DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 18/911,134 filed on 04/16/2026.
Claims 1, 3 – 14 and 16 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 2 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3 – 9, 12 – 14 and 16 – 20 have been amended.
This action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10 – 13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20250018801 A1), further in view of Hsu et al. (US 20220126845 A1) and Kandar et al. (US 20230415722 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a vehicle, comprising: (Wang: Abstract: “Described herein are methods and systems for operating a braking system of a commercial electric vehicle.”)
a battery; (Wang: Paragraph 0074: “12V power circuit 168 may be for operation of various accessories and for powering ECUs, while power connection 170 may be high voltage or amperage power for systems that require a large amount of electrical power, such as drive motor 156.”; Paragraph 0076: “Drive unit 156 may provide propulsion drive for the vehicle and motor control 170 may accordingly control the operation of drive unit 156. Drive torque 406 may be provided to the vehicle.”)
a primary voltage domain comprising a primary voltage source; (Wang: Paragraph 0061: “Power for operation of EBFM 120 may be provided via power source 164. Power source 164 may be a power source configured to power vehicle systems, such as a low-voltage power source. Similarly, power for operation of EBRM 122 may be provided via power source 166. Power source 166 may also be a power source configured to power vehicle systems, such as a low-voltage power source. In certain embodiments, EBFM 120 and EBRM 122 may be powered by the same power source, but in the embodiment of FIG. 3, EBFM 120 and EBRM 122 may include different power sources to provide redundancy.”: Paragraph 0088: “Referring back to EBRM 122, EBRM 122 may subtract 464 the rear braking provided by actual regenerative braking 422 from rear friction brake torque 462 to determine a rear friction brake torque 466. EBRM 122 may determine a rear pressure command 468 based on rear friction brake torque 466 and, in certain situations, immobilization 428.”)
a secondary voltage domain comprising a secondary voltage source different from the primary voltage source, (Wang: Paragraph 0061: “Power for operation of EBFM 120 may be provided via power source 164. Power source 164 may be a power source configured to power vehicle systems, such as a low-voltage power source. Similarly, power for operation of EBRM 122 may be provided via power source 166. Power source 166 may also be a power source configured to power vehicle systems, such as a low-voltage power source. In certain embodiments, EBFM 120 and EBRM 122 may be powered by the same power source, but in the embodiment of FIG. 3, EBFM 120 and EBRM 122 may include different power sources to provide redundancy.”: Paragraph 0110: “In certain embodiments, the EBFM may, alternatively or additionally, operate the electric parking brake (EPB) in 824 to provide rear braking to compensate for the EBRM failure. For example, the EBFM may be electrically coupled to the rear brakes or the EPB of the rear brakes via a 12V electrical circuit (as shown in FIG. 3). The 12V electrical circuit may allow for operation of the EPB. For example, 12V electrical power may cause an electric motor of the EPB to rotate and, thus, engage or disengage the EPB. The EBFM may thus communicate power to engage or disengage the EPB to provide rear braking as needed.”,
Supplemental Note: both the EBRM and EBFM have their own power sources which power the friction brake. In the cited example, if there is a EBRM failure, the power source of the EBFM may power the electric parking brake. This is interpreted as the having two different voltage sources for the two braking systems)
one or more drive motors coupled to the battery and configured to propel the vehicle; (Wang: Paragraph 0074: “12V power circuit 168 may be for operation of various accessories and for powering ECUs, while power connection 170 may be high voltage or amperage power for systems that require a large amount of electrical power, such as drive motor 156.”; Paragraph 0076: “Drive unit 156 may provide propulsion drive for the vehicle and motor control 170 may accordingly control the operation of drive unit 156. Drive torque 406 may be provided to the vehicle.”)
a driving braking system configured to decelerate the vehicle; (Wang: Abstract: “Described herein are methods and systems for operating a braking system of a commercial electric vehicle. In various embodiments, the braking system may include a plurality of electric brake control modules. The electric brake control modules may be configured to operate the brakes on different axles of the vehicle.”; Paragraph 0049: “In various embodiments, brakes 108A and 108B may be friction brakes on a forward axle of vehicle 100 (e.g., an axle forward of the midpoint of vehicle 100 such as that of front wheel/tire assembly 106) and brakes 112A and 112B may be friction brakes on a rearward axle of vehicle 100 (e.g., an axle behind the midpoint of vehicle 100 such as that of rear wheel/tire assembly 110). Variously, such brakes may be, for example, disc brakes, drum brakes, and/or other such friction brakes that may be separate from electric motors that provide propulsion to vehicle 100.”)
an electronic parking brake system configured to maintain a position of the vehicle when parked, (Wang: Paragraph 0049: “In certain embodiments, brakes 108A/B and/or 112A/B may include normal friction brakes configured to provide stopping power to slow vehicle 100 during normal operation and/or parking or holding brakes that may be configured to hold vehicle 100 when vehicle 100 is at rest.”)
… an autonomous driving controller configured to autonomously drive the vehicle, the autonomous driving controller further configured to: (Wang: Paragraph 0077: “Additionally, the vehicle may include autonomous capability. Automatic emergency braking (AEB) 168 may be a drive aid or auto-drive module that may provide for autonomous, semi-autonomous, or computed aided operation of the vehicle.”)
