DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application file on 09 October 2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP23205494.0, filed on 24 October 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 October 2024 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because fig. 7 step 603, fig. 8 step 703 and fig. 9 step 803 are all unclear in view of the spec as to what occurs in the listed steps. Examiner notes: this rejection is provided as it relates to the specification rejection below, it is unclear what occurs at the steps, therefore no change in the drawings is required if the spec. is clarified. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. [66] recites “it is continued to step 603” however it is not clear as to what occurs at “step 603”.
Para. [67] recites “it is continued to step 703” however it is not clear as to what occurs at “step 703”.
Para. [68] recites “it is continued to step 803” however it is not clear as to what occurs at “step 803”.
Para. [80] recites “implement dithering of current 200Hz/±10mA” however the range of current is expressed in hertz and amps. It is not clear how to assess the relationship between current and hertz as hertz is a unit for frequency. Examiner note: instruments (gages, sensors, etc...) are calibrated to provide an accuracy of an indicated value, where the accuracy would use the same units as the instrument detects.
The Examiner reminds the Applicant that no new matter may be added to the disclosure in the amendment, see 35 U.S.C. 132(a), 37 C.F.R. 1.121(f) and MPEP § 608.04.
Examiner note: the clarification of the above step(s) may be viewed as adding new matter if not tied to at least fig. 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “current 200Hz/±10mA” in line 15. Claim 8 is not clear as the units of current is amps and not hertz. The range of “current” is unclear in the claim language. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets claim 8 to be “dithering of current to minimize hysteresis”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the propeller speed... the propeller speed references” in lines 10-11. Claims 1 and 15 do not recite “a propeller speed... a plurality of propeller speed references”. Therefore, the claimed language has yet to be introduced. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets claim 15 to be “a propeller speed... a plurality of propeller speed references”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “region” in line 14. Claims 1 and 16 do not recite “a region”. Therefore, the claimed language has yet to be introduced. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets claim 16 to be “a region”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “a clutch arrangement... a clutch plate... a clutch piston... a first hydraulic area... a second hydraulic area... an electrically controlled proportional pressure valve... an electrically controlled on/off valve” in lines 20-23. Claim 1 recite “a clutch arrangement... a clutch plate... a clutch piston... a first hydraulic area... a second hydraulic area... an electrically controlled proportional pressure valve... an electrically controlled on/off valve” in lines 11-15. Therefore, it is not clear if the claim language of claim 18 is the same or different than that of claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets claim 18 to be “the clutch arrangement... the clutch plate... the clutch piston... the first hydraulic area... the second hydraulic area... the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve... the electrically controlled on/off valve”.
Claims 19-20 are rejected based on claim 18 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ).
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the reference pressure... the measured actuation pressure” in lines 3-4 {page 4 of 4}. Claim 19 lines 27-29 recites “a predetermined actuation pressure... a pressure reference”. Therefore, it is not clear if “the reference pressure... the measured actuation pressure” of claim 20 is the same or different than “a predetermined actuation pressure... a pressure reference” of claim 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner interprets claim 20 to be “the pressure reference... a measured actuation pressure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 9-13, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Logan et al. (US 10767708 B1). See below for selected figs. from the prior art.
