DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 01/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-11 are currently pending in the application. Claim 10 has been previously withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1, 3-9 and 11 are being treated on the merits. Any rejection(s) and/or objection(s) made in the previous Office action and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments in the response filed on 01/23/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 3, "an air" appears to read "air" as "air" is an uncountable noun;
In claim 11, line 3, "an air" appears to read "air" as "air" is an uncountable noun.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "long in the lateral direction", which renders the claims indefinite. It is unclear how "long" is considered to be "long"; therefore, it is unclear what is included within the metes and bounds of the term "long". Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and cannot be ascertained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makoto (JP S5618703 U) in view of Chou (US 2013/0067766 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Makoto discloses an insole with ventilatory function (for attaching to a shoe sole; fig. 1; see English translation; page 1), comprising:
an air intake path (between air intake valve 2 and intake hole 4; figs. 1-2; page 1);
an air release path (between air release valve 3 and release hole 5; figs. 1-2; page 1) configured to release air inside of a shoe (figs. 1-2; page 1);
an air intake check valve (air intake valve 2; figs. 1-2; page 1) placed to communicate with the air intake path (figs. 1-2; page 1) and configured to include at least a valve element (for closing or opening; figs. 1-2; page 1);
an air release check valve (air release valve 3; figs. 1-2; page 1) placed to communicate with the air release path (figs. 1-2; page 1) and configured to include at least a valve element (for closing or opening; figs. 1-2; page 1); and
a pump chamber (air chamber 6; figs. 1-2; page 1) configured to communicate with the air intake check valve and with the air release check valve (figs. 1-2; page 1) and formed in a flat shape (see figs. 1-2) to include at least a partial area in front of a position of an arch of a foot, or a pump groove portion (see figs. 1-2) configured to form the pump chamber (see figs. 1-2),
wherein at least one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve is placed in the insole (figs. 1-2; page 1).
Makoto does not disclose wherein the air intake check valve includes a base member provided with an open/close hole formed therein and a valve element controlled to open and close the open/close hole, the air release check valve includes a base member provided with an open/close hole formed therein and a valve element controlled to open and close the open/close hole, at least one of the air intake check valve and the air release check valve is placed in the insole such that the open/close hole penetrates the base member in a direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the insole, wherein the open/close hole is an elongated hole extending in a lateral direction in a front view of such one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve, wherein the valve element of at least one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve is a plate body that is extending in the lateral direction in the front view of such one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve, and wherein the valve element of at least one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve comprises either one end of a left end or a right end joined with the base member, and is configured to open and close the open/close hole in the lateral direction.
However, Chou, in an analogous art, teaches an insole with ventilatory function (ventilated insole 10; figs. 5-9C; paras. 0062, 0074) comprising an air intake check valve (a first one-way valve 70 adjoining entry conduit 50; figs. 5-6; paras. 0063, 0074) placed to communicate with an air intake path (entry conduit 50; figs. 5-6; paras. 0063, 0074) and configured to include a base member (sleeves 74, 76; fig. 9; para. 0074) provided with an open/close hole (through hole 75; fig. 9; para. 0074) formed therein and a valve element (flap 77; figs. 9-9C; paras. 0074-0075) controlled to open and close the open/close hole (figs. 9-9C; paras. 0074-0075), an air release check valve (a second one-way valve 70 adjoining exit conduit 60; figs. 5-6; paras. 0062, 0074) placed to communicate with an air release path (exit conduit 60; figs. 5-6, 9; paras. 0062, 0074) and configured to include a base member (sleeves 74, 76; fig. 9; para. 0074) provided with an open/close hole (through hole 75; fig. 9; para. 0074) formed therein and a valve element (flap 77; figs. 9-9C; paras. 0074-0075) controlled to open and close the open/close hole (figs. 9-9C; paras. 0074-0075), wherein at least one of the air intake check valve and the air release check valve is placed in the insole (figs. 5, 5A; paras. 0074-0075) such that the open/close hole thereof penetrates the base member in a direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the insole (see fig. 6 and annotated figs. 5, 5A), and the open/close hole is an elongated hole (see fig. 5-6, 9-9C) extending in a lateral direction in a front view of such one of the air intake check valve and the air release check valve (see figs. 6, 9, 9C and annotated figs. 5, 5A), wherein the valve element (flap 77; figs. 9-9C) of at least one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve is a plate body (as being a flap; figs. 9, 9C) that is extending in the lateral direction in the front view of such one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve (see figs. 9-9C and annotated figs. 5, 5A), and wherein the valve element of at least one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve comprises either one end of a left end or a right end joined with the base member (at a left or right end of inner sleeve 76; figs. 8-8A, 9-9C; para. 0074), and is configured to open and close the open/close hole in the lateral direction (figs. 9-9C, and annotated figs. 5, 5A; paras. 0074-0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the insole as disclosed by Makoto, with wherein the air intake check valve includes a base member provided with an open/close hole formed therein and a valve element controlled to open and close the open/close hole, the air release check valve includes a base member provided with an open/close hole formed therein and a valve element controlled to open and close the open/close hole, at least one of the air intake check valve and the air release check valve is placed in the insole such that the open/close hole penetrates the base member in a direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the insole, wherein the open/close hole is an elongated hole extending in a lateral direction in a front view of such one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve, wherein the valve element of at least one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve is a plate body that is extending in the lateral direction in the front view of such one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve, and wherein the valve element of at least one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve comprises either one end of a left end or a right end joined with the base member, and is configured to open and close the open/close hole in the lateral direction, as taught by Chou, in order to use alternative suitable check valves for easy control of air intake and air release when the insole is in use.
