CTNF 18/911,094 CTNF 98066 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN2022116036667.1 on 12/13/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN2022116036667.1 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Note the document filed 11/14/2024, titled “PRIORITY DOCUMENT EXCHANGE: FAILURE STATUS REPORT”. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hutchinson (US 2019/0370949 A1) . Regarding claims 1, 11, 16, Hutchinson teaches An image processing method performed by an electronic device, the method comprising: obtaining an image parameter of a target image (Hutchinson, [0080], reproduced below: PNG media_image1.png 432 672 media_image1.png Greyscale . “It also subsamples by a factor of 2” which is being interpreted as obtaining the image parameter, potentially the image size, of a target image); constructing, based on the image parameter, a mesh (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, “pyramid” is being interpreted as involving a mesh) for downsampling (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, “down-samples”) the target image (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, “down-samples the image by half”), the mesh comprising N mesh cells of different sizes (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, the image pyramid is being interpreted to have N mesh cells of different sizes, as one with ordinary skill in the art would know image pyramids do this), and N being a positive integer greater than 1 (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, the image pyramid is being interpreted as having a number of cells greater than 1); using the mesh cells in the mesh separately to downsample the target image to obtain corresponding N downsampled images (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, each layer of the pyramid has corresponding downsampled image, as one with ordinary skill in the art would know; also seen in [0012]: “The first image and the second image may both correspond to a particular level in a pyramid of images that comprises multiple levels”); and performing image fusion (Hutchinson, see [0012] image below, “blended image”) on the N downsampled images to obtain a target image (Hutchinson, [0012], reproduced below: PNG media_image2.png 610 670 media_image2.png Greyscale .The first and second images of the pyramid may be blended). Regarding claim 2, Hutchinson teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the using the mesh cells in the mesh separately to downsample the target image to obtain N downsampled images comprises: obtaining sizes of the mesh cells in the mesh (Hutchinson, [0080], reproduced below: PNG media_image3.png 426 668 media_image3.png Greyscale . The down-sample is being interpreted to involve obtaining size of the mesh cells, or the pyramid layers); and downsampling (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, “down-samples”) the target image (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, “quarter the size of the input”. “Input” is being interpreted to involve the target image) based on the sizes (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, “quarter the size” is being interpreted to involve “size” of the target image) of the mesh cells (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, the pyramid levels are being interpreted to involve mesh cells) to obtain the N downsampled images (Hutchinson, see [0080] image above, “down-samples the image by half in each dimension” is being interpreted to involve obtaining N downsampled images). Regarding claim 3, Hutchinson teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the performing image fusion on the N downsampled images to obtain a target image comprises: obtaining positions (Hutchinson, [0014], reproduced below: PNG media_image4.png 154 668 media_image4.png Greyscale . “location in the first image or the second image”. “location” is being interpreted as “position”) of the mesh cells in the mesh (Hutchinson, [0012]: “The first image and the second image may both correspond to a particular level in a pyramid of images that comprises multiple levels”. Pyramid is being interpreted as mesh and the levels as mesh cells); performing image splicing (Hutchinson, see [0014] image above, “blended” is being interpreted to involve “image splicing”) on the N downsampled images (Hutchinson, see [0014] image above, the first or second image may correspond to pyramid levels, which are downsampled image, as seen in [0012] cited above) based on the positions of the mesh cells to obtain a spliced image (Hutchinson, see [0014] image above, the locations of the first or second image is later used for blending); and performing image fusion on the spliced image to obtain the target image (Hutchinson, [0136]: “This block takes the final blended image and performs the output projection”. The final blended image is being interpreted as involving image fusion on the spliced images to obtain the target image). Regarding claim 4, Hutchinson teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the performing image fusion on the N downsampled images to obtain a target image comprises: performing special effect (Hutchinson, see [0055] image below, “harmonise one or more image qualities” is being interpreted as special effect) processing corresponding to a target special effect (Hutchinson, see [0055] image below, the image quality harmonization is being interpreted as involving a target special effect) on pixel points in the downsampled images (Hutchinson, see [0055] image below, “different images” are being interpreted to involve downsampled images, or the images from the pyramid levels (for example, [0012])), to obtain a special effect image comprising N special effect image regions (Hutchinson, see [0055] image below, the image qualities being harmonized is being interpreted to involve N special effect