DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to the filing with the office dated 06/08/2026.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended. Claims 7 and 14 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims. Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are pending in this office action.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of parent Application No. 17/533,361filed on 11/23/2021 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to amendment/arguments
4. Applicant’s amendment with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered. As a result, the rejection has been withdrawn.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(i) and 103(a) have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, thus necessitated the new ground of rejection as presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
6. Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI; GUANG CHENG (US 20210141760 A1) in view of Scrivano; Giuseppe (US 20190251190 A1), Suarez; Anthony Joseph (US 20170177860 A1) and in further view of YANG; Yun (US 20150095596 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, LI; GUANG CHENG (US 20210141760 A1) teaches, a method comprising: receiving, from a client device, a container image with a duplicate file removed from the container image, wherein the container image comprises a plurality of files (Fig. 3, Paragraphs [0030]- [0032] In an example, image client 142 performs an image push 152 in which image client 142 first computes a checksum for each file in a container image and sends metadata indicating the files that are present in the container image along with the checksum for each file to image manager 122. Image manager 122 then uses the metadata and checksums to determine if any files in the container image are duplicates of files already present in image files 132 in data store 130. In an example, image manager 122 queries file index 136 for a file identifier and checksum of each file to determine whether there is an entry in file index 136 with the same file identifier and checksum. For example, if the metadata and checksums indicate that the container image contains the file “/usr/lib64/libc-2.17.20” with the checksum “a188418f0f8cd2a1fcfa21856a986044”, then image manager 122 may determine that this file is already present in data store 130, as shown in file index 400 of FIG. 4. As such, image manager 122 determines that this file does not need to be stored for the container image, and updates a file list for the container image to indicate the location of the existing version of the file in data store 130. Also see Paragraph [0016]);
storing, by a processing device and at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry (Paragraphs [0016], [0017] discloses, storing the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file).
LI et al fails to explicitly teach, in an individually compressed and searchable format, and wherein the plurality of files are appended together in the individually compressed and searchable format, wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate fil.
Scrivano; Giuseppe (US 20190251190 A1) teaches, wherein the plurality of files in an individually compressed and searchable format, (Paragraph [0029] The one or more files 108 may be in any format, including archived or compressed or archived and compressed formats. For example, the one or more files 108 may be of type .gz, .bz, .tar, .zip, .rar, etc.) [0030] The first file 110 includes a checksum 112a, which is a unique text string that may be used to identify a file. For example, MD5 (Message Digest 5) and SHA (Secure Hash Algorithm) may be used to generate a checksum or a hash value, which may be used to verify files (i.e., search for files and determine if they are duplicate or not). Also see Paragraph [0056], [0057] In response to a checksum match, a link may be created to the particular file corresponding to the matching checksum. As shown in FIG. 3, the checksum “18anxha482hjk” matches with the file path “/var/lib/containers/storage/ostree/os-svcs/18anxha482hjk.” (i.e., the checksum is a searchable compressed format without using the full file path ) The file path indicates that the matching file is located in or associated with repository 312 for operating system services. Like repository 316, the repository 312 for operating system services may also include one or more layers 314 in an expanded state. As shown, the layer 314 includes four files, a first file “41s32dfw1979,” a second file “b473605rx7084,” a third file “18anxha482hjk,” and a fourth file “ct9aeg6fd3sfe.” Here, the checksum of the third file in layer 314 is identical to the checksum “18anxha482hjk” of the extracted file “svc3.exe.” Thus, if an image in a repository such as an Applications repository 316 requires access to the file with checksum “18anxha482hjk,” a link pointing to the location or repository where the file may be located may be created in the image requiring access to the file, such that the file may be accessed via the link);
and wherein the plurality of files are appended together in the individually compressed and searchable format; wherein the plurality of files of the container image are stored in the individually compressed and searchable format. (Paragraph [0015] In more detail, a container image layer may be extracted to a data storage location of a data storage device such as a storage file path of a network data storage device or a local data storage device. For example, if a first container image layer is “layer1.gz,” then the extracting may include decompressing and/or dearchiving “layer1.gz” into its respective files (i.e., plurality of files are appended together in a layer which is compressed and searchable layer) (i.e., the plurality of files are appended/ added/ included in a layer).Also see Paragraph [0027], [0048]-[0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of LI et al by providing in an individually compressed and searchable format, and wherein the plurality of files is appended together in the individually compressed and searchable format, as taught by Scrivano et al (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0030], [0056]) .
