DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 18/911,138 filed on 03/16/2026.
Claims 1, 3 – 11 and 13 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 2 and 12 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended.
This action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hertzdog et al. (EP 3850932 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hertzdog teaches a mobile machine comprising: a chassis; a motive system; (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0026: “The agricultural work vehicle (or tractor) may include one or more control devices”: Paragraph 0038: “Turning to Figure 2, a typical operation of an agricultural machinery comprising an agricultural vehicle 7 and a plough implement 10 is described. In use, the plough implement 10 is drawn as an attachment (implement) behind the agricultural towing vehicle 7 (e.g. an agricultural vehicle). It will be appreciated that it is equivalently feasible to locate the plough implement 10 in front of or both in front of and behind the agricultural vehicle 7.”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Figure A, the tractor has wheels and a chassis)
Figure A: Hertzdog; Figure 2
one or more ground engaging elements for supporting the chassis on a ground surface and moving the mobile machine along the ground surface, at least one of the ground engaging elements being driven by the motive system to move the mobile machine along the ground surface; and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0039: “Figure 2 shows a schematic field 1, e.g. a crop field, which is divided into a main work area 3 and headlands 5,6. An agricultural vehicle 7 draws the plough implement 10 across the work area 3 in generally parallel working rows. The working rows are part of the trajectory 8 of the agricultural vehicle 7 and typically run in parallel with a long edge of the work area 1.”)
a controller configured to: determine a slope of the ground surface (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0062: “Another embodiment of the control-data may comprise field-data indicative of field conditions of the field across which the agricultural plough is being moved. Examples of field-data comprise the dimensions of the headland, ground contours, a soil status of the headland and/or obstacles within the field. Sloped headlands, for example, may require different headland turning routines compared to flat headlands.”)
on which the mobile machine will execute a turn; (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0063: “In one example, a control unit may consider control-data such as the size, slope, and soil status of the headland together with the plough speed to determine the most appropriate headland turning routine.”)
determine a location of a next working path; plan a turn maneuver according to the slope of the ground surface on which the mobile machine will execute the turn maneuver such that the mobile machine does not move in reverse downward on a sloping ground surface (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0075: “The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 may be used to connect the end of the first working row 510 to the beginning of the adjacent, second working row 512 when space on the headland 504 is restricted. Furthermore, the control unit may determine to utilize the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the “y-turn” is used when the headland is sloped as to not reverse downward)
Figure B: Hertzdog; Figure 7
and according to the location of the next working path; and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0075: “In the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the end of the first working row 510 is connected to the beginning of the second working row 512 via the "Y-turn" path shown on the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 shown in Figure 7 comprises three sections. In a first section 518, the agricultural plough 508 is turned at 90 degrees away from the next working row 512, e.g. by automatically steering the work vehicle of the agricultural plough 508 at 90 degrees. In a second section 520, the agricultural plough 508 is then reversed in the direction of, and in this example beyond, the second working row 512. In a last, third section 522 of the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the agricultural plough is then again turned at around 90 degrees, e.g. by means of automatically steering the agricultural work vehicle, so as to face the boundary 506 of the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 may be used to connect the end of the first working row 510 to the beginning of the adjacent, second working row 512 when space on the headland 504 is restricted. Furthermore, the control unit may determine to utilize the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine.”)
automatically control the mobile machine to execute at least a portion of the planned turn maneuver (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0066: “As mentioned above, in a last step S208, the control unit automatically executes the selected headland turning routine once the boundary-data indicates that the agricultural plough is crossing or about to cross the border between the work area 3 and the headland 5, 6.”: Paragraph 0075: “In a last, third section 522 of the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the agricultural plough is then again turned at around 90 degrees, e.g. by means of automatically steering the agricultural work vehicle, so as to face the boundary 506 of the headland 504.”).
Regarding claim 9, Hertzdog teaches the controller further configured to use pre-existing data to determine the slope of the ground surface (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0060: “Other examples of suitable control-data include trajectory-data indicative of past, current, or future trajectories of the agricultural plough within the work area. In one example, depending on the current trajectory of the agricultural plough, the control unit may decide that some headland turning routines are not appropriate. For example, a forward turning maneuver may be more appropriate for cases where the trajectory intersects the boundary at an oblique angle. In some embodiments, steps S204 and S206 may be completed before step 202.”; Paragraph 0063: “In detail, the method may consider one or more parameters of the control-data to determine the most appropriate headland turning routine. In one example, a control unit may consider control-data such as the size, slope, and soil status of the headland together with the plough speed to determine the most appropriate headland turning routine.”).
