DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to application 18/911,335 filed on October 10, 2024. Claims 1-12 are pending in the application and have been examined by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on October 10, 2024 was received and has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okuzawa et al. (US 2016/0079295).
Consider claim 1, Okuzawa et al. teaches:
An image sensor (image pickup element, 302, figure 3, see figure 2, paragraphs 0027 and 0046) comprising:
a plurality of microlenses (Each first pixel (201), second pixel (202) and third pixel (203) share a microlens, paragraph 0047, figure 2.) arranged in a matrix in a first direction (i.e. horizontal direction in figure 2) and a second direction (i.e. vertical direction in figure 2) orthogonal to the first direction (see figure 2); and
a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) provided for each microlens (see figure 2, paragraphs 0047, 0031 and 0032) of at least some of the plurality of microlenses (e.g. for half of the plurality of microlenses, see figure 2) and configured to perform photoelectric conversion on light that has entered the photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) via the each microlens (see paragraphs 0047, 0031 and 0032),
wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) are arranged in at least one direction of the first direction and the second direction for the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (The photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) are arranged in both the horizontal and vertical directions of figure 2.), and
wherein, in a case where influence of noise superimposed on signals read out from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units is greater in the second direction than in the first direction, the electric charge crosstalk rate between the plurality of photoelectric conversion units in the first direction is made higher than the electric charge crosstalk rate in the second direction (The electric charge crosstalk rate among photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) in the horizontal direction of figure 2 is always made higher than the electric charge crosstalk rate in the vertical direction of figure 2, as boundary 110a allows electric charge crosstalk in the horizontal direction, whereas boundary 120a prevents electric charge crosstalk in the vertical direction, paragraphs 0047, 0048, 0034, 0035, 0040-0042, 0045, 0051-0055 and figure 5. Since this is always the case, this includes any time in which influence of noise superimposed on signals read out from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units is greater in the second direction than in the first direction.).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Okuzawa et al. further teaches that the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are two photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction or the second direction (e.g. 201 and 202 of figure 2, or 201 and 203 of figure 2, paragraphs 0047, 0048 and 0031-0035).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, Okuzawa et al. further teaches that the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are four photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction and the second direction (see figures 1 and 2, paragraphs 0047, 0048 and 0032-0035).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Okuzawa et al. further teaches that impurity concentration of a separation area (110a) that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202) arranged in the first direction (i.e. horizontal direction in figure 2) is set lower than impurity concentration of a separation area (120a) that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 203) arranged in the second direction (i.e. vertical direction in figure 2), see paragraphs 0042, 0044 and 0045.
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Okuzawa et al. further teaches that a width of a separation area (110a) that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202) arranged in the first direction (i.e. horizontal direction in figure 2) is set smaller than a width of a separation area (120a) that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 203) arranged in the second direction (i.e. vertical direction in figure 2), see paragraph 0045.
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Okuzawa et al. further teaches an output unit (signal processor, 306, figure 3) that converts the an electric charge obtained through photoelectric conversion by the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions into a signal and outputs the signal, wherein the output unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (“Reference numeral 306 denotes a signal processor which performs various kinds of signal processings for the added signal output from the image signal adding portion 305. The signal processor 306 outputs the image data, obtained by performing various kinds of signal processings, as a shot image.” paragraph 0027).