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, so to reduce costs, to make container image storage more efficient. For example, container image storage may be made more efficient if multiple container images which require access to a file in common could all be made to use the same, single file, instead of duplicating the file in each image or each image layer. Another way to more efficiently store image files would be to ensure that duplicate files are not created—or if they are, that they are removed-when different layers in the same image are built using the same file. Particularly for container images, the same file can be present in multiple layers and stored separately on the file system (Fig. 3 Paragraph [0013]).
LI et al and Scrivano et al fails to explicitly teach, wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; and store, at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry, and wherein to store the container image at the container registry, the processing device is to update metadata of the container image to indicate an offset of the duplicate file removed from the container image and to indicate the reference to the previously stored container image file.
Suarez; Anthony Joseph (US 20170177860 A1) teaches, wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; and store, at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry (Fig 3 and related paragraphs discloses, container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry (Examiner interprets container image file as container image at a time. Examiner interprets container registry as repository, see [0046]. Examiner interprets files in container image as layers in the image at a time));
and wherein to store the container image at the container registry, the processing device is to update metadata of the container image to indicate an offset of the duplicate file removed from the container image and to indicate the reference to the previously stored container image file (Fig. 3 and related paragraphs discloses, that layers 12 and 22 may be found with the second version 346B and that layers 31-61 may be found with the initial version 346A). (i.e., when the container image is updated, only the changed files/ layers are stored and layers/ files 31-61 are duplicate files and the metadata indicates, those files needs to be accessed from initial version). Also see [0034]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of LI et al by providing wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; and store, at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry, and wherein to store the container image at the container registry, the processing device is to update metadata of the container image to indicate an offset of the duplicate file removed from the container image and to indicate the reference to the previously stored container image file, as taught by Suarez et al (Fig. 3 and related paragraphs).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing so, container registry storage is optimized and bandwidth needed for uploading container images may be reduced. The registry metadata service may be queried for the metadata rather than the container registry itself, in order to quickly and efficiently determine which layers/images can be cleaned up during garbage collection without burdening the container registry with metadata queries as taught by Suarez et al (Paragraphs [0027], [0053]).
LI et al, Scrivano and Suarez et al fails to explicitly teach, a size of the duplicate file removed from the container image.
YANG; Yun (US 20150095596 A1) teaches, updating metadata of the container image to indicate an offset of the duplicate file removed from the container image, a size of the duplicate file removed from the container image, and to indicate the reference to the previously stored container image file (Paragraph [0046] discloses, metadata indicating an offset, size/ length and the reference to the previously stored container image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of LI et al, Scrivano and Suarez et al by providing a size of the duplicate file removed from the container image as taught by YANG et al (Paragraph [0046]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, By tracking utilization of units of data at one or more clients (e.g., clients 110, 120, and 130), dedup performance module 154 may distribute computational load across backup clients rather than centralizing a load from multiple clients on a backup server as taught by YANG et al (Paragraph [0046]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the method of claim 1.
Scrivano et al further teaches, further comprising: determining that at least one file of the plurality of files is the duplicate file by comparing an identifier of each of the plurality of files of the container image in the individually compressed and searchable format in a first list of files to a plurality of previously stored container image files, wherein each of the plurality of previously stored container image files is stored in the individually compressed and searchable format (Fig. 3, Paragraphs [0047]-[0051] discloses, determining that at least one file of the plurality of files is the duplicate of a previously stored container image file by comparing the identifier (Examiner interprets identifier as a layer) in the individually compressed and searchable format)).
