DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 10 – 13, applicant argues that Chen does not teach determining the reference sample value for the first colour component by determining the reference sample value according to a value of a first colour component sample in a neighboring area of the current block and based on a reconstructed value of a first reference colour component sample in the current block as claimed because Chen only teaches determining the reference sample value for the first colour component based on neighboring reference samples but not on reconstructed samples of the current block. While applicant’s arguments are understood, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner relies on Chen in maintaining the rejection.
Chen first teaches determining a linear model using samples of reconstructed luma components in a neighboring area of the current block. See, e.g. pars. 84 – 88: describing that the system determines a linear model using samples of reconstructed luma components in a neighboring area of the current block, wherein the luma component is the equivalent of the first colour component. Chen next teaches applying the determined model to reconstructed luma components of the current block. See, e.g. pars. 84 – 88: depicting and describing that the system applies the model generated using reconstructed neighboring luma samples to reconstructed luma samples of the current block, wherein the luma sample is the equivalent of the first colour component. In other words, Chen teaches determining a reference sample value for a first color component of the current block to predict a value for a second color component of the current block according to a value of a first colour component sample in a neighboring area of the current block and based on a reconstructed value of a first reference colour component sample in the current block as claimed. The rejection, therefore, is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner further interprets limitations in the alternative only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 – 11, and 16 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2022/0038722) (hereinafter Chen), as cited by applicant.
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Chen teaches a decoding device comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs, which when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform a decoding method (e.g. Fig. 4 and pars. 77 and 78: depicting and describing a memory [element 404] and a processor [element 402], the memory storing program instructions, that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform decoding operations), an encoding device comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs, which when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform an encoding method (e.g. Fig. 4 and pars. 77 and 78: depicting and describing a memory [element 404] and a processor [element 402], the memory storing program instructions, that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform encoding operations), and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program and a bitstream, wherein when executed by a processor, the computer program causes the processor to implement the encoding method to generate the bitstream (e.g. par. 78: describing program instructions stored in a memory, the program instructions causing a processor to perform an encoding method, the encoding method generating a bitstream), the decoding and encoding method comprising:
determining a reference sample value for a first colour component of a current block (e.g. pars. 84 – 88: describing that the system obtains reconstructed neighboring luma samples of a current block, wherein the reconstructed neighboring luma sample is the equivalent of the reference sample value for a first colour component);
determining a weighting factor according to the reference sample value for the first colour component of the current block (e.g. pars. 84 – 88: describing that the system determines parameter values α and β using reconstructed neighboring luma samples of the current block, wherein parameter values α and β are the equivalent of the weighting factor, and wherein the reconstructed neighboring luma samples are the equivalent of the reference sample value for the first colour component);
determining a first prediction block for a second colour component of the current block according to the weighting factor and a reference sample value for the second colour component of the current block, wherein a number of prediction values of the second colour component of the first prediction block is greater than a number of second-colour-component samples in the current block (e.g. pars. 84 – 88: describing that the system determines an undownsampled chroma prediction block of the current block using parameter values α and β, parameter values α and β being further determined using neighboring chroma samples, the undownsampled chroma prediction block having a greater number of chroma samples than a number of chroma samples in the current block [see, e.g. par. 84: describing that the chroma component of the current block has half of the number of samples in the undownsampled chroma prediction block], wherein parameter values α and β are the equivalent of the weighting factor, wherein parameter values α and β being further determined according to neighboring chroma sample values is the equivalent of determining the first prediction block according to reference sample value of the second component, and wherein the undownsampled prediction block is the equivalent of the first prediction block for the second colour component) ;
performing first filtering on the first prediction block to determine a second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block (e.g. pars. 84 – 88: describing that the system downsamples the undownsampled predicted chroma block of the current block, wherein the undownsampled predicted chroma block is the equivalent of the first prediction block, and wherein the downsampled undownsampled prediction chroma block is equivalent of the second prediction block); and