Regarding claim 1, Logan et al. discloses a marine propulsion system (See at least: figs. 1-2, 13, 24 and 39) for a marine vessel (ship 10; See at least: fig. 1 and col. 4 lines 8-9 “a ship or other seagoing vessel generally indicated 10”), comprising an engine (engines 12; See at least: figs. 1-2), a propeller unit (thrusters 14; See at least: figs. 1-2) comprising one or more propellers (propellers; See at least: col. 4 lines 12-13 “Thrusters 14 include propellers”), a transmission (clutch 18, drive shaft 20, couplings 22, gear box 24, clutch 26; See at least: fig. 2) arranged between the engine and the propeller unit, a hydraulic clutch arrangement ( ; See at least: figs. 5-13 and 24 or figs. 25-39 for an alternate embodiment), the clutch arrangement is configured to control a power transfer (“power transmission”; See at least: abstract) between the engine and the propeller unit, a control unit (clutch control circuitry 164, 456; See at least: fig. 5 or 13 and col. 17 lines 41-60), wherein the clutch arrangement comprises a clutch plate (“a plurality of spaced clutch discs 50” or pressure plate 134 ; See at least: fig. 5 or 13) and a clutch piston (annular piston 58, 132 ; See at least: fig. 5 or 13), the clutch piston is configured to be actuated by a first hydraulic area (cavity 130 ; See at least: fig. 13 and col. 9 lines 35-38 “Supplying pressure to the opening 142 is operative to cause fluid pressure to be applied behind the piston 132 in cavity 130. This causes the piston 132 to move axially to the left as shown in FIGS. 12 and 13.”) and/or a second hydraulic area (manifold chamber 148; See at least: fig. 13 and col. 9 line 66 to col. 10 line 3 “The transmission fluid that is alternatively referred to herein as cooling oil or cooling fluid, flows through a transmission passage 146 that extends in the shaft 98. The fluid passage is in connection with a manifold chamber 148 in the hub portion 122.” {Examiner note: that this second hydraulic area does not actuate the piston 58, 132, however the claim language “and/or” is interpreted that either, (1)both or (2) one of the first or second hydraulic area(s) have to actuate the piston.}), and wherein the first hydraulic area is pressurized by an electrically controlled proportional pressure valve (pressure control valve 180, 476 with interface 178, 478; See at least: fig. 24 and col. 18 lines 30-46 or fig. 39 for an alternate embodiment) and the second hydraulic area is pressurized by an electrically controlled on/off valve (cooling flow control valve 188, 484 with interface 186, 486; See at least: fig. 24 and col. 18 line 47-60 or fig. 39 for an alternate embodiment), the control unit is operatively connected with the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve and the electrically controlled on/off valve (See at least: fig. 24 or fig. 39 for an alternate embodiment), and is configured to control the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve and the electrically controlled on/off valve (See at least: fig. 24 or fig. 39 for an alternate embodiment and col. 27 lines 48-50 “The flow control valve 484 is controlled by the control circuit 456 through a suitable electronic interface 486...” where Logan et al. further defines electronic control).
Regarding claim 2, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses wherein the control unit is configured to control the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve independently of the electrically controlled on/off valve (See at least: fig. 24 or fig. 39 for an alternate embodiment where two different control lines are shown and therefore interpreted as independent control of each associated valve), or the control unit is configured to control the electrically controlled on/off valve independently of the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve (See at least: fig. 24 or fig. 39 for an alternate embodiment where two different control lines are shown and therefore interpreted as independent control of each associated valve).
Regarding claim 5, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses wherein the first hydraulic area is substantially equal in size to the second hydraulic area, the first hydraulic area being smaller than the second hydraulic area (See at least: fig. 13 where cavity 130 is viewed as smaller than manifold chamber 148), or the first hydraulic area being larger than the second hydraulic area.
Regarding claim 9, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses wherein the clutch arrangement has a predetermined actuation pressure (inherent characteristic; Examiner Rationale: this is an inherent characteristic, col. 9 lines 42-43 “...When fluid pressure is relieved from the fluid passage 140, springs 144 act to retract the piston 132 in the cavity...” therefore, spring pressure is a predetermine actuation pressure associated with the fluid pressure. Spring pressure is a calculated value based on the selection of the size, quantity, arrangement and material of the springs 144. Additionally, the application's actuation pressure and the prior art pressure to overcome springs 144 are substantially identical and therefore it is understood that both perform the same when actuating the piston.), the predetermined actuation pressure is a pressure reference (inherent characteristic; Examiner Rationale: this is an inherent characteristic where springs 144 pressure is associated to the fluid pressure to overcome spring pressure. Additionally, the application's actuation pressure and the prior art pressure to overcome springs 144 are substantially identical and therefore it is understood that both perform the same when actuating the piston.).
Regarding claim 10, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses further comprising one or more pressure sensor(s) (sensor 496; See at least: fig. 39 and col. 28 lines 61-66 “...sensor 496 may comprise a pressure transducer that is in operative connection with the pump and/or valve and is operable to determine the fluid pressure available at the valve. In other exemplary arrangements pressure transducers may be positioned to detect fluid pressure that is currently supplied by the valve to the clutch.”) being configured to measure an actuation pressure (“fluid pressure that is currently supplied by the valve to the clutch”; See at least: See at least: fig. 39 and col. 28 lines 61-64, recited above) of the clutch arrangement.