LI et al further teaches, further comprising: determining that at least one file of the plurality of files is the duplicate file by comparing an identifier of each of the plurality of files of the container image in the individually compressed and searchable format in a first list of files to a plurality of previously stored container image files (Fig. 3, Paragraphs [0030]- [0032] In an example, image client 142 performs an image push 152 in which image client 142 first computes a checksum for each file in a container image and sends metadata indicating the files that are present in the container image along with the checksum for each file to image manager 122. Image manager 122 then uses the metadata and checksums to determine if any files in the container image are duplicates of files already present in image files 132 in data store 130. In an example, image manager 122 queries file index 136 for a file identifier and checksum of each file to determine whether there is an entry in file index 136 with the same file identifier and checksum. For example, if the metadata and checksums indicate that the container image contains the file “/usr/lib64/libc-2.17.20” with the checksum “a188418f0f8cd2a1fcfa21856a986044”, then image manager 122 may determine that this file is already present in data store 130, as shown in file index 400 of FIG. 4. As such, image manager 122 determines that this file does not need to be stored for the container image and updates a file list for the container image to indicate the location of the existing version of the file in data store 130. Also see Paragraph [0016]).
and providing, to the client device, a second list of files comprising the reference to the previously stored container image file(Fig. 4. 5 Paragraphs [0030]-[0034] discloses, providing updated list of files comprising the references to the previously stored image file. Also see Paragraph [0017]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the method of claim 2.
LI et al further teaches, matches a second checksum of one of the plurality of files of the container image (Paragraph [0016] discloses, determining plurality of files is the duplicate file by comparing the checksums).
Regarding dependent claim 4, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the method of claim 1.
LI et al further teaches, further comprising: adding wherein the reference is included in metadata of the container image to the previously stored container image file in place of the at least one file of the plurality of files not stored with the container image at the container registry duplicate file in the metadata of the container image (Paragraph [0031] In an example, image client 142 performs an image push 152 in which image client 142 first computes a checksum for each file in a container image and sends metadata indicating the files that are present in the container image along with the checksum for each file to image manager 122. Image manager 122 then uses the metadata and checksums to determine if any files in the container image are duplicates of files already present in image files 132 in data store 130. Also see Paragraphs [0016], [0017]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the method of claim 1.
LI et al further teaches, wherein determining that at least one file of the plurality of files is the duplicate of a previously stored container image file (Paragraph [0016] The image server then determines whether any files in the container image are duplicates of files already stored in a repository managed by the image server) further comprises comprising: rebuilding the container image to include each of the plurality of files of the container image in view of the previously stored container image file determining if a checksum of one or more previously stored container image files at the container registry matches a checksum of one of the plurality of files of the container image (Paragraph [0016] The image server then determines whether any files in the container image are duplicates of files already stored in a repository managed by the image server. In an example, the image server compares file identifiers and checksums received from the client device with file identifiers and checksums of files in the repository in order to identify matching files. Also see [0018]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the method of claim 1.
LI et al further teaches, wherein receiving the container image corresponds to a push request (Paragraph [0021] discloses, receiving and storing container image corresponds to push and pull request).
