Claim Objections
2. Claims 1, 2, 3 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In limitation 2 of claim 1, the words ‘between a network device and a UE’ need to be changed into the words ‘between the network device and a UE’, as the word ‘network device’ is already recited in limitation 1 of the claim 1.
For claim 2, the word ‘NCR-MT’ in the limitation needs to be expanded.
In claims 3 & 15, the words ‘device according to claim 1’ need to be changed into the words ‘repeater according to claim 1’ as the word ‘repeater’ is recited in parent claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-7, 10, 12-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Abedini et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0053486 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Abedini et al. teach a repeater (see Abstract and Figures 9/10/18 for repeater) comprising: communication processor circuitry (see Fig.9, block 908/MT inside repeater & Fig.18, processor 1804 inside repeater) configured to communicate with a network device (see Fig.9, BS/network device) to receive control information (see para [0219] wherein a wireless repeater device controlled by a base station for receiving control signaling comprising control information and configuring a relay unit of the repeater device, is mentioned and also see para [0216]); and forwarding processor circuitry (see Fig.9 , block 910 for RU & also see Fig.18, blocks 1806/1810 inside repeater) configured to perform amplifying-and-forwarding of UL and/or DL RF signals between a network device and a UE (see para [0178] wherein the smart repeater device combining the “amplify and forward” aspects of a Layer-1 relay with enhancements of at least some of the functionality provided by upper layers of upper levels, is mentioned and also see Fig.19C & para [0216] wherein the traffic flows/RF signals through the repeater device 1902 between the base station 1901 and a wireless communication device 1904/UE, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0145] & [0152]), wherein the control information is received according to a repeater-specific identifier and/or a C-RNTI of the repeater (see para [0229] wherein the repeater device demasking the control information by descrambling a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the control information with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the repeater device, is mentioned and also the RNTI being designated to uniquely identify the repeater device and associate the repeater device with a relay of the control (e.g., control information, control signaling, control messaging) and the traffic (e.g., user data, user signaling) between the base station and between wireless communication device/UE, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 2, Abedini et al. further teach the repeater according to claim 1, wherein, the repeater is a network-controlled repeater and the communication processor circuitry is NCR-MT (see para [0137] wherein to facilitate wireless communication between the base station 802 and the UEs (e.g., the UE 812) served by the base station 802, the repeater device 808 being configured to operate as a scheduled entity & the repeater device 808 including a mobile termination (MT) unit 818 to enable scheduled entity functionality, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 3, Abedini et al. further teach the device/repeater according to claim 1, wherein the repeater-specific identifier is configured via signaling (see para [0229] wherein the repeater device demasking the control information by descrambling a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the control information with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the repeater device, is mentioned and also the RNTI being designated to uniquely identify the repeater device and associate the repeater device with a relay of the control (e.g., control information, control signaling, control messaging) and the traffic (e.g., user data, user signaling) between the base station and between wireless communication device/UE, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 4, Abedini et al. further teach the repeater according to claim 1, wherein the communication processor circuitry receives the control information via a control link and the control link is based on Uu interface (see para [0221] wherein the repeater device and the base station establishing a link between the repeater device and the base station over a Uu radio interface (e.g., a 5G Uu interface) between the base station and the repeater device, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 5, Abedini et al. further teach the repeater according to claim 1, wherein, the control information is used for indicating beams of the repeater towards the UE, and/or, indicating the repeater to perform amplifying-and-forwarding of UL or DL RF signals (see para [0148] wherein the RU 1002 includes an amplifier 1010 for amplifying signals received via the receive array 1004 and transmitting the amplified signals via the transmit array 1006 towards UE, is mentioned and also see para [0159] wherein the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 identifying the beams they will use to communicate with each other and in addition, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 may exchange configuration information, capability information and other control information, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 6, Abedini et al. further teach the repeater according to claim 1, wherein the communication processor circuitry is further configured to acquire the repeater-specific identifier and/or the C-RNTI from the network device (see para [0229] wherein the repeater device demasking the control information by descrambling a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the control information with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the repeater device, is mentioned and also the RNTI being designated to uniquely identify the repeater device and associate the repeater device with a relay of the control (e.g., control information, control signaling, control messaging) and the traffic (e.g., user data, user signaling) between the base station and between wireless communication device/UE, is mentioned and also see para [0199] wherein the same beam that is used by the MT to receive a DCI (RU-RNTI) (i.e., a DCI scrambled by an RU-RNTI) being used for the configured operation of the RU for DL forwarding, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 7, Abedini et al. further teach the repeater according to claim 1, wherein beams of the repeater towards the UE are identified by beam indexes (see para [0038] wherein the repeater device obtaining fronthaul-link transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indexes and access-link TCI state indexes, is mentioned and also see para [0231] wherein for both access-link and fronthaul-link TCI states, an active TCI state being associated with multiple beam identifiers (or indexes) and, for the access-link, the multiple beam identifiers being realized in connection with a relay unit (RU) of a repeater device, is mentioned, all of which is equivalent to having “beams of the repeater towards the UE being identified by beam indexes”).
