DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 October 202 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “the photoelectric conversion portions” in line 6 should be “the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions” and “the plurality of photoelectric conversion units” in lines 8-9 should be “the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions
Claim 10: “the photoelectric conversion portions” in lines 7-8 should be “the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions” and “the plurality of photoelectric conversion units” in lines 9-10 should be “the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, “light” in line 3 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 1, on which claim 6 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same light mentioned previously or a different light? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same light mentioned previously. Additionally, “photoelectric conversion” in line 4 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 1, on which claim 6 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same photoelectric conversion mentioned previously or different photoelectric conversion? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same photoelectric conversion mentioned previously.
Claim 9, “photoelectric conversion” in line 3 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 1, on which claim 9 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same photelectric conversion mentioned previously or different photoelectric conversion? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same photoelectric conversion mentioned previously.
Claim 11, “the signals” in line 3 is unclear as a plurality of different signals have been mentioned in claim 10, on which claim 11 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the signals read out from the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions or the signals output from the image sensor? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the signals output from the image sensor.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 10-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-8, and 10-11 (filed 26 May 2026) of copending Application No. 18/911,323 in view of Toda (USPGPub 20140347538 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of application 18/911,323 teaches an image sensor (claim 1, line 1) comprising: a plurality of microlenses arranged in a matrix in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (claim 1, lines 6-16); a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions, provided for each microlens of at least some of the plurality of microlenses, perform photoelectric conversion on light that has entered the photoelectric conversion portions via the respective microlens (claim 1, lines 1-16); and wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are arranged in at least one direction of the first direction and the second direction (claim 1, lines 1-4), and an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is higher than an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (claim 1, lines 20-22). However, the claims of application 18/911,323 fail to explicitly teach a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof.
However, Toda teaches a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (see figure 1, vertical driving circuit 4 and horizontal driving circuit 6; ¶71, The vertical driving circuit 4 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selectively scans the pixels 2 of the pixel region 3 for each row in the sequential vertical direction; and ¶73, The horizontal driving circuit 6 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selects each column signal processing circuit 5 in order by sequentially outputting the horizontal scanning pulses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of application 18/911,323 to incorporate the teachings of Toda to have the device readout signals in two scanning directions as it simplifies hardware, avoids processing delay, and additionally simplifies memory and memory access.
Regarding claim 2, Claim 1 of application 18/911,323 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are two photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction or the second direction (application 18/911,323; claim 1, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Claim 1 of application 18/911,323 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are four photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction and the second direction (application 18/911,323; claim 1, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Claim 4 of application 18/911,323 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein impurity concentration of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is set lower than impurity concentration of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (application 18/911,323; claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, Claim 5 of application 18/911,323 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein a width of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is set smaller than a width of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (application 18/911,323; claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Claim 6 of application 18/911,323 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein in the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction, a potential gradient from a side on which light is incident to an area in which an electric charge obtained through photoelectric conversion is accumulated is made more moderate than a potential gradient in the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (application 18/911,323; claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, Claim 7 of application 18/911,323 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, further comprising an electrode for controlling a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (application 18/911,323; claim 7, lines 1-3), wherein a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is set lower than a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (application 18/911,323; claim 7, lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 8, Claim 8 of application 18/911,323 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein an electric charge crosstalk rate between the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions in the first direction is about 10% and an electric charge crosstalk rate in the second direction is about 8% (application 18/911,323; claim 8, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 10, Claim 10 of application 18/911,323 teaches an image capture apparatus comprising: an image sensor (claim 10, lines 1-2) comprising: a plurality of microlenses arranged in a matrix in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (claim 10, lines 7-16); a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions, provided for each microlens of at least some of the plurality of microlenses, perform photoelectric conversion on light that has entered the photoelectric conversion portions via the respective microlens (claim 10, lines 2-16); and wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are arranged in at least one direction of the first direction and the second direction (claim 10, lines 2-5), and an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is higher than an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (claim 10, lines 20-22), and a processing unit that processes signals output from the image sensor (claim 10, line 24), wherein the processing unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (claim 10, lines 25-26). However, the claims of application 18/911,323 fail to explicitly teach a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof.
However, Toda teaches a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (see figure 1, vertical driving circuit 4 and horizontal driving circuit 6; ¶71, The vertical driving circuit 4 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selectively scans the pixels 2 of the pixel region 3 for each row in the sequential vertical direction; and ¶73, The horizontal driving circuit 6 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selects each column signal processing circuit 5 in order by sequentially outputting the horizontal scanning pulses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of application 18/911,323 to incorporate the teachings of Toda to have the device readout signals in two scanning directions as it simplifies hardware, avoids processing delay, and additionally simplifies memory and memory access.