Regarding independent claim 8, LI; GUANG CHENG (US 20210141760 A1) teaches, a system comprising: a memory; and a processing device, operatively coupled to the memory (Fig. 7 [0050] System 700 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 702, one or more I/O device interfaces 704 (that may provide connections for various I/O devices 704, such as keyboards, displays, mouse devices, and the like) to the system 700, network interface 706 (e.g., a physical network interface card), memory 708, storage 710, and an interconnect 712)), to: receive, from a client device, a container image with a duplicate file removed from the container image (Fig. 3, Paragraphs [0030]- [0032] In an example, image client 142 performs an image push 152 in which image client 142 first computes a checksum for each file in a container image and sends metadata indicating the files that are present in the container image along with the checksum for each file to image manager 122. Image manager 122 then uses the metadata and checksums to determine if any files in the container image are duplicates of files already present in image files 132 in data store 130. In an example, image manager 122 queries file index 136 for a file identifier and checksum of each file to determine whether there is an entry in file index 136 with the same file identifier and checksum. For example, if the metadata and checksums indicate that the container image contains the file “/usr/lib64/libc-2.17.20” with the checksum “a188418f0f8cd2a1fcfa21856a986044”, then image manager 122 may determine that this file is already present in data store 130, as shown in file index 400 of FIG. 4. As such, image manager 122 determines that this file does not need to be stored for the container image and updates a file list for the container image to indicate the location of the existing version of the file in data store 130. Also see Paragraph [0016]);
store, at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry (Paragraphs [0016], [0017] discloses, storing the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file).
LI et al fails to explicitly teach, wherein the container image comprises a plurality of files in an individually compressed and searchable format, and wherein the plurality of files are appended together in the individually compressed and searchable format, wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; wherein the plurality of files of the container image are stored in the individually compressed and searchable format.
Scrivano; Giuseppe (US 20190251190 A1) teaches, wherein the container image comprises a plurality of files in an individually compressed and searchable format (Paragraph [0029] The one or more files 108 may be in any format, including archived or compressed or archived and compressed formats. For example, the one or more files 108 may be of type .gz, .bz, .tar, .zip, .rar, etc.) [0030] The first file 110 includes a checksum 112a, which is a unique text string that may be used to identify a file. For example, MD5 (Message Digest 5) and SHA (Secure Hash Algorithm) may be used to generate a checksum or a hash value, which may be used to verify files (i.e., search for files and determine if they are duplicate or not). Also see Paragraph [0056], [0057] In response to a checksum match, a link may be created to the particular file corresponding to the matching checksum. As shown in FIG. 3, the checksum “18anxha482hjk” matches with the file path “/var/lib/containers/storage/ostree/os-svcs/18anxha482hjk.” (i.e., the checksum is a searchable compressed format without using the full file path ) The file path indicates that the matching file is located in or associated with repository 312 for operating system services. Like repository 316, the repository 312 for operating system services may also include one or more layers 314 in an expanded state. As shown, the layer 314 includes four files, a first file “41s32dfw1979,” a second file “b473605rx7084,” a third file “18anxha482hjk,” and a fourth file “ct9aeg6fd3sfe.” Here, the checksum of the third file in layer 314 is identical to the checksum “18anxha482hjk” of the extracted file “svc3.exe.” Thus, if an image in a repository such as an Applications repository 316 requires access to the file with checksum “18anxha482hjk,” a link pointing to the location or repository where the file may be located may be created in the image requiring access to the file, such that the file may be accessed via the link);
and wherein the plurality of files are appended together in the individually compressed and searchable format; wherein the plurality of files of the container image are stored in the individually compressed and searchable format (Paragraph [0015] In more detail, a container image layer may be extracted to a data storage location of a data storage device such as a storage file path of a network data storage device or a local data storage device. For example, if a first container image layer is “layer1.gz,” then the extracting may include decompressing and/or dearchiving “layer1.gz” into its respective files (i.e., plurality of files are appended together in a layer which is compressed and searchable layer) (i.e., the plurality of files are appended/ added/ included in a layer).Also see Paragraph [0027], [0048]-[0051]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of LI et al by providing in an individually compressed and searchable format, and wherein the plurality of files is appended together in the individually compressed and searchable format, as taught by Scrivano et al (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0030], [0056]) .
