DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arcio (US Pub No. 2025/0057726).
Regarding claim 1, Arcio discloses (Figures 1-25) a device (100) for applying pressure to a physiological pressure point (Paragraphs 0053-0057), comprising: a first jaw (150); a second jaw (160) that opposes the first jaw and is in a pivoting and spring biased relationship relative to the first jaw (Paragraphs 0056-0057); and a variable pressure actuator (500) that moves the first jaw toward the second jaw and retracts the first jaw from the second jaw (Paragraphs 0056-0057 and 0064); wherein the second jaw is constructed and arranged to contact a palm of a hand of a user (Paragraphs 0056-0057 and 0064), and the first jaw is constructed and arranged to contact an opposite side of the hand of the user (Paragraphs 0056-0057 and 0064), and the first jaw and the second jaw cooperate to apply pressure at a physiological pressure point of the hand (Paragraphs 0056-0057 and 0064).
Regarding claim 2, further comprising a first tip (130) for concentrating pressure extending from the first jaw and toward the second jaw, and a second tip (320) for concentrating pressure extending from the second jaw and toward the first jaw, wherein the first tip and the second tip are constructed and arranged to cooperatively apply pressure at a physiological pressure point of the hand (Paragraphs 0056-0057 and 0064).
Regarding claim 5, further comprising a quick release mechanism (Paragraph 0066) [Quick-release latch].
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Labash (US Pub No. 2011/0270013).
Regarding claim 1, Labash discloses (Figures 1-7) a device (10) for applying pressure to a physiological pressure point (Paragraphs 0031 and 0035-0036), comprising: a first jaw (38); a second jaw (92, 66) that opposes the first jaw and is in a pivoting and spring biased relationship relative to the first jaw (Paragraphs 0033-0034); and a variable pressure actuator (12, 126, 122, 118, 120, 124) (Figure 7) that moves the first jaw toward the second jaw and retracts the first jaw from the second jaw (Paragraphs 0040-0045); wherein the second jaw is constructed and arranged to contact a palm of a hand of a user (Paragraphs 0040-0045), and the first jaw is constructed and arranged to contact an opposite side of the hand of the user (Paragraphs 0040-0045), and the first jaw and the second jaw cooperate to apply pressure at a physiological pressure point of the hand (Paragraphs 0033-0034 and 0040-0045).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the variable pressure actuator (12, 126, 122, 118, 120, 124) extends from and pivots relative to the second jaw (Extends from and pivots relative to the second jaw at pivot point 88 as shown in Figure 7) and is pivotable to contact the first jaw (As the variable pressure actuator pivots, it is in contact with the first jaw 38 at pin locations 52 and 54).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the variable pressure actuator (12, 126, 122, 118, 120, 124) extends from and pivots relative to the second jaw (Extends from and pivots relative to the second jaw at pivot point 88 as shown in Figure 7) and is pivotable to contact the first jaw (As the variable pressure actuator pivots, it is in contact with the first jaw 38 at pin locations 52 and 54), and wherein the variable pressure actuator comprises a threaded member (118) and a threaded collar (124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labash (US Pub No. 2011/0270013) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Black (US Pub No. 2017/0333280).
Regarding claim 7, Labash discloses the invention above except for wherein the first tip and the second tip are heated.
Black, in the analogous art of devices for applying pressure, teaches (Figure 14) a fitness device (1400) that includes tips (1414) that are heated (Paragraph 0065). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Labash to have the first tip and the second tip to be heated as taught by Black, in order to relax tight muscles and relieve pain.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labash (US Pub No. 2011/0270013) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tima (US Pub No. 2017/0042764).
Regarding claim 8, Labash discloses the invention above except for wherein the first tip and the second tip vibrate.
Tima, in the analogous art of devices for applying pressure, teaches (Figure 1) a device (10) that includes tips (26) that vibrate (Paragraph 0030). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Labash to have the first tip and the second tip to vibrate as taught by Tima, in order to improve blood circulation and provide deeper muscle relaxation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in the dependent claims:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the combination of features as claimed. In particular, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein moving the variable pressure actuator out of the slot moves the first jaw and second jaw apart by the spring biased relationship (claim 6).
Conclusion
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771