Regarding claim 11, Hertzdog teaches a method of controlling a mobile machine, the method comprising: (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0001: “The present disclosure relates to a computer implemented method for controlling an agricultural plough, particularly, but not exclusively, during headland maneuvers. Other aspects of the present disclosure relate to an agricultural plough.”)
determining, using a controller, a slope of a ground surface (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0062: “Another embodiment of the control-data may comprise field-data indicative of field conditions of the field across which the agricultural plough is being moved. Examples of field-data comprise the dimensions of the headland, ground contours, a soil status of the headland and/or obstacles within the field. Sloped headlands, for example, may require different headland turning routines compared to flat headlands.”)
on which the mobile machine will execute a turn; (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0063: “In one example, a control unit may consider control-data such as the size, slope, and soil status of the headland together with the plough speed to determine the most appropriate headland turning routine.”)
determining, using the controller, a location of a next working path;
planning, using the controller, a turn maneuver according to the slope of the ground surface on which the mobile machine will execute the turn maneuver such that the mobile machine does not move in reverse downward on a sloping ground surface (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0075: “The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 may be used to connect the end of the first working row 510 to the beginning of the adjacent, second working row 512 when space on the headland 504 is restricted. Furthermore, the control unit may determine to utilize the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the “y-turn” is used when the headland is sloped as to not reverse downward)
and according to the location of the next working path; and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0075: “In the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the end of the first working row 510 is connected to the beginning of the second working row 512 via the "Y-turn" path shown on the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 shown in Figure 7 comprises three sections. In a first section 518, the agricultural plough 508 is turned at 90 degrees away from the next working row 512, e.g. by automatically steering the work vehicle of the agricultural plough 508 at 90 degrees. In a second section 520, the agricultural plough 508 is then reversed in the direction of, and in this example beyond, the second working row 512. In a last, third section 522 of the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the agricultural plough is then again turned at around 90 degrees, e.g. by means of automatically steering the agricultural work vehicle, so as to face the boundary 506 of the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 may be used to connect the end of the first working row 510 to the beginning of the adjacent, second working row 512 when space on the headland 504 is restricted. Furthermore, the control unit may determine to utilize the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine.”)
automatically controlling the mobile machine, using the controller, to execute at least a portion of the planned turn maneuver (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0066: “As mentioned above, in a last step S208, the control unit automatically executes the selected headland turning routine once the boundary-data indicates that the agricultural plough is crossing or about to cross the border between the work area 3 and the headland 5, 6.”: Paragraph 0075: “In a last, third section 522 of the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the agricultural plough is then again turned at around 90 degrees, e.g. by means of automatically steering the agricultural work vehicle, so as to face the boundary 506 of the headland 504.”).
Regarding claim 15, Hertzdog teaches further comprising determining, using the controller, the slope of the ground surface using pre-existing data (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0060: “Other examples of suitable control-data include trajectory-data indicative of past, current, or future trajectories of the agricultural plough within the work area. In one example, depending on the current trajectory of the agricultural plough, the control unit may decide that some headland turning routines are not appropriate. For example, a forward turning maneuver may be more appropriate for cases where the trajectory intersects the boundary at an oblique angle. In some embodiments, steps S204 and S206 may be completed before step 202.”; Paragraph 0063: “In detail, the method may consider one or more parameters of the control-data to determine the most appropriate headland turning routine. In one example, a control unit may consider control-data such as the size, slope, and soil status of the headland together with the plough speed to determine the most appropriate headland turning routine.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzdog et al. (EP 3850932 A1) as applied to independent claims 1 above, and further in view of Dang et al. (US 20170144702 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hertzdog does not teach the controller further configured to plan the turn maneuver such that the turn maneuver includes a first downhill forward path segment, a second uphill reverse path segment, and a third downhill forward path segment.
Dang teaches the controller further configured to plan the turn maneuver such that the turn maneuver includes a first downhill forward path segment, a second uphill reverse path segment, and a third downhill forward path segment (Dang: Paragraph 0038: “For example, AB lines 108 may end on a left sloping hill promoting a first left curve segment, a second reverse curve segment, and a third left curve segment. In another example, based on the maximum steering curvature and vehicle maximum steering curvature rate, guidance system 114 may select one of K-turns 130A-130E using the least amount of overall headland area 106, smallest width, and/or smallest height.”,
Supplemental Note: slopping is known to one with knowledge in the art to be an incline or decline from a current plane. Thus the cited vehicle is interpreted to first turn left downhill the slope, then reversing uphill and finally traveling forward while turning left again to get on the new path. This is shown below in Figure C).
Figure C: Dang; Figure 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Dang with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Hertzdog and Dang teach methods of turning a farming vehicle on the headland of an agricultural field. Dang further teaches the ability of making a K turn which turns towards the slopped headland, reverses and then turns left again while traveling forward to the adjacent working row. One with knowledge in the art would find this ability as a simple substitution with Hertzdog. Hertzdog already teaches the ability of its tractor to make a K turn on its headland (Hertzdog: Figure D).
Figure D: Hertzdog; Figure 8
Both Hertzdog and Dang utilize this turn to reduce the amount of space the farming vehicle is to take to make a turn into the adjacent working row, therefore a simple substitution of making the same type of K turn on a headland.
Regarding claim 4, Hertzdog, as modified, teaches the first path segment being a curved path segment from an end of a first working path to a first end of the second path segment, the second path segment being substantially straight, and the third path segment being a curved path segment from a second end of the second path segment to an end of a second working path (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0075: “The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 may be used to connect the end of the first working row 510 to the beginning of the adjacent, second working row 512 when space on the headland 504 is restricted. Furthermore, the control unit may determine to utilize the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the “y-turn” teaches the various claimed paths).