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, so to reduce costs, to make container image storage more efficient. For example, container image storage may be made more efficient if multiple container images which require access to a file in common could all be made to use the same, single file, instead of duplicating the file in each image or each image layer. Another way to more efficiently store image files would be to ensure that duplicate files are not created—or if they are, that they are removed-when different layers in the same image are built using the same file. Particularly for container images, the same file can be present in multiple layers and stored separately on the file system (Fig. 3 Paragraph [0013]).
LI et al and Scrivano et al fails to explicitly teach, wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; and store, at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry; and wherein to store the container image at the container registry, the processing device is to update metadata of the container image to indicate an offset of the duplicate file removed from the container image and to indicate the reference to the previously stored container image file.
Suarez; Anthony Joseph (US 20170177860 A1) teaches, wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; and store, at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry (Fig 3 and related paragraphs discloses, container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry (Examiner interprets container image file as container image at a time. Examiner interprets container registry as repository, see [0046]. Examiner interprets files in container image as layers in the image at a time));
and wherein to store the container image at the container registry, the processing device is to update metadata of the container image to indicate an offset of the duplicate file removed from the container image and to indicate the reference to the previously stored container image file (Fig. 3 and related paragraphs discloses, that layers 12 and 22 may be found with the second version 346B and that layers 31-61 may be found with the initial version 346A). (i.e., when the container image is updated, only the changed files/ layers are stored and layers/ files 31-61 are duplicate files and the metadata indicates, those files needs to be accessed from initial version). Also see [0034]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of LI et al by providing wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; and store, at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry, and wherein to store the container image at the container registry, the processing device is to update metadata of the container image to indicate an offset of the duplicate file removed from the container image and to indicate the reference to the previously stored container image file, as taught by Suarez et al (Fig. 3 and related paragraphs).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing so, container registry storage is optimized and bandwidth needed for uploading container images may be reduced. The registry metadata service may be queried for the metadata rather than the container registry itself, in order to quickly and efficiently determine which layers/images can be cleaned up during garbage collection without burdening the container registry with metadata queries as taught by Suarez et al (Paragraphs [0027], [0053]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the system of claim 8.
LI et al further teaches, wherein the processing device is further to: rebuild the container image to include each of the plurality of files of the container image in view of the previously stored container image file (Paragraph [0034] Image manager 122 then sends the image to image client 142. Image client 142 may then build and execute the container based on the image. Also see Paragraph [0018] When the image server receives a request from a client device to pull the container image (i.e., a pull request), it uses the file list for the container image to retrieve all of the files in the container image from their respective locations in the repository (i.e., retrieving previously stored container image file, including the reference files) and then generates the container image with all of the files (i.e., building the container image will all the files)).
Regarding dependent claim 10, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the system of claim 8.
LI et al further teaches, wherein the reference is included in metadata of the container image in place of the duplicate file in the metadata of the container image (Paragraph [0031] In an example, image client 142 performs an image push 152 in which image client 142 first computes a checksum for each file in a container image and sends metadata indicating the files that are present in the container image along with the checksum for each file to image manager 122. Image manager 122 then uses the metadata and checksums to determine if any files in the container image are duplicates of files already present in image files 132 in data store 130. Also see Paragraphs [0016], [0017]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al, the system of claim 10.
LI et al further teaches, wherein the reference to the previously stored container image file in the metadata comprises a checksum of the previously stored container image file (Paragraph [0031] In an example, image client 142 performs an image push 152 in which image client 142 first computes a checksum for each file in a container image and sends metadata indicating the files that are present in the container image along with the checksum for each file to image manager 122. Image manager 122 then uses the metadata and checksums to determine if any files in the container image are duplicates of files already present in image files 132 in data store 130. Also see Paragraphs [0016], [0017]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the system of claim 8.
