DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 10/10/2024. Claims 1-8 and 10-18 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. All pending claims therefore have an effective filing date of 10/27/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 10/10/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6, 12, 15, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 as currently presented states “…a predetermined period of time…”; claim 4 is dependent upon claim 1 and also states “…a predetermined period of time…”. The Examiner recommends updating claim 4 so as to equate or differentiate the two phrases to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Claim 6 as currently presented states “…the temperature…” which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…a temperature…” so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Claim 10 as currently presented states “…a predetermined period of time…”; claim 12 is dependent upon claim 10 and also states “…a predetermined period of time…”. The Examiner recommends updating claim 12 so as to equate or differentiate the two phrases to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Claim 10 as currently presented states “…a predetermined period of time…”; claim 15 is dependent upon claim 10 and also states “…a predetermined period of time…”. The Examiner recommends updating claim 15 so as to equate or differentiate the two phrases to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Claim 17 as currently presented states “…the temperature…” which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…a temperature…” so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (and analogous claims 8, 10, and 13) recite the limitation "…the braking demanded…". Multiple instances of both deceleration and braking are claimed prior to this phrase, thus there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 1 (and analogous claims 8, 10, and 13), the claims as currently presented state “…ramping down the braking demanded by the adaptive cruise control system…” and similarly claim 4 (and analogous claims 12 and 15), the claims as currently presented state “…braking demanded by the adaptive cruise control system is ramped down…” which is indefinite because no additional support is provided to elaborate on how this occurs. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand adaptive cruise control systems to either be activated or deactivated, and thereby either fully implementing acceleration/deceleration controls or not implementing acceleration/deceleration controls. Alternatively, this limitation could be interpreted as waiting until braking demands are no longer desirable, such as during uphill travel, however the Examiner does not believe this interpretation to be accurate because of the current way this claims are written.
Regarding claims 10-12 and 14-18, the claims as currently presented state a “control arrangement” which is indefinite because it does not clearly fall within one of the statutory categories of invention. According to Figure 4 and the associated sections of the specification, the term appears to convey a system and will thus be interpreted as such, however the structure of the “control arrangement” is lacking and the breadth is uncertain.
Claims 2-3 and 5-7 are also rejected since the claims are dependent on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshita et al. (US-2023/0008352; hereinafter Oshita; already of record from IDS) in view of Grelaud et al. (US-2025/0091577; hereinafter Grelaud).
Regarding claim 1, Oshita discloses a method, performed by a control arrangement, for deactivating an adaptive cruise control system of a host vehicle, said adaptive cruise control system being configured to maintain a safe distance to a target vehicle in front of the host vehicle through usage of one or more auxiliary brake systems and a service brake system of the host vehicle (see Oshita at least [0001], [0005]-[0007], and [0016]), the method comprising:
in response to a determination of risk of loss of functionality of the adaptive cruise control system while the host vehicle is, or is precited to be, decelerated by the adaptive cruise control system, determining whether the host vehicle may be braked by at least the service brake system (see Oshita at least [0057] "As described above, according to the present embodiment, driving assistance apparatus 30 includes: ACC section 32; abnormality detection section 33 that detects an abnormality of the detector used to execute the ACC; and vehicle-stopping control section 34 that performs the vehicle-stopping control of the own car when an abnormality is detected by abnormality detection section 33 and the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car satisfies a predetermined condition. As a result, driving assistance apparatus 30 capable of reducing the possibility of collision even when the detector necessary for executing the ACC fails during the execution of the ACC and normal ACC cannot be executed.");
in case it is determined that the host vehicle may be braked by at least the service brake system, activating a first failure mode during which the adaptive cruise control system is maintained active to [regulate vehicle controls] (see Oshita at least [0045] "Automatic-following traveling control is control that operates driving system 10 and braking system 20 such that the inter-vehicle distance is within a predetermined target range and the relative speed approaches zero when a leading vehicle is present in a predetermined range..."); and
when [vehicle controls are regulated], either:
ramping down the braking demanded by the adaptive cruise control system over a predetermined period of time and thereafter deactivating the adaptive cruise control system, or
directly deactivating the adaptive cruise control system (see Oshita at least Fig 4 and [0051]-[0053] "In Step 13, it is determined whether the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is equal to or less than threshold value D. In Step S14, it is determined whether the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is on a decreasing trend. Those determinations are performed by vehicle-stopping control section 34. When an affirmative result is obtained in both of Step S13 and Step S14, in other words, when the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is equal to or less than threshold value D and the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is on a decreasing trend, the processing transitions to Step S15. In Step S15, vehicle-stopping control by vehicle-stopping control section 34 is performed and the ACC is removed. The driver is to be notified of the fact that the vehicle-stopping control by vehicle-stopping control section 34 is being performed and the ACC is removed by information output section 50. When an affirmative result is obtained in both of Step S13 and Step S14, it means that the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is short and the distance from the leading car is to be decreased. When the ACC is removed in such a situation, there is a risk that an accident is caused. Thus, in Step S15, driving assistance apparatus 30 of the present embodiment performs vehicle-stopping control by vehicle-stopping control section 34 with the removal of the ACC. At this time, the vehicle-stopping control signal (target deceleration speed) is output to brake ECU 24 from vehicle-stopping control section 34. As a result, vehicle 1 stops in accordance with the target deceleration speed.").