determining a reconstructed value of the second-colour-component sample in the current block according to the second prediction block (e.g. par. 96: describing that the system reconstructs the chroma component sample of the current block using the downsampled chroma prediction block [see, e.g. pars. 84 – 88: describing that the undownsampled chroma prediction block is downsampled to produce a predicted chroma value], wherein the downsampled chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the second prediction block and wherein the chroma component is the equivalent of the second colour component),
wherein determining the reference sample value for the first colour component of the current block comprises: determining the reference sample value for the first colour component of the current block according to a value of a first-colour-component sample in a neighbouring area of the current block and based on a reconstructed value of a first-reference-colour-component sample in the current block, wherein the neighbouring area comprises at least one of: a top neighbouring area, a top-right neighbouring area, a left neighbouring area, or a bottom-left neighbouring area (e.g. pars. 84 – 88: describing that the system determines luma reference sample values according to neighboring luma samples in an area neighboring the current block to generate a linear model, the linear model applied to reconstructed luma samples of the current block, the area neighboring the current block including an above neighboring area and a left neighboring area, wherein luma is the equivalent of the first colour component and the above neighboring area is the equivalent of the top neighboring area).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein the computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: when the colour format information indicates 4:4:4 sampling, determine that a width of the first prediction block is equal to a width of the current block, and a height of the first prediction block is equal to a height of the current block; when the colour format information indicates 4:2:2 sampling, determine that the width of the first prediction block is equal to twice the width of the current block, and the height of the first prediction block is equal to the height of the current block; when the colour format information indicates 4:1:1 sampling, determine that the width of the first prediction block is equal to four times the width of the current block, and the height of the first prediction block is equal to the height of the current block; when the colour format information indicates 4:2:0 sampling, determine that the width of the first prediction block is equal to twice the width of the current block, and the height of the first prediction block is equal to twice the height of the current block (e.g. par. 84 – 88 and 91: describing that the size of the un-downsampled predicted chroma block relative to the current chroma block is based on the color format, wherein when the color format is 4:4:4, the un-downsampled chroma prediction block height and width are equal to the height and width of the current block, when the color format is 4:2:2, the width of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is twice the width of the current block and the height of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is equal to the height of the current block, when the color format is 4:2:0, the width of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is twice the width of the current block, and the height of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is equal to the height of the current block, wherein it is known to those of ordinary skill in the art that when the color format is 4:1:1 that the width of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is four times the width of the current block and the height of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is equal to the height of the current block, wherein the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the first prediction block).
Turning to claim 8, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein the first filtering is down-sampling filtering (e.g. pars. 84 and 91: describing that the system performs downsampling filtering on the undownsampled chroma prediction block);
wherein performing the first filtering on the first prediction block to determine the second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block comprises: performing down-sampling filtering on the first prediction block by using a preset filter, to determine the second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block (e.g. pars. 84 and 91: describing that the system performs downsampling filtering on the undownsampled chroma prediction block, reasonably suggesting that the downsampling is performed according to a preset method).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein the first filtering is down-sampling filtering (e.g. pars. 84 and 91: describing that the system performs downsampling filtering on the undownsampled chroma prediction block);
wherein performing the first filtering on the first prediction block to determine the second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block comprises:
determining a horizontal down-sampling factor and a vertical down-sampling factor (e.g. pars. 84 and 91: describing that the system determines a horizontal downsampling factor and a vertical downsampling factor); and
performing down-sampling filtering on the first prediction block according to the horizontal down-sampling factor and the vertical down-sampling factor, to obtain the second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block (e.g. pars. 84 and 91: describing that the system performs downsampling on the undownsampled chroma prediction block according to the determined horizontal downsampling factor and the determined vertical downsampling factor).