LI et al further teaches, wherein the processing device is further
determine that at least one file of the plurality of files is the duplicate file, and wherein to determine that the at least one file of the plurality of files is the duplicate file, the processing device is to: determine if a first checksum of one or more previously stored container image files at the container registry matches a second checksum of one of the plurality of files of the container image (Paragraph [0016] The image server then determines whether any files in the container image are duplicates of files already stored in a repository managed by the image server. In an example, the image server compares file identifiers and checksums received from the client device with file identifiers and checksums of files in the repository in order to identify matching files. Also see [0018]).
Regarding dependent claim 13, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the system of claim 8.
Scrivano et al further teaches, wherein each file of the plurality of files is in a searchable compressed format to receive the container image (Paragraph [0012] layer may be comprised of one or more files, and the files may be archived and compressed. To use the files, the files may need to first be extracted, which may involve dearchiving and/or decompressing the files). [0029] The one or more files 108 may be in any format, including archived or compressed or archived and compressed formats. For example, the one or more files 108 may be of type .gz, .bz, .tar, .zip, .rar, etc.). [0030] The first file 110 includes a checksum 112a, which is a unique text string that may be used to identify a file. For example, MD5 (Message Digest 5) and SHA (Secure Hash Algorithm) may be used to generate a checksum or a hash value, which may be used to verify files (i.e., search for files and determine if they are duplicate or not). Also see Paragraph [0056] In response to a checksum match, a link may be created to the particular file corresponding to the matching checksum. As shown in FIG. 3, the checksum “18anxha482hjk” matches with the file path “/var/lib/containers/storage/ostree/os-svcs/18anxha482hjk.” (i.e., the checksum is a searchable compressed format without using the full file path) The file path indicates that the matching file is located in or associated with repository 312 for operating system services. Like repository 316, the repository 312 for operating system services may also include one or more layers 314 in an expanded state. As shown, the layer 314 includes four files, a first file “41s32dfw1979,” a second file “b473605rx7084,” a third file “18anxha482hjk,” and a fourth file “ct9aeg6fd3sfe.” Here, the checksum of the third file in layer 314 is identical to the checksum “18anxha482hjk” of the extracted file “svc3.exe.” Thus, if an image in a repository such as an Applications repository 316 requires access to the file with checksum “18anxha482hjk,” a link pointing to the location or repository where the file may be located may be created in the image requiring access to the file, such that the file may be accessed via the link).
LI et al further teaches, the processing device is to receive the container image in a push request (Paragraph [0021] discloses, receiving and storing container image corresponds to push and pull request).
Regarding independent claim 15, LI; GUANG CHENG (US 20210141760 A1) teaches, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium including instructions stored therein, that when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device Paragraph [0051] CPU 702 may receive and execute instructions stored in memory 708. Similarly, the CPU 702 may receive and store data related to applications in memory 708. The interconnect 712 transmits programming instructions and application data, among the CPU 702, I/O device interface 704, network interface 706, memory 708, and storage 710) to: receive, from a client device, a container image with a duplicate file removed from the container image (Fig. 3, Paragraphs [0030]- [0032] In an example, image client 142 performs an image push 152 in which image client 142 first computes a checksum for each file in a container image and sends metadata indicating the files that are present in the container image along with the checksum for each file to image manager 122. Image manager 122 then uses the metadata and checksums to determine if any files in the container image are duplicates of files already present in image files 132 in data store 130. In an example, image manager 122 queries file index 136 for a file identifier and checksum of each file to determine whether there is an entry in file index 136 with the same file identifier and checksum. For example, if the metadata and checksums indicate that the container image contains the file “/usr/lib64/libc-2.17.20” with the checksum “a188418f0f8cd2a1fcfa21856a986044”, then image manager 122 may determine that this file is already present in data store 130, as shown in file index 400 of FIG. 4. As such, image manager 122 determines that this file does not need to be stored for the container image, and updates a file list for the container image to indicate the location of the existing version of the file in data store 130. Also see Paragraph [0016]);
and store, by the processing device and at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry (Paragraphs [0016], [0017] discloses, storing the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file).
