DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bu et al (PGPUB 2025/0291933), and further in view of Arbel et al (US 12,095,807) and Schwarzbauer et al (EP 3971751).
Regarding Claims 1, 11, and 18:
Bu teaches a computer-implemented method for performing automated vulnerability assessment ([abstract] method includes receiving an identifier associated with a security deficiency, wherein the security deficiency is associated with a computer system; receiving, from the generative machine learning model, a set of outputs including a first output identifying a first remediation strategy), one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform steps ([0011] system and/or device having non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, performs the method), and a system comprising: one or more memories storing instructions ([0011] system and/or device having non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions); and one or more processors for executing the instructions to perform steps ([0073] one or more central processing units (“CPUs”) 604 operate in conjunction with a chipset 606; the CPUs 604 can be standard programmable processors that perform arithmetic and logical operations necessary for the operation of the computing device 600), the computer-implemented method and steps comprising:
receiving a designation associated with a Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures (CVE) ([0059] as depicted in FIG. 4, at operation 402, an example system (e.g., the XDR system 104 of FIG. 4) receives the security deficiency identifier; the security deficiency identifier may be an identifier of a security deficiency (e.g., a security vulnerability and/or exposure) associated with the monitoring event; an example of a security deficiency identifier is a CVE identifier);
retrieving one or more attributes describing the CVE ([0060] at operation 404, the system retrieves text data associated with the security deficiency identifier; examples text data associated with a security deficiency identifier include advisories, solutions, remediation scripts, remediation tools, product notifications, threat intelligence reports, and/or the like);
aggregating, by one or more distributed data acquisition operations ([0031] XDR system 104 includes a prompt layer 112 that generates a prompt based on text data (e.g., guidance data) associated with a security deficiency identifier (e.g., CVE identifier) from one or more vulnerability databases 120 (e.g., a CVE database, an advisory database, a solution database, a guidance database, and/or the like), i.e. “distributed data acquisition”; the prompt layer 112 may receive text data from the vulnerability databases 120 and generate a text prompt for inputting to the generative machine learning model based on the text data), CVE data associated with the CVE, wherein the one or more distributed data acquisition operations electronically capture data from a plurality of networked information sources in parallel ([0031] XDR system 104 includes a prompt layer 112 that generates a prompt based on text data (e.g., guidance data) associated with a security deficiency identifier (e.g., CVE identifier) from one or more vulnerability databases 120 (e.g., a CVE database, an advisory database, a solution database, a guidance database, and/or the like), i.e. “distributed data acquisition”; the prompt layer 112 may receive text data from the vulnerability databases 120 and generate a text prompt for inputting to the generative machine learning model based on the text data; EXAMINER’S NOTE: retrieving data from multiple databases can be seen as “electronically captur[ing] data from a plurality of networked information sources in parallel; [0060] the system retrieves text data associated with the security deficiency identifier; examples text data associated with a security deficiency identifier include advisories, solutions, remediation scripts, remediation tools, product notifications, threat intelligence reports, and/or the like; such text data may provide additional details about a security deficiency, such as a description of the deficiency, the potential impact of the security deficiency, the systems, components, products, and/or software versions affected by the security deficiency, severity ratings associated with the deficiency, mitigating solutions (e.g., software patch deployments) for containing the effects of the security deficiency, remediation strategies (e.g., remediation scripts and/or tools, such as executable files, scripts, utilities, and/or patches) for eliminating the effect of the deficiency (e.g., to fix the deficiency), and/or the like);
generating a prompt data structure based on the designation, the one or more attributes, and the CVE data ([0061] the system determines a text prompt based on the text data; the text prompt may include at least a portion of the retrieved text data, an instruction segment that describes that the generative machine learning model should perform a remediation strategy detection task (e.g., a software patch deployment detection task), and one or more output constraints for the output of the machine learning model; the output constraints may specify a required structure, format, and/or content associated with the output texts generated based on the text prompt);
transmitting the prompt data structure to a second machine learning model that generates a vulnerability assessment associated with the CVE based on the prompt data structure ([0062]-[0063] the system provides the text prompt to a generative machine learning model; the system receives, in response to the text prompt, a generative output text from the generative machine learning model; the generative output text may be the output of processing the text prompt by the generative machine learning model; the generative output text may describe a remediation strategy (e.g., a software patch deployment) described by the text prompt);
generating one or more CVE reports based on the vulnerability assessment ([0066], [0069] if the system determines that the generative output satisfies the output constraint satisfies an output constraint associated with the text prompt (operation 412—Yes), the system proceeds to operation 416 to determine a remediation strategy based on the text data; in some cases, the system provides the text prompt to the generative machine learning model N times to generate N output texts, the system proceeds to operation 416 if any of the N output texts satisfy the output constraint(s); the system may, for example, determine the remediation strategy by combining (e.g., aggregating, performing a voting-based selection based on, and/or the like) the subset of the N output texts satisfy the output constraint(s); the system identifies the output text having the highest score and displays the remediation strategy described by that output text; the system may designate the remediation strategy described by the top-scored output text as the most recommended remediation strategy); and
performing an automated remediation action based on the one or more CVE reports ([0049] in some cases, in addition to providing the remediation strategy to the user system 122, the remediation layer 118 may automatically execute operations corresponding to the remediation strategy; for example, the remediation layer 118 may automatically install a software patch, rewrite code data associated with a software, and/or upgrade a software to a latest and/or a secure version).