detect failure of the driving braking system; and (Wang: Paragraph 0009: “The system of clause 2, wherein the second electronic brake control module is configured to: determine a first electronic brake control module fault; determine an alternative second brake torque target; and operate the second brake based on the alternative second brake torque target.”: Paragraph 0058: “VCU 126 may be a vehicle control unit configured to determine various aspects of the operation of vehicle 100. Thus, for example, VCU 126 may be communicatively coupled various sensors of vehicle 100 and may provide readings and/or determinations of operating characteristics (e.g., parameters such as a magnitude of a metric for sensing, and/or determinations as to the operating conditions, such as normal, limp, warm up, etc.) of various aspects of vehicle 100. For example, acceleration rates of vehicle 100 in one or more directions, torque values of motors, brakes, and/or applied to one or more wheels, pedal applications, motor regeneration data and/or torque values, drivetrain or gearing data, seatbelt and/or door status, parking brake settings, ambient temperatures, and/or fault statuses of vehicle 100. The various parameters determined by VCU 126 may be utilized in operation of vehicle 100, such as in the determination of brake bias by EBFM 120 and/or in determining the deceleration torque values for the respective brakes controlled by EBFM 120 and/or EBRM 122.”,
Supplemental Note: the VCU is connected to the EBFM and EBRM which are able to detect a brake failure)
in response to detecting failure of the driving braking system, (Wang: Paragraph 0088: “if immobilization is requested, the electronic parking brake (EPB) may be actuated and, thus, the brake pressure applied to the rear calipers 112 may be accordingly adjusted. In other situations, a rear brake failure may be determined and the EPB may be accordingly operated to provide for rear braking”; Paragraph 0110: “In certain embodiments, the EBFM may, alternatively or additionally, operate the electric parking brake (EPB) in 824 to provide rear braking to compensate for the EBRM failure. For example, the EBFM may be electrically coupled to the rear brakes or the EPB of the rear brakes via a 12V electrical circuit (as shown in FIG. 3). The 12V electrical circuit may allow for operation of the EPB. For example, 12V electrical power may cause an electric motor of the EPB to rotate and, thus, engage or disengage the EPB. The EBFM may thus communicate power to engage or disengage the EPB to provide rear braking as needed.”).
In sum, Wang teaches a vehicle, comprising: a battery; a primary voltage domain comprising a primary voltage source; a secondary voltage domain comprising a secondary voltage source different from the primary voltage source, one or more drive motors coupled to the battery and configured to propel the vehicle; a driving braking system configured to decelerate the vehicle; an electronic parking brake system configured to maintain a position of the vehicle when parked, an autonomous driving controller configured to autonomously drive the vehicle, the autonomous driving controller further configured to: detect failure of the driving braking system; and in response to detecting failure of the driving braking system. Wang however does not teach the electronic parking brake system coupled to the primary voltage domain and the secondary voltage domain, the electronic parking brake system comprising circuits configured to manage failover from the primary voltage domain to the secondary voltage domain.
Kandar teaches the electronic parking brake system coupled to the primary voltage domain and the secondary voltage domain, the electronic parking brake system comprising circuits configured to manage failover from the primary voltage domain to the secondary voltage domain; and (Kandar: Claim 21: “A method for providing a backup voltage for an electronic parking brake (EPB) of a commercial vehicle for ensuring a safe state even during electric power failure of a power supply unit of the EPB, the method comprising: detecting, by a detection unit, the power failure; storing, by a storage device, sufficient electric power to perform a switch into the safe state; charging, by a boost circuit, the storage device during standstill of the vehicle and discharging the storage device during motion of the vehicle; and supplying, by a switch device, the electric power of the storage device to the EPB when the power failure is detected by the detection unit.”; Paragraph 0015: “The backup switch may be configured to open and/or to close a current path from the storage device to the at least one solenoid valve. Thus, it may serve as a backup for the high side switch of the EPB. The control circuit may be configured to control the backup switch and thus the power supply from the storage device to the at least one solenoid valve in case the power failure is detected.”,
Supplemental Note: the storage device is interpreted as a secondary voltage domain as it allows the EPB to use it as a backup voltage supplier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Kandar with a reasonable expectation of success. One ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the ability to have a redundant power source for powering an electronic braking system as taught by Kandar with the vehicle of Wang. Wang already teaches the ability of detecting failures in the friction brakes in which the electronic parking brake is used as a redundant to slow down the vehicle. Therefore the ability to also have a redundant power source for the electronic parking brake mitigates situations in which both the friction and electronic parking brake are inoperable, leading to a potential collision. Wang in view of Kandar however still do not teach to perform a controlled stop using the electronic parking brake system.
Hsu teaches perform a controlled stop using the electronic parking brake system (Hsu: Paragraph 0033: “The primary VCU 210 and the secondary (or backup) VCU 220 are both coupled to a parking brake controller 260. The parking brake is typically used to keep the vehicle motionless when parked, but can also be used to perform an emergency stop should the main hydraulic brakes fail.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Hsu with a reasonable expectation of success. One ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the ability to perform an emergency stop based on the main brakes failing as taught by Hsu with the vehicle system of Wang. Wang is able to detect failures within the friction brakes and apply redundant braking by the use of the regenerative brakes and the electronic parking brake. The ability to further perform an emergency stop based on the brake failure would be obvious to try as it mitigates potential accidents if the vehicle is still operational or further damaging the vehicle components.
Regarding claim 3, Wang, as modified, does not teach wherein the electronic parking brake system is configured to manage failover by switching power from the primary voltage domain to the secondary voltage domain after failure of the primary voltage domain.
Kandar teaches wherein the electronic parking brake system is configured to manage failover by switching power from the primary voltage domain to the secondary voltage domain after failure of the primary voltage domain (Kandar: Claim 21: “A method for providing a backup voltage for an electronic parking brake (EPB) of a commercial vehicle for ensuring a safe state even during electric power failure of a power supply unit of the EPB, the method comprising: detecting, by a detection unit, the power failure; storing, by a storage device, sufficient electric power to perform a switch into the safe state; charging, by a boost circuit, the storage device during standstill of the vehicle and discharging the storage device during motion of the vehicle; and supplying, by a switch device, the electric power of the storage device to the EPB when the power failure is detected by the detection unit.”; Paragraph 0015: “The backup switch may be configured to open and/or to close a current path from the storage device to the at least one solenoid valve. Thus, it may serve as a backup for the high side switch of the EPB. The control circuit may be configured to control the backup switch and thus the power supply from the storage device to the at least one solenoid valve in case the power failure is detected.”,
Supplemental Note: the storage device is interpreted as a secondary voltage domain as it allows the EPB to use it as a backup voltage supplier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Kandar with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 4, Wang, as modified, teaches the primary voltage source comprises a primary battery having an output voltage of 48 Volts or less (Wang: Paragraph 0110: “operate the electric parking brake (EPB) in 824 to provide rear braking to compensate for the EBRM failure. For example, the EBFM may be electrically coupled to the rear brakes or the EPB of the rear brakes via a 12V electrical circuit (as shown in FIG. 3). The 12V electrical circuit may allow for operation of the EPB. For example, 12V electrical power may cause an electric motor of the EPB to rotate and, thus, engage or disengage the EPB. The EBFM may thus communicate power to engage or disengage the EPB to provide rear braking as needed.”; Paragraph 0061: “Power for operation of EBFM 120 may be provided via power source 164. Power source 164 may be a power source configured to power vehicle systems, such as a low-voltage power source. Similarly, power for operation of EBRM 122 may be provided via power source 166. Power source 166 may also be a power source configured to power vehicle systems, such as a low-voltage power source. In certain embodiments, EBFM 120 and EBRM 122 may be powered by the same power source, but in the embodiment of FIG. 3, EBFM 120 and EBRM 122 may include different power sources to provide redundancy.”).
