DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 10/15/25 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has not properly canceled claims 4 and 20 as “No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of "canceled" or "not entered" as per MPEP 1.121 (c)(4)(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-3, 5-18, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without material of the lubricant and tool steel, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). Amended claims 1 and 12 recite “such that a friction coefficient between the ring and the inner surface of the respective bore is about 0.11 when hydrodynamically lubricated.” It is clear from the current disclosure that the claimed friction coefficient is achieved by the material of the piston ring, lubricant, and tool steel.
Claims 2,3,5-11, 13-18, 21, and 22 are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabhi (KR20190117497) in view of Tejima (US Pub. No. 2003/0178781).
Regarding claim 1, the Rabhi reference discloses a pump system (Fig. 1) for an aircraft, comprising:
a cylinder barrel (35) configured to rotate within a pump housing of a pump, and
a plurality of pistons (3) seated within a respective bore (4) defined in the cylinder barrel, wherein each piston further includes a piston ring (15) disposed at an end thereof configured to form a hydrodynamic seal with an inner surface of the respective bore (Figs. 2-10).
However, the Rabhi reference fails to explicitly disclose each respective piston ring consisting of silicon nitride.
The Tejima reference, a piston ring (Para. [0165]), discloses making a piston seal of silicon nitride (Para. [0165]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the piston ring of silicon nitride in the Rabhi reference in view of the teachings of the Tejima reference in order to provide decrease a friction coefficient and improve durability (Tejima, Para. [0165]). The modified Rabhi reference discloses the claimed structure and is capable of having a friction coefficient between the ring and the inner surface of the bore is about 0.11 when hydrodynamically lubricated.
Regarding claim 2, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the pump (Rabhi, the 2 paragraphs preceding the description of embodiments).
Regarding claim 3, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 2, discloses the cylinder barrel comprises:
a main cylindrical body (Rabhi, main body of 35);
a center recess defined within the main cylindrical body configured to seat a drive shaft therein (Rabhi, Fig. 1); and
a plurality of bores (Rabhi, 4) defined in the main cylindrical body configured to allow fluid flow therethrough, each respective bore extending in an axial direction (Fig. 1), wherein the plurality of bores are spaced apart circumferentially relative to one another about the main cylindrical body radially outward of the center recess (Rabhi, Fig. 1), wherein the respective bore is one of the plurality of bores (Rabhi, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 2, discloses the pump is or includes a piston pump (Rabhi, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 6, discloses the piston pump is or includes a bent axis variable displacement piston pump (Rabhi, Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the Rabhi reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1.
However, the modified Rabhi reference fails to explicitly disclose the claimed number of bores.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to change the number of bores, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal sealing pressure. St. Regis Paper Col. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 9, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, the modified Rabhi reference fails to explicitly disclose the piston ring includes a chamfer or radius on either the outer or inner periphery of a leading edge of the piston ring.
The examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a chamfer or radius to the leading edge of the piston ring of the modified Rabhi reference in order to longer life to the sealing ring and to allow for scraping.
Regarding claim 10, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the piston ring includes a cut therethrough (e.g. definition of a piston ring) configured to allow for thermal expansion of the piston ring.
Regarding claim 11, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the piston ring being self-polishing (e.g. since the modified ring of Rabhi is made of silicon nitride).
Claim(s) 12-18, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabhi in view of Tejima as applied to claims 1-11, 19, and 20 above, and further in view of Charles et al. (US Patent No. 4,684,446).
Regarding claim 12, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 12.
However, the modified Rabhi reference fails to explicitly disclose each piston ring comprised of between seventy-five and ninety-five volume percent silicon nitride, with the silicon nitride comprised of between one and twenty percent in glassy phase.
The Charles et al. (hereinafter Charles), a sealing ring, discloses a silicon nitride sealing ring comprised of between seventy-five and ninety-five volume percent silicon nitride (Col. 2, Lines 35-54) forming a glassy phase between one and twenty percent glassy phase (Col. 2, Lines 35-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a glassy phase in the claimed range to the modified Rabhi reference in view of the teachings of the Charles reference in order to provide an optimized sliding ring. The modified Rabhi reference discloses the claimed structure and is capable of having a friction coefficient between the ring and the inner surface of the bore is about 0.11 when hydrodynamically lubricated.
Regarding claim 13, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 12, discloses the pump (Rabhi, the 2 paragraphs preceding the description of embodiments).
Regarding claim 14, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 13, discloses the cylinder barrel comprises:
a main cylindrical body (Rabhi, main body of 35);
a center recess defined within the main cylindrical body configured to seat a drive shaft therein (Rabhi, Fig. 1); and
a plurality of bores (Rabhi, 4) defined in the main cylindrical body configured to allow fluid flow therethrough, each respective bore extending in an axial direction (Fig. 1), wherein the plurality of bores are spaced apart circumferentially relative to one another about the main cylindrical body radially outward of the center recess (Rabhi, Fig. 1), wherein the respective bore is one of the plurality of bores (Rabhi, Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 15, the Rabhi reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 14.
However, the modified Rabhi reference fails to explicitly disclose the claimed number of bores.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to change the number of bores, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and in order to provide optimal sealing pressure. St. Regis Paper Col. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 16, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 12, discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However, the modified Rabhi reference fails to explicitly disclose the piston ring includes a chamfer or radius on either the outer or inner periphery of a leading edge of the piston ring.
The examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a chamfer or radius to the leading edge of the piston ring of the modified Rabhi reference in order to longer life to the sealing ring and to allow for scraping.
Regarding claim 17, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 12, discloses the piston ring includes a cut therethrough (e.g. definition of a piston ring) configured to allow for thermal expansion of the piston ring.
Regarding claim 18, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 12, discloses the piston ring being self-polishing (e.g. since the modified ring of Rabhi is made of silicon nitride).
Regarding claim 21, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 12, discloses the piston ring is comprised of at least ninety volume percent silicon nitride (Charles, Col. 2, Lines 35-54).
Regarding claim 22, the Rabhi reference, as modified in claim 12, discloses the piston ring is comprised of less than ten percent silicon nitride in glassy phase (Charles, Col. 2, Lines 35-54).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-18, 21, and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675