DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that the claim term: “single internal trimodal transfer switch”, while not appearing to be a standard term of art nor defined by Applicant’s Specification, will be presently understood as referring to a single 3 port toggle switch selectively connecting one of three input terminals to an output terminal, as seen in Applicant’s Figs. 1, 2a-b, in light of Applicant’s remarks. Applicant is generally advised to consider more standard circuit switch terms, such as a triple-throw transfer switch or similar descriptions of the 3 input ports selectively connected to output port, but nevertheless the term will be understood as referring to the particular switch structure shown in the corresponding Figures.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12, 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 1, Applicant’s amended limitation reciting “one or more communication channels, each communicatively coupling at least one of the one or more UPSs with another one of the one or more UPSs and with the catcher system” would appear to effectively require that there be a plurality of UPSs to allow one to be coupled to another one, which in turn would potentially conflict with there being only “one or more UPSs”. The claims should therefore be amended to be consistent with the intended scope. If the claim intends to require the one or more communication channels to couple two UPSs together, then a plurality of UPSs rather than one or more UPSs should be introduced and required to begin with, and consistent reference be made thereafter. If the claim intends to only broadly require one or more UPSs, then it is recommended the limitation be amended back to only require connection between UPSs in the alternative (i.e. recite “and/or
Re claims 1 and 16, as drafted the limitation: “wherein the single internal trimodal switch directly connects the one or more UPSs with the catcher system for communication” is somewhat confusing as to what meaning “for communication” is meant to have in this context. Applicant’s disclosure shows electrical connection between each UPSs internal transfer switch and the catcher UPS to receive power therefrom, and generally discloses communication between the UPSs and the Catcher UPS for coordinating control, but the claim recitation does not make clear what feature is intended to be referred to. Applicant should rephrase the claims to be consistent with the supporting disclosure and avoid confusion between electrical connections and communications over the communication channel. The claims are understood as only requiring the single internal trimodal switch to be directly connected with the catcher system UPS until further clarification is provided.
Re claim 12, the claim should be amended: “wherein the power supply system comprises a common communication channel” to keep reference consistent and avoid potential antecedent basis issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 6, the scope of the claim is indefinite because as presently understood it recites contradictory limitations, requiring a “single internal trimodal transfer switch” (see claim interpretation above) to have “a plurality of switches”. If Applicant intends to limit the scope of claim 1 to embodiments using only a single switch, then the limitations of claim 6 which are associated with another exclusive embodiment cannot simultaneously apply. It is recommended Applicant cancel claim 6 if intended for claim 1 to be directed exclusively to embodiments where the multiport transfer switch is implemented as only a single switch. For purposes of examination, claim 6 will be interpreted as not further limiting until appropriate clarification is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colombi (US2019/0393720) in view of Navarro (US2014/0097680), further in view of Liao (US2016/0126788).
Re claim 1. Colombi teaches a power supply system (see Colombi: Figs. 3-4; Note Colombi: [0026] appears to have a typographical error, and is understood as intending to state that components of architecture 300 are substantially similar to components of architecture 100 unless otherwise indicated), comprising:
one or more uninterruptible power supplies (UPSs) (UPSs <102>, see Colombi: [0026-0027], Figs. 3-4);
a catcher system comprising a catcher UPS (catcher UPS <112>, see Colombi: [0027], Fig. 3);
one or more communication channels (first communications channel <302>, see Colombi: [0027], [0040-0043], Figs. 3-4 regarding communication channels between each UPS and with catcher UPS), each communicatively coupling at least one of the one or more UPSs with another one of the one or more UPSs and with the catcher system; and
one or more loads (respective load <104> corresponding to Nth UPS, see Colombi: [0013], [0026], Fig. 3), each associated with at least one of the one or more UPSs;
wherein each of the one or more UPSs comprise a converter (respective power processing unit <206>, see Colombi: [0018], [0026], Figs. 3-4), a controller (respective UPS control unit <310>, see Colombi: [0029], Figs. 3-4), a communication interface (see Colombi: [0027], [0040-0043], Figs. 3-4 regarding each UPS communicating via channel <302> and thereby inherently comprising a corresponding communication interface for the channel) configured to communicate via the one or more communication channels, a power line connecting the one or more UPSs to the catcher system (respective power line between catcher UPS <112> and each respective switch <106>, see Colombi: [0016], [0026], Figs. 3-4; note see discussion below regarding obviousness of UPS incorporating components), and a trimodal transfer switch (respective UPS switch <210> and STS <106> associated with each UPS, see Colombi: [0016], [0018], [0026], [0029], Fig. 3; see discussion below regarding obviousness of UPS incorporating components and particular switch structure), wherein the trimodal switch directly connects the one or more UPSs with the catcher system for communication (see Colombi: [0016, [0018], [0026], Figs. 3-4 regarding respective STS <106> directly connected to receive power from catcher UPS <112>);
