DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is in reply to communication filed on 10/09/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The information disclosure statements filed on 10/09/2024 and 07/24/2025 comply with the provisions 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP 609 and is considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-10 recite a device, which is directed to a machine.
Claims 11-19 recite a method, which is directed to a process.
Claim 20 recite a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, which is directed to a manufacture.
Therefore, each claim falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong 1 (Is a judicial exception recited?):
The independent claims 1, 11 and 20 recite the abstract idea of commercial/legal interactions and managing personal behavior/relationships around payment change processing.
Offending clauses include:
“switch a display mode of the display device to one of a plurality of modes, including first and second modes, in accordance with an input made through the input device”
The independent claims 1, 11 and 20 recite the abstract idea of Mental processes / data collection-analysis-display.
Offending clauses include:
“switch a display mode of the display device to one of a plurality of modes, including first and second modes, in accordance with an input made through the input device”
Step 2A, Prong 2 (Is the exception integrated into a practical application?):
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims satisfy the following criteria, which indicate that the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application:
The claimed additional limitations are:
Claim 1: A payment device connectable to a point-of-sale (POS) terminal installed in a store, comprising: a slot through which bills or coins can be inserted; a plurality of storage units in which the bills or coins can be stored for each denomination; a display device; an input device; a controller configured to, in response to a command received from the POS terminal, switch a display mode of the display device to one of a plurality of modes, including first and second modes, in accordance with an input made through the input device,
Claim 11: a payment device, connectable to a point-of-sale (POS) terminal installed in a store, the payment device including: a slot through which bills or coins can be inserted, a plurality of storage units in which the bills or coins can be stored for each denomination, a display device, and an input device, the method comprising: receiving a command from the POS terminal, switching a display mode of the display device to one of a plurality of modes, including first and second modes, in accordance with an input made through the input device,
Claim 20: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores a program causing a computer with a bill or coin slot, a plurality of bill or coin storage units, a display device, and an input device, to perform a method comprising: receiving a command from a POS terminal installed in a store and connected to the computer, switching a display mode of the display device to one of a plurality of modes, including first and second modes, in accordance with an input made through the input device,
The additional limitations are directed to using a generic computer to process information and perform the abstract idea. Therefore, the limitations merely amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) to the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more that the judicial exception?):
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As for Step 2B analysis, knowing the consideration is overlapping with Step 2A, Prong 2. The Step 2B considerations have already been substantially addressed under Step 2A Prong 2, see Step 2A Prong 2 analysis above. As discussed above, the additional imitations amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f).
In addition, the dependent claims recite:
Step 2A, Prong 1 (Is a judicial exception recited?):
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 recitations further narrowing the abstract idea recited in the independent claims 1, 11 and 20 and therefore directed towards the same abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B:
The dependent claims 2-10 and 12-19 further narrow the abstract idea recited in the independent claims 1, 11 and 20 and are therefore directed towards the same abstract idea.
The dependent claims recite the following additional limitations:
Claim 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 14, 18: the payment device,
Claim 4: the payment device, the controller, the display device,
Claims 5, 6: the payment device, the controller,
Claims 9, 10, 19: the input device,
However, the examiner finds each of these additional elements to be directed to merely “apply it” or applying a generic technology to perform the recited abstract idea of payment change processing, the recitation to the generic computer technology that is being used as a tool to execute the steps that define the abstract idea do not provide for integration at the 2nd prong and do not provide for significantly more at step 2B.
