Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/09/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 14, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0311809 by Somes et al. (Somes).
With respect to claim 1, Somes teaches a method comprising:
receiving a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) message sent from an originating User Equipment (UE) for delivery to a terminating UE (Paragraph 7, first 4 lines) ;
determining routing information for the SIP message based on E.164 Number Mapping (ENUM); (Paragraph 7, 18- 20 – in this example, a determination is made based on included parameters of the SIP message, and a ENUM query of an E.164 number to URI mapping is used for routing the SIP message)
transferring the SIP message for delivery to the terminating UE based on the routing information. (Fig. 1a Paragraph 7, 18- 20 – in this example, a determination is made based on included parameters of the SIP message, and a ENUM query of an E.164 number to URI mapping is used for routing the SIP message, toward user device 105-2 step 135 )
With respect to claim 4, Somes teaches the method of claim 1 wherein determining the routing information based on the ENUM for the terminating UE comprises determining a Uniform Resource Indicator (URI). (Paragraph 7 - the CSCF may perform an E.164 number to URI mapping (ENUM) query using the information included in the user information portion.)
With respect to claim 5, Somes teaches the method of claim 1 wherein: determining the routing information based on the ENUM for the terminating UE comprises determining a Uniform Resource Indicator (URI) for a SIP system that serves the terminating UE; and transferring the SIP message for delivery to the terminating UE based on the routing information comprises transferring the SIP message to the SIP system based on the URI. (Paragraph 17 – CSCF may determine a destination address associated with an I-CSCF of another IMS network, based on performing the ENUM query. CSCF 115 may provide the SIP message to the I-CSCF to cause the I-CSCF to route the SIP message, such as to cause the I-CSCF to route the SIP message toward user device 105-2.)
With respect to claim 6, Somes teaches the method of claim 1 wherein: determining the routing information based on the ENUM for the terminating UE comprises translating a number for the terminating UE into a Uniform Resource Indicator (URI) for a SIP system that serves the terminating UE; and transferring the SIP message for delivery to the terminating UE based on the routing information comprises transferring the SIP message to the SIP system based on the URI. (Paragraph 16-17 – ENUM query is based on a number found in the formatting of either Tel or SIP URI)
With respect to claim 7, Somes teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the SIP message comprises one of a voice call invite, video call invite, and text message. (Paragraph 1,15 multimedia applications and/or voice applications, call session with UE or chatbot)
Claims 14, 16, 17 are similar in scope to claims 1, and 4-7 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
With respect to claim 18, Somes teaches the IP system of claim 14 wherein: the ENUM system is to identify a Session Border Controller (SBC); and the SIP system is to transfer the SIP message and the routing information to the SBC; and the SBC is to transfer the SIP message for delivery to the terminating UE based on the routing information. (Somes Paragraph 25, 29, interactions occur with a SBC)
With respect to claim 20, Somes teaches the IP system of claim 14 wherein: the SIP system comprises a Call Session Control Function (CSCF) (Fig 1a – CSCF 115); and the ENUM system comprises a Telephony Application Server (TAS). (Paragraph 29 TAS)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8-13, 15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somes in view of US 2008/0019267 by Ku et al. (Ku).
With respect to claim 2, Somes teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: receiving an error message for the SIP message (Paragraph 9, notification indicating that the SIP message cannot be routed).
Somes does not explicitly disclose determining retry indicator for the terminating UE and retransferring a SIP message for delivery to the terminating UE in response to the retry indicator and the error message. Ku teaches determining a retry indicator and retransferring a URI communication message for delivery to a terminating UE in response to the retry indicator and the error message (Paragraph 18, 43, Fig. 7 – determination of available alternate URIs is determination of retry indicator. When an initial communication attempt fails, a retransfer of the URI communication will be done based on if there are available alternate/additional URIs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the SIP messaging system of Somes include a retry indicator and retransfer mechanism as in Ku. One would be motivated to have this as it is desirable to provide communication redundancy for a user (Ku paragraphs 44-45).
With respect to claim 3, Somes teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising: receiving an error message for the SIP message (Paragraph 9, notification indicating that the SIP message cannot be routed).
Somes does not explicitly disclose determining realm information for the terminating UE; and retransferring the SIP message for delivery to the terminating UE based on the realm information and in response to the error message.