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 of application 18/911,323 as modified by Toda teaches the image capture apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the processing unit performs on-imaging plane phase difference focus detection based on the signals (application 18/911,323; claim 11).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 11-12 (filed 09 June 2026) of copending Application No. 18/911,335 in view of Toda (USPGPub 20140347538 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Claim 1 of application 18/911,335 teaches an image sensor (claim 1, line 1) comprising: a plurality of microlenses arranged in a matrix in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (claim 1, lines 1-3); a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions, provided for each microlens of at least some of the plurality of microlenses, perform photoelectric conversion on light that has entered the photoelectric conversion portions via the respective microlens (claim 1, lines 4-6); and wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are arranged in at least one direction of the first direction and the second direction (claim 1, lines 7-9), and an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is higher than an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (claim 1, lines 12-13). However, the claims of application 18/911,335 fail to explicitly teach a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof.
However, Toda teaches a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (see figure 1, vertical driving circuit 4 and horizontal driving circuit 6; ¶71, The vertical driving circuit 4 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selectively scans the pixels 2 of the pixel region 3 for each row in the sequential vertical direction; and ¶73, The horizontal driving circuit 6 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selects each column signal processing circuit 5 in order by sequentially outputting the horizontal scanning pulses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of application 18/911,335 to incorporate the teachings of Toda to have the device readout signals in two scanning directions as it simplifies hardware, avoids processing delay, and additionally simplifies memory and memory access.
Regarding claim 2, Claim 2 of application 18/911,335 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are two photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction or the second direction (application 18/911,335; claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Claim 3 of application 18/911,335 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are four photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction and the second direction (application 18/911,335; claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, Claim 4 of application 18/911,335 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein impurity concentration of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is set lower than impurity concentration of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (application 18/911,335; claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, Claim 5 of application 18/911,335 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein a width of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is set smaller than a width of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (application 18/911,335; claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Claim 1 of application 18/911,335 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein in the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction, a potential gradient from a side on which light is incident to an area in which an electric charge obtained through photoelectric conversion is accumulated is made more moderate than a potential gradient in the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (application 18/911,335; claim 1, lines 15-18).
Regarding claim 7, Claim 7 of application 18/911,335 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, further comprising an electrode for controlling a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (application 18/911,335; claim 7, lines 1-3), wherein a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is set lower than a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (application 18/911,335; claim 7, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 9, Claim 8 of application 18/911,335 as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, further comprising an output unit that converts, into signals, electric charges obtained by photoelectric conversion by the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions, and outputs the signals (application 18/911,335; claim 8, lines 1-4), wherein the output unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (application 18/911,335; claim 8, lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 10, Claim 11 of application 18/911,335 teaches an image capture apparatus comprising: an image sensor (claim 11, lines 1-2) comprising: a plurality of microlenses arranged in a matrix in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (claim 11, lines 3-4); a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions, provided for each microlens of at least some of the plurality of microlenses, perform photoelectric conversion on light that has entered the photoelectric conversion portions via the respective microlens (claim 11, lines 5-7); and wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are arranged in at least one direction of the first direction and the second direction (claim 11, lines 9-11), and an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is higher than an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (claim 11, lines 14-15), and a processing unit that processes signals output from the image sensor (claim 11, line 8), wherein the processing unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (claim 11, lines 20-21). However, the claims of application 18/911,335 fail to explicitly teach a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, and wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof.
However, Toda teaches a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (see figure 1, vertical driving circuit 4 and horizontal driving circuit 6; ¶71, The vertical driving circuit 4 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selectively scans the pixels 2 of the pixel region 3 for each row in the sequential vertical direction; and ¶73, The horizontal driving circuit 6 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selects each column signal processing circuit 5 in order by sequentially outputting the horizontal scanning pulses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of application 18/911,335 to incorporate the teachings of Toda to have the device readout signals in two scanning directions as it simplifies hardware, avoids processing delay, and additionally simplifies memory and memory access.
Regarding claim 11, Claim 12 of application 18/911,335 as modified by Toda teaches the image capture apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the processing unit performs on-imaging plane phase difference focus detection based on the signals (application 18/911,335; claim 12).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (USPGPub 20170263664 A1) in view of Toda (USPGPub 20140347538 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koizumi teaches an image sensor (¶2, Embodiments of the disclosure relate to an imaging apparatus) comprising: a plurality of microlenses (101) arranged in a matrix in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see figures 1A-1D, micro lenses 101 arranged two dimensionally); a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (102-105), provided for each microlens (101) of at least some of the plurality of microlenses (101), perform photoelectric conversion on light that has entered the photoelectric conversion portions (102-105) via the respective microlens (101) (see figures 1A-1D, photodiodes 102-105 arranged under a micro lens 101; and ¶37, That is, plural photoelectric conversion elements of each photoelectric conversion unit are arranged at positions where light condensed by corresponding one micro lens enters); and wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (102-105) are arranged in at least one direction of the first direction and the second direction (see figures 1A-1D, photodiodes 102-105 arranged two dimensionally), and an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (102/104 and 103/105) arranged in the first direction is higher than an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (102/103 and 104/105) arranged in the second direction (¶35, when one photoelectric conversion element gets saturated, the structure ensures that electric charges will leak to the photoelectric conversion element located adjacent to the saturated one in said certain direction, thereby preventing the charges from leaking to the photoelectric conversion element located adjacent to the saturated one in the different direction). However, Koizumi fails to explicitly teach a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, and wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof.