Regarding claim 11, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses wherein the control unit comprises an actuation pressure controller (“operating information communicated from the control circuit 456 to the computers 506”; See at least: col. 30 lines 14-25 “In other exemplary arrangements the operating information communicated from the control circuit 456 to the computers 506 may be useful for purposes of determining that components are operating in ways that suggest they are reaching the end of their useful life. This may include for example the coupling status sensors indicating that the coupling is starting to break down, that the pump is no longer supplying adequate pressure for purposes of actuating the valve, that the clutch is experiencing excessive slip levels and other conditions that may be recognized through programmed instructions as indicative of current or developing problems.” Emphasis added by Examiner where the operating information is interpreted as programming code or algorithm that is associated with monitoring the supply of adequate pressure for actuating the valve and providing response conditions.).
Regarding claim 12, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 10 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses wherein the one or more pressure sensors (sensor 496; See at least: fig. 39 and col. 28 lines 61-66 “...sensor 496 may comprise a pressure transducer that is in operative connection with the pump and/or valve and is operable to determine the fluid pressure available at the valve. In other exemplary arrangements pressure transducers may be positioned to detect fluid pressure that is currently supplied by the valve to the clutch.”) are operatively connected with the actuation pressure controller (“operating information communicated from the control circuit 456 to the computers 506”; See at least: col. 30 lines 14-25 “In other exemplary arrangements the operating information communicated from the control circuit 456 to the computers 506 may be useful for purposes of determining that components are operating in ways that suggest they are reaching the end of their useful life. This may include for example the coupling status sensors indicating that the coupling is starting to break down, that the pump is no longer supplying adequate pressure for purposes of actuating the valve, that the clutch is experiencing excessive slip levels and other conditions that may be recognized through programmed instructions as indicative of current or developing problems.” Emphasis added by Examiner where the operating information is interpreted as programming code or algorithm that is associated with monitoring the supply of adequate pressure for actuating the valve and providing response conditions.).
Regarding claim 13, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 10 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses wherein the pressure sensor(s) is/are configured to measure forward and/or reverse actuation pressure (See at least: fig. 39 and col. 28 lines 61-66 “...sensor 496 may comprise a pressure transducer that is in operative connection with the pump and/or valve and is operable to determine the fluid pressure available at the valve. In other exemplary arrangements pressure transducers may be positioned to detect fluid pressure that is currently supplied by the valve to the clutch...” where the fluid pressure disclosed by Logan et al. is interpreted all fluid pressure in the supply line to the clutch for all operations), the measured actuation pressure is used as feedback to the actuation pressure controller (See at least: col. 30 lines 14-25 “that the pump is no longer supplying adequate pressure for purposes of actuating the valve...” Emphasis added by Examiner where the operating information is interpreted as programming code or algorithm that will feedback to control circuit 456 that the pressure for purposes of actuating the valve is no longer adequate and respond due to the pressure value received.).
Regarding claim 15, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses further comprising a propeller speed controller (control circuitry 164; See at least: col. 19 lines 5-14, recited in full below), the propeller speed controller is configured to control the propeller speed on basis of the propeller speed references (See at least: col. 19 lines 5-14 “..The control circuitry 164 responds to the electrical commands of positioning system 162 to speed up or slow down the output shaft of the clutch so as to cause the thrusters to operate at the speed necessary to hold the desired position. In doing this, the clutch control circuitry uses the information from the sensors to monitor input speed, the output speed and the temperature and other parameters associated with the clutch. The control circuitry then operates to send signals which control the pressure control valve as desired to change the output speed of the clutch...” where the Examiner interprets “the propeller speed references” as a look up table that relates a control signal to a pressure control valve that corresponds to the desired change in output speed of the clutch, and where the output speed of the clutch is related to the propeller speed as disclosed by Logan et al.).
Regarding claim 17, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses a marine vessel ( ship 10; See at least: fig. 1 and col. 4 lines 8-9 “a ship or other seagoing vessel generally indicated 10”), comprising a marine propulsion system of claim 1 (See at least: above rejection of claim 1). {Examiner note: claim 1 recites “a marine vessel” in the preamble and did not further recite it in the claim language. Therefore claim 17 was considered for a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(d). Examiner interpreted claim 1 not to positively recite “a marine vessel”.}
Regarding claim 18, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses a method for controlling a marine propulsion system (See at least: citation of claim 1 above) of claim 1, comprising arranging a clutch arrangement (See at least: citation of claim 1 above) comprising a clutch plate (See at least: citation of claim 1 above) and a clutch piston (See at least: citation of claim 1 above), the clutch piston is configured to be actuated by a first hydraulic area (See at least: citation of claim 1 above) and/or a second hydraulic area (See at least: citation of claim 1 above), pressurizing the first hydraulic area by an electrically controlled proportional pressure valve (See at least: citation of claim 1 above), pressurizing the second hydraulic area by an electrically controlled on/off valve (See at least: citation of claim 1 above), controlling the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve independently of the electrically controlled on/off valve or vice versa (See at least: citation of claim 2 above).
Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 19, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 18 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses further comprising setting and/or calculating a predetermined actuation pressure (inherent characteristic; Examiner Rationale: this is an inherent characteristic, col. 9 lines 42-43 “...When fluid pressure is relieved from the fluid passage 140, springs 144 act to retract the piston 132 in the cavity...” therefore, spring pressure is a predetermine actuation pressure associated with the fluid pressure. Spring pressure is a calculated value based on the selection of the size, quantity, arrangement and material of the springs 144. Additionally, the application's actuation pressure and the prior art pressure to overcome springs 144 are substantially identical and therefore it is understood that both perform the same when actuating the piston.), the predetermined actuation pressure is a pressure reference (inherent characteristic; Examiner Rationale: this is an inherent characteristic where springs 144 pressure is associated to the fluid pressure to overcome spring pressure. Additionally, the application's actuation pressure and the prior art pressure to overcome springs 144 are substantially identical and therefore it is understood that both perform the same when actuating the piston.).
Regarding claim 20, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Logan et al. discloses further comprising measuring an actuation pressure (“fluid pressure that is currently supplied by the valve to the clutch”; See at least: fig. 39 and col. 28 lines 61-66 “...sensor 496 may comprise a pressure transducer that is in operative connection with the pump and/or valve and is operable to determine the fluid pressure available at the valve. In other exemplary arrangements pressure transducers may be positioned to detect fluid pressure that is currently supplied by the valve to the clutch...”) of the clutch arrangement, providing an actuation pressure controller (“operating information communicated from the control circuit 456 to the computers 506”; See at least: col. 30 lines 14-25 cited above and claim 11 rejection), controlling the actuation pressure on basis of the reference pressure (See at least: col. 5 lines 41-45 “Hydraulic pressure applied to the fluid passage 60 causes the piston to move to the left as shown in FIG. 5. Movement of the piston to the left causes the clutch discs and separator discs to be axially compressed and moved relative to the disc housing and the hub portion...” where Examiner interprets “the reference pressure” to be the hydraulic pressure applied for moving or controlling the piston under normal operations) and/or the measured actuation pressure (See at least: fig. 39 and col. 30 lines 14-25 “This may include for example the coupling status sensors indicating that the coupling is starting to break down, that the pump is no longer supplying adequate pressure for purposes of actuating the valve...” Emphasis added by Examiner where “the measured actuation pressure” is interpreted by the Examiner as a measured pressure from at least one sensor 496 where the control circuit 456 is monitoring the pressure to determine if supply pressure is adequate.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Logan et al. (US 10767708 B1) in view of Poirier et al. (US 20220252148 A1). See below for selected figs. from the prior art.
Regarding claim 3, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
However, Logan et al. does not explicitly disclose further comprising an input unit (See at least: fig. 1 showing ship’s pilot house (bridge)) for adjusting a speed of the marine vessel in a forward direction and/or in a reverse direction.
Poirier et al. in a similar field of endeavor, teaches further comprising an input unit (throttle controls 88a-88c; See at least: fig. 3, para. [0058] “operator input devices located at a helm 80” and para. [0060] “Throttle controls 88a-88c are also provided at the helm 80, which provide thrust commands as both a magnitude and a direction of thrust for each the marine propulsion devices 101a-101c, respectively, based on lever positions detected by a corresponding throttle position sensors 89a-89c. However, it should be recognized that a single lever could also be provided for controlling all marine propulsion devices 101a-101c.”) for adjusting a speed (“speed”; See at least: para. [0058] “The operator input devices are operable to control, among other things, the speed and direction of the marine vessel 12 in manners known in the art...”) of the marine vessel in a forward direction and/or in a reverse direction (“direction” ; See at least: See at least: para. [0058] “The operator input devices are operable to control, among other things, the speed and direction of the marine vessel 12 in manners known in the art...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified ship 10 of Logan et al. with helm 80, throttle controls 88a-88c, central control module 90 and propulsion control modules (PCMs) 120a-120c of Poirier et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing a control system with input devices to control the marine propulsion devices thereby controlling the ship (See at least: Poirier et al. para. [0064] “the system 100 includes a control system 200 that communicates with input devices 199 from various components, such as position sensors 85, 87 that detect the positions of the joystick 84 and/or steering wheel 86, respectively, for example. Additional input devices 199 include the throttle valve position sensors 108a-108c and/or user interface 82, for example by setting a route or destination using the GPS 72. The control system 200 also communicates with output devices 201, such as propulsion control modules (PCMs) 120a-120c that control the marine propulsion devices 101a-101c, as well as corresponding steering actuators and trim actuators as known in the art, for example.”).