Regarding claim 6, Wang, as modified, teaches wherein the secondary voltage source comprises a secondary battery having an output voltage of 48 volts or less (Wang: Paragraph 0074: “12V power circuit 168 may be for operation of various accessories and for powering ECUs”; Paragraph 0110: “operate the electric parking brake (EPB) in 824 to provide rear braking to compensate for the EBRM failure. For example, the EBFM may be electrically coupled to the rear brakes or the EPB of the rear brakes via a 12V electrical circuit (as shown in FIG. 3). The 12V electrical circuit may allow for operation of the EPB. For example, 12V electrical power may cause an electric motor of the EPB to rotate and, thus, engage or disengage the EPB. The EBFM may thus communicate power to engage or disengage the EPB to provide rear braking as needed.”; Paragraph 0061: “Power for operation of EBFM 120 may be provided via power source 164. Power source 164 may be a power source configured to power vehicle systems, such as a low-voltage power source. Similarly, power for operation of EBRM 122 may be provided via power source 166. Power source 166 may also be a power source configured to power vehicle systems, such as a low-voltage power source. In certain embodiments, EBFM 120 and EBRM 122 may be powered by the same power source, but in the embodiment of FIG. 3, EBFM 120 and EBRM 122 may include different power sources to provide redundancy.”).
Regarding claim 8, Wang, as modified, teaches wherein:
the vehicle further comprises: (Wang: Paragraph 0060: “FIG. 3 is another block diagram of a commercial electric braking system, in accordance with certain embodiments. FIG. 3 illustrates vehicle 100 in further detail. As shown in FIG. 3, vehicle 100 further includes drive motor 156 from FIG. 2, which may be configured to provide propulsion to the wheel/tire assemblies associated with brakes 112A and 112B. Drive motor 156 may further provide regenerative braking for vehicle 100.”)
one or more drive motor controllers configured to control supply of current to the one or more drive motors; and (Wang: Paragraph 0074: “Various components of vehicle 100 described in FIG. 3 may be coupled via 12V power circuit 168, sensor circuit 142, master cylinder hydraulic pressure line 172, non-master cylinder hydraulic pressure line 174, CAN 136, private CAN 138, and power connection 170, as shown in FIG. 3. 12V power circuit 168 and power connection 170 may provide electrical power to various components described herein. 12V power circuit 168 may be for operation of various accessories and for powering ECUs, while power connection 170 may be high voltage or amperage power for systems that require a large amount of electrical power, such as drive motor 156.”; Paragraph 0076: “Drive unit 156 may provide propulsion drive for the vehicle and motor control 170 may accordingly control the operation of drive unit 156. Drive torque 406 may be provided to the vehicle.”,
Supplemental Note: the motor controls the drive unit to propel the vehicle powered by the power connection)
the driving braking system comprises a friction braking system (Wang: Paragraph 0049: “In various embodiments, brakes 108A and 108B may be friction brakes on a forward axle of vehicle 100 (e.g., an axle forward of the midpoint of vehicle 100 such as that of front wheel/tire assembly 106) and brakes 112A and 112B may be friction brakes on a rearward axle of vehicle 100 (e.g., an axle behind the midpoint of vehicle 100 such as that of rear wheel/tire assembly 110).”)
and the one or more drive motors for performing regenerative braking (Wang: Paragraph 0060: “As shown in FIG. 3, vehicle 100 further includes drive motor 156 from FIG. 2, which may be configured to provide propulsion to the wheel/tire assemblies associated with brakes 112A and 112B. Drive motor 156 may further provide regenerative braking for vehicle 100”).
Regarding claim 10, Wang, as modified, teaches wherein the autonomous driving controller is coupled to the driving braking system and the electronic parking brake system by a first bus and a second bus (Wang: as seen in Figure A, the VCU is coupled to the EBFM, EBRM and the drive motor).
Figure A - Wang: Fig. 3
Regarding claim 11, Wang, as modified, teaches wherein the first bus and the second bus are controller area network (CAN) busses (Wang: Paragraph 0048: “IMU, steering 124, VCU 126, EBFM 120, and EBRM 120 may be communicatively coupled via Controller Area Network (CAN) circuitry 136. Sensors 118 may be communicatively coupled to EBFM 120 and EBRM 122 via sensor circuits 132 and 134, respectively. EBFM 120 and EBRM 122 may be communicatively coupled via private CAN 138.”).
Regarding claim 12, Wang, as modified, teaches wherein:
the one or more drive motors comprise a first drive motor and (Wang: Paragraph 0060: “FIG. 3 is another block diagram of a commercial electric braking system, in accordance with certain embodiments. FIG. 3 illustrates vehicle 100 in further detail. As shown in FIG. 3, vehicle 100 further includes drive motor 156 from FIG. 2, which may be configured to provide propulsion to the wheel/tire assemblies associated with brakes 112A and 112B. Drive motor 156 may further provide regenerative braking for vehicle 100.”)
… a first drive motor controller configured to receive power from the primary voltage domain and control supply of current to the first drive motor; (Wang: Paragraph 0074: “12V power circuit 168 may be for operation of various accessories and for powering ECUs, while power connection 170 may be high voltage or amperage power for systems that require a large amount of electrical power, such as drive motor 156.”; Paragraph 0076: “Drive unit 156 may provide propulsion drive for the vehicle and motor control 170 may accordingly control the operation of drive unit 156. Drive torque 406 may be provided to the vehicle.”,
Supplemental Note: the motor controls the drive unit to propel the vehicle powered by the power connection).
