Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 1, filed 8/24/2026, is acknowledged. However, in light of the prior art of record, the previous restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4 recite “said front face” in line 6, which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claim. It is unclear if this is referring to the “face” in line 6 that belongs to the “rotatable section”; if so, the limitation “a face” in line 6 should be “a front face” for clarity and consistency of the claim scope.
Other claim(s) listed in the rejection title is/are indefinite due to its/their dependency upon the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mang (US 20110147477).
Regarding claim 1, Mang discloses a showerhead (fig. 1) comprising:
a non-rotatable section (11, 18) including a backside (11), an intake (12 or 14) for receiving water, a faceplate (18), and an outlet (16) in said faceplate with said outlet fluidly connected to said intake so water can be received by said intake to flow to outlet (16); and
a rotatable section (26, 30, 28) rotatably connected to non-rotatable section (via bolt and 44; see figs. 1-2), said rotatable section including a backplate (26), a face (28), a first set (one of 24) of a plurality of nozzles (24) projecting from said front face, a first set (two opposing inlets 22) of at least two inlets in said backplate (see fig. 4), and a first conduit (34) that connects said at least two inlets (22) to said plurality of nozzles; and
wherein said backplate (26) engages said non-rotatable section's faceplate (18), and wherein said first set (22) of at least two inlets are positioned so that rotation of said rotatable section relative to said non-rotatable section causes said at least two inlets (22) of said first set of inlets to alternatively align with said non-rotatable section's outlet (16) so that said rotatable section's first conduit (one of 34) can receive water through either of said at least two inlets of said first set of inlets when said rotatable section is rotated to either of two different rotational alignments (via 38; par. 59) relative to said non-rotatable section (par. 41: “each of the fluid pathways 34 is designated to guide the fluid flow running from the fluid selection inlet 22 to the corresponding fluid dispensing portion 24 so as to selectively control a spray pattern from the respective fluid dispensing portion 24”; par. 42).
Regarding claim 2, Mang discloses the showerhead of claim 1 wherein said rotatable section's first set of at least two inlets includes three inlets (fig. 6 shows 6 inlets 22) connected to said first conduit (34), and rotation of said rotatable section (26, 28, 30) relative to said non-rotatable section (11, 18) causes said three inlets (22) of said first set of inlets to alternatively align with said non-rotatable section's outlet (16) so that said rotatable section's first conduit (34; fig. 5) can receive water through either of said three inlets of said first set of inlets when said rotatable section is rotated to any of three different rotational alignments (three different alignments result in water flow to three different fluid dispensing portions 24 shown in fig. 1) relative to said non-rotatable section (18).
Regarding claim 3, Mang discloses the showerhead of claim 1 wherein:
said rotatable section includes a second set (another set of 24) of a plurality of nozzles projecting from said front face (of 28), a second set of at least two inlets (another two inlets 22) in said backplate (18), and a second conduit (another passage of 34A, 34B, 34C shown in fig. 5) that connects said second set of least two inlets to said second set (24) of a plurality of nozzles; and
wherein said at least second set of two inlets are positioned so that rotation of said rotatable section relative to said non-rotatable section causes said at least two inlets of said second set of inlets to alternatively align with said non-rotatable section's outlet so that said rotatable section's second conduit can receive water through either of said at least two inlets of said second set of inlets when said rotatable section is rotated to either of two different rotational alignments (one of three different alignments resulted in water flow to three different fluid dispensing portions 24 shown in fig. 1) relative to said non-rotatable section (18).
Regarding claim 4, Mang discloses a showerhead (fig. 1) comprising:
a non-rotatable section (11, 18) including a backside (11), an intake (12 or 14) for receiving water, a faceplate (18), and at least two outlets (16) in said faceplate with said at least two outlets fluidly connected to said intake (12, 14) so water can be received by said intake to flow to said two outlets (16); and
a rotatable section (26, 30, 28) rotatably connected to non-rotatable section (via bolt and 44; see figs. 1-2), said rotatable section including a backplate (26), a face (28), a first set (one of 24) of a plurality of nozzles (24) projecting from said front face, a first inlet (22) in said backplate, and a first conduit (one of 34A-34C) that connects said inlet to said first set of a plurality of nozzles (one set of 24 shown in fig. 1); and
wherein said backplate (26) engages said non-rotatable section's faceplate (18), and wherein said first inlet (22) is positioned so that rotation of said rotatable section relative to said non-rotatable section causes said first inlet (22) to alternatively align with either of said non-rotatable section's at least two outlets (16) so that said rotatable section's first inlet can receive water from either of said non-rotatable section's at least two outlets (16) when said rotatable section is rotated to either of two different rotational alignments (via 38 to align water flow toward one of three portions 24; par. 59) relative to said non-rotatable section (par. 41: “each of the fluid pathways 34 is designated to guide the fluid flow running from the fluid selection inlet 22 to the corresponding fluid dispensing portion 24 so as to selectively control a spray pattern from the respective fluid dispensing portion 24”; par. 42).
Regarding claim 5, Mang discloses the showerhead of claim 4 wherein:
said non-rotatable section's at least two outlets include three outlets (fig. 4 shows closer view with 4 openings labeled 16) in said faceplate (18) connected to said intake; and
said rotatable section's first inlet (22) is positioned so that rotation of said rotatable section relative to said non-rotatable section causes said first inlet to alternatively align with any of said non-rotatable section's three outlets (16) so that said rotatable section's inlet can receive water from and of said non-rotatable section's three outlets when said rotatable section is rotated to either of three different rotational alignments (3 different alignments with dispensing portions 24) relative to said non-rotatable section (18).
Regarding claim 6, Mang discloses the showerhead of claim 4 wherein:
said rotatable section includes a second set (another set of 24) of a plurality of nozzles projecting from said front face (28), a second inlet (22) in said backplate (26), and a second conduit that connects said second inlet to said second set of a plurality of nozzles; and
wherein said at second inlet is positioned so that rotation of said rotatable section relative to said non-rotatable section causes said second inlet to alternatively align with either of said non-rotatable section's at least two outlets (16) so that said rotatable section's second conduit can receive water through said second inlet from either of said non-rotatable section's at least two outlets when said rotatable section is rotated to either of two different rotational alignments (rotating via 38) relative to said non-rotatable section (28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mang (US 20110147477) in view of Creswell (US20070199599).
Regarding claim 5, Mang discloses the showerhead of claim 4 but does not explicitly describe said non-rotatable section's at least two outlets (16) include distinct three outlets.
Creswell discloses a comparable diverter valve setup with a non-rotatable disk 14 with three outlets 84, 86, 88, 90 (fig. 3) to the associated flow diversion to three different discharge portions (as shown in figs. 12-17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mang to incorporate the teachings of Creswell to provide said non-rotatable section's at least two outlets (16) include distinct three outlets. Doing so would be utilizing known techniques to yield the predictable result of facilitating the intended flow diversion for the desired discharge. No inventive effort would have been required.
Conclusion
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752