However, while Oshita discloses the deceleration of the vehicle by way of monitoring an inter-vehicle distance, it is not explicit that Oshita discloses the following:
…decelerate the host vehicle until a deceleration demand of the adaptive cruise control system is below a predetermined threshold or a difference in speed between the host vehicle and the target vehicle is below a predetermined limit…
…when the deceleration demand of the adaptive cruise control system is below the predetermined threshold, or the difference in speed between the host vehicle and the target vehicle is below the predetermined limit…
Grelaud, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…decelerate the host vehicle until a deceleration demand of the adaptive cruise control system is below a predetermined threshold or a difference in speed between the host vehicle and the target vehicle is below a predetermined limit (see Grelaud at least [0039] "At block 418, adaptive cruise control system control unit 104 compares the computed required deceleration a to a deceleration threshold a.sub.max. In response to adaptive cruise control system control unit 104 determining that an absolute value of the computed threshold |a| is less than or equal to the deceleration threshold a.sub.max (“YES” at decision block 422), adaptive cruise control system control unit 104 commands vehicle electronic control unit 106 to decelerate the ego vehicle at required deceleration a at block 422 and process 400 proceeds to block 426.")…
…when the deceleration demand of the adaptive cruise control system is below the predetermined threshold, or the difference in speed between the host vehicle and the target vehicle is below the predetermined limit (see Grelaud at least [0039] "At block 418, adaptive cruise control system control unit 104 compares the computed required deceleration a to a deceleration threshold a.sub.max. In response to adaptive cruise control system control unit 104 determining that an absolute value of the computed threshold |a| is less than or equal to the deceleration threshold a.sub.max (“YES” at decision block 422), adaptive cruise control system control unit 104 commands vehicle electronic control unit 106 to decelerate the ego vehicle at required deceleration a at block 422 and process 400 proceeds to block 426.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptive cruise control system as disclosed by Oshita with a deceleration threshold such as taught by Grelaud with a reasonable expectation of success so as to regulate vehicle controls (see Grelaud at least [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the method according to claim 1, wherein said determination of risk of loss of functionality of the adaptive cruise control system is based on an assessment that the host vehicle cannot be positively accelerated by the adaptive cruise control system (see Oshita at least [0046] "The outputs of detectors used to realize the ACC are input to abnormality detection section 33, which detects the abnormality of each detector. For example, the detectors used to realize the ACC include the millimeter-wave radar, the camera, the laser radar (not shown), a vehicle speed sensor (not shown), and the like. An abnormality signal is output to abnormality detection section 33 when the outputs of those detectors are in a state in which the ACC cannot be normally executed (for example, when there is a failure). The abnormality signal is transmitted to ACC section 32 and vehicle-stopping control section 34.").
Regarding claim 3, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
when deactivating the adaptive cruise control system, generating a warning message and/or signal adapted to inform a driver of the host vehicle of deactivation of the adaptive cruise control system (see Oshita at least [0046] "The outputs of detectors used to realize the ACC are input to abnormality detection section 33, which detects the abnormality of each detector. For example, the detectors used to realize the ACC include the millimeter-wave radar, the camera, the laser radar (not shown), a vehicle speed sensor (not shown), and the like. An abnormality signal is output to abnormality detection section 33 when the outputs of those detectors are in a state in which the ACC cannot be normally executed (for example, when there is a failure). The abnormality signal is transmitted to ACC section 32 and vehicle-stopping control section 34." and [0052] "When an affirmative result is obtained in both of Step S13 and Step S14, in other words, when the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is equal to or less than threshold value D and the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is on a decreasing trend, the processing transitions to Step S15. In Step S15, vehicle-stopping control by vehicle-stopping control section 34 is performed and the ACC is removed. The driver is to be notified of the fact that the vehicle-stopping control by vehicle-stopping control section 34 is being performed and the ACC is removed by information output section 50.").