However, Toda teaches a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (see figure 1, vertical driving circuit 4 and horizontal driving circuit 6; ¶71, The vertical driving circuit 4 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selectively scans the pixels 2 of the pixel region 3 for each row in the sequential vertical direction; and ¶73, The horizontal driving circuit 6 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selects each column signal processing circuit 5 in order by sequentially outputting the horizontal scanning pulses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koizumi to incorporate the teachings of Toda to have the device readout signals in two scanning directions as it simplifies hardware, avoids processing delay, and additionally simplifies memory and memory access.
Regarding claim 3, Koizumi as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (Koizumi 102-105) are four photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction and the second direction (Koizumi, see figures 1A-1D, photodiodes 102-105 arranged two dimensionally).
Regarding claim 4, Koizumi as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein impurity concentration of a separation area (Koizumi 207) that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is set lower than impurity concentration of a separation area (Koizumi 206) that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (Koizumi, see figures 1A and 2A-2B, fifth semiconductor region 207 (separation area in first direction) and fourth semiconductor region 206 (separation area in second direction); and ¶59, Therefore, the fifth semiconductor region (P-type semiconductor region 207) may have a region where impurity concentration is lower than the impurity concentration of the fourth semiconductor region (P-type semiconductor region 206)).
Regarding claim 5, Koizumi as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein a width of a separation area (Koizumi 207) that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is set smaller than a width of a separation area (Koizumi 206) that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (Koizumi, see figures 1A and 2A-2B, fifth semiconductor region 207 (separation area in first direction) and fourth semiconductor region 206 (separation area in second direction); ¶38, The distance between the photodiodes 102 and 103 along the straight line going through A and B in FIG. 1A is X1. The distance between the photodiodes 102 and 104 along the straight line going through C and D in FIG. 1A is Y1. The distance X1 is greater than the distance Y1; and ¶57, The width of the P-type semiconductor region 206 in the direction of the line going through A and B and the width of the P-type semiconductor region 207 in the direction of the line going through C and D may be different from each other as illustrated in FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Koizumi as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein in the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction, a potential gradient from a side on which light is incident to an area in which an electric charge obtained through photoelectric conversion is accumulated is made more moderate than a potential gradient in the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (Koizumi, see figures 1A and 2A-2B, fifth semiconductor region 207 (separation area in first direction) and fourth semiconductor region 206 (separation area in second direction); ¶59, Therefore, the fifth semiconductor region (P-type semiconductor region 207) may have a region where impurity concentration is lower than the impurity concentration of the fourth semiconductor region (P-type semiconductor region 206); and NOTE: potential gradient is directly proportional to impurity concentration, meaning that the higher the impurity concentration, the higher the potential gradient).
Regarding claim 8, Koizumi as modified by Toda teaches wherein the electric charge crosstalk rate in the first direction is higher than the electric charge crosstalk rate in the second direction (Koizumi, ¶35, when one photoelectric conversion element gets saturated, the structure ensures that electric charges will leak to the photoelectric conversion element located adjacent to the saturated one in said certain direction, thereby preventing the charges from leaking to the photoelectric conversion element located adjacent to the saturated one in the different direction). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein an electric charge crosstalk rate between the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions in the first direction is about 10% and an electric charge crosstalk rate in the second direction is about 8%.
However, without showing criticality of the specified crosstalk rates, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation, to determine the crosstalk rates that would produce the best results regarding current leakage (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding claim 9, Koizumi as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, further comprising an output unit that converts, into signals, electric charges obtained by photoelectric conversion by the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (Koizumi 102-105), and outputs the signals (Koizumi, ¶37, Each photoelectric conversion unit includes a plurality of photodiodes as an example of photoelectric conversion elements; NOTE: it is well known that photodiodes function by converting light/photons into an electric signal; and ¶79, Signals are outputted from photoelectric conversion units), wherein the output unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (¶79, Signals are outputted from photoelectric conversion units belonging to the selected predetermined row to vertical output lines; and see ¶¶79-81 for further details).