Consider claim 9, Okuzawa et al. teaches:
An image sensor (image pickup element, 302, figure 3, see figure 2, paragraphs 0027 and 0046) comprising:
a plurality of microlenses (Each first pixel (201), second pixel (202) and third pixel (203) share a microlens, paragraph 0047, figure 2.) arranged in a matrix in a first direction (i.e. horizontal direction in figure 2) and a second direction (i.e. vertical direction in figure 2) orthogonal to the first direction (see figure 2); and
a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) provided for each microlens (see figure 2, paragraphs 0047, 0031 and 0032) of at least some of the plurality of microlenses (e.g. for half of the plurality of microlenses, see figure 2) and configured to perform photoelectric conversion on light that has entered the photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) via the each microlens (see paragraphs 0047, 0031 and 0032),
wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) are arranged in at least one direction of the first direction and the second direction for the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (The photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) are arranged in both the horizontal and vertical directions of figure 2.), and
wherein a number of the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is larger than a number of the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (For instance, in the middle row of figure 8A, there are twelve red photoelectric conversion portions (i.e. a number of the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction), whereas in the leftmost column of figure 8A, there are only four red photoelectric conversion portions (i.e. a number of the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction), paragraphs 0064 and 0066.),
and the electric charge crosstalk rate between the plurality of photoelectric conversion units in the first direction is made higher than the electric charge crosstalk rate in the second direction (The electric charge crosstalk rate among photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) in the horizontal direction of figure 2 is always made higher than the electric charge crosstalk rate in the vertical direction of figure 2, as boundary 110a allows electric charge crosstalk in the horizontal direction, whereas boundary 120a prevents electric charge crosstalk in the vertical direction, paragraphs 0047, 0048, 0034, 0035, 0040-0042, 0045, 0051-0055 and figure 5. Since this is always the case, this includes any time in which influence of noise superimposed on signals read out from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units is greater in the second direction than in the first direction.).
Consider claim 11, Okuzawa et al. teaches:
An image capture apparatus (figure 3) comprising:
an image sensor (image pickup element, 302, figure 3, see figure 2, paragraphs 0027 and 0046) comprising:
a plurality of microlenses (Each first pixel (201), second pixel (202), and third pixel (203) share a microlens, paragraph 0047, figure 2.) arranged in a matrix in a first direction (i.e. horizontal direction in figure 2) and a second direction (i.e. vertical direction in figure 2) orthogonal to the first direction (see figure 2); and
a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) provided for each microlens (see figure 2, paragraphs 0047, 0031 and 0032) of at least some of the plurality of microlenses (e.g. for half of the plurality of microlenses, see figure 2) and configured to perform photoelectric conversion on light that has entered the photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) via the each microlens (see paragraphs 0047, 0031 and 0032), and
a processing unit (e.g. correlation calculating portion, 309, figure 3, paragraph 0028) that processes signals output from the image sensor (The correlation calculating portion (309) is “a processor” (paragraph 0028) and performs a correlation calculation on image signals output from the image sensor, paragraphs 0036 and 0055.),
wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) are arranged in at least one direction of the first direction and the second direction for the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (The photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) are arranged in both the horizontal and vertical directions of figure 2.),
wherein, in a case where influence of noise superimposed on signals read out from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units is greater in the second direction than in the first direction, the electric charge crosstalk rate between the plurality of photoelectric conversion units in the first direction is made higher than the electric charge crosstalk rate in the second direction (The electric charge crosstalk rate among photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) in the horizontal direction of figure 2 is always made higher than the electric charge crosstalk rate in the vertical direction of figure 2, as boundary 110a allows electric charge crosstalk in the horizontal direction, whereas boundary 120a prevents electric charge crosstalk in the vertical direction, paragraphs 0047, 0048, 0034, 0035, 0040-0042, 0045, 0051-0055 and figure 5. Since this is always the case, this includes any time in which influence of noise superimposed on signals read out from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units is greater in the second direction than in the first direction.), and
wherein the processing unit (309) is implemented by one or more processors (“a processor”, paragraph 0028).
Consider claim 12, and as applied to claim 11 above, Okuzawa et al. further teaches that the processing unit (309) performs on-imaging plane phase difference focus detection based on the signals (i.e. by performing correlation calculation in the horizontal and/or vertical directions, paragraphs 0036 and 0055).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuzawa et al. (US 2016/0079295) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2024/0186357).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 1 above, Okuzawa et al. teaches that crosstalk between photoelectric conversion units is made higher in the first direction than the second direction (see claim 1 rationale).
Takahashi et al. similarly teaches an image sensor (figure 1) comprising a pixel (figure 4) having a plurality of photoelectric conversion units (101, 102, paragraphs 0089 and 0090) separated by an overflow path (107, see figure 4, paragraphs 0089, 0093 and 0100).
