DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 3-6, 9-13, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yavuz et al (WO 2025/078432).
Regarding claim 1. Yavuz teaches a first apparatus (figures 1 and 2 – UE item 12) comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (figures 1 and 2, pages 18-19 wherein UE comprises processor, memory storing instructions, figure 5 – UE comprises processor 510 and memory 530), cause the first apparatus at least to:
in accordance with a determination that an access to a cell by the first
apparatus is barred (figures 1 and 2, page 13 lines 31-35 wherein UE receives signaling (figure 1 at item 18 and figure 2 at item 200) from the network. The signaling includes cell barring indication (figure 1 at time 20 and figure 2 at item 210) which indicate the UE is barred from camping on, accessing or attempting to access the cell 116 (block 210)) , monitor an indication related to an emergency access in the cell (page 13 line 36 – page 14 line 7 wherein the signaling includes a barring bypass indication (figure 1 at item 22, figure 2 at item 220) which indicates the UE is allowed to camp on, access, or attempt to access the cell 22, despite the call barring indication 20, under one or more circumstances 24 (block 220). In some embodiments, the one or more circumstances 24 include the UE camping on, accessing or attempting the cell for a certain communication service from the communication network 10. In some embodiments, the certain communication service is an emergency service), wherein the first apparatus is barred from making a non-emergency access in the cell
based on the first apparatus being a RedCap user equipment with 1 receiving (Rx)
branch or 2 Rx branches (page 11 lines 28-35 and page 14 lines 15-20 and 30-34 wherein the network indicates that an eRedCap UE, which is barred due to having certain properties (e.g., because UE has 1RX, 2RX or HD-FDD), can anyway access the network for an “essential” service. This behavior will be referred to as the UE will “bypass” the barring indications, and this means that the UE could attempt to access the cell even if the UE has properties which would under normal circumstances force the UE to consider the cell as barred. One example of such essential service is emergency services such as emergency calls);
in accordance with a determination that the indication related to the
emergency access is received and that the indication indicates that the emergency access is allowed, determine whether the first apparatus is allowed to perform emergency access in the cell (page 15 lines 25-27 wherein based on the barring bypass indication 22, camping on, accessing, or attempting to access the cell, despite the cell barring indication 20, under one or more circumstances 24).
Regarding claim 12. Yavuz teaches a second apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (figures 1, 4 and 6 wherein network device 14 comprises processing circuitry 610 and memory 630), cause the second apparatus at least to:
transmit an indication related to an emergency access in a cell, the indication indicating whether (page 11 lines 28-35 and page 18 lines 9-12 wherein the network indicates that an eRedCap UE, which is barred due to having certain properties (e.g., because UE has 1RX, 2RX or HD-FDD), can anyway access the network for an “essential” service. This behavior will be referred to as the UE will “bypass” the barring indications, and this means that the UE could attempt to access the cell even if the UE has properties which would under normal circumstances force the UE to consider the cell as barred. One example of such essential service is emergency services such as emergency calls. The method also comprises according to the decision, transmitting or not transmitting, a barring bypass indication 22 indicating the UE is allowed to bypass the cell barring indication 20 under one or more circumstances 24 (block 420)).
Regarding claim 16. Yavuz teaches a method comprising:
in accordance with a determination that an access to a cell by (figures 1 and 2 – UE item 12) is barred (figures 1 and 2, page 13 lines 31-35 wherein UE receives signaling (figure 1 at item 18 and figure 2 at item 200) from the network. The signaling includes cell barring indication (figure 1 at time 20 and figure 2 at item 210) which indicate the UE is barred from camping on, accessing or attempting to access the cell 116 (block 210)), monitoring an indication related to an emergency access in the cell (page 13 line 36 – page 14 line 7 wherein the signaling includes a barring bypass indication (figure 1 at item 22, figure 2 at item 220) which indicates the UE is allowed to camp on, access, or attempt to access the cell 22, despite the call barring indication 20, under one or more circumstances 24 (block 220). In some embodiments, the one or more circumstances 24 include the UE camping on, accessing or attempting the cell for a certain communication service from the communication network 10. In some embodiments, the certain communication service is an emergency service), wherein the first apparatus is barred from making a non-emergency access in the cell based on the first apparatus being a RedCap user equipment with 1 receiving (Rx) branch or 2 Rx branches (page 11 lines 28-35 and page 14 lines 15-20 and 30-34 wherein the network indicates that an eRedCap UE, which is barred due to having certain properties (e.g., because UE has 1RX, 2RX or HD-FDD), can anyway access the network for an “essential” service. This behavior will be referred to as the UE will “bypass” the barring indications, and this means that the UE could attempt to access the cell even if the UE has properties which would under normal circumstances force the UE to consider the cell as barred. One example of such essential service is emergency services such as emergency calls);
in accordance with a determination that the indication related to the emergency access is received and that the indication indicates that the emergency access is allowed (page 15 lines 25-27 wherein based on the barring bypass indication 22, camping on, accessing, or attempting to access the cell, despite the cell barring indication 20, under one or more circumstances 24),
determining, (page 15 lines 25-27 wherein based on the barring bypass indication 22, camping on, accessing, or attempting to access the cell, despite the cell barring indication 20, under one or more circumstances 24); and
performing one of the following based on the determining:
performing the emergency access in the cell, or preventing the emergency access in the cell (page 11 lines 28-35 and page 14 lines 15-20 and 30-34 wherein the network indicates that an eRedCap UE, which is barred due to having certain properties (e.g., because UE has 1RX, 2RX or HD-FDD), can anyway access the network for an “essential” service. This behavior will be referred to as the UE will “bypass” the barring indications, and this means that the UE could attempt to access the cell even if the UE has properties which would under normal circumstances force the UE to consider the cell as barred. One example of such essential service is emergency services such as emergency calls).
