DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction Requirement
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-20, drawn to oral care compositions, classified in A61Q 11/00.
II. Claim 21, drawn to a method for treating/preventing erosion and/or caries, classified in A61P 1/02.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product such as in a method of stain removal.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
The inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter.
The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species:
If Group I is elected, please elect a composition from each of the following.
The oral care composition recited in claims 1-8;
The oral care composition recited in claims 9-15; OR
The oral care composition recited in claims 16-20;
The species are independent or distinct because they have materially different components, features, properties, applications, and/or reactivities. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, claim 1 is generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification.
The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized subject matter.
The species or grouping of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with John Powell on 6/9/26 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group, claims 1-20. Furthermore, the composition of claims 1-8 were elected in response to the Election requirement. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 9-21 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention/species.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Groth et al. (US 2021/0353516, Nov. 18, 2021) (hereinafter Groth).
Groth discloses oral care compositions including dicarboxylic acid and tin (Abstract). The oral care composition can comprise fluoride, which can be provided by a fluoride ion source. The fluoride ion source can comprise one or more fluoride containing compounds, such as stannous fluoride, sodium fluoride, amine fluoride, sodium monofluorophosphate, and/or mixtures thereof (satisfies fluoride ion and claim 5) (¶ [0039]). The oral care composition can comprise a fluoride ion source capable of providing from about 50 ppm to about 5000 ppm of free fluoride ions (satisfies claim 6) (¶ [0043]). The composition can comprise tin, which can be provided by a tin ion source. The tin ion source can comprise stannous fluoride, stannous chloride, and/or mixture thereof (satisfies stannous ion and claim 7) (¶ [0047]). The pH of the oral care compositions can be from about 4 to about 6 (satisfies claim 8) (¶ [0051]). In Ex. 1, the composition contained 0.454% stannous fluoride, 0.5619% stannous chloride, 1.3% sodium gluconate, 1.205% sodium citrate, as well as 3.14% potassium oxalate (Table 1). In Ex. 2, the composition contained 0.243% sodium fluoride, 0.275% citric acid, as well as 3.14% potassium oxalate (Table 1).
In regards to the ratio, the ratio of stannous ion to the mixture of dentate ligands in Ex. 1 is 1:2.81.
The prior art anticipates the indicated claims because it discloses oral care compositions comprising a combination of stannous ion sources and fluoride ion sources, a first polydentate ion along with either a monodentate ion or a second polydentate ion as instantly claimed in amounts encompassed by those instantly claimed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groth et al. (US 2021/0353516, Nov. 18, 2021) (hereinafter Groth).
Groth discloses oral care compositions including dicarboxylic acid and tin (Abstract). The unique properties of small molecule mono-, di-, tri-, and tetra-carboxylic acids, like gluconic acid, oxalic acid, and citric acid, allow them to be highly effective stabilizing ligands in a particular pH range (¶ [0012]). Suitable dicarboxylic acids include oxalic acid (satisfies first polydentate ligand) (¶ [0037]). The oral care composition can comprise from about 1 % to about 5% of dicarboxylic acid (satisfies claim 4) (¶ [0038]). The oral care composition can comprise fluoride, which can be provided by a fluoride ion source. The fluoride ion source can comprise one or more fluoride containing compounds, such as stannous fluoride, sodium fluoride, amine fluoride, sodium monofluorophosphate, and/or mixtures thereof (satisfies fluoride ion and claim 5) (¶ [0039]). The oral care composition can comprise a fluoride ion source capable of providing from about 50 ppm to about 5000 ppm of free fluoride ions (satisfies claim 6) (¶ [0043]). The composition can comprise tin, which can be provided by a tin ion source. The tin ion source can comprise stannous fluoride, stannous chloride, and/or mixture thereof (satisfies stannous ion and claim 7) (¶ [0047]). The oral care composition can comprise from about 0.2% to about 1%, by weight of the oral care composition, of tin and/or a tin ion source (satisfies claim 7) (¶ [0048]). The pH of the oral care compositions can be from about 4 to about 6 (satisfies claim 8) (¶ [0051]). The oral care composition can comprise a monodentate ligand (¶ [0060]). Suitable monodentate ligands include gluconate (satisfies monodentate ligand) (¶ [0065]). The oral care composition can include from about 1 % to about 5% of the monodentate ligand (satisfies claim 4) (¶ [0066]). The oral care composition can comprise a polydentate ligand (¶ [0067]). Suitable polydentate ligands include oxalic acid, citric acid, and/or combinations thereof (satisfies second polydentate ligand and claim 3) (¶ [0071]). The oral care composition can include from about 1 % to about 5% of the polydentate ligand (satisfies claim 4) (¶ [0071]).
It is believed that Groth anticipates that instantly recited claims, however, purely arguendo and for the purposes of this rejection, Groth does not exemplify the molar ratio of stannous ions to the mixture of dentate ligands.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, Groth discloses wherein suitable monodentate ligands include gluconic acid and wherein suitable polydentate ligands include oxalic acid. Groth further discloses that suitable ratios of tin to the monodentate ligand to polydentate ligand can be from about 1:0.5:0.5 to about 1:5:5 (¶ [0072]). Accordingly, because the ratios recited in the instant claims overlap with and/or lie inside the range disclosed by Groth, the range disclosed by Groth meets the instantly recited limitations.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-8 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/911,389 in view of Groth et al. (US 2021/0353516, Nov. 18, 2021) (hereinafter Groth).
The copending claims differ from the pending claims insofar as reciting lactic acid instead of gluconate.
However, Groth discloses oral care compositions (Abstract). Suitable monodentate ligands include lactic acid and gluconate (¶ [0063 & 0065]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of the copending claims to comprise lactic acid since it is a known monodentate ligand along with gluconate for use in oral care compositions as taught by Groth.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
2. Claims 1-8 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/911,383 in view of Groth et al. (US 2021/0353516, Nov. 18, 2021) (hereinafter Groth).
The copending claims differ from the pending claims insofar as reciting lactic acid instead of gluconate.
However, Groth discloses oral care compositions (Abstract). Suitable monodentate ligands include lactic acid and gluconate (¶ [0063 & 0065]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of the copending claims to comprise lactic acid since it is a known monodentate ligand along with gluconate for use in oral care compositions as taught by Groth.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
3. Claims 1-8 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/911,374 in view of Groth et al. (US 2021/0353516, Nov. 18, 2021) (hereinafter Groth).
The copending claims differ from the pending claims insofar as reciting malic acid instead of oxalic acid.
However, Groth discloses oral care compositions (Abstract). Suitable polydentate ligands include oxalic acid and malic acid (¶ [0071]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of the copending claims to comprise malic acid since it is a known polydentate ligand along with oxalic acid for use in oral care compositions as taught by Groth.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 are rejected.
Claims 9-21 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/LEZAH ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612