Regarding claim 4, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
in response to a determination that information pertaining to the target vehicle is lost by the adaptive cruise control system (see Oshita at least [0054] "Meanwhile, when a negative result is obtained in either one of Step S13 and Step S14, in other words, when the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is greater than threshold value D or the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is not on a decreasing trend, the processing transitions to Step S16..."), activating a second failure mode during which braking demanded by the adaptive cruise control system is ramped down over a predetermined period of time (see Grelaud at least [0030] "FIG. 3 is a flowchart of an example process 300 for automatically monitoring a representation of a road ahead of a vehicle and adjusting a speed of the vehicle according to the representation. At block 302, an operator of the vehicle initializes the adaptive cruise control system control unit 104. At block 304, adaptive cruise control system control unit 104 receives a set speed. In various implementations, the set speed may be a speed set by the operator as a desired cruising speed for the vehicle. The set speed may represent the speed adaptive cruise control system control unit 104 commands vehicle electronic control unit 106 to maintain in an absence of obstacles in the ego vehicle's path or curves ahead of the ego vehicle..."; a ramped down braking demand herein interpreted as holding a constant speed and then deactivating adaptive cruise control), and
thereafter deactivating the adaptive cruise control system (see Oshita at least [0054] "Meanwhile, when a negative result is obtained in either one of Step S13 and Step S14, in other words, when the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is greater than threshold value D or the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is not on a decreasing trend, the processing transitions to Step S16. In Step S16, the ACC is removed, and the vehicle-stopping control by vehicle-stopping control section 34 is not performed. The driver is to be notified of the fact that the ACC is removed by information output section 50.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the adaptive cruise control system as disclosed by Oshita with a second failure mode such as taught by Grelaud with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the method according to claim 4, further comprising:
when the second failure mode is activated, generating a warning message and/or signal adapted to inform a driver of the host vehicle of upcoming deactivation of the adaptive cruise control system (see Oshita at least [0046] "The outputs of detectors used to realize the ACC are input to abnormality detection section 33, which detects the abnormality of each detector. For example, the detectors used to realize the ACC include the millimeter-wave radar, the camera, the laser radar (not shown), a vehicle speed sensor (not shown), and the like. An abnormality signal is output to abnormality detection section 33 when the outputs of those detectors are in a state in which the ACC cannot be normally executed (for example, when there is a failure). The abnormality signal is transmitted to ACC section 32 and vehicle-stopping control section 34." and [0052] "When an affirmative result is obtained in both of Step S13 and Step S14, in other words, when the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is equal to or less than threshold value D and the inter-vehicle distance from the leading car is on a decreasing trend, the processing transitions to Step S15. In Step S15, vehicle-stopping control by vehicle-stopping control section 34 is performed and the ACC is removed. The driver is to be notified of the fact that the vehicle-stopping control by vehicle-stopping control section 34 is being performed and the ACC is removed by information output section 50.").
Regarding claim 8, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the analogous material of claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons. Grelaud also teaches …a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, said computer program product for deactivating an adaptive cruise control system of a host vehicle, said adaptive cruise control system being configured to maintain a safe distance to a target vehicle in front of the host vehicle through usage of one or more auxiliary brake systems and a service brake system of the host vehicle (see Grelaud at least [0015])…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptive cruise control system as disclosed by Oshita with a computer program product such as taught by Grelaud with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the analogous material of claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 11, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the analogous material of claim 2 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 12, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the analogous material of claim 4 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 13, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the analogous material of claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 14, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the analogous material of claim 3 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 15, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the analogous material of claim 4 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 16, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the analogous material of claim 5 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 6-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshita in view of Grelaud, and further in view of Weston (US-2016/0176403; already of record from IDS).
Regarding claim 6, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the method according to claim 1. However, neither Oshita nor Grelaud explicitly disclose or teach the following:
the step of determining whether the host vehicle may be braked by at least the service brake system comprises determining whether the temperature of the service brake system is below a predefined temperature threshold.
Weston, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
the step of determining whether the host vehicle may be braked by at least the service brake system comprises determining whether the temperature of the service brake system is below a predefined temperature threshold (see Weston at least [0041] "In response to the brake temperature being greater than the threshold brake temperature, a vehicle brake temperature warning may be output for display via the user interface 60. The adaptive cruise control system of the controller 50 may also be deactivated and an adaptive cruise control system of the controller 50 warning may be output for display via the user interface 60.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the adaptive cruise control system as disclosed by Oshita with brake temperature monitoring such as taught by Weston with a reasonable expectation of success so as to prevent damage to vehicle components (see Weston at least [0042]).
Regarding claim 7, Oshita in view of Grelaud teach the method according to claim 1. However, neither Oshita nor Grelaud explicitly disclose or teach the following:
in case it is determined that the host vehicle cannot be braked by the service brake system, deactivating the adaptive cruise control system.
Weston, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
in case it is determined that the host vehicle cannot be braked by the service brake system, deactivating the adaptive cruise control system (see Weston at least [0041] "In response to the brake temperature being greater than the threshold brake temperature, a vehicle brake temperature warning may be output for display via the user interface 60. The adaptive cruise control system of the controller 50 may also be deactivated and an adaptive cruise control system of the controller 50 warning may be output for display via the user interface 60.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the adaptive cruise control system as disclosed by Oshita with service brake functionality monitoring such as taught by Weston with a reasonable expectation of success so as to ensure proper controls may be executed without compromise (see Weston at least [0042]).
Regarding claim 17, Oshita in view of Grelaud and Weston teach the analogous material of claim 6 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 18, Oshita in view of Grelaud and Weston teach the analogous material of claim 7 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Geldner (US-2021/0139047) teaches a vehicle equipped with an adaptive cruise control system, which notifies a driver upon automatic deactivation of the adaptive cruise control functions.
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663