Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected, without traverse, Group I (pending claims 1-10, 12-15 and 21) in the reply filed on March 2, 2026.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 2, 2026.
Examiner Comments
The Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) in view of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1).
As per claim 1 (and analogously, as per claim 5), Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) discloses a media library system (e.g., 10 - see Fig. 1), the system comprising: a frame (e.g., 64); a media storage portion (e.g., 12, 12 - see Fig. 1) supported by the frame (64), the media storage portion (12, 12) comprising: a first column of media cartridge storage magazines (e.g., left-side (22) as depicted in Fig. 1), and a second column of media cartridge storage magazines (e.g., right-side (22) as depicted in Fig. 1) (as per claim 6); a media drive portion (e.g., 14) supported by the frame (64), the media drive portion (14) comprising a plurality of media drives (e.g., 14 - see, inter alia, paragraphs [0002, 0017] - "one or more tape drives 14"), each media drive (14) of the plurality of media drives being configured to read data from a media cartridge (e.g., 26 - see paragraph [0026], wherein the "tape drive 14 transfers information to and from the cartridges 26") when the media cartridge (26) is inserted into the media drive (14); and a robotic picker device (e.g., 28) supported by the frame (64) and configured to move in an interior space (e.g., the interior space bounded by the walls (64)) of the media library system (10) and selectively retrieve a media cartridge (26) stored in the media storage portion (12, 12) and place the media cartridge (26) into one of the plurality of media drives (14), the robotic picker device (28) comprising: a first slot (e.g., 36A) configured to receive a first media cartridge (26) and a second slot (e.g., 36B) configured to receive a second media cartridge (26) (e.g., see, inter alia, Figs. 1, 4A; paragraphs [0017-0018]).
As per claim 2 (and analogously, as per claim 7), wherein the robotic picker device (28) is disposed between the first column (e.g., left-side (22) as depicted in Fig. 1) and the second column (e.g., right-side (22) as depicted in Fig. 1).
As per claim 3 (and analogously, as per claim 9), wherein the first slot (e.g., 36A) is disposed on a first side of a rotatable head of the robotic picker device (e.g., 28) and configured to receive a media cartridge (26), the rotatable head being configured to rotate between a first orientation in which the first side is facing the first column, a second orientation in which the first side is facing the second column, and a third orientation in which the first side is facing the plurality of media drives (14 (e.g., see paragraph [0035] - "As provided herein the transport mover 30 can include (i) a first transporter actuator (not shown) for moving the transporter 28 along the X-axis, (ii) a second transporter actuator (not shown) for moving the transporter 28 along the Y-axis, and (iii) a transporter rotator (not shown) which rotates the transporter 28 around the Z-axis. For the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 1, rotation around the Z-axis allows positioning of the transporter 28 for (i) transferring cartridges 26 between the cartridge magazine 22 and the transporter 28, and (ii) transferring cartridges 26 between the transporter 28 and the tape drive 14.")
As per claim 6, see the discussion of claim 1 regarding Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1), supra.
As per claim 7, see the discussion of claim 2 regarding Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1), supra.
As per claim 9, see the discussion of claim 3 regarding Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1), supra.
As per claim 10, wherein the frame (64) has a front end and a back end, and wherein the frame (64) has a plurality of magazine openings (e.g., front side of system housing (16)) extending from the front end to the back end and configured to receive respective media cartridge storage magazines (22, 22) - see Fig. 1.
The robotic picker device (28) has two slots (36A, 36B) to hold two media cartridges (26) - see Fig. 4A.
As per claim 1 and analogously, as per claim 5, Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) remains silent with regard to wherein the media cartridge storage magazines in the first column and the second column comprise multiple dual-cartridge storage slots configured to receive two media cartridges (or, wherein, as per claim 5, wherein at least some of the storage magazines comprise multiple dual-cartridge storage slots).
Such configurations, however, are well-known in the art.
As just one example, as pert claim 1 and claim 5, Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) discloses an analogous media library system (e.g., 10 - see Figs. 1, 2), in the same field of endeavor as Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1), wherein as per claims 1 and 5, media cartridge storage magazine(s) comprise multiple dual-cartridge storage slots configured to receive two media cartridges - see Fig. 7A and paragraph [0004] - " In `deep slot` libraries, two or more cartridges may be stored in a multi-cartridge deep slot cell, arrayed in series, one behind the other, in tiers ranging from a frontmost tier to a rearmost tier."
Moreover, as per amended claim 1, Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) further discloses wherein each dual-cartridge storage slot comprises a first portion (e.g., tier 621) configured to retain the first media cartridge (e.g., the cartridge located within tier 621 as depicted in Fig. 7A) and a second portion (e.g., tier 622) configured to retain the second media cartridge (e.g., the cartridge located within tier 622 as depicted in Fig. 7A), wherein the second portion is accessible through the first portion (e.g., the second cartridge must pass through the tier (621) as it moves from the second tier (622) to tier (621) to be unloaded) to load the cartridges.