LI et al fails to explicitly teach, wherein the container image comprises a plurality of files in an individually compressed and searchable format, and wherein the plurality of files are appended together in the individually compressed and searchable format, wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; wherein the plurality of files of the container image are stored in the individually compressed and searchable format.
Scrivano; Giuseppe (US 20190251190 A1) teaches, wherein the container image comprises a plurality of files in an individually compressed and searchable format (Paragraph [0029] The one or more files 108 may be in any format, including archived or compressed or archived and compressed formats. For example, the one or more files 108 may be of type .gz, .bz, .tar, .zip, .rar, etc.) [0030] The first file 110 includes a checksum 112a, which is a unique text string that may be used to identify a file. For example, MD5 (Message Digest 5) and SHA (Secure Hash Algorithm) may be used to generate a checksum or a hash value, which may be used to verify files (i.e., search for files and determine if they are duplicate or not). Also see Paragraph [0056], [0057] In response to a checksum match, a link may be created to the particular file corresponding to the matching checksum. As shown in FIG. 3, the checksum “18anxha482hjk” matches with the file path “/var/lib/containers/storage/ostree/os-svcs/18anxha482hjk.” (i.e., the checksum is a searchable compressed format without using the full file path ) The file path indicates that the matching file is located in or associated with repository 312 for operating system services. Like repository 316, the repository 312 for operating system services may also include one or more layers 314 in an expanded state. As shown, the layer 314 includes four files, a first file “41s32dfw1979,” a second file “b473605rx7084,” a third file “18anxha482hjk,” and a fourth file “ct9aeg6fd3sfe.” Here, the checksum of the third file in layer 314 is identical to the checksum “18anxha482hjk” of the extracted file “svc3.exe.” Thus, if an image in a repository such as an Applications repository 316 requires access to the file with checksum “18anxha482hjk,” a link pointing to the location or repository where the file may be located may be created in the image requiring access to the file, such that the file may be accessed via the link);
and wherein the plurality of files are appended together in the individually compressed and searchable format; wherein the plurality of files of the container image are stored in the individually compressed and searchable format (Paragraph [0015] In more detail, a container image layer may be extracted to a data storage location of a data storage device such as a storage file path of a network data storage device or a local data storage device. For example, if a first container image layer is “layer1.gz,” then the extracting may include decompressing and/or dearchiving “layer1.gz” into its respective files (i.e., plurality of files are appended together in a layer which is compressed and searchable layer) (i.e., the plurality of files are appended/ added/ included in a layer).Also see Paragraph [0027], [0048]-[0051]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of LI et al by providing in an individually compressed and searchable format, and wherein the plurality of files is appended together in the individually compressed and searchable format, as taught by Scrivano et al (Fig. 3 Paragraphs [0030], [0056]) .
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, so to reduce costs, to make container image storage more efficient. For example, container image storage may be made more efficient if multiple container images which require access to a file in common could all be made to use the same, single file, instead of duplicating the file in each image or each image layer. Another way to more efficiently store image files would be to ensure that duplicate files are not created—or if they are, that they are removed-when different layers in the same image are built using the same file. Particularly for container images, the same file can be present in multiple layers and stored separately on the file system (Fig. 3 Paragraph [0013]).
LI et al and Scrivano et al fails to explicitly teach, wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file.
LI et al and Scrivano et al fails to explicitly teach, wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; and store, by the processing device and at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry, wherein the plurality of files of the container image are stored in the individually compressed and searchable format, and wherein to store the container image, the instructions, when executed by the processing device, cause the processing device to update metadata of the container image to indicate an offset of the duplicate file removed from the container image and to indicate the reference to the previously stored container image file.