wherein each of the one or more UPSs is a multiport uninterruptible power supply (UPS) (note the term appears to be only a name, but see Colombi: Fig. 3 regarding UPS <102> having multiple ports for power connection/communication generally), wherein the trimodal transfer switch is operable to selectively switch between at least a first mode, a second mode, and a third mode of the UPS supplying power to the one or more loads associated with the UPS (see Colombi: [0024], Table 1, Fig. 3 regarding switch state combinations possible);
wherein, in the first mode, power is supplied from a grid (utility connected to UPS input, see Colombi: [0018]) via the converter (power processing unit <206> of respective UPS, see Colombi: [0018], [0024], Table 1, Fig. 3 regarding UPS switch <210> switched to inverter path, STS <106> switched to corresponding UPS <102>) of the UPS,
wherein, in the second mode, power is supplied from the catcher system
wherein, in the third mode, power is supplied from the grid via the UPS bypassing the converter of the UPS (see Colombi: [0017-0018], [0024], Table 1, Fig. 3 regarding bypass path <204> connected to same utility voltage as rectifier-inverter path, and UPS switch <210> switched to bypass path, STS <106> switched to corresponding UPS <102>). See Colombi: [0012-0018], [0024-0031], [0035-0044], Figs. 3-4.
Colombi depicts and labels the corresponding STS <106> and associated power line connecting it to the catcher system UPS as being outside of corresponding UPS <102> (see Colombi: Fig. 3), and thus does not explicitly disclose the UPS comprising the entire trimodal transfer switch (note the designation of what is and is not considered part of the “UPS” is somewhat arbitrary without further structural limitation in the claim under broadest reasonable interpretation as previously discussed), and wherein each of the one or more UPSs is configured such that power from the catcher system is exclusively supplied to the one or more loads via one or more of the UPSs. One of ordinary skill, however, would generally find it obvious to combine the separate STS and power line connection associated with each UPS of Colombi into a single integral apparatus/UPS since it has been held that making integral what the prior art has disclosed as separate components would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice (see MPEP: 2144.04, V, B). One of ordinary skill would appreciate that merely incorporating the STS and UPS into a single structure/housing with corresponding ports and power line connections as needed would not alter the general circuit arrangement and function of the components aside from making the connections internal to a single UPS structure. Navarro, additionally, teaches that it is known in the art of UPS power systems that it is known and desirable for a UPS to comprise/incorporate associated transfer switch components and corresponding power line connection (see Navarro: [0018], [0021-0022], Figs. 1-2 regarding arrangement of Fig. 2 which incorporates transfer switches internally to the UPS frame providing benefit of providing a unitary, discrete assembly configured as a single unit with switches respectively being under control of the UPSs control circuit). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Navarro generally provides suggestion and motivation to incorporate associated external components such as transfer switches and associated power line connection to be part of the UPS structure/enclosure and thus able to be internally controlled by associated UPS controller. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Colombi to incorporate the suggestions of Navarro by having each of Colombi’s UPSs <102> incorporate its respective STS <106> and corresponding portion of power connection to catcher UPS for purposes of providing a unitary apparatus grouping the components together for user’s convenience and predictably providing the same electrical circuit functions. Note the combination would suggest that the switches may be controlled by corresponding one or more controllers of the UPS (see Navarro: [0021]; i.e. external communication channel <304> is unnecessary/internal to the UPS). Note the combination would thereby suggest that in the second mode, power is supplied from the catcher system via the UPS because the UPS comprises the trimodal transfer switch, and therefore also teaches wherein each of the one or more UPSs is configured such that power from the catcher system is exclusively supplied to the one or more loads via one or more of the UPSs (see Colombi: [0015-0016], Figs. 3-4 regarding catcher UPSs <112> only supply power to loads via connection through respective STSs <106> of each UPS <102>; see discussion above regarding UPSs <102> incorporating respective STSs <106>, and thus power is exclusively supplied to load via respective UPS incorporating the respective STS).