The combination of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) with Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1), would yield wherein the robotic picker device (e.g. 28 of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) is configured (structurally enabled to carry out) to retrieve the first media cartridge from the first portion of a first dual-cartridge storage slot (tier 621 of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) into the first slot (36A of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) and, after the first media cartridge is retrieved, to retrieve the second media cartridge (e.g., cartridge at tier (622) of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) from the second portion of the first dual- cartridge storage slot (of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) into the second slot (36B of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)).
As per amended claim 5, the combination of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) with Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1), would yield wherein the robotic picker device (28 of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) comprises the first slot (36A of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) configured to receive the first media cartridge (cartridge within tier (621) of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) and the second slot (36B of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) configured to receive the second media cartridge (cartridge within tier (622) of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)), wherein the robotic picker device (28 of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) is configured (structurally enabled to carry out) to retrieve both the first media cartridge and the second media cartridge from a same dual-cartridge storage slot of the multiple dual-cartridge storage slots (of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)).
Additionally, as per claim 4, Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) further discloses wherein the dual-cartridge storage slot comprises a spring-loaded mechanism (e.g. 152) configured to bias the second media cartridge in the second portion towards the first portion - see paragraphs [0097-0098] of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1).
Additionally, as per claim 12, Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) further discloses wherein each dual-cartridge storage slot comprises a first portion configured to retain a first media cartridge and a second portion configured to retain a second media cartridge, the second portion being accessible through the first portion - see Fig. 7A and paragraph [0037] of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1).
As per claim 13, Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) further discloses wherein each dual-cartridge storage slot comprises a spring-loaded mechanism (e.g., 152) configured to bias the second media cartridge in the second portion towards the first portion - see paragraphs [0097-0098].
As per claim 14, Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) further discloses wherein each dual-cartridge storage slot comprises a latch (e.g. 660) configured to engage the first media cartridge - see paragraph [0098].
Given the express teachings and motivations, as espoused by Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the media cartridge storage magazines in the first column and the second column of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1), as comprising multiple dual-cartridge storage slots configured to receive two media cartridges, as Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) as expressly and explicitly taught by Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1), in order to advantageously "increase storage capacity . . .[and] allow for higher density, or more cartridges stored per square foot." See paragraph [0004] of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1).
In an obviousness analysis, it is not necessary to find precise disclosure directed to the specific subject matter claimed because inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ can be taken into account. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). In this regard, "[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." Id. at 421.
As the U.S. Supreme Court has stated, obviousness requires an "expansive and flexible" approach that asks whether the claimed improvement is more than a "predictable variation" of "prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 415, 417.
As per claim 8, the combination of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) and Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) yield: the robotic picker device (28 of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) is configured to move in an interior space of the media library (10), openings of dual-cartridge storage slots (of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) in the first column of media cartridge storage magazines (of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)), through which media cartridges pass during retrieval or placement in the dual- cartridge storage slots, are facing the interior space (of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)), openings of dual-cartridge storage slots (of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) in the second column of media cartridge storage magazines (of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)), through which media cartridges pass during retrieval or placement in the dual- cartridge storage slots (of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)), are facing the interior space, and openings of the plurality of media drives (of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)), through which media cartridges pass during retrieval or placement in the media drives, are facing the interior space (of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)).
As per claim 15, although Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) (and/or Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) remains silent with regard to wherein a width of the frame is about 600 millimeters, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the width of the frame of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) as being about 600 millimeters, as set forth in claim 15, in order to simply provide a standard form factor width of a media library system, while, providing enhanced storage capacity as taught by the combination of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) and Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) as a whole, through routine optimization/experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Additionally, the law is replete with cases in which when the mere difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range, variable or other dimensional limitation within the claims, patentability cannot be found.
It furthermore has been held in such a situation, the Applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Moreover, the instant disclosure does not set forth evidence ascribing unexpected results due to the claimed dimensions. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 (Fed. Cir. 1984), which held that the dimensional limitations failed to point out a feature which performed and operated any differently from the prior art.
No new or unobvious result is seen to be obtained, given the express teachings and motivations of the applied prior art, and as such, the claimed ranges are seen, absent any unobvious evidence, as nothing more than a predictable variation based the on such overarching and pertinent teachings of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) and Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) and the well-known knowledge of the ordinary skilled artisan, in light of the general knowledge of an artisan having ordinary skill in the art, with the express rationale provided supra. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., No. 04-1350 (U.S. Apr. 30, 2007).