… a first electronic control unit coupled to the first drive motor controller, the first electronic control unit configured to function as a primary vehicle motion controller; and (Wang: Paragraph 0074: “12V power circuit 168 may be for operation of various accessories and for powering ECUs, while power connection 170 may be high voltage or amperage power for systems that require a large amount of electrical power, such as drive motor 156.”; Paragraph 0076: “Drive unit 156 may provide propulsion drive for the vehicle and motor control 170 may accordingly control the operation of drive unit 156. Drive torque 406 may be provided to the vehicle.”,
Supplemental Note: the motor controls the drive unit to propel the vehicle powered by the power connection).
In sum, Wang teaches wherein: the one or more drive motors comprise a first drive motor and a first drive motor controller configured to receive power from the primary voltage domain and control supply of current to the first drive motor; a first electronic control unit coupled to the first drive motor controller, the first electronic control unit configured to function as a primary vehicle motion controller. Wang however does not teach a second drive motor: and the vehicle further comprises: a second drive motor controller configured to receive power from the secondary voltage domain and control supply of current to the second drive motor; a second electronic control unit coupled to the second drive motor controller, the second electronic control unit configured to function as a secondary vehicle motion controller and perform a primary function other than as the secondary vehicle motion controller, the second electronic control unit configured to assume function as the primary vehicle motion controller in response to detecting failure of the first electronic control unit.
Hsu teaches a second drive motor: and the vehicle further comprises: (Hsu: Paragraph 0026: “the primary VCU 210, the secondary (or backup) VCU 220, the primary brake controller 230, and the secondary brake controller 240 are coupled to each other. This coupling ensures an active redundant architecture wherein the secondary VCU 220 and secondary brake controller 240 are always online to enable a rapid transition in case of an CAN communication error or failure in the primary VCU or the primary brake controller”)
… a second drive motor controller configured to receive power from the secondary voltage domain and control supply of current to the second drive motor; (Hsu: Paragraph 0036: “In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 2, a first power supply 213 can be configured to power the primary VCU 210, the secondary brake controller 240, the parking brake controller 260, and the trailer ABS 270, and a second power supply 217 can be configured to power the secondary (or backup) VCU 220, the primary brake controller 230, the aWSS ECU 250, and the parking brake controller 260.”).)
… a second electronic control unit coupled to the second drive motor controller, the second electronic control unit configured to function as a secondary vehicle motion controller and perform a primary function other than as the secondary vehicle motion controller, the second electronic control unit configured to assume function as the primary vehicle motion controller in response to detecting failure of the first electronic control unit (Hsu: Paragraph 0026: “FIG. 2 shows a block diagram of an example redundant braking system that includes two vehicle control units (VCUs) and two braking controls, which provide redundancy and enable fail-safe operation of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle shown in FIG. 1). As shown in FIG. 2, the primary VCU 210, the secondary (or backup) VCU 220, the primary brake controller 230, and the secondary brake controller 240 are coupled to each other. This coupling ensures an active redundant architecture wherein the secondary VCU 220 and secondary brake controller 240 are always online to enable a rapid transition in case of an CAN communication error or failure in the primary VCU or the primary brake controller. Furthermore, the primary and secondary VCUs and brake controllers are configured with independent power supplies (denoted 213 and 217 in FIG. 2, respectively) and ignition signal sources (denoted 223 and 227 in FIG. 2, respectively).”; Paragraph 0036: “In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 2, a first power supply 213 can be configured to power the primary VCU 210, the secondary brake controller 240, the parking brake controller 260, and the trailer ABS 270, and a second power supply 217 can be configured to power the secondary (or backup) VCU 220, the primary brake controller 230, the aWSS ECU 250, and the parking brake controller 260.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Hsu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the ability of the secondary VCU to be used as a backup when the primary VCU fails as taught by Hsu to be obvious to try to combine with the vehicle of Wang. Wang teaches the ability to apply redundant braking by the use of regenerative braking and emergency parking brake when a failure is detected in the friction brake system. Furthermore, the ability to detect when the primary VCU has failed to then use a secondary power source to supply a secondary VCU to function as the primary VCU is obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art as a failure in the VCU decreases the safety of the passengers. Adding a secondary VCU with its own power source as taught by Hsu allows the vehicle to have a backup control unit performing vehicle operations, thus mitigating any potential issues such not being able to ensure accurate and safe control of the vehicle (Hsu: Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 13, Wang, as modified, does not teach wherein the first electronic control unit is configured to receive power from the primary voltage domain, and the second electronic control unit configured to receive power from the secondary voltage domain.
Hsu teaches wherein the first electronic control unit is configured to receive power from the primary voltage domain, and the second electronic control unit configured to receive power from the secondary voltage domain (Hsu: Paragraph 0036: “In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 2, a first power supply 213 can be configured to power the primary VCU 210, the secondary brake controller 240, the parking brake controller 260, and the trailer ABS 270, and a second power supply 217 can be configured to power the secondary (or backup) VCU 220, the primary brake controller 230, the aWSS ECU 250, and the parking brake controller 260.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Hsu with a reasonable expectation of success. As discussed for claim 12, the ability to detect when the primary VCU has failed to then use a secondary power source to supply a secondary VCU to function as the primary VCU is obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art as a failure in the VCU decreases the safety of the passengers. Adding a secondary VCU with its own power source as taught by Hsu allows the vehicle to have a backup control unit performing vehicle operations, thus mitigating any potential issues such not being able to ensure accurate and safe control of the vehicle (Hsu: Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 19, Wang, as modified, teaches wherein:
the vehicle further comprises: (Wang: Paragraph 0060: “FIG. 3 is another block diagram of a commercial electric braking system, in accordance with certain embodiments. FIG. 3 illustrates vehicle 100 in further detail. As shown in FIG. 3, vehicle 100 further includes drive motor 156 from FIG. 2, which may be configured to provide propulsion to the wheel/tire assemblies associated with brakes 112A and 112B. Drive motor 156 may further provide regenerative braking for vehicle 100.”)
one or more drive motor controllers configured to control supply of current to the one or more drive motors;
a first electronic control unit coupled to the one or more drive motor controllers, the first electronic control unit configured to function as a primary vehicle motion controller; and (Wang: Paragraph 0074: “12V power circuit 168 may be for operation of various accessories and for powering ECUs, while power connection 170 may be high voltage or amperage power for systems that require a large amount of electrical power, such as drive motor 156.”; Paragraph 0076: “Drive unit 156 may provide propulsion drive for the vehicle and motor control 170 may accordingly control the operation of drive unit 156. Drive torque 406 may be provided to the vehicle.”,
Supplemental Note: the motor controls the drive unit to propel the vehicle powered by the power connection).