Regarding claim 2. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 3. Yavuz teaches wherein the first apparatus is caused to: in accordance with a determination that no indication related to the emergency access is received, determine that the first apparatus is disallowed to perform the emergency access in the cell (page 12 lines 15-22 – Absence of barring bypassing indications. In case the network does not provide any indication (no barring bypass indication 22 is signaled), the UE interprets this as the UE as the UE cannot bypass the barring indications).
Regarding claims 4 and 13. Yavuz teaches wherein the indication is comprised in system information which is broadcasted from a second apparatus (page 11 lines 36-37 wherein the network can provide the indication (as an example of barring bypass indication 22) as part of System Information).
Regarding claim 5. Yavuz teaches wherein the first apparatus is caused to: in accordance with a determination that the first apparatus is allowed to perform the emergency access in the cell, determine the cell to be an acceptable cell (page 15 lines 25-27 – In some embodiments, the method further comprises, based on the barring bypass indication 22, camping on, accessing, or attempting to access the cell, despite the call barring indication 20, under one of the one or more circumstances 24).
Regarding claim 6. Yavuz teaches wherein the presence of the indication depends on information that the cell is inaccessible to the first apparatus (page 11 lines 27-35).
8. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 9. Yavuz teaches wherein the first apparatus is caused to: perform one of the following based on the determining: performing the emergency access in the cell, or preventing the emergency access in the cell (page 11 lines 28-35 and page 14 lines 15-20 and 30-34 wherein the network indicates that an eRedCap UE, which is barred due to having certain properties (e.g., because UE has 1RX, 2RX or HD-FDD), can anyway access the network for an “essential” service. This behavior will be referred to as the UE will “bypass” the barring indications, and this means that the UE could attempt to access the cell even if the UE has properties which would under normal circumstances force the UE to consider the cell as barred. One example of such essential service is emergency services such as emergency calls).
Regarding claims 10 and 19. Yavuz teaches wherein the indication indicates that the emergency access is allowed for a device with 1 receiving (Rx) branch (page 11 lines 28-35 and page 14 lines 15-20 and 30-34 wherein the network indicates that an eRedCap UE, which is barred due to having certain properties (e.g., because UE has 1RX, 2RX or HD-FDD), can anyway access the network for an “essential” service. This behavior will be referred to as the UE will “bypass” the barring indications, and this means that the UE could attempt to access the cell even if the UE has properties which would under normal circumstances force the UE to consider the cell as barred. One example of such essential service is emergency services such as emergency calls).
Regarding claims 11 and 20. Yavuz teaches wherein the indication indicates that emergency access is allowed for a device with 2 Rx branches (page 11 lines 28-35 and page 14 lines 15-20 and 30-34 wherein the network indicates that an eRedCap UE, which is barred due to having certain properties (e.g., because UE has 1RX, 2RX or HD-FDD), can anyway access the network for an “essential” service. This behavior will be referred to as the UE will “bypass” the barring indications, and this means that the UE could attempt to access the cell even if the UE has properties which would under normal circumstances force the UE to consider the cell as barred. One example of such essential service is emergency services such as emergency calls).
14. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 15. Yavuz teaches wherein the indication indicates that an emergency access is allowed for one or more of the following devices: a device with 1 receiving (Rx) branch, a device with 2 Rx branches (page 11 lines 28-35 and page 14 lines 15-20 and 30-34 wherein the network indicates that an eRedCap UE, which is barred due to having certain properties (e.g., because UE has 1RX, 2RX or HD-FDD), can anyway access the network for an “essential” service. This behavior will be referred to as the UE will “bypass” the barring indications, and this means that the UE could attempt to access the cell even if the UE has properties which would under normal circumstances force the UE to consider the cell as barred. One example of such essential service is emergency services such as emergency calls).
17. (Cancelled)
18. (Cancelled)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yavuz et al (WO 2025/078432) in view of Babaei (2021/0227451).
Regarding claim 7. Yavuz does not explicitly teach wherein the first apparatus is caused to: in accordance with a determination that the first apparatus is to initiate an emergency access, select a target cell for the emergency access from at least one candidate cell, wherein each of the at least one candidate cell is either accessible to the first apparatus or inaccessible to the first apparatus.
Babaei teaches modifying the System Information to include PLMN specific configuration information in uac-BarringPerPLMNList wherein the parameters may be specified by providing an index to the set of configurations (0150, 0154, 0165, 0194).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system information as taught by Yavuz to include the uac-BarringPerPLMNList as taught by Babaei in order to optimize cell selection process.
Conclusion
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2015/0126147) Koskela et al teaches UE receives access control information from the network wherein access control information further comprises emergency access barring (see claims 1, 3-4, and 6-9).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646