Therefore, the limitations on the invention of claims 1-20, when viewed individually and in ordered combination are directed to in-eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by MORIMOTO, DAISUKE (WO 2023167028 A1, hereinafter “MORIMOTO”).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 20. MORIMOTO discloses a payment device connectable to a point-of-sale (POS) terminal installed in a store, comprising:
a slot through which bills or coins can be inserted; (MORIMOTO, [0018]; “The coin processing machine 100 has a coin receiving section 101 that accepts coins, and a coin dispensing section 102 that dispenses coins”, [0029]; “The banknote processing machine 200 has a banknote receiving section 201 that accepts banknotes, and a banknote dispensing section 202 that dispenses banknotes. The bill receiving section 201 and the bill dispensing section 202 are provided at the front part of the housing 210”)
a plurality of storage units in which the bills or coins can be stored for each denomination; (MORIMOTO, [0018]; “The coin processing machine 100 also includes a coin storage section 106 that stores coins by denomination”)
a display device; an input device; a controller configured to, in response to a command received from the POS terminal, perform a payment process to receive and dispense bills and coins, (MORIMOTO, [0010]; “The terminal device 20 may be a fixed terminal such as a POS cash register, which has an operation section operated by a user, a display section that displays the money processing status in the money processing device 10 … the terminal device 20 is not limited to a fixed type, and may be a portable terminal such as a tablet terminal, a tablet PC, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a notebook PC, or a multifunction mobile phone (so-called "smartphone")”)
wherein the controller is further configured to:
switch a display mode of the display device to one of a plurality of modes, including first and second modes, in accordance with an input made through the input device, and (MORIMOTO, [0025]; “The coin control unit 120 also includes a process control unit 125 … The coin control unit 120 also includes an operation mode switching unit 127 that switches the operation mode of the money processing device 10 between a manned mode and a self-service mode, and a management mode”)
in a time period between performing of payment processes, control the display device to display: (MORIMOTO, [0071]; “the money processing device 10 includes the operation unit 113 that accepts operations by the user, the manned mode as an example of the first mode that allows a store clerk to perform the payment process, and … mode that allows the customer to perform the payment process. The operating mode switching unit 127 is provided to switch between a self-mode”)
in the first mode, first information for a store clerk of the store, the first information indicating a detail of a status of the payment device, and (MORIMOTO, [0038]; “FIG. 4(a) is a diagram showing an example of the standby screen Gwm in the manned mode”, [0038]; “When the operation mode of the money processing device 10 is the manned mode, in other words, when the operation mode switching unit 127 has switched to the manned mode, and when the money processing device 10 is on standby waiting to receive a command from the terminal device 20, the display The control unit 123 causes the display unit 112 to display a standby screen Gwm shown in FIG. 4(a)”)
in the second mode, second information for a customer of the store without the detail of the status of the payment device. (MORIMOTO, [0038]; “FIG. 4(b) is a diagram showing an example of the standby screen Gws in the self mode”, [0040]; “when the operation mode of the money processing device 10 is the self mode, in other words, when the operation mode switching unit 127 has switched to the self mode, and when on standby, the display control unit 123 As shown in , nothing is displayed on the display section 112”)
Regarding claims 2 and 12. MORIMOTO discloses the payment device according to claim 1, wherein
the first information indicates a total number of each of the bills or the coins stored in the storage units, and the second information indicates that the payment device is in a standby state. (MORIMOTO, [0042]; “as shown in FIG. 5A, the display control unit 123 displays the phrase "Deposit is being counted" on the deposit screen Gim, and also displays the number of deposited coins and bills for each denomination. Display. Additionally, the total amount of coins and banknotes inserted is displayed as a ‘deposit amount.’ ”)
Regarding claims 3 and 13. MORIMOTO discloses the payment device according to claim 2, wherein the total number of each of the bills or the coins is displayed by a chart. (MORIMOTO, as seen in Fig. 4A, [0069]; “When the money handling device 10 is in the manned mode and switched to the management mode, the display control unit 123 causes the display unit 112 to display a screen for the manned mode and the management mode”, [0070]; “when the display control unit 123 is in the manned mode and the management mode, during standby, the display control unit 123 displays the above-mentioned standby screen Gwm in the manned mode on the display unit 112, and when the display control unit 123 is in the manned mode and the management mode. In the case of the non-management mode, the display unit 112 may display a screen that is a simplified version of the standby screen Gwm in the manned mode”)
Fig. 4a
Regarding claims 8 and 18. MORIMOTO discloses the payment device according to claim 1, wherein