Claims 13 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzdog et al. (EP 3850932 A1) as applied to independent claim 11 above, and further in view of Dang et al. (US 20170144702 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Hertzdog does not teach further comprising planning, using the controller, the turn maneuver such that the turn maneuver includes a first downhill forward path segment, a second uphill reverse path segment, and a third downhill forward path segment.
Dang teaches further comprising planning, using the controller, the turn maneuver such that the turn maneuver includes a first downhill forward path segment, a second uphill reverse path segment, and a third downhill forward path segment (Dang: Paragraph 0038: “For example, AB lines 108 may end on a left sloping hill promoting a first left curve segment, a second reverse curve segment, and a third left curve segment. In another example, based on the maximum steering curvature and vehicle maximum steering curvature rate, guidance system 114 may select one of K-turns 130A-130E using the least amount of overall headland area 106, smallest width, and/or smallest height.”,
Supplemental Note: slopping is known to one with knowledge in the art to be an incline or decline from a current plane. Thus the cited vehicle is interpreted to first turn left downhill the slope, then reversing uphill and finally traveling forward while turning left again to get on the new path. This is shown in Figure C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Dang with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 3 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 14, Hertzdog, as modified, teaches the first path segment being a curved path segment from an end of a first working path to a first end of the second path segment, the second path segment being substantially straight, and the third path segment being a curved path segment from a second end of the second path segment to an end of a second working path (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0075: “The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 may be used to connect the end of the first working row 510 to the beginning of the adjacent, second working row 512 when space on the headland 504 is restricted. Furthermore, the control unit may determine to utilize the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the “y-turn” teaches the various claimed paths).
Claims 5 – 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzdog et al. (EP 3850932 A1) as applied to independent claim 1 above, and further in view of Damme et al. (US 20190261550 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hertzdog teaches the controller further configured to plan a K turn if the next working path is to the right and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0077: “In the example of Figure 8, the agricultural plough 608 comprises a work vehicle and a plough implement attached to the back of the work vehicle. In order to connect the end of the first working row 610 to the beginning of the second working row 612, a "K-turn" headland turning routine 616 is followed. The "K-turn" headland routine 616 comprises three sections 618, 620, 622. In a first section 618, the agricultural plough 608 is turned by around 90 degrees towards the second working row 612. In a second section 620 of the "K-turn" headland turning routine 616, the agricultural plough 608 is reversed towards the first working row 610. Finally, in a third section 622, the agricultural plough 608 is again turned by 90 degrees towards the headland boundary 606 to connect to the beginning of the second working row 612. The first and third sections 618, 622 cross during the "K-turn" headland turning routine.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure D, a K turn can be performed to get from one working path to another. The working path can be on either on the left or right of the current path as the same K-turn can be used to get from path 612 to 614).
In sum, Hertzdog teaches the controller further configured to plan a K turn if the next working path is to the right. Hertzdog however does not teach the ground surface is sloped downward toward the right.
Damme teaches the ground surface is sloped downward toward the right (Damme: Paragraph 0003: “The recited methods facilitate to travel over a predetermined agricultural surface, e.g. a field in an optimized manner. Thus the drive track is tracked in real time by a navigation system. Additional sensors that are arranged e.g. at the vehicle or in a portion of the agricultural machine that is pulled or otherwise moved by the vehicle record local properties of the drive track, e.g. slopes or so called pitch angles of the vehicle. This prevents that the vehicle tilts at a dangerous angle, that the tools of the agricultural machine dig into the ground or that the processing of the soil, dispensing of seeds, herbicides or fertilizer is done in an unsatisfactory manner due to the orientation of the ground. Thus it becomes possible to counter steer the vehicle when or shortly before a situation occurs that is critical or disadvantageous with respect to ground processing.”: Paragraph 0020: “During an optimized imaging of the vehicle and machine model onto the 3 dimensional terrain model a first optimization algorithm is executed in one embodiment wherein an optimum drive track is computed in view of the current predictable ground properties of the terrain and while avoiding sliding positions, slope positions or tilted positions that are dangerous for the vehicle and machine model, wherein the an optimized operating condition of the agricultural machine that is adapted to the drive track is computed in a second optimization algorithm and the data of the optimum drive track and the data of the optimized operating condition is transferred into the drive track data and the machine control data.”,
Supplemental Note: the ground slope is able to be determined by the sensors of the farming vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Damme with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Hertzdog and Damme teaches methods of controlling a farming vehicle as it travels on an agricultural surface. Damme further teaches evaluating the slopes of the ground surface as to prevent the vehicle from tilting at a dangerous angle. Damme teaches the control of the vehicle to be in real time as the sensors are checking the vehicle situation for any possible changes enroute. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this with the teaching of Hertzdog to further improve the safety of the farming vehicle as it travels along a sloped headland. For example, the turning movement of the farming vehicle as taught by Hertzdog will be able to determine the ground slope and update the turning maneuver as to not tip over. This increases the functionality of the farming vehicle as it is now able to sense the environment, such as analyzing the slopes to mitigate any tipping over turning movements.
