DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to application EP23202902.5 filed 11 October 2023.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 1-19 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the anionic surfactant." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Joziak et al. (US 8,802,060).
Joziak teaches a composition comprising malic acid (3.00%), cocoamidopropyl betaine (1%; surfactant), and water (90.92%) in Example 1 (col 8, lns 30-40). Joziak further teaches that the pH of all of their examples is about 3 to about 5 (col 2, lns 12-14). The composition of Joziak does not comprise any abrasives but does contain sodium saccharin, a sweetening agent (col 8, lns 30-40). As such, the composition of Example 1 anticipates instant claims 1, 4-12, 14, and 16.
Claims 1, 4-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Atsushi et al. (US 2003/0124068).
Atsushi teaches an example dental composition comprising malic acid (10%), sorbitol (35%; humectant), propylene glycol (5%; humectant), polyoxyethylene hydrogenated castor oil (1%; nonionic surfactant), hydroxyethyl cellulose (0.5%; thickening agent), and water (qs) wherein the pH is 4 (Table 3, example 3-3). In a different example, the oral composition comprises malic acid (5%, which anticipates “about” 4.0%), sodium lauryl sulfate (1%; anionic surfactant), and water (q.s) wherein the pH is 4.5 (Table 2, example 2-3). In Example 2-3, the balance of water equals about 95% (id). None of the examples include an abrasive agent. It is noted that the total amount of humectant (sorbitol plus propylene glycol) is 40% in example 3-3. As such, the compositions of Atsushi anticipate instant claims 1, 4-12, and 14-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsushi et al. (US 2003/0124068) in view of Nowak et al. (US 2012/0100193) in view of Witt et al. (US 6,077,502).
Atsushi teaches an example dental composition comprising malic acid (10%), sorbitol (35%; humectant), propylene glycol (5%; humectant), polyoxyethylene hydrogenated castor oil (1%; nonionic surfactant), hydroxyethyl cellulose (0.5%; thickening agent), and water (qs) wherein the pH is 4 (Table 3, example 3-3). In a different example, the oral composition comprises malic acid (5%, which anticipates “about” 4.0%), sodium lauryl sulfate (1%; anionic surfactant), and water (q.s) wherein the pH is 4.5 (Table 2, example 2-3). In Example 2-3, the balance of water equals about 95% (id). None of the examples include an abrasive agent. It is noted that the total amount of humectant (sorbitol plus propylene glycol) is 40% in example 3-3. As alternative acids to malic acid, Atsushi teaches oxalic acid [0016]. Regarding the surfactant, the total amount thereof can range from 0.1-5% [0022]. The purpose of the composition of Atsushi is as a whitening composition when applied to the surface of the teeth [0001] which can be done by way of a toothpaste [0034]. It is well known that toothpaste compositions are applied to a toothbrush and then applied to the teeth by brushing, followed by expectoration or rinsing.
Atsushi does not teach the Pellicle Cleaning Ratio of the composition nor does it teach a method of applying it to the teeth.
Nowak teaches the PCR is a known method to measure the efficacy of removing tooth stains relative to a standard [0088]. A desired PCR level to remove stain from a tooth is from 80-105 [0088].
Witt teaches that in a method for whitening teeth, the whitening composition (in the case of Witt, a chlorite ion) is applied to the toothbrush and then to the surface of the teeth wherein it is preferably left for 20 second to about 10 minutes before expectoration and rinsing (col 17, lns 29-42).
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the composition of Atsushi and modify it to comprise oxalic acid instead of malic acid. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). Moreover, it would have been obvious to use amounts of surfactant up to and including 5%.
Regarding the PCR value of the composition, Atsushi is silent to the value. Thus it would have been obvious to look to Nowak which teaches that for whitening of teeth, a PCR value of 80-105 is desired.
It would have been obvious to take the resulting oral composition and apply it to a toothbrush and then brush it onto the teeth followed by leaving it in place for up to 10 minutes before expectorating and rinsing.
Claims 1-19 are accordingly obvious in view of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-9, 14-21, and 26-28 of copending Application No. 17/580,685 in view of Atsushi et al. (US 2003/0124068).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘685 claims recite an oral composition comprising oxalic acid and thickening agents at a pH of from 4-6 but do not require a surfactant. Atsushi teaches that inclusion of a surfactant in an oral care composition heightens the whitening effect of teeth [0022]. Atsushi also provides examples wherein the acid is used in amounts ranging from 5-10% (Table 2-3). It would have been obvious to include a surfactant in the composition of ‘685 and to use oxalic acid in 5-10%, thus rendering obvious instant claims 1-15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 and 4-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 7-19, 23-25, and 27 of copending Application No. 17/971,728 in view of Atsushi et al. (US 2003/0124068).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘728 claims recite an oral composition comprising methylmalonic acid and thickening agents at a pH of from 4.5-5 but do not require a surfactant. Atsushi teaches that inclusion of a surfactant in an oral care composition heightens the whitening effect of teeth [0022]. Atsushi also provides examples wherein the acid is used in amounts ranging from 5-10% (Table 2-3). It would have been obvious to include a surfactant in the composition of ‘728 and to use the acid in 5-10%, thus rendering obvious instant claims 1-2 and 4-15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, 16-18, and 21 of copending Application No. 18/484,713 in view of Atsushi et al. (US 2003/0124068).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘713 claims recite an oral composition comprising malonic acid (2-10%) and thickening agents at a pH of from 4-5 but do not require a surfactant. Atsushi teaches that inclusion of a surfactant in an oral care composition heightens the whitening effect of teeth [0022]. Atsushi also provides examples wherein the acid is used in amounts ranging from 5-10% (Table 2-3). It would have been obvious to include a surfactant in the composition of ‘713 and to use malonic acid in 5-10%, thus rendering obvious instant claims 1-15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 18/911,395 in view of Atsushi et al. (US 2003/0124068).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘395 claims recite an oral composition comprising malonic and/or oxalic acid and thickening agents at a pH of from 4-6 and a PCR of at least 115 but do not require a surfactant. Atsushi teaches that inclusion of a surfactant in an oral care composition heightens the whitening effect of teeth [0022]. Atsushi also provides examples wherein the acid is used in amounts ranging from 5-10% (Table 2-3). It would have been obvious to include a surfactant in the composition of ‘395 and to use oxalic acid in 5-10%, thus rendering obvious instant claims 1-15 and 18.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613