Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “…unit(s) having” in claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a) as being anticipated by Intel (EPO EP4156639A1).
(Claim 1 discloses) a communication control device comprising: a first wired communication unit having a wired connection function (Intel shows an AP can have a wired connection to a network (paragraphs 17 and 19).); a second wired communication unit having a wired connection function and connected to a node (Intel shows an AP has a wired connection to a node or device (paragraphs 17 and 19).); a wireless communication unit having a wireless communication function (Intel shows wireless is supported (paragraphs 17 and 19).); a identifying unit connected to the first wired communication unit via a wired network to identify another communication control device that satisfies a condition Intel shows using identification (paragraphs 29-31 and 33).); and a communication control unit that establishes communication with the another communication control device via a wireless network (Intel shows establishing communication (paragraphs 29-31 and 33)).
(Claim 2 discloses) the communication control device according to claim 1, wherein the identifying unit identifies another communication control device identified by predetermined identification information (Intel shows using a MAC address in the identification (paragraph 29)).
(Claim 3 discloses) the communication control device according to claim 1, wherein the identifying unit identifies another communication control device identified by a predetermined MAC address (Intel shows using a MAC address in the identification (paragraph 29)).
(Claim 4 discloses) the communication control device according to claim 1, wherein when receiving the same frame from the another communication control device via both the wired network and the wireless network, the communication control unit transfers a frame received earlier to the node and discards a frame received later (Intel shows transferring a fram and discarding a duplicate received later (paragraphs 71 and 86)).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected according to claim 1 as recited above.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected according to claims 1 and 4 and is noted Intel also teaches multiple devices are used in the system (figure 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bae et al (US PGPUB US2005/0265372) teaches of communication in coordinator-based wireless networks connected through a backbone network.
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472