Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/10/24 (two) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25, 27-35 and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,418,582 by Swain (Swain) in view of US 2021/0096936 by Seshardri et al. (Seshardri).
With respect to claim 21, Swain teaches a method, comprising:
providing, by a cloud server, an application to a client device through a first communication path; (Col. 19 lines line 53 – Col. 20 line 39, Col. 6 lines 41-51 – server application provided to client via a primary connection, such as through connection 614, server may be cloud based)
receiving, by the cloud server, a signal from the client device requesting an establishment of a new communication path; (Col. 19 lines line 53 – Col. 20 line 39, Col. 6 lines 41-51 – client may signal additional connections after 614, such as 616-620, server may be cloud based)
establishing, by the cloud server, a first connection between the cloud server and an edge server; (Col. 19 lines line 53 – Col. 20 line 39, Fig. 6 – connections are through gateway (edge))
signaling, by the cloud server, the edge server to establish a second connection between the client device and the edge server; (Col. 19 lines line 53 – Col. 20 line 39, Fig. 6 – additional connections are through gateway (edge))
establishing the new communication path between the cloud server and the client device using the first connection and the second connection, wherein the cloud server is associated with the application; (Col. 19 lines line 53 – Col. 20 line 39, Fig. 6 =– client requests establishes connections with the server)
migrating communication from the first communication path to the new communication path; and providing the application to the client device through the new communication path. (Col. 20 lines 14-39 – based on a priority ranking, a communication session can be migrated to the new connection path and provide the application through the migrated path).
Swain does not explicitly disclose the cloud server include a control plane for establishing the connection. Seshardi teaches a control plane can be used in an edge device between networks for managing connections (Paragraph 53 control plane orchestrates and manages control data flow including establishing connections).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the edge server of Swain use a control plane in establishing connections as in Seshardi. Using known control plane technology for the predictable result of establishing the connections desired in Swain would have been obvious.
With respect to claim 22, Swain teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the cloud server continues to host the application after the new communication path is established. (Col. 20 lines 39-47 – client may maintain communication session with the same server after migration to the new connection).
With respect to claim 23, Swain teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first communication path is a direct connection between the client device and the cloud server. Col. 20 lines 4-12, Col. 22 lines 22-55 – connections may be made via a number of different ways including different protocols, routing paths, which would include in scope direction connections).
With respect to claim 24, Swain teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first communication path uses a second edge server for communicating between the client device and the cloud server. (Col. 20 lines 4-12, Col. 22 lines 22-55 – connections may be made via a number of different ways including different protocols, routing paths, including using different devices such as edge devices).
With respect to claim 25, Swain teaches the method of claim 21, wherein after migrating the communication, the cloud server communicates with the client device using the new communication path. (Col. 20 lines 39-47 – client maintains communication session with the same server after migration to the new connection).
With respect to claim 27, Swain teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the signal indicates an availability of prefixes associated with the client device. (Col. 20 lines 4-12 – request includes protocol information for the different protocols being used by the client for the connections, session identifiers and property and priority information).
With respect to claim 28, Swain teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the communication between the client device and the application is not interrupted while establishing the new communication path. (Col. 20 lines 39-47 – client maintains active communication session with the same server during migrations).
With respect to claim 29, Swain teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the edge server is located at a different geographical location than the cloud server. (Col. 15 lines 19-37 – noting the edge gateway is an appliance)
Claims 30-35, 37-40 are similar in scope to claims 21-15 and 27-29 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim(s) 26, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swain and Seshardi and further in view of US 2018/0020064 by Milanese et al. (Milanese).
With respect to claim 26, Swain teaches the method of claim 21, wherein prior to the cloud server receiving the signal from the client device, the control plane sends the client device a command to migrate the communication between the client device and the cloud server from a prior communication path to the new communication path.
Milanese teaches a gateway may send a migration command to client to migrate a connection. (Paragraph 31-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the gateway in Swain send a migration command as in Milanese. One would be motivated to have this as it provides further performance advantages based on path knowledge the client may not be aware of (Milanese Paragraphs 2-3, 9-10).
Claim 36 is similar in scope to claim 26 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,120,186. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-20 of U.S. patent 12,120,186 contain every element of claims 21-40 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claims of the instant application. The claims of the instant application present the same elements of the Patent claims but from the perspective of the cloud server. Accordingly, Claims 21-40 of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim. "A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim." In re Lonqi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651.
Conclusion
/DAVID R LAZARO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455