DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, & 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura et al. (US 2011/0228443) in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0172896).
In regards to claim 1,
Nishimura ‘443 discloses a multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body (2 – fig. 1; [0018]) including a dielectric layer (fig. 1; [0018] & [0037]) and an internal electrode (3a-3d – fig. 1; [0018]); and
an external electrode (2a-2b – fig. 1; [0018]) disposed on the body,
wherein the dielectric layer includes:
a main component represented by (Cax, Sr1-x)(Zry, Ti1-y)O3 (table 1 – sample 15-16),
a first sub-component including at least one of rare earth elements selected from the group consisting of yttrium (Y), dysprosium (Dy), and terbium (Tb) ([0028] – Dy, Y, Tb),
a second sub-component including silicon (Si) (abstract & table 1 – sample 15-16), and
a third sub-component including at least one variable valence acceptor elements (abstract, [0016], & table 1 – sample 15-16 – Mn),
wherein x satisfies 0.5 ≤ x < 1.0, and y satisfies 0.950 ≤ y < 1.00 (table 1 – sample 15-16), and
wherein a content of silicon (Si) of the second sub-component is 0.95 moles or higher and 1.35 moles or lower based on 100 moles of the main component (abstract, [0016] & table 1 – sample 15-16). Nishimura ‘443 fails to disclose wherein a content of the at least one of the rare earth elements of the first sub-component is 1.0 moles or higher and 2.0 moles or lower based on 100 moles of the main component.
Park ‘896 discloses that that the amount of rare earth element added to the main component is a result effective variable, particularly for improving reliability and suppressing leakage current while ensuring insulating characteristics and sinterability are not decreased ([0061-0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Nishimura ‘443 such that the ceramic component has 1.0 moles or higher and 2.0 moles or lower based on 100 moles of the main component of Dy, Y, or Tb to obtain a capacitor with improved reliability and low leakage current while ensuring insulating characteristics and sinterability are not decreased as taught by Park ‘896. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 5,
Nishimura ‘443 as modified by Park ‘896 further discloses wherein the variable valence acceptor elements include at least one selected from the group consisting of manganese (Mn), vanadium (V), chromium (Cr), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), zinc (Zn) and combinations thereof (abstract, [0016], & table 1 – sample 15-16).
In regards to claim 6,
Nishimura ‘443 as modified by Park ‘896 further discloses wherein a content of the variable valence acceptor elements of the third sub-component is 1.0 moles or higher 3.0 moles or lower based on 100 moles of the main component (abstract & [0016]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, in re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed, Cir. 1990)
In regards to claim 7,
Nishimura ‘443 as modified by Park ‘896 further discloses wherein an average sintering density of the dielectric layer is 4.66g/cm3 or more (claim 1 rejection above – based on the material composition the dielectric density which is a property of the material will be met).
In regards to claim 8,
Nishimura ‘443 discloses a multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body (2 – fig. 1; [0018]) including a dielectric layer (fig. 1; [0018] & [0037]) and an internal electrode (3a-3d – fig. 1; [0018]); and
an external electrode (2a-2b – fig. 1; [0018]) disposed on the body,
wherein the dielectric layer includes a main component having a perovskite structure represented as ABO3, and a sub-component (abstract & table 1 – sample 15-16),
wherein an A-site of the perovskite structure includes at least one of calcium (Ca) or strontium (Sr), and a B-site of the perovskite structure includes at least one of zirconium (Zr) and titanium (Ti) (abstract & table 1 – sample 15-16),
a first sub-component including at least one of rare earth elements selected from the group consisting of yttrium (Y), dysprosium (Dy), and terbium (Tb) ([0028] – Dy, Y, Tb),
a second sub-component including silicon (Si) (abstract & table 1 – sample 15-16), and
a third sub-component including at least one variable valence acceptor elements (abstract, [0016], & table 1 – sample 15-16 – Mn),
wherein, when a molecular ratio of calcium (Ca) in the A-site of the perovskite structure is defined as x, a molecular ratio of strontium (Sr) is defined as 1-x, a molecular ratio of zirconium (Zr) in the B-site of the perovskite structure is defined as y, and a molecular ratio of titanium (Ti) is defined as 1-y, x satisfies 0.5 ≤ x < 1.0, and y satisfies 0.950 ≤ y < 1.00 (abstract & table 1 – sample 15-16),
wherein a content of silicon (Si) of the second sub-component is 0.95 moles or higher based on 100 moles of the B-site of the perovskite structure (abstract, [0016] & table 1 – sample 15-16). Nishimura ‘443 fails to disclose wherein a content of the at least one of the rare earth elements of the first sub-component is 1.0 moles or higher and 2.0 moles or lower based on 100 moles of the B-site of the perovskite structure.