In sum, Wang teaches wherein: the vehicle further comprises: one or more drive motors configured to propel the vehicle; one or more drive motor controllers configured to control supply of current to the one or more drive motors; a first electronic control unit coupled to the one or more drive motor controllers, the first electronic control unit configured to function as a primary vehicle motion controller. Wang however does not teach a second electronic control unit coupled to the one or more drive motor controllers, the second electronic control unit configured to function as a secondary vehicle motion controller and perform a primary function other than as the secondary vehicle motion controller; and the method further comprises: detecting, by the second electronic control unit, failure of the first electronic control unit; and in response to detecting failure of the first electronic control unit, assuming, by the second electronic control unit, function as the primary vehicle motion controller.
Hsu teaches a second electronic control unit coupled to the one or more drive motor controllers, the second electronic control unit configured to function as a secondary vehicle motion controller and perform a primary function other than as the secondary vehicle motion controller; and
the method further comprises:
detecting, by the second electronic control unit, failure of the first electronic control unit; and
in response to detecting failure of the first electronic control unit, assuming, by the second electronic control unit, function as the primary vehicle motion controller (Hsu: Paragraph 0026: “FIG. 2 shows a block diagram of an example redundant braking system that includes two vehicle control units (VCUs) and two braking controls, which provide redundancy and enable fail-safe operation of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle shown in FIG. 1). As shown in FIG. 2, the primary VCU 210, the secondary (or backup) VCU 220, the primary brake controller 230, and the secondary brake controller 240 are coupled to each other. This coupling ensures an active redundant architecture wherein the secondary VCU 220 and secondary brake controller 240 are always online to enable a rapid transition in case of an CAN communication error or failure in the primary VCU or the primary brake controller. Furthermore, the primary and secondary VCUs and brake controllers are configured with independent power supplies (denoted 213 and 217 in FIG. 2, respectively) and ignition signal sources (denoted 223 and 227 in FIG. 2, respectively).”; Paragraph 0036: “In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 2, a first power supply 213 can be configured to power the primary VCU 210, the secondary brake controller 240, the parking brake controller 260, and the trailer ABS 270, and a second power supply 217 can be configured to power the secondary (or backup) VCU 220, the primary brake controller 230, the aWSS ECU 250, and the parking brake controller 260.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Hsu with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 12 as both state the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 20, Wang, as modified, teaches wherein the first electronic control unit is configured to receive power from the primary voltage domain, and (Wang: Paragraph 0074: “while power connection 170 may be high voltage or amperage power for systems that require a large amount of electrical power, such as drive motor 156”).
In sum, Wang teaches wherein the first electronic control unit is configured to receive power from a first voltage source. Wang however does not teach the second electronic control unit is configured to receive power from a second voltage source.
Hsu teaches the second electronic control unit is configured to receive power from the secondary voltage domain (Hsu: Paragraph 0036: “In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 2, a first power supply 213 can be configured to power the primary VCU 210, the secondary brake controller 240, the parking brake controller 260, and the trailer ABS 270, and a second power supply 217 can be configured to power the secondary (or backup) VCU 220, the primary brake controller 230, the aWSS ECU 250, and the parking brake controller 260.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Hsu with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 13 as both state the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20250018801 A1), Hsu et al. (US 20220126845 A1) and Kandar et al. (US 20230415722 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Norberg et al. (US 20220089030 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Wang, as modified, does not teach wherein the secondary voltage source comprises a DC/DC converter coupled to the battery.
Norberg teaches wherein the secondary voltage source comprises a DC/DC converter coupled to the battery (Norberg: Paragraph 0008: “Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a redundant power supply for providing low-voltage power from a high-voltage battery system. The high-voltage battery system described herein includes multiple strings that combine to form a high-voltage output when arranged in series. The systems described herein further include a DC/DC converter having at least two inputs. These inputs can each be coupled to a corresponding one of the high voltage battery strings, and the transformer produces a single low voltage output. For example, an 800 V battery can include two 400V strings, each string separately coupled to its own input to a DC/DC transformer (referred to herein as a “converter” interchangeably”) that has a single 12 V output. Accordingly, the DC/DC converter can selectively provide a consistent 12V power output, when connected to any one of the separate 400 V strings of the 800 V battery module.”,
Supplemental Note: the DC/DC converter is able to adjust the power supply to provide to the battery modules).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Norberg with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the DC/DC convertor coupled to the battery as taught by Norberg to be use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way in regards to power source of Wang’s vehicle to output 12V power on a separate circuit while also having a power connection to power higher voltage components such as the drive motors (Wang: Paragraph 0074). Both of these systems of Wang and Norberg are adjusting the voltages from a power source so the all of the vehicle components can be supplied. Vehicle components such as window motors, door lock, door handle, navigation system and communication system all rely on the low voltages (Norberg: Paragraph 0012). The ability to adjust the voltages to power the drive motor and these low voltage components by the use of DC/DC convertor as taught by Norberg would also improve the low and high voltage circuits as taught by Wang in the same way.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20250018801 A1), Hsu et al. (US 20220126845 A1) and Kandar et al. (US 20230415722 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasu et al. (US 20260021720 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wang, as modified, does not teach wherein a storage capacity of the battery is between 100 to 200 kWh.
