode (23) is referred to as CE and a content (wt%) of glass included in the external electrode is referred to as GL (diffused, [0076]), the external electrode satisfies GL < CE [0076].
Morita discloses the claimed invention except for the glass includes silicon (Si), boron (B), sodium (Na), and aluminum (Al).
Nagamoto et al. disclose a conductive paste used in the formation of an external electrode for a multilayer ceramic capacitor, wherein the conductive paste comprises a glass material that comprises Si - B - Na - AI (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the multilayer ceramic device of Morita using the glass material of Nagamoto et al, wherein the glass material comprises Si - B- Na-Al, since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having excellent bonding strength between the external electrode and both the ceramic body and external plating film.
Regarding claim 2, Nagamoto et al. disclose the glass includes borosilicate glass (table 1 - composition primary comprising SiO2 and B2O3).
Regarding claim 3, Nagamoto et al. disclose the glass includes at least one of copper (Cu), bismuth (Bi), zinc (Zn), zirconium (Zr), lithium (Li), titanium (Ti), calcium (Ca), and lead (Pb) (table 1).
Regarding claim 4, Morita discloses the ceramic material includes BaTiO₃ [0068].
Regarding claim 5, Morita discloses the ceramic material includes barium (Ba) and titanium (Ti) [0068], [0076].
Regarding claim 8, Morita discloses conductive metal comprises Ni [0094].
Regarding claim 9, Nagamoto et al. disclose the glass includes SiO₂, B₂O₃, Na₂O, and AI203 (table 1).
Regarding claim 10, Nagamoto et al. disclose the glass includes at least one of CuO, Bi₂O₃, ZnO, ZrO, Li₂O, TiO₂, CaCO₃, NaHCO₃, and PbO (table 1).
Regarding claim 12, Morita discloses the claimed invention except for the glass includes borosilicate glass.
Nagamoto et al. disclose a glass that includes borosilicate glass (table 1 - composition primary comprising SiO2 and B203).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the multilayer ceramic device of Morita using the glass material of Nagamoto et al, wherein the glass material is a borosilicate glass, since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having excellent bonding strength between the external electrode and both the ceramic body and external plating film.
Regarding claim 13, Morita discloses the claimed invention except for the glass includes silicon (Si), boron (B), sodium (Na), and aluminum (AI).
Nagamoto et al. disclose a conductive paste used in the formation of an external electrode for a multilayer ceramic capacitor, wherein the conductive paste comprises a glass material that comprises Si - B - Na - AI (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the multilayer ceramic device of Morita using the glass material of Nagamoto et al, wherein the glass material comprises Si - B- Na-Al, since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having excellent bonding strength between the external electrode and both the ceramic body and external plating film.
Regarding claim 19, Morita discloses the claimed invention except for the glass includes SiO₂, B₂O₃, Na₂O, and Al₂O3.
Nagamoto et al. disclose a glass includes SiO₂, B₂O₃, Na₂O, and AI203 (table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the multilayer ceramic device of Morita using the glass material of Nagamoto et al, wherein the glass material comprises SiO₂, B₂O₃, Na₂O, and AI203, since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having excellent bonding strength between the external electrode and both the ceramic body and external plating film.
Regarding claim 20, Morita discloses the claimed invention except for the glass includes at least one of CuO, Bi₂O₃, ZnO, ZrO, Li₂O, TiO₂, CaCO₃, NaHCO₃, and PbO.
Nagamoto et al. disclose a glass includes at least one of CuO, Bi₂O₃, ZnO, ZrO, Li₂O, TiO₂, CaCO₃, NaHCO₃, and PbO (table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the multilayer ceramic device of Morita using the glass material of Nagamoto et al, wherein the glass material comprises at least one of CuO, Bi₂O₃, ZnO, ZrO, Li₂O, TiO₂, CaCO₃, NaHCO₃, and PbO, since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having excellent bonding strength between the external electrode and both the ceramic body and external plating film.
Regarding claim 21, Morita discloses an external electrode (21) for an electronic component, comprising:
a conductive metal [0094], a ceramic material [0094] and glass (from diffusion [0076]
wherein content of ceramic material (CE) in the external electrode is greater than
content of glass (GL) in the external electrode [0076], and wherein the ceramic material includes a perovskite (ABO₃)-based material [0094].
Morita discloses the claimed invention except for the glass includes silicon (Si), boron (B), sodium (Na) and aluminum (Al),
Nagamoto et al. disclose a conductive paste used in the formation of an external electrode for a multilayer ceramic capacitor, wherein the conductive paste comprises a glass material that comprises Si - B - Na - AI (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the multilayer ceramic device of Morita using the glass material of Nagamoto et al, wherein the glass material comprises Si - B- Na-Al, since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having excellent bonding strength between the external electrode and both the ceramic body and external plating film.
Regarding claim 23, Morita discloses the ceramic material includes at least one of lithium (Li), barium (Ba), calcium (Ca), aluminum (A1), copper (Cu), zirconium (Zr), and titanium (Ti) [0094].
Regarding claim 24, Nagamoto et al. disclose the glass includes at least one of copper (Cu), bismuth (Bi), zinc (Zn), zirconium (Zr), lithium (Li), titanium (Ti), calcium (Ca), and lead (Pb) (table 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with the other claim limitations, the prior art does not teach or suggest a multilayer electronic component / external electrode wherein 0.1 x CE ≤ GL ≤ 0.2 x CE (claims 7, 17 and 22).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847