However, Takahashi et al. additionally teaches an electrode (pixel isolation electrode, 108) for controlling a potential of the separation area (107) that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (101, 102, paragraphs 0089, 0093 and 0101), wherein a potential of a separation area (107) that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (101, 102) arranged in the first direction is set lower than a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (“By applying the negative second bias voltage to the in-pixel isolation electrode 108, the potential barrier of the overflow path 107 can be adjusted. For example, by applying the second bias voltage of −0.5 V to the in-pixel isolation electrode 108, the potential barrier of the overflow path 107 can be lowered. It is possible to mutually transfer charges between the photoelectric conversion units 101 and 102.” paragraph 0134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an electrode for applying a lower potential as taught by Takahashi et al. to the boundary between photoelectric conversion units arranged in the horizontal direction that by Okuzawa et al. as this only involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results such as enabling charge transfer between photoelectric conversion units (Takahashi et al., paragraph 0134).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is allowed.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Consider claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that in the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction, a potential gradient from a side on which light is incident to an area in which an electric charge obtained through photoelectric conversion is accumulated is made more moderate than a potential gradient in the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction, in combination with the other elements recited in parent claim 1.
Consider claim 10, the closest prior art, Okuzawa et al. (US 2016/0079295) teaches:
An image sensor (image pickup element, 302, figure 3, see figure 2, paragraphs 0027 and 0046) comprising:
a plurality of microlenses (Each first pixel (201), second pixel (202) and third pixel (203) share a microlens, paragraph 0047, figure 2.) arranged in a matrix in a first direction (i.e. horizontal direction in figure 2) and a second direction (i.e. vertical direction in figure 2) orthogonal to the first direction (see figure 2); and
a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) provided for each microlens (see figure 2, paragraphs 0047, 0031 and 0032) of at least some of the plurality of microlenses (e.g. for half of the plurality of microlenses, see figure 2) and configured to perform photoelectric conversion on light that has entered the photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) via the each microlens (see paragraphs 0047, 0031 and 0032),
wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) are arranged in at least one direction of the first direction and the second direction for the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (The photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) are arranged in both the horizontal and vertical directions of figure 2.),
and the electric charge crosstalk rate between the plurality of photoelectric conversion units in the first direction is made higher than the electric charge crosstalk rate in the second direction (The electric charge crosstalk rate among photoelectric conversion portions (201, 202, 203) in the horizontal direction of figure 2 is always made higher than the electric charge crosstalk rate in the vertical direction of figure 2, as boundary 110a allows electric charge crosstalk in the horizontal direction, whereas boundary 120a prevents electric charge crosstalk in the vertical direction, paragraphs 0047, 0048, 0034, 0035, 0040-0042, 0045, 0051-0055 and figure 5. Since this is always the case, this includes any time in which influence of noise superimposed on signals read out from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units is greater in the second direction than in the first direction.).
However, the prior art of record does not teach nor reasonably suggest that lengths of wirings from diffusion layers constituting the floating diffusion portions corresponding to the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction to the charge-to-voltage conversion portion is shorter than lengths of wirings from diffusion layers constituting the floating diffusion portions corresponding to the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction to the charge-to-voltage conversion portion, in combination with the other elements recited in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuizumi et al. (US 2017/0263664) teaches a split-pixel image sensor (figure 1) having larger separation regions between photoelectric conversion portions (102, 103, 104, 105) in one direction than in an orthogonal direction (see figure 1A).
Shiraishi et al. (US 2020/0235149) teaches using an electrode to adjust a potential gradient between photoelectric conversion portions (see figures 41 and 42, paragraphs 0374-0385).
Ikeda et al. (US 2020/0176490) teaches forming an electric potential gradient to reduce crosstalk (see paragraph 0061).
Asahi et al. (US 2024/0163587) teaches controlling crosstalk by adjusting a potential applied to a region between photoelectric conversion portions (see figures 6A-6C, paragraphs 0140-0144).
Yamashita et al. (US 11,523,078) teaches split pixels having overflow portions (OF) in only one direction (see figures 16B, 16C and 20-29).
/ALBERT H CUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637