Regarding claim 3, Makoto and Chou, in combination, disclose the insole according to claim 2. Chou further teaches wherein the left and right ends of the air intake check valve and the air release check valve are respectively fixed in an air intake valve mounting groove (first tunnel 24 adjoining entry conduit 50; figs. 5A, 9; para. 0074) and an air release valve mounting groove (second tunnel 24 adjoining exit conduit 60; figs. 5A, 9; para. 0074) formed in the insole, and at least part of a joint region (see fig. 5A) of the valve element and the base member is fit in the air intake valve mounting groove or the air release valve mounting groove (see fig. 5A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the insole as disclosed by Makoto, with wherein the left and right ends of the air intake check valve and the air release check valve are respectively fixed in an air intake valve mounting groove and an air release valve mounting groove formed in the insole, and at least part of a joint region of the valve element that is long in the lateral direction and the base member is fit in the air intake valve mounting groove or the air release valve mounting groove as taught by Chou, in order to use a suitable configuration to secure the air intake check valve and the air release check valve inside the insole.
Regarding claim 4, Makoto and Chou, in combination, disclose the insole according to claim 1. Chou further teaches wherein the base member (sleeves 74, 76; figs. 9-9C) of at least one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve is a plate body (see figs. 6, 9) that is long in the lateral direction (see figs. 6, 9), and comprises a plate surface placed in the thickness direction of the insole (see figs. 5A, 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the insole as disclosed by Makoto, with wherein the base member of at least one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve is a plate body that is long in the lateral direction, and comprises a plate surface placed in the thickness direction of the insole as taught by Chou, in order to use a suitable configuration of the base member of the air intake check valve and the air release check valve.
Regarding claim 5, Makoto and Chou, in combination, disclose claim 1, and Makoto further discloses wherein the pump chamber or the pump groove portion is formed as an area from a heel location to a location of base of toes (see figs. 1-2), wherein the air intake check valve is placed behind the pump chamber or the pump groove portion (see figs. 1-2), and wherein the air release check valve is placed in front of the pump chamber or the pump groove portion (see figs. 1-2).
Makoto does not disclose wherein the base member of the air intake check valve and of the air release check valve is a plate body and is placed, such that the open/close hole of the air intake check valve and of the air release check valve penetrates the base member in a front-rear direction of the insole. However, Chou teaches wherein the base member (sleeves 74, 76; figs. 9-9C) of the air intake check valve and of the air release check valve is a plate-like body (see figs. 6, 9) and is placed, such that the open/close hole of the air intake check valve and of the air release check valve penetrates the base member in a front-rear direction of the insole (see figs. 6, 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the insole as disclosed by Makoto, with wherein the base member of the air intake check valve and of the air release check valve is a plate body and is placed, such that the open/close hole of the air intake check valve and of the air release check valve penetrates the base member in a front-rear direction of the insole as taught by Chou, in order to use a suitable configuration of the air intake check valve and the air release check valve for easy control of air intake and air release when the insole is in use.
Regarding claim 9, Makoto and Chou, in combination, disclose the insole according to claim 5, and Makoto further discloses wherein the air release check valve (air release valve 3; figs. 1-2) located laterally outward from a center in a width direction of the insole (see fig. 1).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makoto (JP S5618703 U) and Chou (US 2013/0067766 A1) and further in view of Rosenberg (US 4,590,689 A).