Regarding claim 6, Hertzdog, as modified, teaches the controller further configured to plan a K turn if the next working path is to the left and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0077: “In the example of Figure 8, the agricultural plough 608 comprises a work vehicle and a plough implement attached to the back of the work vehicle. In order to connect the end of the first working row 610 to the beginning of the second working row 612, a "K-turn" headland turning routine 616 is followed. The "K-turn" headland routine 616 comprises three sections 618, 620, 622. In a first section 618, the agricultural plough 608 is turned by around 90 degrees towards the second working row 612. In a second section 620 of the "K-turn" headland turning routine 616, the agricultural plough 608 is reversed towards the first working row 610. Finally, in a third section 622, the agricultural plough 608 is again turned by 90 degrees towards the headland boundary 606 to connect to the beginning of the second working row 612. The first and third sections 618, 622 cross during the "K-turn" headland turning routine.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure D, a K turn can be performed to get from one working path to another. The working path can be on either on the left or right of the current path as the same K-turn can be used to get from path 612 to 614).
In sum, Hertzdog teaches the controller further configured to plan a K turn if the next working path is to the left. Hertzdog however does not teach the ground surface is sloped downward toward the left.
Damme teaches the ground surface is sloped downward toward the left (Damme: Paragraph 0003: “The recited methods facilitate to travel over a predetermined agricultural surface, e.g. a field in an optimized manner. Thus the drive track is tracked in real time by a navigation system. Additional sensors that are arranged e.g. at the vehicle or in a portion of the agricultural machine that is pulled or otherwise moved by the vehicle record local properties of the drive track, e.g. slopes or so called pitch angles of the vehicle. This prevents that the vehicle tilts at a dangerous angle, that the tools of the agricultural machine dig into the ground or that the processing of the soil, dispensing of seeds, herbicides or fertilizer is done in an unsatisfactory manner due to the orientation of the ground. Thus it becomes possible to counter steer the vehicle when or shortly before a situation occurs that is critical or disadvantageous with respect to ground processing.”: Paragraph 0020: “During an optimized imaging of the vehicle and machine model onto the 3 dimensional terrain model a first optimization algorithm is executed in one embodiment wherein an optimum drive track is computed in view of the current predictable ground properties of the terrain and while avoiding sliding positions, slope positions or tilted positions that are dangerous for the vehicle and machine model, wherein the an optimized operating condition of the agricultural machine that is adapted to the drive track is computed in a second optimization algorithm and the data of the optimum drive track and the data of the optimized operating condition is transferred into the drive track data and the machine control data.”,
Supplemental Note: the ground slope is able to be determined by the sensors of the farming vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Damme with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 5 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 7, Hertzdog, as modified, teaches the controller further configured to plan a Y turn if the next working path is to the left and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0075: “In the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the end of the first working row 510 is connected to the beginning of the second working row 512 via the "Y-turn" path shown on the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 shown in Figure 7 comprises three sections. In a first section 518, the agricultural plough 508 is turned at 90 degrees away from the next working row 512, e.g. by automatically steering the work vehicle of the agricultural plough 508 at 90 degrees. In a second section 520, the agricultural plough 508 is then reversed in the direction of, and in this example beyond, the second working row 512. In a last, third section 522 of the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the agricultural plough is then again turned at around 90 degrees, e.g. by means of automatically steering the agricultural work vehicle, so as to face the boundary 506 of the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 may be used to connect the end of the first working row 510 to the beginning of the adjacent, second working row 512 when space on the headland 504 is restricted. Furthermore, the control unit may determine to utilize the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine”: Paragraph 0076: “A control unit may compare one or more values of the field-contour-data, e.g. the values of the field-contour-data that are indicative of a gradient on a section of the headland that will be used for the next turning routine, with a headland-gradient-threshold. If one or more values of the field-contour-data exceed the headland-gradient-threshold, the control unit may determine that a "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 is required.”,
Supplemental Note: the type of turning from one working row to another is analyzed to determine the best type of turn to make. This is interpreted as determining a “y-turn” based on the headland parameters, no matter if the working row is to the left or right).
In sum, Hertzdog teaches the controller further configured to plan a Y turn if the next working path is to the left. Hertzdog however does not teach the ground surface is sloped downward toward the right.