Turning to claim 10, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein performing the down-sampling filtering on the first prediction block according to the horizontal down-sampling factor and the vertical down-sampling factor to obtain the second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block comprises: when the horizontal down-sampling factor is greater than 1 or the vertical down-sampling factor is greater than 1, performing down-sampling filtering on the first prediction block to obtain the second prediction block (e.g. pars. 84 – 88 and 91: describing that the system performs downsampling when either the vertical downsampling factor or the vertical downsampling factor is greater than 1).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 10, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein performing the down-sampling filtering on the first prediction block comprises at least one of: performing down-sampling filtering on the first prediction block in a horizontal direction; performing down-sampling filtering on the first prediction block in a vertical direction; performing down-sampling filtering on the first prediction block in a horizontal direction and then in a vertical direction; or performing down-sampling filtering on the first prediction block in a vertical direction and then in a horizontal direction (e.g. par. 91: describing that downsampling filtering is performed on the undownsampled chroma prediction block includes performing downsampling in a horizontal direction, performing downsampling in a vertical direction, and performing downsampling in both a horizontal and a vertical direction wherein performing downsampling in both a horizontal and a vertical direction reasonably suggest performing downsampling in a horizontal direction then in a vertical direction and performing downsampling in a vertical direction then in a horizontal direction).
Turning to claim 16, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein the computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to:
determine the weighting factor according to a reference sample value for a first colour component of some samples in the first prediction block; and determine the second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block according to the weighting factor and a reference sample value for a second colour component of some samples in the first prediction block (e.g. pars. 84 – 88 and 91: describing that the system downsamples the un-downsampled chroma prediction block based on a determined downsampling factor, the system determining the chroma prediction block based on the downsampling factor and values of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block, wherein the downsampling factor is the equivalent of the weighting factor, the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the first prediction block, and the chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the second prediction block) ;
wherein determining the second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block according to the weighting factor and the reference sample value for the second colour component of some samples in the first prediction block comprises: obtaining a prediction value of a second colour component of a sample at position (x, y) in the current block by multiplying a reference sample value for a second colour component of a sample at position (i, j) in the first prediction block by the weighting factor, wherein i, j, x, and y are integers greater than or equal to zero (e.g. pars. 84 – 88 and 91: describing that the system downsamples the un-downsampled chroma prediction block by applying the downsampling factor at position (i,j) in the un-downsampled chroma prediction block to obtain the predicted value at position (x,y) of the current block).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 16, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein the computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: when a colour format information indicates 4:4:4 sampling, setting x to be equal to i, and setting y to be equal to j; when the colour format information indicates 4:2:2 sampling, setting x to be equal to a product of i and 2, and setting y to be equal to j; when the colour format information indicates 4:1:1 sampling, setting x to be equal to a product of i and 4, and setting y to be equal to j; when the colour format information indicates 4:2:0 sampling, setting x to be equal to a product of i and 2, and setting y to be equal to a product of j and 2 (e.g. par. 91: describing that when the color format is 4:4:4, the predicted value at position (x,y) of the current block is equal to the sample value at position (i, j) of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block [describing that the downsampling factor for 4:4:4 color format is 1:1 in both horizontal and vertical directions], when the color format is 4:2:2, the predicted value at position (x,y) of the chroma prediction block is set to (2i, j) of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block [describing that when the format is 4:2:2, the downsampling factor is 2:1 horizontally and 1:1 vertically], when the color format is 4:2:0, the system sets the predicted value at position (x,y) of the chroma prediction block to the value at the position (2i, 2y) of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block [describing that when the format is 4:2:0, the downsampling factor is 2:1 in both the horizontal and vertical directions], and when the color format is 4:1:1, the system sets the predicted value at position (x,y) of the chroma prediction block to the value at the position (4i, j) [wherein it is known to those of ordinary skill in the art that when the color format is 4:1:1, the downsampling factor is 4:1 horizontally and 1:1 vertically], wherein the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the first prediction block, and wherein the chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the second prediction block).
Turning to claim 18, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 16, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein the computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: determine a horizontal sampling position factor and a vertical sampling position factor; and set x to be equal to a product of i and the horizontal sampling position factor, and setting y to be equal to a product of j and the vertical sampling position factor (e.g. par. 91: describing that the system determines a horizontal downsampling factor and a vertical downsampling factor based on the color format, the system determining the chroma prediction block by applying to the horizontal downsampling factor and the vertical downsampling factor to positions in the un-downsampled chroma prediction block).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 - 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2022/0038722) (hereinafter Chen), as cited by applicant, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (WO 2022/106014) (hereinafter Gao).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
determining the reference sample value for the second colour component of the current block according to a value of a second-colour-component sample in the neighbouring area of the current block (e.g. pars. 84 – 88: describing that the system obtains neighboring chroma samples of the current, wherein chroma is the equivalent of the second color component).