Bu does not explicitly teach generating, via a first machine learning model, a first prompt data structure.
However, Arbel teaches the concept of generating, via a first machine learning model, a first prompt data structure ([col 7 line 19-25] the generative remediator 128 is configured to generate a prompt for an LLM; in some embodiments, the prompt is generated based on a representation schema of the security database 126, a finding (e.g., a result of a cybersecurity inspection, such as detection of a cybersecurity object), a predefined action, a combination thereof, and the like; [col 9 line 48-51] the finding 330 is a security finding, a lateral movement finding, a CVE finding…; [col 12 line 15-23] the generative remediator is configured to generate a prompt for a large language model (LLM), configured to generate a remediation action; in some embodiments, a first LLM is utilized to generate the prompt, and a second LLM is utilized to generate the remediation action).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prompt-generating machine learning model teachings of Arbel with the automated vulnerability assessment teachings of Bu; the successful output of a large language model frequently depends on the level of description provided in the guiding prompt. Using a first LLM to develop an accurate and detailed prompt can improve efficiency and reliability by controlling the format and necessary information provided in the prompt and avoiding user error due to misinterpretation, forgetting details, misspelling, etc.
Neither Bu nor Arbel explicitly teaches based on a determination that a plurality of stored prior CVE reports does not include a prior CVE report associated with the CVE: [performing steps].
However, Schwarzbauer teaches the concept of, based on a determination that a plurality of stored prior CVE reports does not include a prior CVE report associated with a CVE: [performing steps] ([abstract] technology is disclosed to perform real-time and online identification and prioritization of vulnerabilities of components of software applications; [0214] process of updating the unified vulnerability repository 157 with new and updated vulnerability report data from external, public vulnerability databases; vulnerability data bases include the Common Vulnerability and Exposures database (CVE); [0217] step 802 may analyze the fetched vulnerability data and create a new vulnerability report 148 for each unknown vulnerability in imported vulnerability data; a combination of vulnerability database specific report identifier and an identifier for the specific vulnerability database may be used to create vulnerability report identifiers 701; the created vulnerability report identifies may e.g., be used to determine whether an imported vulnerability report is new).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the creation of a new vulnerability report teachings of Schwarzbauer with the automated vulnerability assessment teachings of Bu in view of Arbel, with the benefit of improving efficiency and accuracy, saving storage space, and reducing waste, overhead, and processing time by limiting creation of new vulnerability reports to vulnerabilities for which a report does not already exist, thereby avoiding redundancy, and providing the benefits listed above.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12:
Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11. In addition, Bu teaches wherein the one or more attributes describing the CVE include at least one of a vendor name, a product name, a vulnerability name, or a textual description associated with the CVE ([0025] a CVE entry may include a description of a security vulnerability or exposure, vendors affected by the vulnerability or exposure, the type and/or category of the vulnerability or exposure (e.g., a common weakness enumeration (CWE) for the vulnerability or exposure), the severity of the vulnerability or exposure, and/or the like).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13:
Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11. In addition, Arbel teaches wherein the one or more attributes describing the CVE include at least one of a Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS) score, one or more CVSS factors, one or more known attack vectors, or one or more privileges required to exploit the CVE (col 11 line 32-40, a finding is a security finding, a lateral movement finding, a privilege escalation finding, a vulnerability, an exposure, a misconfiguration, a malware, an attack path, various combinations thereof, and the like).
The rationale to combine Bu and Arbel is the same as provided for claims 1 and 11 due to the overlapping subject matter between claims 1 and 3, 11 and 13.