Damme teaches the ground surface is sloped downward toward the right (Damme: Paragraph 0003: “The recited methods facilitate to travel over a predetermined agricultural surface, e.g. a field in an optimized manner. Thus the drive track is tracked in real time by a navigation system. Additional sensors that are arranged e.g. at the vehicle or in a portion of the agricultural machine that is pulled or otherwise moved by the vehicle record local properties of the drive track, e.g. slopes or so called pitch angles of the vehicle. This prevents that the vehicle tilts at a dangerous angle, that the tools of the agricultural machine dig into the ground or that the processing of the soil, dispensing of seeds, herbicides or fertilizer is done in an unsatisfactory manner due to the orientation of the ground. Thus it becomes possible to counter steer the vehicle when or shortly before a situation occurs that is critical or disadvantageous with respect to ground processing.”: Paragraph 0020: “During an optimized imaging of the vehicle and machine model onto the 3 dimensional terrain model a first optimization algorithm is executed in one embodiment wherein an optimum drive track is computed in view of the current predictable ground properties of the terrain and while avoiding sliding positions, slope positions or tilted positions that are dangerous for the vehicle and machine model, wherein the an optimized operating condition of the agricultural machine that is adapted to the drive track is computed in a second optimization algorithm and the data of the optimum drive track and the data of the optimized operating condition is transferred into the drive track data and the machine control data.”,
Supplemental Note: the ground slope is able to be determined by the sensors of the farming vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Damme with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 5 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 8, Hertzdog, as modified, teaches the controller further configured to plan a Y turn if the next working path is to the right and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0075: “In the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the end of the first working row 510 is connected to the beginning of the second working row 512 via the "Y-turn" path shown on the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 shown in Figure 7 comprises three sections. In a first section 518, the agricultural plough 508 is turned at 90 degrees away from the next working row 512, e.g. by automatically steering the work vehicle of the agricultural plough 508 at 90 degrees. In a second section 520, the agricultural plough 508 is then reversed in the direction of, and in this example beyond, the second working row 512. In a last, third section 522 of the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the agricultural plough is then again turned at around 90 degrees, e.g. by means of automatically steering the agricultural work vehicle, so as to face the boundary 506 of the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 may be used to connect the end of the first working row 510 to the beginning of the adjacent, second working row 512 when space on the headland 504 is restricted. Furthermore, the control unit may determine to utilize the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine”: Paragraph 0076: “A control unit may compare one or more values of the field-contour-data, e.g. the values of the field-contour-data that are indicative of a gradient on a section of the headland that will be used for the next turning routine, with a headland-gradient-threshold. If one or more values of the field-contour-data exceed the headland-gradient-threshold, the control unit may determine that a "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 is required.”,
Supplemental Note: the type of turning from one working row to another is analyzed to determine the best type of turn to make. This is interpreted as determining a “y-turn” based on the headland parameters, no matter if the working row is to the left or right).
In sum, Hertzdog teaches the controller further configured to plan a Y turn if the next working path is to the right. Hertzdog however does not teach the ground surface is sloped downward toward the left.
Damme teaches the ground surface is sloped downward toward the left (Damme: Paragraph 0003: “The recited methods facilitate to travel over a predetermined agricultural surface, e.g. a field in an optimized manner. Thus the drive track is tracked in real time by a navigation system. Additional sensors that are arranged e.g. at the vehicle or in a portion of the agricultural machine that is pulled or otherwise moved by the vehicle record local properties of the drive track, e.g. slopes or so called pitch angles of the vehicle. This prevents that the vehicle tilts at a dangerous angle, that the tools of the agricultural machine dig into the ground or that the processing of the soil, dispensing of seeds, herbicides or fertilizer is done in an unsatisfactory manner due to the orientation of the ground. Thus it becomes possible to counter steer the vehicle when or shortly before a situation occurs that is critical or disadvantageous with respect to ground processing.”: Paragraph 0020: “During an optimized imaging of the vehicle and machine model onto the 3 dimensional terrain model a first optimization algorithm is executed in one embodiment wherein an optimum drive track is computed in view of the current predictable ground properties of the terrain and while avoiding sliding positions, slope positions or tilted positions that are dangerous for the vehicle and machine model, wherein the an optimized operating condition of the agricultural machine that is adapted to the drive track is computed in a second optimization algorithm and the data of the optimum drive track and the data of the optimized operating condition is transferred into the drive track data and the machine control data.”,
Supplemental Note: the ground slope is able to be determined by the sensors of the farming vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Damme with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 5 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 10, Hertzdog, as modified, does not teach the controller further configured to determine the slope of the ground surface by detecting and recording elevation and/or tilt of the mobile machine as it travels along the ground surface.
Damme teaches the controller further configured to determine the slope of the ground surface by detecting and recording elevation and/or tilt of the mobile machine as it travels along the ground surface (Damme: Paragraph 0003: “ The recited methods facilitate to travel over a predetermined agricultural surface, e.g. a field in an optimized manner. Thus the drive track is tracked in real time by a navigation system. Additional sensors that are arranged e.g. at the vehicle or in a portion of the agricultural machine that is pulled or otherwise moved by the vehicle record local properties of the drive track, e.g. slopes or so called pitch angles of the vehicle. This prevents that the vehicle tilts at a dangerous angle, that the tools of the agricultural machine dig into the ground or that the processing of the soil, dispensing of seeds, herbicides or fertilizer is done in an unsatisfactory manner due to the orientation of the ground. Thus it becomes possible to counter steer the vehicle when or shortly before a situation occurs that is critical or disadvantageous with respect to ground processing.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Damme with a reasonable expectation of success. As discussed in claim 5, both Hertzdog and Damme teaches methods of controlling a farming vehicle as it travels on an agricultural surface. Damme further teaches evaluating the slopes of the ground surface as to prevent the vehicle from tilting at a dangerous angle. Damme teaches the control of the vehicle to also be in real time as the sensors are checking the vehicle situation for any possible changes to the route. One with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to implement this with the teaching of Hertzdog to further improve the safety of the farming vehicle as it travels along a sloped headland. For example, constantly sensing the ground slope can update the turning maneuver so the farming vehicle is not prone to tilting over. This increases the functionality of the farming vehicle as it is now able to sense the environment as it will be able to analyze the slopes to mitigate any tipping over turning movements.