Regarding claim 10, Abedini et al. further teach the repeater according to claim 7, wherein, the control information indicates beams of the repeater towards the UE based on the beam indexes (see para [0038] wherein the repeater device obtaining fronthaul-link transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indexes and access-link TCI state indexes, is mentioned and also see para [0231] wherein for both access-link and fronthaul-link TCI states, an active TCI state being associated with multiple beam identifiers (or indexes) and, for the access-link, the multiple beam identifiers being realized in connection with a relay unit (RU) of a repeater device (that includes beams of the repeater towards the UE based on the beam indexes), is mentioned).
Regarding claim 12, Abedini et al. further teach the repeater according to claim 1, wherein, the control information is dedicated to the repeater (see para [0219] wherein a wireless repeater device controlled by a base station for receiving control signaling comprising control information and configuring a relay unit of the repeater device, is mentioned and also see para [0229]).
Regarding claim 13, Abedini et al. further teach the repeater according to claim 1, wherein, the control information is included in RRC signaling or MAC CE or DCI (see para [0229] wherein validating the CRC according to such a procedure allowing the repeater device to conclude that a DCI having a CRC masked with the RNTI of the repeater device was intended for the repeater device, is mentioned and also see para [0230] wherein the control information may be received as at least one of: a downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, is mentioned ).
Regarding claim 14, Abedini et al. further teach the repeater according to claim 13, wherein CRC bits for the DCI is scrambled by the repeater-specific identifier (see para [0229] wherein the repeater device demasking the control information by descrambling a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the control information with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the repeater device and validating the CRC according to such a procedure allowing the repeater device to conclude that a DCI having a CRC masked with the RNTI of the repeater device was intended for the repeater device, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 15, Abedini et al. further teach the device/repeater according to claim 1, wherein the communication processor circuitry is further configured to transmit preamble and/or MsgA and/or measurement report and/or ACK/NACK to the network device (see para [0109] wherein generating and transmitting a beam measurement report, including the respective beam index and beam measurement of each downlink transmit beam 606a-606h on each downlink receive beam 608a-608e to the base station/network device, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 16, Abedini et al. teach a network device (see Abstract and Figures 9/21 for base station/network device) comprising: a transmitter (see Fig. 21, transceiver 2110 inside BS) configured to transmit control information to a repeater (see Fig. 9, repeater 904 and see para [0144] wherein the base station 902 communicating/transmitting control information to the UE 906 via the repeater device 904, is mentioned and also see para [0219] wherein the wireless repeater device controlled by base station for receiving control signaling comprising control information, is mentioned and also see para [0216]), wherein the control information is transmitted according to C-RNTI and/or a repeater-specific identifier of the repeater (see para [0229] wherein the repeater device demasking the control information by descrambling a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the control information from base station with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the repeater device, is mentioned and also the RNTI being designated to uniquely identify the repeater device and associate the repeater device with a relay of the control (e.g., control information, control signaling, control messaging) between the base station and between wireless communication device/UE, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 17, Abedini et al. further teach the network device according to claim 16, wherein, the control information is included in RRC signaling or MAC CE or DCI (see para [0230] wherein the control information may be received as at least one of: a downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or a radio resource control (RRC) configuration, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 18, Abedini et al. further teach the network device according to claim 17, wherein, CRC bits for the DCI is scrambled by the repeater-specific identifier (see para [0229] wherein the repeater device demasking the control information by descrambling a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the control information with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the repeater device and validating the CRC according to such a procedure allowing the repeater device to conclude that a DCI having a CRC masked with the RNTI of the repeater device was intended for the repeater device, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 20, Abedini et al. teach a communication system (see Abstract and Fig.9), comprising: a repeater (see Fig. 9, repeater 904 and also see Fig.18 for repeater); and a network device (see Fig.9, base station/network device) configured to communicate with repeater (see para [0144] wherein the base station 902 communicating/transmitting control information to the UE 906 via the repeater device 904, is mentioned), and