Moreover still, the Supreme Court opined "[w]hen a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentably." (Emphasis added) 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant alleges
Amended claim 1 now recites, in part:
…
wherein each dual-cartridge storage slot comprises a first portion configured to retain the first media cartridge and a second portion configured to retain the second media cartridge, wherein the second
portion is accessible through the first portion, and
wherein the robotic picker device is configured to retrieve the first media cartridge from the first portion of a first dual-cartridge storage slot into the first slot and, after the first media cartridge is retrieved, to retrieve the second media cartridge from the second portion of the first
dual-cartridge storage slot into the second slot.
(emphases added)
Applicant respectfully asserts that the cited references, whether considered individually or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest at least the above-referenced limitations.
The Examiner disagrees. At the outset, the Examiner notes that independent claims 1 and 5 are drawn to a product, and not a process of operating or using the device, such that sequential steps or the manner of using is met by the prior art (alone or in combination), so long as the prior art (alone or in combination) is structurally configured or capable or carrying out such method steps (e.g., "after the first media cartridge is retrieved, to retrieve the second media cartridge from the second portion of the first dual-cartridge storage slot into the second slot." This limitation is drawn to a manner of using the product, and so long as the prior art (alone or in structural combination) is configured to structurally be capable of carrying out such a method step, the limitation is met). Hence, this is one of the reasons a restriction was made by the Examiner between the product claims and the method of use claims (see the Restriction Requirement, mailed on January 2, 2026).
The Applicant then further argues that the Examiner has used hindsight in the rejection, and that there is no proper rationale for combining Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) and Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1).
The Examiner, again, disagrees.
As set forth in the rejection, supra, Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) shows the features of the invention as set forth in independent claims 1 and 5, but remains silent with regard to wherein the media cartridge storage magazines in the first column and the second column comprise multiple dual-cartridge storage slots configured to receive two media cartridges (or, wherein, as per claim 5, wherein at least some of the storage magazines comprise multiple dual-cartridge storage slots).
Such configurations, however, are well-known in the art.
As just one example, as pert claim 1 and claim 5, Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) discloses an analogous media library system (e.g., 10 - see Figs. 1, 2), in the same field of endeavor as Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1), wherein as per claims 1 and 5, media cartridge storage magazine(s) comprise multiple dual-cartridge storage slots configured to receive two media cartridges - see Fig. 7A and paragraph [0004] - " In `deep slot` libraries, two or more cartridges may be stored in a multi-cartridge deep slot cell, arrayed in series, one behind the other, in tiers ranging from a frontmost tier to a rearmost tier."
Moreover, as per amended claim 1, Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) further discloses wherein each dual-cartridge storage slot comprises a first portion (e.g., tier 621) configured to retain the first media cartridge (e.g., the cartridge located within tier 621 as depicted in Fig. 7A) and a second portion (e.g., tier 622) configured to retain the second media cartridge (e.g., the cartridge located within tier 622 as depicted in Fig. 7A), wherein the second portion is accessible through the first portion (e.g., the second cartridge must pass through the tier (621) as it moves from the second tier (622) to tier (621) to be unloaded) to load the cartridges.
The combination of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) with Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1), would yield wherein the robotic picker device (e.g. 28 of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) is configured (structurally enabled to carry out) to retrieve the first media cartridge from the first portion of a first dual-cartridge storage slot (tier 621 of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) into the first slot (36A of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) and, after the first media cartridge is retrieved, to retrieve the second media cartridge (e.g., cartridge at tier (622) of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) from the second portion of the first dual- cartridge storage slot (of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) into the second slot (36B of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)).
As per amended claim 5, the combination of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1) with Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1), would yield wherein the robotic picker device (28 of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) comprises the first slot (36A of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) configured to receive the first media cartridge (cartridge within tier (621) of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)) and the second slot (36B of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) configured to receive the second media cartridge (cartridge within tier (622) of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)), wherein the robotic picker device (28 of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1)) is configured (structurally enabled to carry out) to retrieve both the first media cartridge and the second media cartridge from a same dual-cartridge storage slot of the multiple dual-cartridge storage slots (of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1)).
Given the express teachings and motivations, as espoused by Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the media cartridge storage magazines in the first column and the second column of Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1), as comprising multiple dual-cartridge storage slots configured to receive two media cartridges, as Gariepy et al. (US 2003/0076619 A1) as expressly and explicitly taught by Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1), in order to advantageously "increase storage capacity . . .[and] allow for higher density, or more cartridges stored per square foot." See paragraph [0004] of Miller et al. (US 2014/0347764 A1).
In an obviousness analysis, it is not necessary to find precise disclosure directed to the specific subject matter claimed because inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ can be taken into account. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). In this regard, "[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." Id. at 421.
As the U.S. Supreme Court has stated, obviousness requires an "expansive and flexible" approach that asks whether the claimed improvement is more than a "predictable variation" of "prior art elements according to their established functions." KSR, 550 U.S. at 415, 417.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is tentatively objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but, pending an updated search, amendments or arguments presented by the Applicant and considered by the Examiner in reply to this office communication, would be favorably considered if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM J KLIMOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688