image regions), the downsampled images being in one-to-one correspondence with the special effect image regions (Hutchinson, [0055], reproduced below: PNG media_image5.png 358 998 media_image5.png Greyscale . The different images are being interpreted to involve the different pyramid levels, or the downsampled images which are involved with the image quality harmonization); fusing the downsampled images (Hutchinson, see [0056] image below, “first and third images will overlap each other in the blended image”. “First and third images” are being interpreted as example downsampled images. “Blended image” is being interpreted to involve “fusing”) with the special effect (Hutchinson, see [0056] image below, “gain compensation block” is being interpreted as involving a special effect, see [0055] image above) image to obtain a fused image comprising N fused regions (Hutchinson, see [0056] image below, the final blended image is being interpreted as fused image comprising N fused regions), the fused region being obtained by fusing the downsampled image (Hutchinson, see [0056] image below, “first and third images” are being interpreted as involving “downsampled image” as part of the image pyramid) with a corresponding special effect image region (Hutchinson, [0056], reproduced below: PNG media_image6.png 320 570 media_image6.png Greyscale . The overlapped regions and gain compensation from [0055] are being interpreted as corresponding special effect image region); and upsampling (Hutchinson, [0114]: “In one example, each expand filter 1501 performs a Gaussian filter. It also upsamples by a factor of 2. Thus the output is 4 times the size of the input”) the fused image to obtain the target image corresponding to the target image (Hutchinson, [0113]: “The pyramid sum block performs the ‘multiband blend’ across the decimated images generated by the reduce filter block”. “Multiband blend” is being interpreted as involving upsampling the fused image to obtain the target image). Regarding claim 6, Hutchinson teaches The method according to claim 4, wherein the performing special effect processing corresponding to a target special effect on pixel points in the downsampled images, to obtain a special effect image comprising N special effect image regions comprises: increasing brightness (Hutchinson, see [0055] image below, “brightness” that is harmonized is being interpreted to involve increasing brightness) of the pixel points in the downsampled images (Hutchinson, see [0055] image below, “the different images” are being interpreted to involve “downsampled images” from the image pyramid [0012]) when the target special effect is a highlight special effect (Hutchinson, see [0055] image below, “gain compensation” that harmonizes image quality is being interpreted as “highlight special effect”), to obtain a highlight image comprising N highlight image regions (Hutchinson, [0055], reproduced below: PNG media_image7.png 368 1004 media_image7.png Greyscale . The harmonized image is being interpreted as a highlight image that comprises N highlight image regions); the fusing the downsampled images with the special effect image to obtain a fused image (Hutchinson, [0056]: “These regions of overlap suitably correspond to where those first and third images will overlap each other in the blended image”. “first and third image” are being interpreted as having downsampled images, as part of the image pyramid. The blended image is being interpreted to involve fusing) comprising N fused regions comprises: fusing the downsampled images with the highlight image (Hutchinson, [0056], “gain compensation block” is being interpreted to involve highlighting) to obtain a fused image comprising N highlight special effect fused regions (Hutchinson, [0056]: “These regions of overlap suitably correspond to where those first and third images will overlap each other in the blended image”. “first and third image” are being interpreted as having downsampled images, as part of the image pyramid. The blended image is being interpreted to involve fusing); and the upsampling (Hutchinson, [0114]: “In one example, each expand filter 1501 performs a Gaussian filter. It also upsamples by a factor of 2”) the fused image (Hutchinson, [0113]: “The pyramid sum block performs the ‘multiband blend’ across the decimated images generated by the reduce filter block”. “multiband blend” is being interpreted to involve fusing) to obtain the target image (Hutchinson, [0113]: “This block outputs the fully blended frame ”) corresponding to the target image comprises: upsampling the fused image (Hutchinson, [0114]: “In one example, each expand filter 1501 performs a Gaussian filter. It also upsamples by a factor of 2”. Which is being interpreted to involve upsampling the fused image) to obtain a target image corresponding to the target image with the highlight special effect added (Hutchinson, [0056], “gain compensation block” is being interpreted to involve highlighting). Regarding claim 7, Hutchinson teaches The method according to claim 4, wherein the fusing the downsampled images with the special effect image to obtain a fused image comprising N fused regions comprises: fusing the downsampled images (Hutchinson, [0056]: “first and third images will overlap each other in the blended image”, which is being interpreted to involve fusing the downsampled images, as the first and third images are associated with the image pyramid, as seen in [0012]) with corresponding special effect image (Hutchinson, [0055]: “harmonise one or more image qualities”, that include “brightness”, which is being interpreted as involving “special effect image”) regions in the special effect image to obtain the N fused regions (Hutchinson, [0055]: “harmonise one or more image qualities between the different images”, which is being interpreted as resulting in N fused regions); and