Chen does not explicitly teach:
performing fourth filtering on the value of the second-colour-component sample in the neighbouring area of the current block, to obtain a filtered neighbouring sample value for the second colour component of the current block; and
determining the reference sample value for the second colour component of the current block according to the filtered neighbouring sample value for the second colour component of the current block.
Gao, however, teaches a decoding device:
performing fourth filtering on the value of the second-colour-component sample in the neighbouring area of the current block, to obtain a filtered neighbouring sample value for the second colour component of the current block (e.g. Fig. 13 and pg. 25, line 27 – pg. 26, line 23: depicting and describing that the system upsamples the chroma component to obtain an intermediate chroma component that matches the resolution of the luma component, wherein upsampling is the equivalent of the fourth filtering, wherein the chroma component is the equivalent of the second color component, and wherein the intermediate chroma component is the equivalent of the filtered neighbouring sample value of the second color component); and
determining the reference sample value for the second colour component of the current block according to the filtered neighbouring sample value for the second colour component of the current block (Fig. 13 and pg. 25, line 27 – pg. 26, line 23: depicting and describing that the intermediate chroma component is further used in other encoding/decoding processing, reasonably suggesting that reference sample values of the second color component are determined according to the intermediate chroma component, wherein the intermediate chroma component is the equivalent of the filtered second color component).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Chen by adding the teachings of Gao in order to perform fourth filtering on the value of the second color component sample in the neighboring area of the current block to obtain a filtered neighboring sample value for the second color component of the current block and in order to determine the reference sample value for the second color component of the current block according to the filtered neighboring sample value for the second color component of the current block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves picture quality by preserving luma information (Gao, e.g. pg. 3, lines 13 – 19: describing a desire to improve coding efficiency and improve picture quality by preserving luma information).
Turning to claim 4, Chen and Gao teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3, as discussed above. Chen does not explicitly teach:
wherein a number of filtered neighbouring sample values for the second colour component of the current block is greater than the number of values of the second-colour-component samples in the neighbouring area of the current block.
Gao, however, teaches a decoding device:
wherein a number of filtered neighbouring sample values for the second colour component of the current block is greater than the number of values of the second-colour-component samples in the neighbouring area of the current block (pg. 25, line 27 – pg. 26, line 23: describing that the intermediate chroma component includes a greater number of chroma samples than the original chroma component [see, e.g. Fig. 4 and pg. 28, lines 21 – 33: depicting and describing that the intermediate chroma component has a larger size and therefore a greater number of chroma samples than the original chroma component [depicted as U and V]], wherein the intermediate chroma component is the equivalent of the filtering neighboring sample values for the second color component).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Chen by adding the teachings of Gao in order for a number of filtered neighbouring sample values for the second colour component of the current block is greater than the number of values of the second-colour-component samples in the neighbouring area of the current block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves picture quality by preserving luma information (Gao, e.g. pg. 3, lines 13 – 19: describing a desire to improve coding efficiency and improve picture quality by preserving luma information).
Regarding claim 5, Chen and Gao teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3, as discussed above. Chen does not explicitly teach:
wherein the computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: perform fourth filtering on the value of the second-colour-component sample in the neighbouring area of the current block when a colour format information indicates 4:2:0 sampling, to obtain the filtered neighbouring sample value for the second colour component of the current block, wherein the fourth filtering is up-sampling filtering, and an up-sampling rate is a positive integer multiple of 2.