Sasu teaches wherein a storage capacity of the battery is between 100 to 200 kWh (Sasu: Paragraph 0002: “The EV battery recharge time depends on the battery size and on the type of the equipment used. The battery size to be recharged of the actual battery is the entire EV battery. The actual EV battery recharge equipment is classified on three categories: Level 1, level 2 and level 3. The difference between these, is related to the level of power used for the charger. Higher the power, faster the battery recharge. For example, for the same battery capacity of 60 Kwh, for Leval 1 (low power charger), the recharge time may be about 16 Hrs, while for high power charger Level 3, (super charger) the recharge time may be about 15 to 20 Min.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Sasu with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Wang and Sasu teach electric vehicles which have batteries to power their electric motor. Wang teaches a power source able to power the drive motors which propel the electric vehicle whereas Sasu also teaches a battery with a capacity of 60 kwh. One of ordinary skill in the art would find both of the power source and battery to be nothing more than a simple substitution of one another. For example, both batteries in the vehicles can be replaced and the electric vehicle will still be able to draw power from them and function as intended.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20250018801 A1), Hsu et al. (US 20220126845 A1) and Kandar et al. (US 20230415722 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 14 respectively, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20080116744 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wang, as modified teaches in response to both of (a) failure of the friction braking system and (Wang: Paragraph 0110: “In certain embodiments, the EBFM may, alternatively or additionally, operate the electric parking brake (EPB) in 824 to provide rear braking to compensate for the EBRM failure. For example, the EBFM may be electrically coupled to the rear brakes or the EPB of the rear brakes via a 12V electrical circuit (as shown in FIG. 3). The 12V electrical circuit may allow for operation of the EPB. For example, 12V electrical power may cause an electric motor of the EPB to rotate and, thus, engage or disengage the EPB. The EBFM may thus communicate power to engage or disengage the EPB to provide rear braking as needed.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPB is able to apply braking to the vehicle which is able to stop the vehicle).
In sum, Wang teaches in response to both of (a) failure of the friction braking system. Wang however does not teach wherein: the one or more drive motor controllers are configured to send a status message to the autonomous driving controller indicating a failure of a drive unit component the autonomous driving controller is further configured to perform the controlled stop using the electronic parking brake system.
Hsu teaches wherein: the one or more drive motor controllers are configured to send a status message to the autonomous driving controller indicating a failure of a drive unit component (Hsu: Paragraph 0037: “the primary VCU is the main arbitrator of the entire braking system for L4 operation, and is configured to rapidly respond to random hardware failures. For example, the failure may be a VCU failure, a CAN communication failure, or a braking controller failure. Each of these failure modalities is addresses by the system architecture and/or functionality of the described embodiments.”; Paragraph 0027: “The primary and secondary VCUs and brake controllers can generate four commands (or four sets of commands) that are transmitted to throughout the braking system to appropriately operate the brakes for safe operation of the autonomous vehicle.”)
… the autonomous driving controller is further configured to perform the controlled stop using the electronic parking brake system (Hsu: Paragraph 0033: “The primary VCU 210 and the secondary (or backup) VCU 220 are both coupled to a parking brake controller 260. The parking brake is typically used to keep the vehicle motionless when parked, but can also be used to perform an emergency stop should the main hydraulic brakes fail.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Hsu with a reasonable expectation of success. Hsu teaches the ability of the VCU of the vehicle to determine the hardware failures in which the VCU is able to rapidly respond to. One of these responses comprise of applying the parking brake to stop the vehicle if the main hydraulic brakes fail. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this ability of Hsu to be obvious to try to implement with the vehicle system of Wang. Wang already teaches the ability of detecting when one of the brakes fail to then configure the regenerative braking or electronic parking brake to slow down the vehicle. The ability to detect when the brakes have failed to perform an emergency stop by the parking brake as taught by Hsu would improve the safety of the passengers within the vehicle of Wang. For example, if the hydraulic brakes fail on a high speed roadway, the ability to perform an emergency stop will prevent the vehicle from traveling further mitigating any potential collisions. Wang in view of Hsu still do not teach preventing the regenerative braking.
Kim teaches that prevents the regenerative braking; and (Kim: Paragraph 0003: “The present invention relates to a method for compensating a regenerative braking amount when a regenerative braking of a vehicle fails and, more particularly, to such a compensating method when regenerative braking fails due to an error in controller area network (CAN) communications between an electronic brake system (EBS) and a hybrid control unit (HCU”).
(b) failure of the one or more drive motor controllers during which the one or more drive motors are unable to perform the regenerative braking (Kim: Paragraph 0003: “The present invention relates to a method for compensating a regenerative braking amount when a regenerative braking of a vehicle fails and, more particularly, to such a compensating method when regenerative braking fails due to an error in controller area network (CAN) communications between an electronic brake system (EBS) and a hybrid control unit (HCU”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the ability to detect failure in the regenerative braking as taught by Kim with the braking system of Wang. Wang teaches methods of implementing the regenerative brakes and the parking brake when there is a fault detected for the friction brakes. The ability to further detect a failure to the regenerative braking as taught by Kim is obvious to try as the vehicle of Wang will be able to detect another type of brake failure. This will increase the safety of the vehicle as, for example, if the friction brakes fail and the regenerative brakes also fail. The vehicle can will now be able to determine the regenerative brakes failing as well and apply the parking brake.
Regarding claim 18, Wang, as modified, teaches performing, by the autonomous driving controller, (Wang: Paragraph 0077: “Additionally, the vehicle may include autonomous capability. Automatic emergency braking (AEB) 168 may be a drive aid or auto-drive module that may provide for autonomous, semi-autonomous, or computed aided operation of the vehicle.”; Paragraph 0058: “VCU 126 may be a vehicle control unit configured to determine various aspects of the operation of vehicle 100. Thus, for example, VCU 126 may be communicatively coupled various sensors of vehicle 100 and may provide readings and/or determinations of operating characteristics (e.g., parameters such as a magnitude of a metric for sensing, and/or determinations as to the operating conditions, such as normal, limp, warm up, etc.) of various aspects of vehicle 100. For example, acceleration rates of vehicle 100 in one or more directions, torque values of motors, brakes, and/or applied to one or more wheels, pedal applications, motor regeneration data and/or torque values, drivetrain or gearing data, seatbelt and/or door status, parking brake settings, ambient temperatures, and/or fault statuses of vehicle 100. The various parameters determined by VCU 126 may be utilized in operation of vehicle 100, such as in the determination of brake bias by EBFM 120 and/or in determining the deceleration torque values for the respective brakes controlled by EBFM 120 and/or EBRM 122.” )
… in response to both of (a) failure of the friction braking system and (Wang: Paragraph 0110: “In certain embodiments, the EBFM may, alternatively or additionally, operate the electric parking brake (EPB) in 824 to provide rear braking to compensate for the EBRM failure. For example, the EBFM may be electrically coupled to the rear brakes or the EPB of the rear brakes via a 12V electrical circuit (as shown in FIG. 3). The 12V electrical circuit may allow for operation of the EPB. For example, 12V electrical power may cause an electric motor of the EPB to rotate and, thus, engage or disengage the EPB. The EBFM may thus communicate power to engage or disengage the EPB to provide rear braking as needed.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPB is able to apply braking to the vehicle which is able to stop the vehicle).
