Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 8-18-2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-10 stand withdrawn.
Regarding Claims 1-3, the applicant has elected the spectrometer as the embodiment to prosecute and not the exposure system. Thus, the limitations drawn to the exposure system in the claims are not considered limiting since they represent a method of making the holographic grating and are not limiting to the scope of the spectrometer itself. Further, it appears that in order to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/(d) rejection, the applicant should delete these limitations from the claims (see below).
Examiner’s note
The applicant has labeled claim 1 as (original) in the submission while in fact it was amended in the submission on 3-10-2026 and should be labeled (currently amended).
Regarding Claims 1-3, the MPEP states "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, the claim language in these claims directed to the making of the holographic element is not limiting.
In support of this conclusion, the disclosure does not discuss or show how the exposure system is necessary for the operation of the spectrometer beyond the manufacture of the grating. Still further, the applicant’s original claim language stated that the grating was “Formed” by the exposure system. Then the applicant changed the language to remove the implied process. However, this is not enough to overcome the fact that the exposure system is for forming the grating. The disclosure states that the exposure system is for forming the holographic grating and as just stated there appears from the specification to be no use for the exposure system beyond that.
Of note, the grating once written into a substrate by the exposure system is permanent and thus would be produced at the time of making and designing the optics since they must be aligned and in focus and the grating linewidth would affect this.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, It is not clear what applicant is attempting to claim as part of the holographic grating imaging spectrometer, as the applicant includes an apparatus for forming the holographic grating of the spectrometer via the limitation, “the holographic grating is located by a holographic grating exposure system, the holographic grating exposure system comprises a first coherent light source, a second coherent light source and at least one freeform surface auxiliary mirror, the at least one freeform surface auxiliary mirror is located between the first coherent light source and the at least one reflector,” which in the disclosure just appears to be the method by which the grating was manufactured. It does not appear that this is part of the spectrometer but rather a device for making the grating of the spectrometer, making it unclear if applicant is trying to claim two inventions in one claim, or if applicant is trying to claim a product by process claim, or if the exposure apparatus is actually a part of the holographic grating imaging spectrometer.
It is noted that if this is intended to be a product by process claim, then “the holographic grating is located by a holographic grating exposure system, the holographic grating exposure system comprises a first coherent light source, a second coherent light source and at least one freeform surface auxiliary mirror, the at least one freeform surface auxiliary mirror is located between the first coherent light source and the at least one reflector” for the purposes of prosecution, the examiner will consider this to be part of the process of forming the holographic grating, rather than limiting structure of the spectrometer. For the current action the examiner will use this interpretation to prosecute the claims.
Claims 2 & 3 likewise contain limitations “further comprising an auxiliary mirror, wherein the auxiliary mirror is located between the second coherent light source and the at least one reflector,” and, “wherein a surface of the auxiliary mirror is a spherical surface, a quadratic surface, an aspherical surface, or a freeform surface,” which in the disclosure just appears to be parts of the apparatus in by which the grating was manufactured. It does not appear that this is part of the spectrometer but rather a device for making the grating of the spectrometer, making it unclear if applicant is trying to claim two inventions in one claim, or if applicant is trying to claim a product by process claim, or if the exposure apparatus is actually a part of the holographic grating imaging spectrometer.
Claims dependent upon rejected claims are also rejected based on their dependency.
Claims 2& 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 2 & 3 contain limitations limiting only the exposure system and not the Spectrometer and thus are not further limiting to the scope of the spectrometer. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rolland et al (PGPub 2018/0136039) (Rolland).
Regarding Claim 1, Rolland discloses an imaging spectrometer (Fig. 1A), comprising:
a slit (12), at least one reflector (14 16, & 18), a holographic grating (16, Paragraphs 40 & 64), an aperture stop (Paragraph 55, the grating (16) of the optic controls the FOV on the detector thus acts as an aperture stop) and a detector (20), wherein the holographic grating is located on the at least one reflector (Paragraph 64), the aperture stop is located on the at least one reflector (Paragraph 55);
Further, the limitation, “the holographic grating is located by a holographic grating exposure system, the holographic grating exposure system comprises a first coherent light source, a second coherent light source and at least one freeform surface auxiliary mirror, the at least one freeform surface auxiliary mirror is located between the first coherent light source and the at least one reflector,” is met because as discussed above this is the system for producing the holographic grating and appears to have no use beyond that and does not serve to limit the spectrometer itself.
Regarding Claim 2, Rolland discloses the aforementioned. Further, the limitation, “further comprising an auxiliary mirror, wherein the auxiliary mirror is located between the second coherent light source and the at least one reflector,” is also drawn to parts of the exposure system.
Further, the MPEP states "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, the claim language in this claim directed to the making of the holographic element is not limiting.
Regarding Claim 3, Rolland discloses the aforementioned. Further, the limitation, “wherein a surface of the auxiliary mirror is a spherical surface, a quadratic surface, an aspherical surface, or a freeform surface,” is also drawn to parts of the exposure system.
Further, the MPEP states "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, the claim language in this claim directed to the making of the holographic element is not limiting.
Regarding Claim 4, Rolland discloses the aforementioned. Further, Rolland discloses wherein the at least one reflector is a freeform surface reflector (Paragraph 46).
Regarding Claim 5, Rolland discloses the aforementioned. Further, Rolland discloses wherein the at least one reflector comprises a plurality of reflectors, and the plurality of reflectors are spherical reflectors, quadratic reflectors, aspherical reflectors or freeform reflectors (Paragraph 46).
Regarding Claim 6, Rolland discloses the aforementioned. Further, Rolland discloses wherein the at least one reflector comprises a primary reflector (14), a secondary reflector (16) and a third reflector (18), the holographic grating and the aperture stop are both arranged on the secondary reflector (Paragraphs 40, 64, & 55), and a light emitted by an object at the slit (12) is incident on the secondary reflector after being reflected by the primary reflector, and light of different wavelengths is dispersed on the holographic grating, then is reflected by the third reflector (see fig. 1A), and finally forms a spectral image of the object at the slit on the detector (20).
Regarding Claim 6, Rolland discloses the aforementioned. Further, Rolland discloses wherein the primary reflector, the secondary reflector and the third reflector are all freeform surface reflectors (Paragraph 46).
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 October 22, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877