DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (GB2409673) in view of Kotler (7,114,298).
Regarding claim 13, Robinson teaches a modular ramp suitable for the passage of urban mobility vehicles, the modular ramp comprising: a structure with an inclined upper surface (Figure 3) comprising a plurality of units (13-26) arranged in a matrix in rows and columns (Figure 4, 5), each of the units formed by an internally hollow monobloc (Figure 1) with a polygonal floor plan and with an upper surface inclined with respect to the lower base, being made of a plastic material, wherein each of the units has coupling means (9) configured to couple one unit to an adjacent unit, attachment means suitable for keeping the structure attached to the ground (10). Robinson fails to teach the material is an injectable plastic or drainage means. Kotler teaches connectable floor tiles having drainage means configured for circulating a fluid between units, which consist of a plurality of slits (18) made in the lower portion of the monobloc, the slits of the units being aligned with one another, such that they define multiple linear paths (57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include drainage slits in the ramp blocks of Robinson as taught by Kotler as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. Kotler further teaches the tile is made of an injectable plastic (Column 6, Lines 47-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the ramp of Robinson out of an injectable plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 14, Robinson as modified by Kotler teaches the coupling means comprise a tongue and groove system consisting of a plurality of hidden protuberances extending from an area reduced in thickness and a plurality of cavities present in an extension, provided for inserting the protuberances (Figure 3, 9).
Regarding claim 15, Robinson as modified by Kotler teaches the coupling means are located on at least one side of the monobloc.
Regarding claim 16, Robinson as modified by Kotler teaches the coupling means are located on two opposite sides of the monobloc.
Regarding claim 17, Robinson as modified by Kotler teaches the attachment means consist of through holes made transversely in the units (10), which are intended for inserting a rod (12) or anchoring element.
Regarding claim 18, Robinson as modified by Kotler teaches the invention as described above. Kotler further teaches the upper surface of the units has a non-slip relief (110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a non-slip surface on the ramp units of Robinson as taught by Kotler to increase the friction on the upper surface and further as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 19, Robinson as modified by Kotler teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the injectable plastic material of the units consists of recycled elastomeric material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the ramp of Robinson out of a recycled elastomeric material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 20, Robinson teaches an urban furniture set comprising: a platform (19-26) and at least one modular ramp on one side of the platform (13-17) , the modular ramp suitable for the passage of urban mobility vehicles, the modular ramp comprising: a structure with an inclined upper surface comprising a plurality of units arranged in a matrix in rows and columns (Figure 4, 5), each of the units formed by an internally hollow monobloc (Figure 1) with a polygonal floor plan and with an upper surface inclined with respect to the lower base, being made of a plastic material, wherein each of the units has coupling means (9) configured to couple one unit to an adjacent unit, attachment means (10) suitable for keeping the structure attached to the ground. Robinson fails to teach the material is an injectable plastic or drainage means. Robinson fails to teach the material is an injectable plastic or drainage means. Kotler teaches connectable floor tiles having drainage means configured for circulating a fluid between units, which consist of a plurality of slits (18) made in the lower portion of the monobloc, the slits of the units being aligned with one another, such that they define multiple linear paths (57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include drainage slits in the ramp blocks of Robinson as taught by Kotler as it is obvious to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. Kotler further teaches the tile is made of an injectable plastic (Column 6, Lines 47-50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to make the ramp of Robinson out of an injectable plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the attached PTO-892. Marko teaches a modular ramp assembly made form a molded plastic.
/ABIGAIL A RISIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 August 4, 2026