In sum, Wang teaches performing, by the autonomous driving controller, in response to both of (a) failure of the friction braking system. Wang however does not teach receiving, by the autonomous driving controller, a status message from the one of the drive motor controllers indicating a failures of a drive unit component.
Hsu teaches further comprising receiving, by the autonomous driving controller, a status message from the one of the drive motor controllers indicating a failures of a drive unit component (Hsu: Paragraph 0037: “the primary VCU is the main arbitrator of the entire braking system for L4 operation, and is configured to rapidly respond to random hardware failures. For example, the failure may be a VCU failure, a CAN communication failure, or a braking controller failure. Each of these failure modalities is addresses by the system architecture and/or functionality of the described embodiments.”; Paragraph 0027: “The primary and secondary VCUs and brake controllers can generate four commands (or four sets of commands) that are transmitted to throughout the braking system to appropriately operate the brakes for safe operation of the autonomous vehicle.”).
the controlled stop using the electronic parking brake system (Hsu: Paragraph 0033: “The primary VCU 210 and the secondary (or backup) VCU 220 are both coupled to a parking brake controller 260. The parking brake is typically used to keep the vehicle motionless when parked, but can also be used to perform an emergency stop should the main hydraulic brakes fail.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Hsu with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 9 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Wang in view of Hsu however still do not teach to prevent regenerative braking.
Kim teaches that prevents regenerative braking and (Kim: Paragraph 0003: “The present invention relates to a method for compensating a regenerative braking amount when a regenerative braking of a vehicle fails and, more particularly, to such a compensating method when regenerative braking fails due to an error in controller area network (CAN) communications between an electronic brake system (EBS) and a hybrid control unit (HCU”).
(b) failure of the one or more drive motor controllers during which the one or more drive motors are unable to perform regenerative braking (Kim: Paragraph 0003: “The present invention relates to a method for compensating a regenerative braking amount when a regenerative braking of a vehicle fails and, more particularly, to such a compensating method when regenerative braking fails due to an error in controller area network (CAN) communications between an electronic brake system (EBS) and a hybrid control unit (HCU”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Kim with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 9 as both state the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claim(s) 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20250018801 A1), further in view of Kandar et al. (US 20230415722 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Wang, as modified, teaches a method comprising:
detecting, by an autonomous driving controller of a vehicle, failure of a driving braking system of the vehicle, (Wang: Paragraph 0009: “The system of clause 2, wherein the second electronic brake control module is configured to: determine a first electronic brake control module fault; determine an alternative second brake torque target; and operate the second brake based on the alternative second brake torque target.”: Paragraph 0058: “VCU 126 may be a vehicle control unit configured to determine various aspects of the operation of vehicle 100. Thus, for example, VCU 126 may be communicatively coupled various sensors of vehicle 100 and may provide readings and/or determinations of operating characteristics (e.g., parameters such as a magnitude of a metric for sensing, and/or determinations as to the operating conditions, such as normal, limp, warm up, etc.) of various aspects of vehicle 100. For example, acceleration rates of vehicle 100 in one or more directions, torque values of motors, brakes, and/or applied to one or more wheels, pedal applications, motor regeneration data and/or torque values, drivetrain or gearing data, seatbelt and/or door status, parking brake settings, ambient temperatures, and/or fault statuses of vehicle 100. The various parameters determined by VCU 126 may be utilized in operation of vehicle 100, such as in the determination of brake bias by EBFM 120 and/or in determining the deceleration torque values for the respective brakes controlled by EBFM 120 and/or EBRM 122.”; Paragraph 0077: “Additionally, the vehicle may include autonomous capability. Automatic emergency braking (AEB) 168 may be a drive aid or auto-drive module that may provide for autonomous, semi-autonomous, or computed aided operation of the vehicle.”,
Supplemental Note: the VCU is connected to the EBFM and EBRM which are able to detect a brake failure)
the vehicle comprising a battery and one or more drive motors coupled to the battery and configured to propel the vehicle; and (Wang: Paragraph 0074: “12V power circuit 168 may be for operation of various accessories and for powering ECUs, while power connection 170 may be high voltage or amperage power for systems that require a large amount of electrical power, such as drive motor 156.”; Paragraph 0076: “Drive unit 156 may provide propulsion drive for the vehicle and motor control 170 may accordingly control the operation of drive unit 156. Drive torque 406 may be provided to the vehicle.”)
in response to detecting failure of the driving braking system, performing a controlled stop using an electronic parking brake system (Wang: Paragraph 0088: “if immobilization is requested, the electronic parking brake (EPB) may be actuated and, thus, the brake pressure applied to the rear calipers 112 may be accordingly adjusted. In other situations, a rear brake failure may be determined and the EPB may be accordingly operated to provide for rear braking”; Paragraph 0110: “In certain embodiments, the EBFM may, alternatively or additionally, operate the electric parking brake (EPB) in 824 to provide rear braking to compensate for the EBRM failure. For example, the EBFM may be electrically coupled to the rear brakes or the EPB of the rear brakes via a 12V electrical circuit (as shown in FIG. 3). The 12V electrical circuit may allow for operation of the EPB. For example, 12V electrical power may cause an electric motor of the EPB to rotate and, thus, engage or disengage the EPB. The EBFM may thus communicate power to engage or disengage the EPB to provide rear braking as needed.”).
In sum, Wang teaches a method comprising: detecting, by an autonomous driving controller of a vehicle, failure of a driving braking system of the vehicle, the vehicle comprising a battery and one or more drive motors coupled to the battery and configured to propel the vehicle; and in response to detecting failure of the driving braking system, performing a controlled stop using an electronic parking brake system. Wang however does not teach coupled to a primary voltage domain and a secondary voltage domain, the primary voltage domain comprising a primary voltage source, the secondary voltage domain comprising a secondary voltage source different from the primary voltage source, and the electronic parking brake system comprising circuits configured to manage failover from the primary voltage domain to the secondary voltage domain.