Suarez; Anthony Joseph (US 20170177860 A1) teaches, wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; and store, by the processing device and at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry (Fig 3 and related paragraphs discloses, container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry (Examiner interprets container image file as container image at a time. Examiner interprets container registry as repository, see [0046]. Examiner interprets files in container image as layers in the image at a time));
and wherein to store the container image, the instructions, when executed by the processing device, cause the processing device to update metadata of the container image to indicate an offset of the duplicate file removed from the container image and to indicate the reference to the previously stored container image file (Fig. 3 and related paragraphs discloses, that layers 12 and 22 may be found with the second version 346B and that layers 31-61 may be found with the initial version 346A). (i.e., when the container image is updated, only the changed files/ layers are stored and layers/ files 31-61 are duplicate files and the metadata indicates, those files needs to be accessed from initial version). Also see [0034]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of LI et al by providing wherein the container image includes a reference to a previously stored container image file at a container registry, and wherein the previously stored container image file corresponds to the duplicate file; and store, at the container registry, the container image including the reference to the previously stored container image file at the container registry, and wherein to store the container image at the container registry, the processing device is to update metadata of the container image to indicate an offset of the duplicate file removed from the container image and to indicate the reference to the previously stored container image file, as taught by Suarez et al (Fig. 3 and related paragraphs).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, by doing so, container registry storage is optimized and bandwidth needed for uploading container images may be reduced. The registry metadata service may be queried for the metadata rather than the container registry itself, in order to quickly and efficiently determine which layers/images can be cleaned up during garbage collection without burdening the container registry with metadata queries as taught by Suarez et al (Paragraphs [0027], [0053]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15.
LI et al further teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing device, further cause the processing device further to: rebuild the container image to include each of the plurality of files of the container image in view of the previously stored container image file (Paragraph [0034] Image manager 122 then sends the image to image client 142. Image client 142 may then build and execute the container based on the image. Also see Paragraph [0018] When the image server receives a request from a client device to pull the container image (i.e., a pull request), it uses the file list for the container image to retrieve all of the files in the container image from their respective locations in the repository (i.e., retrieving previously stored container image file, including the reference files) and then generates the container image with all of the files (i.e., building the container image with all the files)).
Regarding dependent claim 17, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15.
LI et al further teaches, wherein the reference is included in metadata of the container image in place of the duplicate file in the metadata of the container image (Paragraph [0031] In an example, image client 142 performs an image push 152 in which image client 142 first computes a checksum for each file in a container image and sends metadata indicating the files that are present in the container image along with the checksum for each file to image manager 122. Image manager 122 then uses the metadata and checksums to determine if any files in the container image are duplicates of files already present in image files 132 in data store 130. Also see Paragraphs [0016], [0017]).
Regarding dependent claim 18, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17.
LI et al further teaches, wherein the reference to the previously stored container image file in the metadata comprises a checksum of the previously stored container image file (Paragraph [0016] The image server then determines whether any files in the container image are duplicates of files already stored in a repository managed by the image server. In an example, the image server compares file identifiers and checksums received from the client device with file identifiers and checksums of files in the repository in order to identify matching files).
Regarding dependent claim 19, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15.
LI et al further teaches, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processing device, further cause the processing device to: determine that at least one file of the plurality of files is the duplicate (Paragraph [0016] The image server then determines whether any files in the container image are duplicates of files already stored in a repository managed by the image server).
Regarding dependent claim 20, LI et al, Scrivano, Suarez et al and YANG et al teach, the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 19.
LI et al further teaches, wherein (Paragraph [0021] discloses, receiving and storing container image corresponds to push and pull request).
Closest Prior art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Tarasov; Vasily (US 20220147378 A1) teaches, A computer-implemented method according to one embodiment includes receiving a request to create a container; retrieving a manifest for a container image of the container; and mounting a file system for the container, utilizing the manifest (Abstract).
8. Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior arts of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and Figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior arts or disclosed by the examiner. It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, figures, or lines in the prior art references any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331-33, 216 USPQ 1038-39 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968))).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendments/Arguments necessitated new grounds of rejection as presented in this office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S. R./
Examiner, Art Unit 2163
/ALEX GOFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163