Colombi in view of Navarro teaches each UPS implementing a respective trimodal transfer switch using two switches allowing for selective coupling of 3 different inputs including the UPS converter, bypass, and catcher UPS to the load (see Colombi: [0016-0018], [0024], Table 1, Fig. 3), but does not explicitly disclose implementing the trimodal transfer switch using a single internal trimodal transfer switch (see claim interpretation above regarding current understanding of the claim term). Liao, however, teaches that it is known in the art of UPS systems including switching arrangement to selectively connect a load to 3 different input connections for such a switch to be implemented as a “single internal trimodal transfer switch” (<131>, see Liao: [0045-0046], Fig. 8 regarding selector switch <131> which allows selective connection of respective load to three different input arrangements). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a 3-port toggle switch as taught by Liao is a known, equivalent switch structure that would predictably be able to function in the same manner as the pair of switches <210>,<106> of Colombi which are controlled similarly to connect respective UPS load to one of 3 inputs in each mode: the UPS converter, the bypass line, and the catcher UPS. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Colombi in view of Navarro to further incorporate the teachings of Liao by substituting the trimodal switch using pair of switches of Colombi in view of Navarro with the known single internal trimodal switch taught by Liao for purposes of providing a known equivalent selector switch structure for enabling a UPS to connect a load to 3 different power supply paths/inputs (see Colombi: [0016-0018], [0024], Table 1, Fig. 3; Liao: [0045-0046], Fig. 8).
Re claim 3. Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, teaches the power supply system of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more UPSs is configured such that no static transfer switch (STS) for switching between the first mode and the second mode or between the third mode and the second mode is provided between a respective UPS and the one or more loads associated with the respective UPS (see Colombi: [0016-0018], [0024], Figs. 3-4 and discussion of claim 1 above regarding combination having UPSs <102> incorporating respective STSs <106> and implemented with a single trimodal switch, such that there is no additional external STSs between each UPS and its load).
Re claim 4. Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, teaches the power supply system of claim 1, wherein the single internal trimodal transfer switch comprises one or more transistors and/or one or more thyristors (see Colombi: [0018], Figs. 3-4 regarding UPS switches <210> and STSs <106> comprising thyristor switches; note also a static transfer switch/STS inherently uses semiconductor components as well; additionally, Official Notice is hereby taken that a selector switch may be implemented using transistors or thyristors; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the transfer switch of Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, using transistors or thryistors as known switching technology for predictably enabling selective switching circuit).
Re claim 5. Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, teaches the power supply system of claim 1, wherein the single internal trimodal transfer switch of each of the one or more UPSs is controlled by a single controller or by multiple independent controllers (see Navarro: [0021], Fig. 2, Colombi: [0031], Fig. 3, and discussion of claim 1 above regarding combination having one or more controllers in the UPS for controlling switches).
Re claim 6. Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, teaches the power supply system of claim 1, wherein the single internal trimodal transfer switch comprises a plurality of switches, wherein the plurality of switches is controlled by multiple independent controllers (see rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above regarding conflicting limitations; note generally Navarro: [0021], Fig. 2, Colombi: [0016-0018], [0024], [0031], Fig. 3, and discussion of claim 1 above regarding combination having each UPS having respective switches <210>, <106> able to independently switch and forming the multiport transfer switch, and providing one or more controllers in the UPS for controlling/driving switches; it is inherent or implied that each of switches <210>, <106> requires its own respective switch driving/control circuitry, i.e. multiple independent controllers, to enable the different switching configurations of the three modes).