Park ‘896 discloses that that the amount of rare earth element added to the main component is a result effective variable, particularly for improving reliability and suppressing leakage current while ensuring insulating characteristics and sinterability are not decreased ([0061-0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Nishimura ‘443 such that the ceramic component has 1.0 moles or higher and 2.0 moles or lower based on 100 moles of the main component of Dy, Y, or Tb to obtain a capacitor with improved reliability and low leakage current while ensuring insulating characteristics and sinterability are not decreased as taught by Park ‘896. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 12,
Nishimura ‘443 as modified by Park ‘896 further discloses wherein the variable valence acceptor elements include at least one selected from the group consisting of manganese (Mn), vanadium (V), chromium (Cr), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), zinc (Zn) and combinations thereof (abstract, [0016], & table 1 – sample 15-16).
In regards to claim 13,
Nishimura ‘443 as modified by Park ‘896 further discloses wherein a content of the variable valence acceptor elements of the third sub-component is 1.0 moles or higher 3.0 moles or lower based on 100 moles of the main component (abstract & [0016]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, in re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed, Cir. 1990)
In regards to claim 14,
Nishimura ‘443 as modified by Park ‘896 further discloses wherein an average sintering density of the dielectric layer is 4.66g/cm3 or more (claim 1 rejection above – based on the material composition the dielectric density which is a property of the material will be met).
In regards to claim 15,
Nishimura ‘443 discloses a dielectric composition, comprising:
a main component represented by (Cax, Sr1-x)(Zry, Ti1-y)O3 (abstract & table 1 – sample 15-16),
a first sub-component at least one rare earth element selected from the group consisting of yttrium (Y), dysprosium (Dy), and terbium (Tb) ([0028] – Dy, Y, Tb),
a second sub-component including silicon (Si) (abstract & table 1 – sample 15-16), and
a third sub-component including at least one variable valence acceptor elements (abstract, [0016], & table 1 – sample 15-16 – Mn),
wherein x satisfies 0.5 ≤ x < 1.0, and y satisfies 0.950 ≤ y < 1.00 (abstract & table 1 – sample 15-16),
wherein a content of silicon (Si) of the second sub-component is 0.95 moles or higher and 1.35 moles or lower based on 100 moles of the main component (abstract, [0016] & table 1 – sample 15-16). Nishimura ‘443 fails to disclose wherein a content of the rare earth element of the first sub-component is 1.0 moles or higher and 2.0 moles or lower based on 100 moles of the main component.
Park ‘896 discloses that that the amount of rare earth element added to the main component is a result effective variable, particularly for improving reliability and suppressing leakage current while ensuring insulating characteristics and sinterability are not decreased ([0061-0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Nishimura ‘443 such that the ceramic component has 1.0 moles or higher and 2.0 moles or lower based on 100 moles of the main component of Dy, Y, or Tb to obtain a capacitor with improved reliability and low leakage current while ensuring insulating characteristics and sinterability are not decreased as taught by Park ‘896. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP1036778A1 – claim 2
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847