Regarding claim 4, Logan et al. in view of Poirier et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 3 as noted above.
However, Logan et al. does not disclose wherein the control unit is operatively connected with the input unit.
Poirier et al. in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the control unit (central control module 90; See at least: figs. 3-4 and para. 66) is operatively connected with the input unit (See at least: figs. 3-4).
Therefore, claim 4 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 3 above.
Claims 6-8, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Logan et al. (US 10767708 B1) in view of Bielefeld et al. (US 11459076 B1). See below for selected figs. from the prior art.
Regarding claim 6, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
However, Logan et al. does not disclose wherein the control unit comprises a current controller the current controller is configured to closed-loop current control the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve and/or the electrically controlled on/off valve (See at least: fig. 24 or fig. 39 for an alternate embodiment).
Bielefeld et al. in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the control unit (control module 28: See at least: fig. 1 and col. 4 lines 39-43 “The marine propulsion system 10 also includes a control module 28 in signal communication with the engines 16a, 16b and the transmissions 20a, 20b, as well as their associated sensors and valves and other components noted herein below.”) comprises a current controller (process 600; See at least: fig. 6), the current controller is configured to closed-loop current control ( “within a closed loop control”; See at least: fig. 6 and col. 11 lines 39-47 “...controlled within a closed loop control... current to the valve is pulsed to “unstick” the valve. After the pulse is completed, the valve may be controlled to close in the customary manner.”) the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve and/or the electrically controlled on/off valve (trolling valves TV1, TV2, TVR; See at least: Fig. 2 and col. 8 lines 15-25 “The trolling valves TV1, TV2, TVR may be configured to receive control signals from the control module 28 and responsively control an amount of hydraulic fluid to the clutches 70, 72, 80, thus controlling the amount of engagement of the clutches 70, 72, 80 with their respective gears 66, 52, 60. Although the valves are referred to as “trolling” valves, thus implying a specific application on marine vessels for trolling operations, the valves TV1, TV2, TVR may be used in any of a variety of other applications for the purpose of controlling an amount of hydraulic fluid to the clutches 70, 72, 80.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified clutch control circuitry 164, 456 of Logan et al. with process 600 of Bielefeld et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of using a pulse of current to prevent or correct sticky valves and long valve disengage delays (See at least: Bielefeld et al. col. 9 lines 40-46 “...The inventors conducted experiments to overcome the sticky valves and long disengage delays DD shown in the prior art control method of FIG. 4. When the request R to disengage a gear is received, a “flush pulse” was immediately delivered to the valve, which is a pulse of current delivered by commanding a step change in the valve current for a short duration, for example.”).
Regarding claim 7, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
However, Logan et al. does not disclose wherein the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve and/or the electrically controlled on/off valve is/are controlled by a predetermined current, the predetermined current is a current reference.
Bielefeld et al. in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve and/or the electrically controlled on/off valve is/are controlled by a predetermined current (“control signals” with “current to the driving solenoid” ; See at least: col. 8 lines 15-20 “The trolling valves TV1, TV2, TVR may be configured to receive control signals from the control module 28 and responsively control an amount of hydraulic fluid to the clutches 70, 72, 80, thus controlling the amount of engagement of the clutches 70, 72, 80 with their respective gears 66, 52, 60...” and col. 8 lines 32-34 “current to the driving solenoid” therefore the control signal is also a current to the driving solenoid where the current corresponds to a position of the solenoid controlled valve), the predetermined current is a current reference (inherent characteristic; Examiner Rationale: this is an inherent characteristic the control signal current is inherently tied to a system associated reference pressure and reference valve position, therefore the current itself is a reference that is able to be looked up to mean at least a pressure and a valve position in view of the system operation. Additionally, the application's valves and the prior art valves are substantially identical and therefore it is understood that both perform the same when applying a current to perform operation of the system. See at least: figs. 4-5 and 7-9 where current {left side of the tables} is associated with a pressure {right side of the tables}).
Therefore, claim 7 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 8, Logan et al. in view of Bielefeld et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 6 as noted above.
However, Logan et al. does not disclose wherein the current controller is configured to implement dithering of current 200Hz/±10mA to minimize hysteresis of the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve and/or the electrically controlled on/off valve.