determining, based on the N fused regions, the fused image comprising the N fused regions (Hutchinson, [0055], “combined image” is being interpreted as the fused image comprising N fused regions). Regarding claim 8, Hutchinson teaches The method according to claim 4, wherein the upsampling the fused image to obtain the target image corresponding to the target image comprises: determining values of the pixel points (Hutchinson, [0057]: “The next step is to identify an image quality associated with each region of overlap”. “image quality” is being interpreted as involving determining values of the pixel points) in the fused regions (Hutchinson, [0057]: “The next step is to identify an image quality associated with each region of overlap”. “Region of overlap” is being interpreted as involving “fused regions”) based on the fused image (Hutchinson, [0057]: “region of overlap” is being interpreted as involving “fused image”); and upsampling (Hutchinson, [0114]: “each expand filter 1501 performs a Gaussian filter. It also upsamples by a factor of 2.”) the fused image (Hutchinson, [0113]: “The pyramid sum block performs the ‘multiband blend’ across the decimated images generated by the reduce filter block. This block outputs the fully blended frame”. “Fully blended frame” is being interpreted to involve “fused images”) based on the values of the pixel points in the fused regions (Hutchinson, [0057]: “The next step is to identify an image quality associated with each region of overlap”. “image quality” is being interpreted as involving determining values of the pixel points. Which is associated with the gain compensation block that is applied to different levels of the pyramid [0111]), to obtain the target image corresponding to the target image (Hutchinson, [0113]: “This block outputs the fully blended frame”). Regarding claim 9, Hutchinson teaches The method according to claim 4, wherein the method further comprises: obtaining an original image corresponding to the target image (Hutchinson, [0044], reproduced below: PNG media_image8.png 300 564 media_image8.png Greyscale . “Original camera images” are being interpreted to have an original image obtained); and superimposing the original image on the target image (Hutchinson, [0044] image above, “each overlapping image” is being interpreted to involve superimposing the original image.) to obtain a target special effect image (Hutchinson, [0057]: “The next step is to identify an image quality associated with each region of overlap”. “Image quality” is being interpreted as involving “a target special effect image” as part of the gain compensation see in [0055].). Regarding claim 10, Hutchinson teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: before obtaining the image parameter of the target image (Hutchinson, [0055]: “The gain compensation block is suitably configured to harmonise one or more image qualities between the different images that are to be combined into a single image”. Which is being interpreted as before obtaining the image parameter of the target image): obtaining an original image and determining a plurality of pixel points corresponding to the original image (Hutchinson, [0055]: “The gain compensation block is suitably configured to harmonise one or more image qualities between the different images that are to be combined into a single image”. “Different images” is being interpreted as “original image”. “image qualities” are being interpreted as “determining a plurality of pixel points”); screening (Hutchinson, [0055]: “The gain compensation block”, which is being interpreted to involve “screening”) the plurality of pixel points based on brightness of the pixel points (Hutchinson, [0055]: “These may be qualities, such as brightness, that can vary from image to image due to the settings of individual cameras.”), to obtain at least one target pixel point (Hutchinson, [0055]: “harmonise” is being interpreted as involving a target pixel point); and determining the target image based on the at least one target pixel point (Hutchinson, [0055]: “harmonise one or more image qualities between the different images that are to be combined into a single image”. “Harmonise one or more image qualities” is being interpreted as “at least one target pixel point”. After image quality harmony, the image is being interpreted as “determining the target image”). Claims 12 and 17 is rejected using the same rationale and motivation as applied to claim 2 discussed above. Claims 13 and 18 is rejected using the same rationale and motivation as applied to claim 3 discussed above. Claims 14 and 19 is rejected using the same rationale and motivation as applied to claim 4 discussed above. Claim 15 and 20 is rejected using the same rationale and motivation as applied to claim 10 discussed above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson, in view of Piquet (“Custom Bloom Post-Process in Unreal Engine”, 2021) . Regarding claim 5, Hutchinson teaches The method according to claim 4, wherein the performing special effect processing (Hutchinson, see [0055] image in claim 4, “harmonise one or more image qualities” is being interpreted as special effect) corresponding to a target special effect (Hutchinson, see [0055] image in claim 4, the image quality harmonization is being interpreted as involving a target special effect) on pixel points in the downsampled images (Hutchinson, see [0055] image below, “different images” are being interpreted to involve downsampled images, or the images from the pyramid levels (for example, [0012])), to obtain a special effect image comprising N special effect image regions (Hutchinson, see [0055] image below, the image qualities being harmonized is being interpreted to involve N special effect image regions) comprises: However, Hutchinson does not appear to explicitly teach Gaussian blur, though this is a common blurring technique, as one with ordinary skill in the art would know. Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Piquet teaches performing Gaussian blur (Piquet, pg 25, bulletpoint 4: “RenderDownsample() and RenderUpsampleCombine() are the functions to generate the Gaussian blur levels (like mentioned during the overview)”) on the pixel points in the downsampled images (Piquet, pg 12, image overview, reproduced below: PNG media_image9.png 294 724 media_image9.png Greyscale . “Downsample”) when the target special effect is a halo special effect (Piquet, see nearest image above, “Halo”) to obtain a blurred image comprising N blurred image regions (Piquet, pg 25, bulletpoint 4: “RenderDownsample() and RenderUpsampleCombine() are the functions to generate the Gaussian blur levels (like mentioned during the overview)”. The downsample and upsample images are being interpreted to involve N blurred image regions); the fusing the downsampled images (Piquet, pg 14, ¶1, “The downsample process is simple because it just reads the previous result and write the new one at a smaller resolution. With the provided pattern it slightly enlarge the image at each new pass.” The downsampling process is being interpreted to involve fusing) with the special effect image (Piquet, the image overview above, the downsampled and upsampled images are mixed with the special effects that include “Ghosts + Halo” and “Glare”) to obtain a fused image comprising N fused regions (Piquet, pg 12, image overview, “mix” is being interpreted as fusing the downsampled images with the special effect image that comprise of N fused regions) comprises: fusing the downsampled images with the blurred image (Piquet, pg 14, ¶1, “The downsample process is simple because it just reads the previous result and write the new one at a smaller resolution. With the provided pattern it slightly enlarge the image at each new pass.” The downsampling process is being interpreted to involve blurring, the downsampled images are fused as part of the process) to obtain a fused image comprising N blurred special effect fused regions (Piquet, pg 25, bulletpoint 4: “RenderDownsample() and RenderUpsampleCombine() are the functions to generate the Gaussian blur levels (like mentioned during the overview)”. The downsample and upsample images are being interpreted to involve N blurred special effect fused regions); and the upsampling (Piquet, see nearest image below, “upsample”) the fused image (Piquet, see nearest image below, “blended together” is being interpreted to involve fusing) to obtain the target image corresponding to the target image (Piquet, pg 14, ¶2-3, reproduced below: PNG media_image10.png 142 790 media_image10.png Greyscale . “Combine the upsamples” is being interpreted to involve obtaining the target image) comprises: upsampling the fused image to obtain a target image corresponding to the target image (Piquet, see nearest image above, “To combine the upsamples” are being interpreted as upsampling the fused image to obtain a target image”) with the halo special effect added (Piquet, pg 12, image overview, “Halo”, which is being interpreted to have halo special effect). Hutchinson and Piquet are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to image processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for image processing with blending and brightness adjustment (as taught by Hutchinson) to include Gaussian blur (as taught by Piquet) because the combination provides a modification to the bloom effect (Piquet, pg 2, ¶1). Further, Gaussian blur, downsampling, upsampling chain, are common techniques. Common terminology for these is image pyramid, pyramid parametrics, and mipmapping . Conclusion Examiner respectively recommends reviewing the entirety of the cited prior art. Especially art involving mipmapping (also known as image pyramid or pyramid parametrics). 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Williams (“Pyramidal Parametrics”, 1983) which discloses downsampling and upsampling for a mesh and mesh cells. Compare instant Figure 6 vs Williams Figure 17 (Examiner recommends viewing the original NPL in color): PNG media_image11.png 454 522 media_image11.png Greyscale PNG media_image12.png 370 462 media_image12.png Greyscale . Notice how the mipmap structure looks similar to the mesh and mesh cells. Christensen (“Physically Based Bloom”, Jun 2022) discloses an image pyramid with downsampling and upsampling with bloom effect. Akyuz et al (“High dynamic range imaging pipeline on the GPU”, 2012) teaches mipmapping (downsampling and upsampling) for enhancing brightness (interpreted as bloom). Liu et al (WO 2022/252080 A1, 12 Dec 2022) discloses an image pyramid (downsampling and upsampling) for generating bloom effect. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHNNY B DUONG whose telephone number is (571)272-1358. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 10a-9p (ET). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Bella can be reached at (571)272-7778. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.B.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2667 /MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 2 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 3 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 4 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 5 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 6 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 7 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 8 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 9 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 10 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 11 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 12 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 13 Art Unit: 2667 Application/Control Number: 18/911,094 Page 14 Art Unit: 2667