Re claim 12. Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, teaches the power supply system of claim 1, wherein the power supply comprises a common communication channel (communication channel <302>, see Colombi: [0027-0028], [0042-0043], Figs. 3-4 regarding UPSs communicatively coupled together via communication channel <302>), wherein the one or more UPSs are communicatively coupled to each other via the common communication channel (communication channel <302>, see Colombi: [0027-0028], [0042-0043], Figs. 3-4 regarding UPSs communicatively coupled together via communication channel <302>), and/or wherein each of the one or more UPSs is communicatively coupled to the catcher system via the common communication channel so as to provide a redundant communication between a UPS and the catcher system (see Colombi: [0027-0028], [0042-0043], Figs. 3-4 regarding UPSs communicatively coupled to catcher UPS via communication channel <302> via redundant ISMs <402>), and/or wherein the common communication channel is configured for exchanging information comprising at least one of loading of each of the one or more UPSs, status, and synchronization phase angle (see Colombi: [0035-0040], Figs. 3-4 regarding UPSs exchanging loading/capacity information, component failure statuses, and synchronization information).
Re claim 13. Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, teaches the power supply system of claim 1, wherein the one or more UPSs comprise a plurality of UPSs (UPSs <102>, see Colombi: Figs. 3-4) and the power supply system is configured to communicatively couple via the one or more communication channels the plurality of UPSs among each other and with the catcher system so as to allow for the plurality of UPSs to coordinate such that, in case multiple UPSs of the plurality of UPSs fail and the catcher system cannot compensate for all failed UPSs, one or more of the failed UPSs are switched to the third mode (see Colombi: [0027-0028], [0035], [0039], Figs. 3-4 regarding UPSs and catcher UPSs communicatively coupled such that they are capable of communicating and coordinating if catcher UPS is fully loaded such that other UPSs switch to bypass paths/third mode).
Re claim 14. Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, teaches the power supply system of claim 1, wherein the power supply system is configured to automatically switch between the first mode, the second mode, and the third mode so as to optimize overall system efficiency irrespectively of whether a UPS of the one or more UPSs has failed (see Colombi: [0027-0028], [0036-0038], Figs. 3-4 regarding UPSs and catcher UPSs communicatively coupled such that they are capable of communicating and coordinating the modes of the UPSs to continue operating even if some UPS components fail).
Re claim 15. Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, teaches the power supply system of claim 1, wherein the power supply system is configured to supply power to equipment of a data center, and wherein the loads are pieces of equipment of the data center (see Colombi: [0003] regarding UPS power supply system applicable to datacomm/telecom centers and corresponding loads; see also similarly Navarro: [0002]).
Re claim 16. The claim recites a method for operating a power supply system comprising essentially the same components operated in mostly the same manner as recited in claim 1, and therefore is rejected by the same reasoning applied above (see discussion of claim 1 regarding the corresponding limitations and details of combination). Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, further teaches the method comprising:
automatically detecting that at least one of the one or more UPSs has failed (see Colombi: [0036-0038], Figs. 3-4 regarding detecting one or more UPSs have failed components);
in response thereto, the one or more UPSs and the catcher system communicating so as to coordinate in which of the first mode, second mode, and third mode the one or more UPSs should operate (see Colombi: [0035-0040], Figs. 3-4 regarding communicating to coordinate which switch configuration each UPS should use based on the failure and status of other UPSs/catcher UPS in the system); and
each of the one or more UPSs controlling, using a respective controller (see Colombi: [0029-0031], Figs. 3-4, Navarro: [0021], and discussion of claim 1 above regarding each UPS having respective one or more controllers to control its respective switches/components), the respective trimodal transfer switch of each of the one or more UPSs so as to switch to a determined mode unless the UPS is already operating in the determined mode (see Colombi: [0035-0040], Figs. 3-4 regarding each UPS controlling its switch configuration to connect desired input based on the failure and status of other UPSs/catcher UPS in the system to desired configuration). See Colombi: [0012-0018], [0024-0031], [0035-0044], Figs. 3-4; Navarro: [0018], [0021-0022], Figs. 1-2; Liao: [0045-0046], Fig. 8; and discussion of claim 1 above regarding similar limitations and details of combination.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, further in view of Krueger (US2020/0293101).