the first information indicates a type of an error occurring in the payment device (MORIMOTO, [0049]; “as shown in FIG. 7(a), the display control unit 123 displays pictures and text on the display unit 112 that notify the details of the abnormality, the location where the abnormality has occurred, how to resolve the abnormality, etc.”), and the second information includes a message to call a store clerk. (MORIMOTO, [0050]; “For example, as shown in FIG. 7(b), the display control unit 123 displays the message "Suspended" or "Please call a staff member" on the abnormality notification screen Ges to encourage the customer to call a staff member”)
Regarding claims 9 and 19. MORIMOTO discloses the payment device according to claim 1, wherein the input device is locked and needs to be unlocked for the input to be made. (MORIMOTO, [0023]; “The coin processing machine 100 also includes a locking mechanism 117 that makes it impossible to withdraw the coin processing unit 115. When the key 118 is inserted into the lock mechanism 117 and turned to a predetermined release position, the lock is released and the coin processing unit 115 can be pulled out by the user”)
Regarding claim 10. MORIMOTO discloses the payment device according to claim 1, wherein the input device includes a keyhole and is unlocked by inserting a matching key into the keyhole and rotating the key. (MORIMOTO, [0006]; “the management mode switching unit may switch to the management mode depending on the position where the key is inserted and rotated”, [0023]; “When the key 118 is inserted into the lock mechanism 117 and turned to a predetermined release position, the lock is released and the coin processing unit 115 can be pulled out by the user. Further, when the key 118 is inserted into the lock mechanism 117 and turned to a predetermined management position, the coin processing machine 100 enters a management mode”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over MORIMOTO, DAISUKE (WO 2023167028 A1, hereinafter “MORIMOTO”) in view of Nakamoto et al. (US 20210056794 A1, hereinafter “Nakamoto”).
Regarding claims 4 and 14. MORIMOTO discloses the payment device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: in the second mode, a message indicating that the payment device is in a standby state. (MORIMOTO, [0066]; “Even when the money processing device 10 is in the self-mode … when the display control unit 123 is in the self mode and the management mode, the display control unit 123 displays the standby screen Gwm in the manned mode during standby, and displays the deposit screen Gim in the manned mode during deposit processing”)
MORIMOTO substantially discloses the claimed invention; however, MORIMOTO fails to explicitly disclose the “determine a total number of each of the bills or the coins stored in the storage units, determine whether each of the bills or the coins is to be replenished or collected, and upon determining that one of the bills or the coins is to be replenished or collected, control the display device to display: in the first mode, a message indicating that said one of the bills or the coins is to be replenished or collected”. However, Nakamoto teaches
determine a total number of each of the bills or the coins stored in the storage units (Nakamoto, [0027]; “the management server 10 collects information regarding the contents of transaction performed with customers in the store, via the network 20, and manages the collected information (A1). The information collected by the management server 10 includes information on the depositing process and the dispensing process performed by each money handling apparatus 100 in each store”), determine whether each of the bills or the coins is to be replenished or collected, and (Nakamoto, [0027-0028]; “The management server 10 determines denominations of money and the quantity of money for each denomination to be prepared in the cassette 300 by the money management apparatus 200 in order to replenish the money handling apparatus 100 with the money … The management server 10 predicts denominations of money and the quantity of money for each denomination required by the money handling apparatus 100”)
upon determining that one of the bills or the coins is to be replenished or collected (Nakamoto, [0036]; “the money handling apparatus 100 has five storing units 150a to 150e, and the user sets a replenishment start quantity for 1,000-JPY notes to 300 banknotes, and sets a replenishment start quantity for 5,000-JPY notes to 200 banknotes, regardless of the storing units … determines whether the number of banknotes of each denomination becomes equal to or less than the replenishment start quantity each time the dispensing process is performed”), control the display device to display: in the first mode, a message indicating that said one of the bills or the coins is to be replenished or collected, and (Nakamoto, [0072]; “As shown in FIG. 9, information on the denomination of coins with which replenishment is to be performed, information on the current time, information on the remaining time until the store is closed, information on the number of coins of the replenishment target denomination currently stored in the coin handling apparatus 100, and information on the replenishment quantity are displayed on the screen”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify MORIMOTO to include determine a total number of each of the bills or the coins stored in the storage units, determine whether each of the bills or the coins is to be replenished or collected, and upon determining that one of the bills or the coins is to be replenished or collected, control the display device to display: in the first mode, a message indicating that said one of the bills or the coins is to be replenished or collected, as taught by Nakamoto, where this would be performed such that insufficiency of money does not occur again in the money handling apparatus during opening hours of the store in that day. See Nakamoto [0027].