Regarding claim 6, Makoto and Chou, in combination, disclose the insole according to claim 1, and Makoto further discloses wherein when the insole includes the pump groove portion (see figs. 1-2), the insole further comprises a main body plate (main body 1; page 1; figs. 1-2); wherein
the main body plate is provided with an air intake valve mounting groove (see figs. 1-2) and an air release valve mounting groove (see figs. 1-2) formed to mount the air intake check valve and the air release check valve thereto (see figs. 1-2), as well as the pump groove portion (see figs. 1-2), and
wherein at least part of the air release path (between air release valve 3 and release hole 5; figs. 1-2; page 1) is formed as an area surrounded by an air release path groove portion (release hole 5; figs. 1-2) formed in the upper face of the main body plate (figs. 1-2).
Makoto does not disclose the insole comprising a cover plate that is laid on at least part of an upper face of the main body plate, wherein the area forming the at least part of the air release path comprises a lower surface of the cover plate. However, Rosenberg, in an analogous art, teaches an insole with ventilatory function (insole 20; fig. 1; col. 1, ll. 64-68) comprising a main body plate (resilient foam member 33; fig. 3; col. 2, ll. 16-19), the insole further comprising a cover plate (top sheet 21; figs. 1, 3; col. 1, ll. 64-68; col. 2, ll. 1-6) that is laid on at least part of an upper face of the main body plate (figs. 1, 3), wherein an area forming the at least part of the an air release path comprises a lower surface of the cover plate (the top sheet 21 and a bottom sheet 23 forming a compartment enclosing the resilient foam member 33, the top sheet comprising holes 26 to release air from the compartment; fig. 3; col. 2, ll. 6-21; col. 3, ll. 9-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the insole as disclosed by Makoto, with the insole comprising a cover plate that is laid on at least part of an upper face of the main body plate, wherein the area forming the at least part of the air release path comprises a lower surface of the cover plate as taught by Rosenberg, in order to provide an insole with a cover layer capable of absorbing perspiration (Rosenberg; col. 2, ll. 3-6).
Regarding claim 7, Makoto, Chou and Rosenberg, in combination, disclose the insole according to claim 6. Makoto does not disclose the insole further comprising a base plate that is laid under the main body plate. However, Rosenberg teaches the insole further comprising a base plate (bottom sheet 23; figs. 2-3; col. 2, ll. 64-68) that is laid under the main body plate (figs. 2-3; col. 2, ll. 64-68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the insole as disclosed by Makoto, with the insole further comprising a base plate that is laid under the main body plate as taught by Rosenberg, in order to cooperate with the cover plate to form a ventilatory compartment; therefore, the insole is capable of independently performing ventilatory functional without cooperating with another suitable shoe sole (Makoto; page 1).
Status of Claims
Claim 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is allowed due to a similar reason as discussed in the previous office action mailed 11/04/2025.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied as necessitated by the amendment. Further, Applicant's arguments filed on 01/23/2026 have been fully considered and addressed as follows.
Applicant's remarks: Applicant asserts that Chou does not teach or suggest "wherein the open/close hole is an elongated hole extending in a lateral direction in a front view of such one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve" as required in claim 1.
Examiner's response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. To facilitate understanding of Chou's teaching, Figs. 5-5A of Chou are annotated and enclosed below to show the thickness direction and lateral direction and the shape of the open-close hole 75. The annotated figures clearly show that the valve 70 includes the open-close hole 75 as an elongated hole extending in a lateral direction in a front view. Therefore, Chou's teaching meets the claimed requirement and Applicant's argument is not persuasive.
Applicant's remarks: Applicant asserts that Chou does not teach or suggest "wherein the valve element of at least one of the air intake check valve or the air release check valve comprises either one end of a left end or a right end joined with the base member, and is configured to open and close the open/close hole in the lateral direction" as required in claim 1.
Examiner's response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Chou, Figs. 7-9C show that valve element 77 comprises a left or right end joined with the base member 74, 76, and is configured to open and close the open/close hole 75 in the lateral direction. See annotated Fig. 9B. In addition, the claim requires "joined with the base member", not "fixed with the valve member". Figs. 7A and 8A show the valve element 77 being "joined" with the base member at an upper end, but the upper end is also a left end of the valve element 77 at an open position. Therefore, Chou's teaching meets the claimed requirement and Applicant's argument is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIYING ZHAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732