Gao, however, teaches a decoding device:
wherein the computer programs, which when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: perform fourth filtering on the value of the second-colour-component sample in the neighbouring area of the current block when a colour format information indicates 4:2:0 sampling, to obtain the filtered neighbouring sample value for the second colour component of the current block, wherein the fourth filtering is up-sampling filtering, and an up-sampling rate is a positive integer multiple of 2 (e.g. Fig. 13, and pg. 25, line 27 – pg. 26, line 23: depicting and describing that the chroma component is upsampled to match the resolution of the luma component, wherein when the color format indicates 4:2:0 sampling, the chroma component is upsampled by a factor of 2 [see, e.g. pg. 14, lines 7 – 12: describing that when the color format is 4:2:0, chroma components are sub-sampled with respect to the luma component by a factor of 2, reasonably suggesting that upsampling the chroma component to match the resolution of the luma component is performed by upsampling the chroma component by a factor of 2], wherein upsampling is the equivalent of the fourth filtering, and wherein the chroma component is the equivalent of the second color component).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Chen by adding the teachings of Gao in order for a number of filtered neighbouring sample values for the second colour component of the current block is greater than the number of values of the second-colour-component samples in the neighbouring area of the current block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves picture quality by preserving luma information (Gao, e.g. pg. 3, lines 13 – 19: describing a desire to improve coding efficiency and improve picture quality by preserving luma information).
Turning to claim 6, Chen and Gao teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
perform second filtering on a value of a first-colour-component sample in the neighbouring area of the current block according to a first horizontal factor and a first vertical factor, to obtain a filtered neighbouring sample value for the first colour component of the current block; and perform fourth filtering on the value of the second-colour-component sample in the neighbouring area of the current block according to a second horizontal factor and a second factor, to obtain a filtered neighbouring sample value for the second colour component of the current block (e.g. par. 91: describing that both the luma component and the chroma component are both filtered, the filtering performed according to a horizontal factor and/or a vertical factor); and
when a colour format information indicates 4:4:4 sampling, determining that the second horizontal factor is equal to the first horizontal up-sampling factor, and the second vertical factor is equal to the first vertical up-sampling factor (e.g. par. 91: describing that when the color format is 4:4:4, the system performs 1:1 filtering both horizontally and vertically);
when the colour format information indicates 4:2:2 sampling, determining that the second horizontal factor is equal to twice the first horizontal factor, and the second vertical factor is equal to the first vertical factor (e.g. par. 91: describing that when the color format is 4:2:2, the system performs 2:1 filtering horizontally and 1:1 filtering vertically);
when the colour format information indicates 4:1:1 sampling, determining that the second horizontal factor is equal to four times the first horizontal up-sampling factor, and the second vertical factor is equal to the first vertical up-sampling factor (e.g. par. 91: describing that a filtering ratio of filtering the luma component and filtering the chroma component is based on the color format, wherein it is known to those of ordinary skill in the art that when the color format is 4:1:1 that the filtering ration is 4:1 horizontally and 1:1 vertically);
when the colour format information indicates 4:2:0 sampling, determining that the second horizontal up-sampling factor is equal to twice the first horizontal factor, and the second vertical factor is equal to twice the first vertical up-sampling factor (e.g. par. 91: describing that when the color format is 4:2:0, the filtering ratio is 2:1 both vertically and horizontally).
Chen does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second filtering and fourth filtering are upsample filtering, the horizontal factor being the horizontal upsampling factor and the vertical factor being an upsampling vertical factor.
Gao, however, teaches:
wherein the second filtering and fourth filtering are upsample filtering, the horizontal factor being the horizontal upsampling factor and the vertical factor being an upsampling vertical factor (e.g. Fig. 13 and pg. 25, line 27 – pg. 26, line 23: depicting and describing that the system performs upsampling, the upsampling performed such that the luma component and the chroma component have an equal resolution, the resolution determined based on a color format in both a vertical and horizontal direction).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Chen by adding the teachings of Gao in order for the second filtering and fourth filtering are upsample filtering, the horizontal factor being the horizontal upsampling factor and the vertical factor being an upsampling vertical factor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves picture quality by preserving luma information (Gao, e.g. pg. 3, lines 13 – 19: describing a desire to improve coding efficiency and improve picture quality by preserving luma information).