Regarding Claims 4 and 14:
Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11. In addition, Bu teaches wherein the second machine learning models include a large language model (LLM) ([0039] generative machine learning model, such as a large language model); and
Arbel teaches wherein each of the first and second machine learning models include a large language model (LLM) ([col 12 line 15-23] the generative remediator is configured to generate a prompt for a large language model (LLM), configured to generate a remediation action; in some embodiments, a first LLM is utilized to generate the prompt, and a second LLM is utilized to generate the remediation action).
The rationale to combine Bu and Arbel is the same as provided for claims 1 and 11 due to the overlapping subject matter between claims 1 and 4, 11 and 14.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15:
Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11. In addition, Arbel teaches the method further comprising retrieving one or more items of organizational data associated with an enterprise computing environment, wherein the organizational data includes a list of one or more software applications or computer products included in the enterprise computing environment ([col 10 line 54-col 11 line 3] a computing environment is inspected for a cybersecurity object; in an embodiment, inspecting a computing environment for a cybersecurity object includes detecting a plurality of resources deployed in a computing environment; entity discovery includes querying an application programming interface (API) of a computing environment, such as a cloud computing environment, to determine what resources, workloads, and the like, are deployed therein; according to an embodiment, a cloud API is accessed to determine what virtual machines, software containers, serverless functions, microservices, buckets, storage, software repositories, and the like, are deployed in the computing environment).
The rationale to combine Bu and Arbel is the same as provided for claims 1 and 11 due to the overlapping subject matter between claims 1 and 5, 11 and 15.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16:
Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11. In addition, Bu teaches wherein the automated remediation action includes one or more of initiating an automated vulnerability scan of one or more computing devices included in an enterprise computing environment, automatically isolating or blocking one or more computing devices or software applications, automatically applying software patches to one or more computing devices or software applications ([0049] the remediation layer 118 may automatically install a software patch), automatically reverting one or more computing devices or software applications to an earlier software version, or automatically transmitting an alert to one or more members of a software security team.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17:
Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11. In addition, Bu teaches the method, further comprising:
receiving one or more additional designations associated with one or more additional CVEs ([0025] event mapping layer 110 may be configured to retrieve monitoring event(s) from the event repository 108 and map the retrieved monitoring event(s) to security deficiency identifier(s) (EXAMINER’S NOTE: plural identifiers); for example, the event mapping layer 110 may be configured to retrieve a monitoring event stored on the event repository 108, determine a security deficiency (e.g., security vulnerability and/or exposure) associated with the retrieved event, and map the security deficiency to a deficiency identifier; an example of a security deficiency identifier is an identifier associated with a security deficiency library, such as a Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures (CVE) identifier); and
generating one or more CVE reports based on at least the designation and the one or more additional designations ([0066], [0069] as above; EXAMINER’S NOTE: the BRI of claim 7 would apply to a singular method executed several times at varying intervals).
Regarding Claim 10:
Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1. In addition, Bu teaches the method, further comprising:
determining that a database of previously generated CVE reports includes one or more previously generated CVE reports associated with the CVE ([0013] system may perform the following operations: (i) identifying a deficiency identifier (e.g., a Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures (CVE) identifier) associated with the security deficiency, (ii) retrieving one or more texts (e.g., advisories, solutions, remediation scripts, remediation tools, product notifications, threat intelligence reports, and/or the like.) that correspond to the deficiency identifier (e.g., by querying one or more databases such as a CVE database));
retrieving the one or more previously generated CVE reports ([0013] retrieving one or more texts (e.g., advisories, solutions, remediation scripts, remediation tools, product notifications, threat intelligence reports, and/or the like.) that correspond to the deficiency identifier (e.g., by querying one or more databases such as a CVE database)); and
generating one or more CVE reports based on the previously generated CVE reports ([0066], [0069] if the system determines that the generative output satisfies the output constraint satisfies an output constraint associated with the text prompt (operation 412—Yes), the system proceeds to operation 416 to determine a remediation strategy based on the text data; in some cases, the system provides the text prompt to the generative machine learning model N times to generate N output texts, the system proceeds to operation 416 if any of the N output texts satisfy the output constraint(s); the system may, for example, determine the remediation strategy by combining (e.g., aggregating, performing a voting-based selection based on, and/or the like) the subset of the N output texts satisfy the output constraint(s); the system identifies the output text having the highest score and displays the remediation strategy described by that output text; the system may designate the remediation strategy described by the top-scored output text as the most recommended remediation strategy).