the repeater comprising: communication processor circuitry (see Fig.18, processor 1804 inside repeater) configured to communicate with the network device to receive control information (see para [0219] wherein wireless repeater device controlled by a base station for receiving control signaling comprising control information and configuring a relay unit of the repeater device, is mentioned and also see para [0216]), the control information being received according to a repeater-specific identifier and/or a C-RNTI of the repeater (see para [0229] wherein the repeater device demasking the control information by descrambling a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the control information with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) of the repeater device, is mentioned and also the RNTI being designated to uniquely identify the repeater device and associate the repeater device with a relay of the control (e.g., control information, control signaling, control messaging) and the traffic (e.g., user data, user signaling) between the base station and between wireless communication device/UE, is mentioned), and forwarding processor circuitry (see Fig.18, blocks 1806/1810 inside repeater) configured to perform amplifying-and-forwarding of UL and/or DL RF signals between the network device and a UE (see para [0178] wherein the smart repeater device combining the “amplify and forward” aspects of a Layer-1 relay with enhancements of at least some of the functionality provided by upper layers of upper levels, is mentioned and also see Fig.19C & para [0216] wherein the traffic flows/RF signals through the repeater device 1902 between the base station 1901 and a wireless communication device 1904/UE, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0145] & [0152]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0053486 A1) in view of CHOI et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0213058 A1).
Regarding claims 8 & 9, Abedini et al. teach the repeater according to claim 7.
Abedini et al. is silent in teaching the repeater according to claim 7, wherein, a pair of a transmission beam and a reception beam use a same beam index and wherein, transmission beams and reception beams are one-to-one mapping.
However, CHOI et al. teach a repeater (see Abstract and Fig.1), wherein, a pair of a transmission beam and a reception beam use a same beam index (see para [0085] wherein the base station/repeater having received a beam measurement (BM) report including a terminal beam set index may simultaneously use beams corresponding to base station beam identifiers (IDs) having the same set index to transmit or receive a signal with the terminal, is mentioned) and wherein, transmission beams and reception beams are one-to-one mapping (see para [0085] wherein the base station/repeater having received a beam measurement (BM) report including a terminal beam set index may simultaneously use beams corresponding to base station beam identifiers (IDs) having the same set index to transmit or receive a signal with the terminal, is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above repeater of Abedini et al. to have a pair of a transmission beam and a reception beam using a same beam index and also to have, transmission beams and reception beams having one-to-one mapping, disclosed by CHOI et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently transmitting information on a configuration of a control channel using a plurality of transmission beams in wireless communication system.
7. Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0053486 A1) in view of KUSASHIMA et al. (US Pub. No: 2024/0022315 A1).
Regarding claims 11 & 19, Abedini et al. teach the repeater/network device according to claims 1/16, respectively.
Abedini et al. is silent in teaching the repeater/network device according to claims 1/16, wherein, the control information is carried by a physical channel, the C-RNTI is used for scrambling of bits transmitted on the physical channel prior to modulation.
However, KUSASHIMA et al. teach a repeater/network device (see Abstract and Fig.3) wherein, the control information is carried by a physical channel, the C-RNTI is used for scrambling of bits transmitted on the physical channel prior to modulation (see para [0274] wherein the CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or by RNTI dedicated to the smart repeater (e.g., Smart Repeater (SR)-RNTI) is preferably added to the DCI transmitted to the repeater device 30, is mentioned and also see para [0312]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above repeater/network device of Abedini et al. to have the control information being carried by a physical channel, the C-RNTI is used for scrambling of bits transmitted on the physical channel prior to modulation, disclosed by KUSASHIMA et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a communication device for efficiently controlling a beam used for communication between the communication device and a terminal device based on the beam information in wireless communication system.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KUANG et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0163103 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a sidelink scheduling method, user equipment and a network device in the communications field.
FEHRENBACH et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0092685 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to communication between one or more user equipments within a radio cell served by a base station of a wireless communication network.
9. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 7/15/2026