Ku teaches determining disclose determining realm information for the terminating UE and retransferring a URI communication message for delivery to a terminating UE in response to the retry indicator and the error message (Paragraph 18, 43, Fig. 7 – determination of available alternate URIs is determination of realm information for the terminating UE. When an initial communication attempt fails, a retransfer of the URI communication will be done based on if there are available alternate/additional URIs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the SIP messaging system of Somes include realm information and retransfer mechanism as in Ku. One would be motivated to have this as it is desirable to provide communication redundancy for a user (Ku paragraphs 44-45).
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 3 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
With respect to claim 8, Somes teaches a method comprising: receiving a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) message to transfer from an originating User Equipment (UE) to a terminating UE (Fig. 1A Paragraph 15 – SIP message 125 sent by UE 105-1 received by CSCF with intent of delivery to UE 105-2), and in response, determining a Uniform Resource Indicator (URI) (Paragraph 7, 18- 20 – in this example, a determination is made based on included parameters of the SIP message, and a ENUM query of an E.164 number to URI mapping is used for routing the SIP message);
transferring the SIP message to a SIP system for the terminating UE based on the URI (Fig. 1a Paragraph 7, 18- 20 – in this example, a determination is made based on included parameters of the SIP message, and a ENUM query of an E.164 number to URI mapping is used for routing the SIP message, toward user device 105-2 step 135 ) ; and
receiving an error message from the SIP system for the terminating UE(Paragraph 9, notification indicating that the SIP message cannot be routed)
Somes does not explicitly disclose determining a retry indicator and retransferring the SIP message to the SIP system for the terminating UE in response to the error message and the retry indicator. Ku teaches determining a retry indicator and retransferring a URI communication message for delivery to a terminating UE in response to the retry indicator and the error message (Paragraph 18, 43, Fig. 7 – determination of available alternate URIs is determination of retry indicator. When an initial communication attempt fails, a retransfer of the URI communication will be done based on if there are available alternate/additional URIs)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the SIP messaging system of Somes include a retry indicator and retransfer mechanism as in Ku. One would be motivated to have this as it is desirable to provide communication redundancy for a user (Ku paragraphs 44-45).
With respect to claim 9, Somes as modified teaches the method of claim 8 wherein transferring and retransferring the SIP message comprises transferring the SIP message to a Call Session Control Function (CSCF) and retransferring the SIP message to a different CSCF. (Paragraph 17 – CSCF may determine a destination address associated with an I-CSCF of another IMS network, based on performing the ENUM query. CSCF 115 may provide the SIP message to the I-CSCF to cause the I-CSCF to route the SIP message, such as to cause the I-CSCF to route the SIP message toward user device 105-2.)
With respect to claim 10, Somes as modified teaches the method of claim 8 wherein receiving the error message from the SIP system and retransferring the SIP message in response to the retry indicator comprises a Session Border Controller (SBC) receiving the error message from the SIP system and retransferring the SIP message in response to the retry indicator. (Based on the same logic of the combination of claim 8, Somes further teaches the interactions occur with a SBC paragraph 25, 29)
With respect to claim 11, Somes as modified teaches the method of claim 8 wherein: receiving the SIP message comprises a Call Session Control Function (CSCF) receiving the SIP message; and determining the URI and the retry indicator comprises an E.164 Number Mapping (ENUM) system determining the URI and the retry indicator. (Based on the same logic of the combination of 8, Ku teaches an ENUM system determines the available URIs (i.e. retry indicators) as a ENUM query returns the available URIs paragraph 33, 40)
With respect to claim 12, Somes as modified teaches the method of claim 8 wherein: transferring the SIP message comprises a Call Session Control Function (CSCF) transferring the SIP message to a Session Border Controller (SBC) and the SBC transferring the SIP message based on the URI; and receiving the error message and retransferring the SIP message comprises the SBC receiving the error message and retransferring the SIP message in response to the error message and the retry indicator. (Based on the same logic of the combination of claim 8, Somes further teaches the interactions occur with a SBC paragraph 25, 29)
Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 12 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
With respect to claim 13, Somes as modified teaches the method of claim 8 wherein receiving and transferring the SIP message comprises an originating Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) receiving the SIP message from the originating UE and transferring the SIP message to a terminating IMS for the terminating UE. (Somes Paragraph 17 – another CSCF of another IMS network)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,149,566. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-20 of U.S. patent 12,149,566 contain every element of claims 1-20 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claims of the instant application. Claims 1-20 of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim. "A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim." In re Lonqi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651.
Conclusion
/DAVID R LAZARO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455