Claim(s) 8, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer, and further in view of McGee et al (WO 2016/210236).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19:
Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the system of claim 18.
Neither Bu nor Arbel nor Schwarzbauer explicitly teaches the method, further comprising selecting a subset of the aggregated CVE data based on a list of preferred information sources or a list of non-preferred information sources.
However, McGee teaches the concept of selecting a subset of aggregated CVE data based on a list of preferred information sources or a list of non-preferred information sources ([page 8 line 15-page 9 line 26] controller 112 searches database 114 to identify pertinent entries describing a relevant security vulnerability for the class; there may be hundreds of thousands, or even millions of entries within database 114 describing a variety of product lines and security vulnerabilities; controller 112 may therefore scan through the entries of database 114 in search of entries that match keywords for the class and a relevant security vulnerability; entries that describe the relevant security vulnerability may be identified based on any suitable correlating information within one or more of their fields, such as CVE ID; controller 112 identifies an authoritative entry in database 114 (e.g., an entry that describes a test performed upon the class(es) for detecting the relevant security vulnerability such as an entry describing the results of a test performed by a test group); the authoritative entry may for example be flagged at the database as being received from a trusted/authoritative source, or may be flagged as an authoritative source based on user preferences, credentials and/or access privileges).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the preferred information source teachings of McGee with the automated vulnerability assessment teachings of Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer, in order to improve accuracy and reliability of the final report by avoiding unreliable sources of information through the use of known, preferred authoritative sources.
Claim(s) 9, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer, and further in view of Cameron et al (PGPUB 2025/0036777).
Regarding Claims 9 and 20:
Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 and the system of claim 18.
Neither Bu nor Arbel nor Schwarzbauer explicitly teaches the method, further comprising summarizing the aggregated CVE data based at least on a predetermined token limit associated with the second machine learning model.
However, Cameron teaches the concept of summarizing aggregated CVE data based at least on a predetermined token limit associated with a machine learning model ([0023] a large language model (LLM) is used to generate an exploit for one or more vulnerabilities, for example based on information obtained from one or more third-party security entities, such as common vulnerabilities and exposures (CVE) data; [0039] components used to determine platform-specific end-to-end security vulnerabilities and a graphical layout for displaying the platform-specific end-to-end security vulnerabilities via a Graphical User Interface (GUI); in various implementations, system 100 can provide a software security label 106; the software security label 106 can display information in a graphical layout that is related to end-to-end software security of a platform-specific software application; [0080] current AI technology may not be sufficient to create an attack without breaking the task down into smaller pieces; LLMs typically have a maximum token limit, which can restrict the length of generated output; the token limit can vary depending upon the specific LLM, available resources, configuration settings, etc.; [0119] the system can use the identified exploitation paths to attempt to carry out the synthesized exploit against the identified exposed systems; the system can, at act 640, log the results of the exploit attempts; the logs can indicate, for example, parameters that were used during an attempt, whether or not an attempt was successful, the time taken to carry out an exploit, and/or other information relevant to the exploit; at act 645, the system can update a data store based on the log results; as described herein, the log results can be used as part of a RAG step when synthesizing exploits, identifying exploitation paths, etc.; at act 650, the system can generate a security label that can be displayed to a user; the security label can include information indicative of the results of executing the synthesized exploit); and
Arbel teaches wherein the machine learning model is a second machine learning model ([col 12 line 15-23] first LLM and second LLM).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the token limit teachings of Cameron with the automated vulnerability assessment teachings of Bu in view of Arbel and Schwarzbauer; LLMs typically use a token limit to keep the input prompts from exceeding various model limitations, such as compute time, energy use, and memory capacity. A person of ordinary skill in the art, when using LLMs, would therefore consider ways in which to account for the token limit during use, such as dividing the task into multiple tasks which come in under the limit, thereby permitting the completion of complicated prompts without the need for upgrading the model, purchasing expensive memory, monopolizing compute time, etc.
The rationale to combine Bu and Arbel is the same as provided for claims 1 and 18 due to the overlapping subject matter between claims 1 and 9, 18 and 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103:
Applicant’s arguments consist of the mere assertion that the prior art of record does not teach the subject matter newly added to claims 1, 11, and 18. However, a new ground(s) for rejection is provided above which does teach this additional subject matter, as added by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FORREST L CAREY/Examiner, Art Unit 2491
/WILLIAM R KORZUCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2491