DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2023/0217750).
Regarding independent claim 1, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches in figure 3 and the corresponding text, a display device, comprising: a base substrate (100) having thereon a display area (AA) and a non-display area (NA) adjacent to the display area; a planarization layer (140) on the base substrate, the planarization layer including at least one trench (T) which is formed to be recessed in a part corresponding to the non-display area; a plurality of first electrodes (150) on the planarization layer; a bank layer (170) covering ends of the first electrodes which are disposed in the display area; a light emitting layer (OLED) disposed in parts corresponding to the display area and the non-display area, and disconnected in the non-display area (see part 160 going from display area to non-display area and being disconnected via dummy electrode 150a); and an encapsulation layer (200) on the light emitting layer.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches the light emitting layer formed in the non-display area is disposed only on a bottom surface of the trench, to be disconnected (via dummy electrode).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches the bank layer is on the planarization layer, and is formed with openings (CT1) which expose the first electrodes.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches a second electrode (160) on a top of the light emitting layer, and disconnected in the trench.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches the trench is formed in the shape of a groove with a residual layer on a bottom.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches a first protective layer (170) covering a top of the first electrode, an inner wall of the trench, and an outer side surface of the planarization layer.
Regarding dependent independent claim 10, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches in figure 3 and the corresponding text a display device, comprising: a base substrate (100) having thereon a display area (AA) and a non-display area (NA) adjacent to the display area; a planarization layer (140) on a base substrate, the planarization layer including a plurality of trenches (T, and see figure 1) which are formed to be recessed in a part corresponding to the non-display area and at least one protruding member which is disposed between the trenches; a plurality of first electrodes (150) on the planarization layer; a bank layer (170) covering ends of the first electrodes which are disposed in the display area; a light emitting layer (OLED) disposed in parts corresponding to the display area and the non-display area, and disconnected in the non-display area; and an encapsulation layer (200) on the light emitting layer in parts corresponding to the display area and the non-display area.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches the light emitting layer formed in each trench is disposed only on a bottom surface of the trench, to be disconnected.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches the first electrode is not disposed in each trench in the non-display area.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches the light emitting layer is on a bottom surface of each trench and a top of the protruding member in the non-display area, to be disconnected.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches a second electrode (160) covering a top of the light emitting layer, and disconnected in each trench.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches each trench is formed in the shape of a groove with a residual layer on a bottom.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Cho et al. (‘750) teaches a first protective layer (180) covering a top of the first electrode, an inner wall of the trench, and an outer side surface of the planarization layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8, 9, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2023/0217750), of record, in view of Park et al (US 2023/0189573).
Regarding claim 6, Cho (‘750) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for a distal end portion of the encapsulation layer is disposed in the trench.
Further regarding claim 6, Park et al. (‘573) teaches in figure 5 and the corresponding text, a display device with a trench in the non-display area comprised of, in part, a distal end portion of the encapsulation layer (PAS2) is disposed in the trench for the purpose of protecting the layer s from moisture and damage.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the encapsulation layer near the trench of Park in the display of Cho for the purpose of protecting the layer s from moisture and damage.
Regarding claim 8, Cho (‘750) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for a second protective layer covering the encapsulation layer and a portion of the first protective layer.
Further regarding claim 8, Park et al. (‘573) teaches in figure 5 and the corresponding text, a display device with a trench in the non-display area comprised of, in part, a second protective layer covering the encapsulation layer and a portion of the first protective layer for the purpose of protecting the layer s from moisture and damage.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the protective layer near the trench of Park in the display of Cho for the purpose of protecting the layer s from moisture and damage.
Regarding claim 9, Park et al. (‘573) teaches a width of the base substrate is larger than a width of the planarization layer so that a protrusion is formed on an outer part of the base substrate, and wherein the second protective layer further covers a top of the protrusion.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 17, Cho (‘750) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for a distal end portion of the encapsulation layer is disposed in the trench.
Further regarding claim 17, Park et al. (‘573) teaches in figure 5 and the corresponding text, a display device with a trench in the non-display area comprised of, in part, a distal end portion of the encapsulation layer (PAS2) is disposed in the trench for the purpose of protecting the layer s from moisture and damage.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the encapsulation layer near the trench of Park in the display of Cho for the purpose of protecting the layer s from moisture and damage.
Regarding claim 19, Cho (‘750) teaches all of the claimed limitations except for a second protective layer covering the encapsulation layer and a portion of the first protective layer.
Further regarding claim 19, Park et al. (‘573) teaches in figure 5 and the corresponding text, a display device with a trench in the non-display area comprised of, in part, a second protective layer covering the encapsulation layer and a portion of the first protective layer for the purpose of protecting the layer s from moisture and damage.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the protective layer near the trench of Park in the display of Cho for the purpose of protecting the layer s from moisture and damage.
Regarding claim 20, Park et al. (‘573) teaches a width of the base substrate is larger than a width of the planarization layer so that a protrusion is formed on an outer part of the base substrate, and wherein the second protective layer further covers a top of the protrusion.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 8 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record neither shows nor suggest a width of the light emitting layer on the protruding member is larger than a width of the protruding member..
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875