DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of EP23203556.8 filed on 10/13/2023 has been received/retrieved by the office.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “the upper outer guiding vane” which renders the claim indefinite, as there is a lack of antecedent basis for said term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2016/0044823A1 hereinafter “Bhattacharya”
Regarding claim 1, Bhattacharya discloses a low voltage, medium voltage or high voltage switchgear (¶19L1: electrical equipment), comprising:
a first component (¶16L14: conductor [124]); and
an air guide structure (¶19L2: a barrier [204]) comprising a plurality of guiding vanes (¶28L1-2: the barrier includes a plurality of perforation); wherein
the plurality of guiding vanes are located adjacent to the first component (as shown in Fig.3 foe example); and wherein
one or more of the plurality of guiding vanes are configured to direct air to enter the air guide structure at an entrance (¶37L1-10: air enters the compartment from the end [622]) then flow tangentially to a first surface of the first component (as shown in Fig.6) and then leave the air guide structure at an exit. (¶38L1-10: the hot air exit the compartments from end [624])
Regarding claim 2, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according to claim 1, wherein
the first surface of the first component is flat. (as shown in Fig.3, the conductor [124] is flat)
Regarding claim 3, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second component (¶16L14: conductor [126]); wherein
the second component is adjacent to the first component (as shown in Fig.6); wherein
the plurality of guiding vanes are located adjacent to the second component (as shown in Fig.6; ¶39L1-2: the side barrier may be place parallel to each other); and wherein
one or more of the plurality of guiding vanes are configured to direct air to enter the air guide structure at the entrance (¶37L1-10: air enters the compartment from the end [622]) then flow tangentially to a first surface of the second component and then leave the air guide structure at the exit. (¶38L1-10: the hot air exit the compartments from end [624])
Regarding claim 4, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according to claim 3, wherein the first surface of the second component is flat. (as shown in Fig.3, the conductor [126] is flat)
Regarding claim 5, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according to claim 4, wherein
the second component is parallel to the first component. (as shown in Fig.6)
Regarding claim 14, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according to claim 1, wherein
one or more of the plurality of guiding vanes are flat plates. (¶35L1-2: the barrier has a flat surface)
Regarding claim 15, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according to claim 1, wherein
one or more of the plurality of guiding vanes are airfoils. (¶31L10-125: the creation of in the channel causes acceleration in the air flowing in the channel thereby effecting faster cooling)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhattacharya.
Regarding claim 6, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according claim 1,
Bhattacharya does not explicitly disclose:
the plurality of guiding vanes comprises an upper outer guiding vane located above the first component, and wherein the upper outer guiding vane extends from the entrance of the guide structure to the exit of the air guide structure.
Bhattacharya does recognize that the barrier may be modify to be in different shape/size (¶45L1-17: a measurement of longitudinal dimension may be equal o or smaller than the barrier)as shown in Fig.4 for example, and that additional barrier may be added to the equipment’s in order to cause acceleration in the air flowing in the channel thereby effecting faster cooling. (¶31L1-12)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the barrier disclosed by Bhattacharya to meet the recited limitation.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because Bhattacharya disclose that the dimensions and spacing distance (B/L) ratio affects the effectiveness of cooling and thus making the dimensions of the barrier a result effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 7, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according to claim 3
Bhattacharya does not explicitly disclose:
the upper outer guiding vane is located above the second component.
Bhattacharya does recognize that the barrier may be modify to be in different shape/size (¶45L1-17: a measurement of longitudinal dimension may be equal o or smaller than the barrier)as shown in Fig.4 for example, and that additional barrier may be added to the equipment’s in order to cause acceleration in the air flowing in the channel thereby effecting faster cooling. (¶31L1-12)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the barrier disclosed by Bhattacharya to meet the recited limitation.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because Bhattacharya disclose that the dimensions and spacing distance (B/L) ratio affects the effectiveness of cooling and thus making the dimensions of the barrier a result effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 8, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according to claim 3,
Bhattacharya does not explicitly disclose:
the plurality of guiding vanes comprises a lower outer guiding vane located below the first component, and wherein the lower outer guiding vane extends from the entrance of the guide structure to the exit of the air guide structure.
Bhattacharya does recognize that the barrier may be modify to be in different shape/size (¶45L1-17: a measurement of longitudinal dimension may be equal o or smaller than the barrier)as shown in Fig.4 for example, and that additional barrier may be added to the equipment’s in order to cause acceleration in the air flowing in the channel thereby effecting faster cooling. (¶31L1-12)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the barrier disclosed by Bhattacharya to meet the recited limitation.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because Bhattacharya disclose that the dimensions and spacing distance (B/L) ratio affects the effectiveness of cooling and thus making the dimensions of the barrier a result effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according to claim 8,
Bhattacharya does not explicitly disclose:
the lower outer guiding vane is located below a second component.
Bhattacharya does not explicitly disclose:
Bhattacharya does recognize that the barrier may be modify to be in different shape/size (¶45L1-17: a measurement of longitudinal dimension may be equal o or smaller than the barrier)as shown in Fig.4 for example, and that additional barrier may be added to the equipment’s in order to cause acceleration in the air flowing in the channel thereby effecting faster cooling. (¶31L1-12)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the barrier disclosed by Bhattacharya to meet the recited limitation.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because Bhattacharya disclose that the dimensions and spacing distance (B/L) ratio affects the effectiveness of cooling and thus making the dimensions of the barrier a result effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhattacharya in view of Machine Translation of CN116792832A hereinafter “Choi”
Regarding claim 10, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according to claim 1, Bhattacharya does not explicitly disclose:
the plurality of guiding vanes comprises one or more front guiding vanes located at the entrance of the air guide structure.
Choi discloses an air cooling channel wherein a honeycomb plate is adopted. (Page.4: a number of honeycomb holes are provided inside the air guide and flow equalizing plate)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the barrier disclosed by Bhattacharya to include a honeycomb equalizing plate at the inlet and outlet.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the vanes to guide the air evenly. (Choi Page.4)
Regarding claim 11, Bhattacharya in view of Choi hereinafter “Bhattacharya/Choi” discloses in Choi the switchgear according to claim 10, wherein
the one or more front guiding vanes comprises a plurality of front guiding vanes, and wherein a honey comb structure is formed at least in part from the plurality of front guiding vanes. (Page.4: a number of honeycomb holes are provided inside the air guide and flow equalizing plate)
Regarding claim 12, Bhattacharya discloses the switchgear according claim 1,
Bhattacharya does not explicitly disclose:
the plurality of guiding vanes comprises one or more rear guiding vanes located at the exit of the air guide structure.
Choi discloses an air cooling channel wherein a honeycomb plate is adopted. (Page.4: a number of honeycomb holes are provided inside the air guide and flow equalizing plate)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the barrier disclosed by Bhattacharya to include a honeycomb equalizing plate at the inlet and outlet.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the vanes to guide the air evenly. (Choi Page.4)
Regarding claim 13, Bhattacharya/Choi discloses in Choi the switchgear according to claim 12, wherein
the one or more rear guiding vanes comprises a plurality of rear guiding vanes, and wherein a honey comb structure is formed at least in part from the plurality of rear guiding vanes. (Page.4: a number of honeycomb holes are provided inside the air guide and flow equalizing plate)
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845