Claims 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzdog et al. (EP 3850932 A1) as applied to independent claim 11 above, and further in view of Damme et al. (US 20190261550 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Hertzdog does not teaches further comprising determining, using the controller, the slope of the ground surface by detecting and recording elevation and/or tilt of the mobile machine as it travels along the ground surface.
Damme teaches further comprising determining, using the controller, the slope of the ground surface by detecting and recording elevation and/or tilt of the mobile machine as it travels along the ground surface (Damme: Paragraph 0003: “ The recited methods facilitate to travel over a predetermined agricultural surface, e.g. a field in an optimized manner. Thus the drive track is tracked in real time by a navigation system. Additional sensors that are arranged e.g. at the vehicle or in a portion of the agricultural machine that is pulled or otherwise moved by the vehicle record local properties of the drive track, e.g. slopes or so called pitch angles of the vehicle. This prevents that the vehicle tilts at a dangerous angle, that the tools of the agricultural machine dig into the ground or that the processing of the soil, dispensing of seeds, herbicides or fertilizer is done in an unsatisfactory manner due to the orientation of the ground. Thus it becomes possible to counter steer the vehicle when or shortly before a situation occurs that is critical or disadvantageous with respect to ground processing.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Damme with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 10 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 17, Hertzdog teaches further comprising planning, using the controller, a K turn if the next working path is to the right and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0077: “In the example of Figure 8, the agricultural plough 608 comprises a work vehicle and a plough implement attached to the back of the work vehicle. In order to connect the end of the first working row 610 to the beginning of the second working row 612, a "K-turn" headland turning routine 616 is followed. The "K-turn" headland routine 616 comprises three sections 618, 620, 622. In a first section 618, the agricultural plough 608 is turned by around 90 degrees towards the second working row 612. In a second section 620 of the "K-turn" headland turning routine 616, the agricultural plough 608 is reversed towards the first working row 610. Finally, in a third section 622, the agricultural plough 608 is again turned by 90 degrees towards the headland boundary 606 to connect to the beginning of the second working row 612. The first and third sections 618, 622 cross during the "K-turn" headland turning routine.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure D, a K turn can be performed to get from one working path to another. The working path can be on either on the left or right of the current path as the same K-turn can be used to get from path 612 to 614)
In sum, Hertzdog teaches further comprising planning, using the controller, a K turn if the next working path is to the right. Hertzdog however does not teach the ground surface is sloped downward toward the right.
Damme teaches the ground surface is sloped downward toward the right (Damme: Paragraph 0003: “The recited methods facilitate to travel over a predetermined agricultural surface, e.g. a field in an optimized manner. Thus the drive track is tracked in real time by a navigation system. Additional sensors that are arranged e.g. at the vehicle or in a portion of the agricultural machine that is pulled or otherwise moved by the vehicle record local properties of the drive track, e.g. slopes or so called pitch angles of the vehicle. This prevents that the vehicle tilts at a dangerous angle, that the tools of the agricultural machine dig into the ground or that the processing of the soil, dispensing of seeds, herbicides or fertilizer is done in an unsatisfactory manner due to the orientation of the ground. Thus it becomes possible to counter steer the vehicle when or shortly before a situation occurs that is critical or disadvantageous with respect to ground processing.”: Paragraph 0020: “During an optimized imaging of the vehicle and machine model onto the 3 dimensional terrain model a first optimization algorithm is executed in one embodiment wherein an optimum drive track is computed in view of the current predictable ground properties of the terrain and while avoiding sliding positions, slope positions or tilted positions that are dangerous for the vehicle and machine model, wherein the an optimized operating condition of the agricultural machine that is adapted to the drive track is computed in a second optimization algorithm and the data of the optimum drive track and the data of the optimized operating condition is transferred into the drive track data and the machine control data.”,
Supplemental Note: the ground slope is able to be determined by the sensors of the farming vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Damme with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 5 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 18, Hertzdog teaches further comprising planning, using the controller, a K turn if the next working path is to the left and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0077: “In the example of Figure 8, the agricultural plough 608 comprises a work vehicle and a plough implement attached to the back of the work vehicle. In order to connect the end of the first working row 610 to the beginning of the second working row 612, a "K-turn" headland turning routine 616 is followed. The "K-turn" headland routine 616 comprises three sections 618, 620, 622. In a first section 618, the agricultural plough 608 is turned by around 90 degrees towards the second working row 612. In a second section 620 of the "K-turn" headland turning routine 616, the agricultural plough 608 is reversed towards the first working row 610. Finally, in a third section 622, the agricultural plough 608 is again turned by 90 degrees towards the headland boundary 606 to connect to the beginning of the second working row 612. The first and third sections 618, 622 cross during the "K-turn" headland turning routine.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure D, a K turn can be performed to get from one working path to another. The working path can be on either on the left or right of the current path as the same K-turn can be used to get from path 612 to 614).