Kandar teaches coupled to a primary voltage domain and a secondary voltage domain, the primary voltage domain comprising a primary voltage source, the secondary voltage domain comprising a secondary voltage source different from the primary voltage source, and the electronic parking brake system comprising circuits configured to manage failover from the primary voltage domain to the secondary voltage domain (Kandar: Claim 21: “A method for providing a backup voltage for an electronic parking brake (EPB) of a commercial vehicle for ensuring a safe state even during electric power failure of a power supply unit of the EPB, the method comprising: detecting, by a detection unit, the power failure; storing, by a storage device, sufficient electric power to perform a switch into the safe state; charging, by a boost circuit, the storage device during standstill of the vehicle and discharging the storage device during motion of the vehicle; and supplying, by a switch device, the electric power of the storage device to the EPB when the power failure is detected by the detection unit.”; Paragraph 0015: “The backup switch may be configured to open and/or to close a current path from the storage device to the at least one solenoid valve. Thus, it may serve as a backup for the high side switch of the EPB. The control circuit may be configured to control the backup switch and thus the power supply from the storage device to the at least one solenoid valve in case the power failure is detected.”,
Supplemental Note: the storage device is interpreted as a secondary voltage domain as it allows the EPB to use it as a backup voltage supplier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Kandar with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches wherein: the vehicle further comprises:
(Wang: Paragraph 0060: “As shown in FIG. 3, vehicle 100 further includes drive motor 156 from FIG. 2, which may be configured to provide propulsion to the wheel/tire assemblies associated with brakes 112A and 112B. Drive motor 156 may further provide regenerative braking for vehicle 100.”)
one or more drive motor controllers configured to control supply of current to the one or more drive motors; and (Wang: Paragraph 0074: “Various components of vehicle 100 described in FIG. 3 may be coupled via 12V power circuit 168, sensor circuit 142, master cylinder hydraulic pressure line 172, non-master cylinder hydraulic pressure line 174, CAN 136, private CAN 138, and power connection 170, as shown in FIG. 3. 12V power circuit 168 and power connection 170 may provide electrical power to various components described herein. 12V power circuit 168 may be for operation of various accessories and for powering ECUs, while power connection 170 may be high voltage or amperage power for systems that require a large amount of electrical power, such as drive motor 156.”; Paragraph 0076: “Drive unit 156 may provide propulsion drive for the vehicle and motor control 170 may accordingly control the operation of drive unit 156. Drive torque 406 may be provided to the vehicle.”,
Supplemental Note: the motor controls the drive unit to propel the vehicle powered by the power connection)
the driving braking system comprises a friction braking system (Wang: Paragraph 0049: “In various embodiments, brakes 108A and 108B may be friction brakes on a forward axle of vehicle 100 (e.g., an axle forward of the midpoint of vehicle 100 such as that of front wheel/tire assembly 106) and brakes 112A and 112B may be friction brakes on a rearward axle of vehicle 100 (e.g., an axle behind the midpoint of vehicle 100 such as that of rear wheel/tire assembly 110).”)
and the one or more drive motors for performing regenerative braking (Wang: Paragraph 0060: “As shown in FIG. 3, vehicle 100 further includes drive motor 156 from FIG. 2, which may be configured to provide propulsion to the wheel/tire assemblies associated with brakes 112A and 112B. Drive motor 156 may further provide regenerative braking for vehicle 100”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20250018801 A1) in view of Kandar et al. (US 20230415722 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Norberg et al. (US 20220089030 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Wang, as modified, teaches wherein the primary voltage source comprises a primary battery having an output voltage of 48 Volts or less, and (Wang: Paragraph 0110: “operate the electric parking brake (EPB) in 824 to provide rear braking to compensate for the EBRM failure. For example, the EBFM may be electrically coupled to the rear brakes or the EPB of the rear brakes via a 12V electrical circuit (as shown in FIG. 3). The 12V electrical circuit may allow for operation of the EPB. For example, 12V electrical power may cause an electric motor of the EPB to rotate and, thus, engage or disengage the EPB. The EBFM may thus communicate power to engage or disengage the EPB to provide rear braking as needed.”).
In sum, Wang teaches wherein the primary voltage source comprises a primary battery having an output voltage of 48 Volts or less. Wang however does not teach the secondary voltage source comprises a DC/DC converter coupled to the battery.
Norberg teaches the secondary voltage source comprises a DC/DC converter coupled to the battery (Norberg: Paragraph 0008: “Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a redundant power supply for providing low-voltage power from a high-voltage battery system. The high-voltage battery system described herein includes multiple strings that combine to form a high-voltage output when arranged in series. The systems described herein further include a DC/DC converter having at least two inputs. These inputs can each be coupled to a corresponding one of the high voltage battery strings, and the transformer produces a single low voltage output. For example, an 800 V battery can include two 400V strings, each string separately coupled to its own input to a DC/DC transformer (referred to herein as a “converter” interchangeably”) that has a single 12 V output. Accordingly, the DC/DC converter can selectively provide a consistent 12V power output, when connected to any one of the separate 400 V strings of the 800 V battery module.”,
Supplemental Note: the DC/DC converter is able to adjust the power supply to provide to the battery modules).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Wang with the teachings of Norberg with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 5 as both state the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section Specification Objection of the REMARKS, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the specification objection has been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see section Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) of the REMARKS, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claim 7 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection of claim 7 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see section Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(d) of the REMARKS, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(d) rejection of claims 5, 6 and 7 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(d) rejection of claims 5, 6 and 7 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see section Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 102 of the REMARKS, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) prior art rejection of claims 14, 15 and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant stated how the prior art of Wang does not teach the amended claim limitations. Examiner agrees therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kandar (US 20230415722 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see section Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the REMARKS, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejection of claims 1 – 13 and 18 – 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant stated how the previously used prior art does not teach the amended claim limitations. Examiner agrees therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kandar (US 20230415722 A1) and Sasu (US 20260021720 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665