Bielefeld et al. in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the current controller is configured to implement dithering (“dithering process”; See at least: fig. 9 and col. 11 lines 23-38) of current 200Hz/±10mA to minimize hysteresis (“pressure waveform PW” ; See at least: fig. 9 and col. 11 lines 27-32 “In this example, it can be seen via the pressure waveform PW that the pressure in the valve declines towards the commanded 90 kPa much more quickly (and in fact reaches 90 kPa, unlike the process shown in FIG. 8), which is a result of the oscillation in the current supplied to the valve by a process known as “dithering.”) of the electrically controlled proportional pressure valve and/or the electrically controlled on/off valve.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified clutch control circuitry 164, 456 of Logan et al. with dithering process of Bielefeld et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of using a dithering process to provide oscillating the current supplied to a valve such the pressure in the valve declines to the signal command pressure in a shorter time. (See at least: Bielefeld et al. fig. 9 and col. 11 lines 27-32, recited above).
Regarding claim 14, Logan et al. in view of Bielefeld et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as noted above.
However, Logan et al. does not disclose wherein the actuation pressure controller is configured to control the actuation pressure of the clutch arrangement by a closed-loop control.
Bielefeld et al. in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the actuation pressure controller (control module 28; See at least: fig. 1 and col. 4 lines 39-60 “The marine propulsion system 10 also includes a control module 28 in signal communication with the engines 16a, 16b and the transmissions 20a, 20b, as well as their associated sensors and valves and other components noted herein below... If more than one control module is provided, each can control operation of a specific device or sub-system on the marine vessel.” Emphasis added by Examiner) is configured to control the actuation pressure of the clutch arrangement by a closed-loop control ( “a closed loop pressure control for controlling the valve”; See at least: col. 8 lines 63-64).
Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 16, Logan et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
However, Logan et al. does not disclose further comprising an engine controller configured to control an engine speed so as to avoid region with slip-stick near full clutch engagement.
Bielefeld et al. in a similar field of endeavor, teaches further comprising an engine controller (control module 28; See at least: fig. 1 and col. 4 lines 39-60 “The marine propulsion system 10 also includes a control module 28 in signal communication with the engines 16a, 16b and the transmissions 20a, 20b, as well as their associated sensors and valves and other components noted herein below... Although FIG. 1 shows one control module 28, the marine propulsion system 10 can include more than one control module. Portions of the method disclosed herein below can be carried out by a single control module or by several separate control modules. For example, the marine propulsion system 10 can have control modules located at or near a helm 32 of the marine vessel 12 and can also have control module(s) located at or near the marine propulsion devices 14a, 14b. If more than one control module is provided, each can control operation of a specific device or sub-system on the marine vessel.”) configured to control an engine speed (See at least: fig. 1 and col. 4 lines 21- 26 “...engine speed sensors 22a, 22b measuring a speed of a respective engine 16a, 16b. In one example, the engine speed sensors 22a, 22b may be shaft rotational speed sensors (e.g., tachometers), which measure a speed of the engine 16a or 16b in rotations per minute (RPM)...” and col. 4 lines 39-43 “a control module 28 in signal communication with the engines 16a, 16b and the transmissions 20a, 20b, as well as their associated sensors and valves and other components noted herein below.”) so as to avoid region with slip-stick near full clutch engagement (See at least: figs. 4-5 for regions to avoid/prevent).
Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for at least the same reasoning as applied to claim 6 above.
Additional Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure and may be found in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
Tamba et al. (US 20070218786 A1) teaches a decoupler and control system (See at least fig. 13 for the control block diagram).
Harada (US 20090139226 A1) teaches a hydraulic control apparatus for marine reversing gear assembly (See at least figs. 1-6 for hydraulic circuit diagrams with more than one valve that go to forward and reverse clutches 2a, 2f).
Snyder et al. (US 20220250729 A1) teaches a control system and method for shifting a multi-speed transmission using pressure (See at least: figs. 2-6).
Poirier et al. (US 11215128 B1) teaches a method for controlling a speed of a propeller of a marine propulsion device using feedback loops (See at least: fig. 3). This is applicable to at least Applicant’s claim 13.
Schneider et al. (US 4875561 A) teaches a dual area apply piston for engagement of the clutch where two control valves are used (See at least: fig. 4). This is applicable to at least Applicant’s claim 1.
Conclusion
/ERIC ANTHONY STARCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3615B
/LARS A OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615B