In sum, Hertzdog teaches further comprising planning, using the controller, a K turn if the next working path is to the left. Hertzdog however does not teach the ground surface is sloped downward toward the left.
Damme teaches the ground surface is sloped downward toward the left (Damme: Paragraph 0003: “The recited methods facilitate to travel over a predetermined agricultural surface, e.g. a field in an optimized manner. Thus the drive track is tracked in real time by a navigation system. Additional sensors that are arranged e.g. at the vehicle or in a portion of the agricultural machine that is pulled or otherwise moved by the vehicle record local properties of the drive track, e.g. slopes or so called pitch angles of the vehicle. This prevents that the vehicle tilts at a dangerous angle, that the tools of the agricultural machine dig into the ground or that the processing of the soil, dispensing of seeds, herbicides or fertilizer is done in an unsatisfactory manner due to the orientation of the ground. Thus it becomes possible to counter steer the vehicle when or shortly before a situation occurs that is critical or disadvantageous with respect to ground processing.”: Paragraph 0020: “During an optimized imaging of the vehicle and machine model onto the 3 dimensional terrain model a first optimization algorithm is executed in one embodiment wherein an optimum drive track is computed in view of the current predictable ground properties of the terrain and while avoiding sliding positions, slope positions or tilted positions that are dangerous for the vehicle and machine model, wherein the an optimized operating condition of the agricultural machine that is adapted to the drive track is computed in a second optimization algorithm and the data of the optimum drive track and the data of the optimized operating condition is transferred into the drive track data and the machine control data.”,
Supplemental Note: the ground slope is able to be determined by the sensors of the farming vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Damme with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 5 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 19, Hertzdog teaches further comprising planning, using the controller, a Y turn if the next working path is to the left and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0075: “In the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the end of the first working row 510 is connected to the beginning of the second working row 512 via the "Y-turn" path shown on the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 shown in Figure 7 comprises three sections. In a first section 518, the agricultural plough 508 is turned at 90 degrees away from the next working row 512, e.g. by automatically steering the work vehicle of the agricultural plough 508 at 90 degrees. In a second section 520, the agricultural plough 508 is then reversed in the direction of, and in this example beyond, the second working row 512. In a last, third section 522 of the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the agricultural plough is then again turned at around 90 degrees, e.g. by means of automatically steering the agricultural work vehicle, so as to face the boundary 506 of the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 may be used to connect the end of the first working row 510 to the beginning of the adjacent, second working row 512 when space on the headland 504 is restricted. Furthermore, the control unit may determine to utilize the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine”: Paragraph 0076: “A control unit may compare one or more values of the field-contour-data, e.g. the values of the field-contour-data that are indicative of a gradient on a section of the headland that will be used for the next turning routine, with a headland-gradient-threshold. If one or more values of the field-contour-data exceed the headland-gradient-threshold, the control unit may determine that a "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 is required.”,
Supplemental Note: the type of turning from one working row to another is analyzed to determine the best type of turn to make. This is interpreted as determining a “y-turn” based on the headland parameters, no matter if the working row is to the left or right).
In sum, Hertzdog teaches further comprising planning, using the controller, a Y turn if the next working path is to the left. Hertzdog however does not teach the ground surface is sloped downward toward the right.