Claim(s) 12 - 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2022/0038722) (hereinafter Chen), as cited by applicant as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0272363) (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
when performing the first filtering on the first prediction block to determine the second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block comprises downsampling the first prediction block by downsampling in a horizontal and/or vertical direction according to the horizontal downsampling factor and the vertical downsampling factor to obtain the second prediction block (e.g. par. 91: describing that the system performs downsampling filtering based on a horizontal downsampling factor and/or a vertical downsampling factor).
Chen does not explicitly teach:
wherein performing the first filtering on the first prediction block to determine the second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block further comprises performing weighted sum calculation on every preset number of prediction values of the second colour component of the first prediction block in a horizontal direction and/or a vertical direction.
Li, however, teaches a decoding device:
wherein performing the first filtering on the first prediction block to determine the second prediction block for the second colour component of the current block further comprises performing weighted sum calculation on every preset number of prediction values of the second colour component of the first prediction block in a horizontal direction and/or a vertical direction (e.g. Fig. 7 and pars. 96 – 97: depicting and describing that the system performs downsample filtering on the temporary chroma prediction block by performing a weighted sum calculation on a preset number of prediction values of the temporary chroma prediction block in a horizontal direction and/or vertical direction, wherein the temporary chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the first prediction block)
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Chen by adding the teachings of Li in order for the first filtering on the first prediction block to comprise performing weighted sum calculation on every preset number of prediction values of the second color component of the first prediction block in a horizontal direction and/or a vertical direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification improves coding efficiency.
Turning to claim 13, Chen and Li teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 12, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein performing the weighted sum calculation on every preset number of prediction values of the second colour component of the first prediction block in a horizontal direction and/or a vertical direction to obtain the second prediction block is configured to perform: performing weighted sum calculation on every horizontal down-sampling factor number of prediction values of the second colour component of the first prediction block in a horizontal direction, to obtain the second prediction block (e.g. par. 91: describing that downsampling is performed on the un-downsampled chroma prediction block by performing downsampling on every horizontal down-sampling factor number of prediction values of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block to obtain the chroma prediction block wherein the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the first prediction block, wherein the chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the second prediction block, and wherein downsampling comprises performing a weighted sum calculation [see discussion above]).
Regarding claim 14, Chen and Li teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 12, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein performing the weighted sum calculation on every preset number of prediction values of the second colour component of the first prediction block in a horizontal direction and/or a vertical direction to obtain the second prediction block comprises: performing weighted sum calculation on every vertical down-sampling factor number of prediction values of the second colour component of the first prediction block in a vertical direction, to obtain the second prediction block (e.g. par. 91: describing that downsampling is performed on the un-downsampled chroma prediction block by performing downsampling on every vertical down-sampling factor number of prediction values of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block to obtain the chroma prediction block wherein the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the first prediction block, wherein the chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the second prediction block, and wherein downsampling comprises performing a weighted sum calculation [see discussion above]).
Turning to claim 15, Chen and Li teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 12, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein performing weighted sum calculation on every preset number of prediction values of the second colour component of the first prediction block in a horizontal direction and/or a vertical direction to obtain the second prediction block comprises: performing weighted sum calculation on every horizontal down-sampling factor number of prediction values of the second colour component of the first prediction block in a horizontal direction, and performing weighted sum calculation on every vertical down-sampling factor number of prediction values of the second colour component of the first prediction block in a vertical direction, to obtain the second prediction block (e.g. par. 91: describing that downsampling is performed on the un-downsampled chroma prediction block by performing downsampling on every horizontal down-sampling factor number of prediction values of the un-downsampled chroma prediction block and by performing downsampling on every vertical down-sampling factor number of prediction values of the und-downsampled chroma prediction block to obtain the chroma prediction block wherein the un-downsampled chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the first prediction block, wherein the chroma prediction block is the equivalent of the second prediction block, and wherein downsampling comprises performing a weighted sum calculation [see discussion above]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2018/0077426
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHANIKA M. BRUMFIELD
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/SHANIKA M BRUMFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2487
/Dave Czekaj/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2487