DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I claims in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-18 are cancelled as being drawn to a nonelected Group II claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-5 are indefinite because there is no antecedent basis for the phrase “said bed” as recited in claims 4-5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatscher et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0301301 (hereinafter referred to as Hatscher) in view of Avaullee et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0172655 (hereinafter referred to as Avaullee).
Regarding claims 1-11, Hatscher discloses carbon monoxide is removed from material streams by adsorption to an adsorption composition comprising oxides of copper, zinc and aluminum, the copper-comprising fraction of which has a degree of reduction, expressed as weight ratio of metallic copper to the sum of metallic copper and copper oxides, calculated as CuO, of at most 60% (copper-containing material as recited in claim 1) (see Abstract).
Hatscher further discloses the adsorptive process can free any material stream from contamination by carbon monoxide, including hydrocarbon streams comprising alkenes, such as, ethene and propene wherein hydrogen may also be a contaminant in the stream (light olefins, hydrogen and carbon monoxide as recited in claim 1 and ethylene as recited in claims 2-3, 6 and 12-15) (Para. [0060]-[0062]). The adsorptive process of the invention makes possible the removal of carbon monoxide from material streams. It is particularly suitable for removing carbon monoxide from material streams which generally comprise at most 1000 ppm of carbon monoxide (as recited in claims 8-10) (Para. [0064]).
The temperature to be employed in this case is generally at least 80°C. The reduction is exothermic. The amount of recirculated reducing agent must be set in such a manner that the temperature window selected is not left. The course of the activation can be followed on the basis of the temperature measured on the bed of the adsorption medium (as recited in claims 4-5) (Para. [0051]-[0052]). The samples 5 were charged with a gas mixture of 750 ppm CO in ethylene at 100°C and ambient pressure in a tubular reactor (adsorber) at a GHSV of 2300 h-1 (as recited in claim 11) (Para. [0079]).
Hatscher discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose a second stream comprising oxygen being sent to a vessel containing the copper material as recited in claim 1.
Avaullee discloses a process for removing oxygenated contaminants and water from an hydrocarbon stream comprising: introducing the contaminated hydrocarbon stream in a gaseous phase in an absorption zone, contacting said hydrocarbon stream in said absorption zone at a pressure of at least 5 bars, advantageously in the range 5 to 40 bars with an alcohol capable to absorb water and oxygenated contaminants at conditions effective to produce an overhead hydrocarbon stream having a reduced oxygenated contaminants and water content and an absorbent bottoms stream comprising the alcohol, hydrocarbons and having an enhanced oxygenated contaminants and water content, sending the overhead of the absorption zone to a wash column (referred to as the high pressure water wash column) at a pressure of at least 5 bars, advantageously in the range 5 to 40 bars, essentially washed with water at conditions effective to produce an overhead hydrocarbon stream having a reduced oxygenated contaminants and an aqueous bottoms stream having an enhanced oxygenated contaminants content from an alcohol dehydration reactor (as recited in claim 1 and reads on claim 7) (see Abstract and Para. [0025]).
The outlet of dehydration reactor is initially cooled, typically in a quench tower employing water as the quench medium. In the quench tower, most of the water contained in the outlet of dehydration reactor is condensed and is removed from the bottom of the tower as a liquid water bottom stream. A part of said water bottom stream is cooled in a heat exchanger and recycled as quenching medium to the top of the quench column (as recited in claim 16) (Para. [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the process streams of Avaullee in the process of Hatscher as it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771