Damme teaches the ground surface is sloped downward toward the right (Damme: Paragraph 0003: “The recited methods facilitate to travel over a predetermined agricultural surface, e.g. a field in an optimized manner. Thus the drive track is tracked in real time by a navigation system. Additional sensors that are arranged e.g. at the vehicle or in a portion of the agricultural machine that is pulled or otherwise moved by the vehicle record local properties of the drive track, e.g. slopes or so called pitch angles of the vehicle. This prevents that the vehicle tilts at a dangerous angle, that the tools of the agricultural machine dig into the ground or that the processing of the soil, dispensing of seeds, herbicides or fertilizer is done in an unsatisfactory manner due to the orientation of the ground. Thus it becomes possible to counter steer the vehicle when or shortly before a situation occurs that is critical or disadvantageous with respect to ground processing.”: Paragraph 0020: “During an optimized imaging of the vehicle and machine model onto the 3 dimensional terrain model a first optimization algorithm is executed in one embodiment wherein an optimum drive track is computed in view of the current predictable ground properties of the terrain and while avoiding sliding positions, slope positions or tilted positions that are dangerous for the vehicle and machine model, wherein the an optimized operating condition of the agricultural machine that is adapted to the drive track is computed in a second optimization algorithm and the data of the optimum drive track and the data of the optimized operating condition is transferred into the drive track data and the machine control data.”,
Supplemental Note: the ground slope is able to be determined by the sensors of the farming vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Damme with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 5 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 20, Hertzdog, as modified, teaches further comprising planning, using the controller, a Y turn if the next working path is to the right and (Hertzdog: Paragraph 0075: “In the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the end of the first working row 510 is connected to the beginning of the second working row 512 via the "Y-turn" path shown on the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 shown in Figure 7 comprises three sections. In a first section 518, the agricultural plough 508 is turned at 90 degrees away from the next working row 512, e.g. by automatically steering the work vehicle of the agricultural plough 508 at 90 degrees. In a second section 520, the agricultural plough 508 is then reversed in the direction of, and in this example beyond, the second working row 512. In a last, third section 522 of the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516, the agricultural plough is then again turned at around 90 degrees, e.g. by means of automatically steering the agricultural work vehicle, so as to face the boundary 506 of the headland 504. The "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 may be used to connect the end of the first working row 510 to the beginning of the adjacent, second working row 512 when space on the headland 504 is restricted. Furthermore, the control unit may determine to utilize the "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine”: Paragraph 0076: “A control unit may compare one or more values of the field-contour-data, e.g. the values of the field-contour-data that are indicative of a gradient on a section of the headland that will be used for the next turning routine, with a headland-gradient-threshold. If one or more values of the field-contour-data exceed the headland-gradient-threshold, the control unit may determine that a "Y-turn" headland turning routine 516 is required.”,
Supplemental Note: the type of turning from one working row to another is analyzed to determine the best type of turn to make. This is interpreted as determining a “y-turn” based on the headland parameters, no matter if the working row is to the left or right).
In sum, Hertzdog teaches further comprising planning, using the controller, a Y turn if the next working path is to the right. Hertzdog however does not teach the ground surface is sloped downward toward the left.
Damme teaches the ground surface is sloped downward toward the left (Damme: Paragraph 0003: “The recited methods facilitate to travel over a predetermined agricultural surface, e.g. a field in an optimized manner. Thus the drive track is tracked in real time by a navigation system. Additional sensors that are arranged e.g. at the vehicle or in a portion of the agricultural machine that is pulled or otherwise moved by the vehicle record local properties of the drive track, e.g. slopes or so called pitch angles of the vehicle. This prevents that the vehicle tilts at a dangerous angle, that the tools of the agricultural machine dig into the ground or that the processing of the soil, dispensing of seeds, herbicides or fertilizer is done in an unsatisfactory manner due to the orientation of the ground. Thus it becomes possible to counter steer the vehicle when or shortly before a situation occurs that is critical or disadvantageous with respect to ground processing.”: Paragraph 0020: “During an optimized imaging of the vehicle and machine model onto the 3 dimensional terrain model a first optimization algorithm is executed in one embodiment wherein an optimum drive track is computed in view of the current predictable ground properties of the terrain and while avoiding sliding positions, slope positions or tilted positions that are dangerous for the vehicle and machine model, wherein the an optimized operating condition of the agricultural machine that is adapted to the drive track is computed in a second optimization algorithm and the data of the optimum drive track and the data of the optimized operating condition is transferred into the drive track data and the machine control data.”,
Supplemental Note: the ground slope is able to be determined by the sensors of the farming vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Hertzdog with the teachings of Damme with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 5 as both claim the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section 35 U.S.C. 102 Anticipation Rejection of the REMARKS, filed 03/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 prior art rejection of claims 1 – 2, 9, 11 – 12 and 15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the prior art of Hertzdog regarding independent claims 1 and 11 do not teach the claim limitation: “plan a turn maneuver according to the slope of the ground surface on which the mobile machine will execute the turn maneuver such that the mobile machine does not move in reverse downward on a sloping ground surface”. Applicant states paragraph 0075 of Hertzdog stating “the control unit may determine to utilise the "Yturn" headland turning routine 516 especially if the control-data indicates that the headland 504 is sloped in order to increase the stability of the agricultural plough 508 during the headland turning routine.” does not suggest the machine to not move reverse on a downward sloping ground surface. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A sloping surface is interpreted as the headland being sloped downward or upward from the working row. Figure B is copied below for reference:
Figure E: Hertzdog; Figure 7
The slope can be the negative direction as well from the slope shown in Figure B and the vehicle would still not be traveling downhill in reverse (second section 520). The sloped headland in either direction still allows for section 520 to be on a flat surface as it is perpendicular to the ground slope. For example, the vehicle would travel forward on the sloped surface in sections 518 and 522, however once it turns 90 degrees to travel on section 520, the vehicle is no longer traveling along the slope. Therefore the 35 U.S.C. 102 prior art rejection for claims 1 and 11 and in-turn their dependent claims, still stand.
Applicant’s arguments, see section Other Rejections of the REMARKS, filed 03/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejection of claims 3 – 8, 10, 13, 14 and 16 – 20 have been fully considered but are moot. Applicant must discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665