DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 9, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0212340 to Ai et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0298539 to Shibai et al. and 2008/0055729 to Li et al.
Regarding Claim 9, Ai discloses (e.g., Figs. 1–4, 14, and 20 and their descriptions including at least paragraphs [0035]–[0055]) an electronic device 10, comprising: a housing 12 configured to fold along an axis 22; a flexible display 14 mounted to the housing and configured to display images across the axis (e.g., Figs. 3 and 4 illustrate the display 14 continuously wrapping the axis, reasonably suggesting display across the axis); a display cover layer 24 overlapping the flexible display (e.g., paragraphs [0039], [0046], and [0047] and Fig. 6), wherein the display cover layer has first and second rigid portions and a groove interposed between the first and second rigid portions (Fig. 5, paragraph [0046], rigid planar layers 24A/C with flexible portion 24B therebetween having grooves 30 formed therein, e.g., Figs. 8–15); and a polymer material 32 in the groove (paragraph [0050], filler 32 may be polymer such as silicone).
Ai further teaches that the grooves may have pseudorandom patterns (e.g., paragraphs [0050]–[0054] and Figs. 12–14), at least in part to prevent optical interference or prevent visible artifacts, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second rigid portions each have a roughened surface facing the groove to produce a gradual change in refractive index between the display cover layer and the polymer material.
Shibai teaches roughening a surface to which a polymer is applied in order to improve adhesion of the polymer to that surface (e.g., paragraph [0086]).
Li teaches using a roughened surface to gradually change the index of refraction to reduce reflection at the interface (paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Ai such that the first and second rigid portions each have a roughened surface facing the groove to produce a gradual change in refractive index between the display cover layer and the polymer material, as suggested by Shibai and Li, in order to improve adhesion of the polymer and reduce reflection at the interface.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Ai, Shibai, and Li would have rendered obvious wherein the polymer material comprises silicone (paragraph [0050] of Ai).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Ai, Shibai, and Li would have rendered obvious wherein the first and second rigid portions have sloped sidewalls facing the groove and wherein the roughened surface is formed on the sloped sidewalls (e.g., Fig. 10 of Ai).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Ai, Shibai, and Li would have rendered obvious wherein the display cover layer comprises first and second chemically strengthened surfaces (e.g., hard coating layer 24B-2, paragraph [0053] of Ai).
Double Patenting
Claims 1–4 and 6–8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 5–10 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,632. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar despite wording differences.
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 2, and 12 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,862,664. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar despite wording differences.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1–8, 11, 12, and 15–20 are allowable, subject to the Double Patenting rejections set forth above and the incorporation of any subject matter of rejected claims from which they may depend.
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871