Regarding claims 5 and 15.The combination of MORIMOTO in view of Nakamoto disclose the payment device according to claim 4, wherein
MORIMOTO substantially discloses the claimed invention; however, MORIMOTO fails to explicitly disclose the “the controller determines that one of the bills or the coins is to be replenished when the total number thereof is less than a first threshold value”. However, Nakamoto teaches
the controller determines that one of the bills or the coins is to be replenished when the total number thereof is less than a first threshold value. (Nakamoto, [0032]; “When the quantity of money in the storing unit 150 decreases and reaches a replenishment start quantity that is a threshold set in advance, the money handling apparatus 100 automatically performs the replenishment process (C1), [0034]; “The money handling apparatus 100 monitors the number of banknotes being stored in each of the storing units 150a to 150d, and determines whether the number of banknotes becomes equal to or less than the replenishment start quantity each time the dispensing process is performed”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify MORIMOTO to include the controller determines that one of the bills or the coins is to be replenished when the total number thereof is less than a first threshold value, as taught by Nakamoto, where this would be performed such that insufficiency of money does not occur again in the money handling apparatus during opening hours of the store in that day. See Nakamoto [0027].
Regarding claims 6 and 16. The combination of MORIMOTO in view of Nakamoto disclose the payment device according to claim 5, wherein the controller determines that one of the bills or the coins is to be collected when the total number thereof is greater than a second threshold value that is greater than the first threshold value. (MORIMOTO, [0012]; “Settlement processing includes the process of calculating the amount of the transaction between the commercial facility and the customer from the price and quantity of each product purchased by the customer, and the process of the commercial facility receiving money from the customer for the amount of the transaction. and is included. In addition, in the settlement process, if the amount of money received by the commercial facility from the customer exceeds the amount of the transaction, the commercial facility deducts the amount of the transaction from the amount of money received, and the commercial facility gives change to the customer”)
Regarding claims 7 and 17. The combination of MORIMOTO in view of Nakamoto disclose the payment device according to claim 4, wherein in the first mode
MORIMOTO substantially discloses the claimed invention; however, MORIMOTO fails to explicitly disclose the “the message further indicates a number of said one of the bills or the coins to be replenished or collected”. However, Nakamoto teaches
the message further indicates a number of said one of the bills or the coins to be replenished or collected. (Nakamoto, [0072]; “As shown in FIG. 9, information on the denomination of coins with which replenishment is to be performed, information on the current time, information on the remaining time until the store is closed, information on the number of coins of the replenishment target denomination currently stored in the coin handling apparatus 100, and information on the replenishment quantity are displayed on the screen”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify MORIMOTO to include the message further indicates a number of said one of the bills or the coins to be replenished or collected, as taught by Nakamoto, where this would be performed such that insufficiency of money does not occur again in the money handling apparatus during opening hours of the store in that day. See Nakamoto [0027].
Conclusion
/AVIA SALMAN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627