Re claims 7-8. Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, teaches the power supply system of claim 1, wherein the one or more loads comprise a single corded load having exactly one power supply terminal that is connected to one or more of the UPSs directly; wherein each power supply terminal is connected to an output of the single internal trimodal switch of each of the one or more UPSs to which the power supply terminal is connected (see Colombi: [0016-0018], Figs. 3-4 and discussion of claim 1 above regarding combination having UPSs <102> incorporate respective trimodal switch, such that respectively single corded loads <104> having one power supply terminal are connected to output of trimodal transfer switch directly). Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, does not explicitly teach arrangement using PDUs and single corded loads, although one of ordinary skill in the art of backup power supplies for information technology equipment would recognize that such components and arrangement are generally well-known. Krueger, for example, teaches that it is known in the art of backup power supply systems for data centers for the load to specifically be arranged as a single corded load having exactly one power supply terminal that is connected to one or more of the UPSs directly via a power distribution unit (PDU) (see Krueger: [0028], Fig. 3A regarding loads being supplied by UPSs and/or STSs being single corded loads directly connected via PDU). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, to incorporate the teachings of Krueger by having the respective loads of Colombi implemented as PDU and single-corded load as recited for purposes of providing known power distribution arrangement for datacenter loads predictably allowing power to be distributed to loads at desired voltages via voltage transformation and distribution lines of PDU, and depending on desired amount of power paths/cords for the load (see Krueger: [0028], Fig. 3A). Note the combination results in the single corded load directly connected to the UPSs via PDU since the UPSs <102> incorporate the respective STSs <106> as discussed regarding claim 1.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, further in view of CN112542830A (specific reference is made to attached English machine translation), hereinafter CN830.
Re claims 9-11. Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, teaches the power supply system of claim 1, wherein the one or more loads comprise a power supply terminal that is connected to at least one of the one or more UPSs directly; wherein each power supply terminal is connected to an output of the single internal trimodal transfer switch of each of the one or more UPSs to which the power supply terminal is connected; wherein the one or more loads comprise at least a first load and a second load (see Colombi: [0016-0018], Figs. 3-4 and discussion of claim 1 above regarding combination having UPSs <102> incorporate respective trimodal switch, such that respectively multiple loads <104> are connected to output of trimodal transfer switch directly). Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, does not explicitly teach arrangement using PDUs and dual corded loads, although one of ordinary skill in the art of backup power supplies for information technology equipment would recognize that such components and arrangement are generally well-known. CN830, however, teaches that it is known in the art of backup power supply systems for IT equipment using a dedicated redundant/catcher UPS, wherein the one or more loads comprise a dual corded load having exactly two power supply terminals, each connected to at least one of the one or more UPSs directly via a power distribution unit (PDU); wherein each power supply terminal is connected to an output of the multiport transfer switch of each of the one or more UPSs to which the power supply terminal is connected; wherein the one or more loads comprise at least a first load and a second load, wherein the first load and the second load are dual corded loads (see CN830: [8-9], [36], Fig. 2 regarding known prior art arrangement with redundant UPS R, and dual corded loads connected directly via pair of PDUs to respective UPS and STSs switching connection between respective UPS and redundant UPS R). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Colombi in view of Navarro, further in view of Liao, to incorporate the teachings of CN830 by having the respective loads of Colombi implemented as PDUs and dual corded loads as recited for purposes of providing known power distribution arrangement for datacenter loads predictably allowing power to be distributed to dual corded IT loads at desired voltages via standard distribution equipment of PDUs, and to accommodate dual supply line loads having two power inputs (see CN830: [8-9], [36], Fig. 2). Note the combination results in the dual corded loads directly connected to respective UPSs via pair of PDUs since the UPSs <102> incorporate the respective trimodal transfer switch as discussed regarding claim 1. Note also the combination would reasonably suggest to those of ordinary skill that the UPSs may incorporate multiple trimodal transfer switch as shown in CN830: Fig. 2 if adapted for the dual corded load system for the same reasons discussed regarding claim 1 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in light of new grounds of rejection applied in response to the claim amendments.
Regarding arguments against rejection of claim 1 in view of Colombi and Navarro, see new grounds of rejection in view of Liao above regarding obviousness of implementing the internal trimodal transfer switch as a single trimodal transfer switch. As discussed above and previously, Colombi and Navarro further teach respective UPS converter, controller, and communication channels/interfaces between UPSs, with Navarro explicitly teaching control by single controller of any switches internal to the UPS to eliminate need for communication channels to the incorporated switches. Based on the prior art disclosures, and level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art, substitution of two switches for selection between the 3 inputs taught by Colombi in view of Navarro with a single selector switch as taught by Liao would appear to be an obvious modification that predicably provides an equivalent electrical switching arrangement to couple the load to one of the three inputs.
No further arguments appear to be provided specifically for the other independent claim 16 or the other dependent claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID A SHIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836