Regarding claim 10, Koizumi teaches an image capture apparatus comprising: an image sensor (¶2, Embodiments of the disclosure relate to an imaging apparatus) comprising: a plurality of microlenses (101) arranged in a matrix in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see figures 1A-1D, micro lenses 101 arranged two dimensionally); a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (102-105), provided for each microlens (101) of at least some of the plurality of microlenses (101), perform photoelectric conversion on light that has entered the photoelectric conversion portions (102-105) via the respective microlens (101) (see figures 1A-1D, photodiodes 102-105 arranged under a micro lens 101; and ¶37, That is, plural photoelectric conversion elements of each photoelectric conversion unit are arranged at positions where light condensed by corresponding one micro lens enters); and wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (102-105) are arranged in at least one direction of the first direction and the second direction (see figures 1A-1D, photodiodes 102-105 arranged two dimensionally), and an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (102/104 and 103/105) arranged in the first direction is higher than an electric charge crosstalk rate between a plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (102/103 and 104/105) arranged in the second direction (¶35, when one photoelectric conversion element gets saturated, the structure ensures that electric charges will leak to the photoelectric conversion element located adjacent to the saturated one in said certain direction, thereby preventing the charges from leaking to the photoelectric conversion element located adjacent to the saturated one in the different direction), and a processing unit that processes signals output from the image sensor, wherein the processing unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (¶80, The column circuit 13 is capable of performing signal processing including signal amplification, analog-to-digital conversion, de-noising, and the like; and ¶96, An image signal processing circuit 606 performs various kinds of correction processing on the image signal outputted from the imaging element 605, and performs data compression). However, Koizumi fails to explicitly teach a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, and wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof.
However, Toda teaches a readout unit that sequentially reads out signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion units with the first direction being a main scanning direction and the second direction being a sub-scanning direction, wherein the readout unit is implemented by one or more processors, circuitry or a combination thereof (see figure 1, vertical driving circuit 4 and horizontal driving circuit 6; ¶71, The vertical driving circuit 4 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selectively scans the pixels 2 of the pixel region 3 for each row in the sequential vertical direction; and ¶73, The horizontal driving circuit 6 is formed of, for example, a shift register, and selects each column signal processing circuit 5 in order by sequentially outputting the horizontal scanning pulses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koizumi to incorporate the teachings of Toda to have the device readout signals in two scanning directions as it simplifies hardware, avoids processing delay, and additionally simplifies memory and memory access.
Regarding claim 11, Koizumi as modified by Toda teaches the image capture apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the processing unit performs on-imaging plane phase difference focus detection based on the signals (Koizumi, ¶42, it is possible to acquire signal charges by using pupil division in the second direction (vertical direction) and the first direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the second direction. Therefore, it is possible to perform focus detection based on vertical/horizontal phase differences, that is, to perform so-called cross focusing).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (USPGPub 20170263664 A1) in view of Toda (USPGPub 20140347538 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okuzawa et al (USPGPub 20160079295 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Koizumi as modified by Toda teaches the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (Koizumi 102-105). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions are two photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction or the second direction.
However, Okuzawa teaches wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (1101/1102) are two photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction or the second direction (see figures 11A-12, two pixels 1101 and 1102 sharing a microlens 212).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koizumi and Toda to incorporate the teachings of Okuzawa to have two photoelectric conversion elements sharing a microlens as a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (USPGPub 20170263664 A1) in view of Toda (USPGPub 20140347538 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okamoto et al. (USPGPub 20210280619 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Koizumi as modified by Toda teaches the image sensor according to claim 1, wherein a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the first direction is set lower than a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions arranged in the second direction (Koizumi, see figure 1A; and ¶38, a potential barrier against signal charges between the photodiodes 102 and 104 is lower than a potential barrier against signal charges between the photodiodes 102 and 103). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach an electrode for controlling a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions.
However, Okamoto teaches an electrode for controlling a potential of a separation area that separates the plurality of photoelectric conversion portions (abstract, Each of pixels has at least two photoelectric conversion elements and a separation region which is a region between the two photoelectric conversion elements and a separation region control electrode arranged on the second surface side of the separation region and configured to control a potential of the separation region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koizumi and Toda to incorporate the teachings of Okamoto to further include an electrode configured to control the potential of a pixel separation area in order to properly set and adjust the separation region as needed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takahashi et al. (USPGPub 20240186357 A1): Takahashi teaches an auto-focus device having phase difference detection pixels.
Kim et al. (USPGPub 20190131328 A1): Kim teaches an auto-focus device having phase difference detection pixels.
Byun (USPGPub 20190035839 A1): Byun teaches phase detection pixels with crosstalk prevention elements.
Lee et al. (USPGPub 20170104020 A1): Lee teaches phase detection pixels with crosstalk prevention elements.
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878