This Office Action is responsive to Applicant's Remarks filed October 30, 2026 in response to the Final Office Action mailed September 2, 2026. No amendment accompanied the Remarks. Claims 1-20 remain pending and are examined on the merits
Double Patenting
2. The Examiner has considered the claims of related Dell US Patent No. 12,608,478 (and its publication US 2025/0238516) for non-statutory double patenting. The claims of that patent do not recite the boot path management operation (managing a firmware component's storage location and the boot-event sequence that loads the operating system), and the present claims are not an obvious variant of them. No double patenting rejection is made at this time. This determination will be revisited if the claims are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
(a) Independent claims 7 and 13 recite "providing an information handling system with a distributed BIOS" without reciting a firmware component, yet the boot path management operation manages a memory storage location of "the firmware component." There is insufficient antecedent basis for "the firmware component" in claims 7 and 13. Claims 8-12 (depending from claim 7) and claims 14-20 (depending from claim 13) are rejected for the same reason by virtue of their dependency. Claim 1 recites "a distributed unified BIOS ... comprising a firmware component" and is not affected by this item; Applicant may conform claims 7 and 13 to claim 1.
(b) Independent claims 1, 7 and 13 recite "providing an information handling system" and then "identifying a processor environment installed on an information handling system." The second recitation introduces "an information handling system" anew, so it is unclear whether the processor environment is installed on the provided information handling system or on a different one. Applicant should recite "the information handling system" in the identifying step. Claims 2-6, 8-12 and 14-20 are rejected by dependency.
(c) Claims 2, 8 and 14 recite "a boot path smart cache protocol operation" and then twice refer to "the boot path smart cache operation." The latter term lacks antecedent basis and leaves unclear whether it is the same operation. Claims 3-4, 9-10 and 15-16 are rejected by dependency. Applicant should use "the boot path smart cache protocol operation" consistently.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(1) determining the scope and contents of the prior art;
(2) ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue;
(3) resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and
(4) considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
5. Claims 1, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 10,990,411 B2, "Zhu") in view of Chheda et al. (US 7,003,656 B2, "Chheda").
In order to expedite and avoid piecemeal prosecution, the following rejection is made to the extent that the claims are understood, by considering those elements which are understood and interpreting their function in a manner which is consistent with the recited goals of the claims, and then applying the best available art.
The level of ordinary skill in the art is that of a person having a bachelor's degree in electrical or computer engineering (or equivalent) and approximately two years of experience designing on-chip interconnects, bus arbiters or memory controllers, including familiarity with applying machine learning to arbitration decisions.
The examiner relies on the entire teachings of Zhu and Chheda references; the applicant should carefully consider the entire teachings of the above-mentioned references to better understand the examiner’s position.
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches a computer-implementable method for performing a firmware management operation, comprising (a method of storing and accessing firmware volumes (FVs) on a non-volatile memory device during boot of an information handling system, FIG. 6, col. 8:43-66; information handling system 100 with processors 102 and 104, NV-RAM 140 and BIOS/EFI module 142, FIG. 1, col. 2:43-55, col. 3:37-53); providing an information handling system with a distributed unified BIOS, the distributed unified BIOS comprising a firmware component (BIOS/UEFI code organized as FVs split across two non-volatile devices: FVs 312 and 314 in SPI ROM 310 and FVs 316 and 320 on boot partition 422 of NVM device 420, FIG. 4, col. 7:55-col. 8:3, or, in FIG. 5, FV 312 in SPI ROM with FVs 316, 320 and 418 on the boot partition, col. 8:21-30; the FVs' entry points are tracked in a BIOS/UEFI code mapping table, col. 7:49-54, so the BIOS is distributed across devices yet unified through one mapping; each FV is a firmware component);
and performing a boot path management operation, the boot path management operation managing a memory storage location of the firmware component during an information handling system boot process and a sequence of events that occur during the information handling system boot process to load and initialize a particular operating system (Zhu remaps FV entry points for FVs stored on boot partition 422 to maintain the boot flow, col. 7:49-54; the boot partition is accessible during the PEI, DXE or TSL phase, col. 8:3-9; the FVs are run directly out of the boot partition, col. 8:21-30; and FIG. 6 executes PEI, initializes the NVMe interface, tests for and reads the active boot partition, discovers and validates the FVs, executes them from the boot partition and resumes POST, col. 8:43-66. The sequence of events is the UEFI SEC, PEI, DXE, BDS (boot manager identifies a boot target) and TSL phases, in which the TSL launches an OS boot loader that loads the operating system and passes execution to the operating system at RT, FIG. 2, col. 6:11-38). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, "distributed unified BIOS" encompasses a single BIOS image whose components reside on more than one memory device and are addressed through a common mapping.
Zhu does not teach identifying a processor environment installed on an information handling system from a plurality of processor environments, the processor environment comprising a processor architecture. Zhu is silent as to processor-specific firmware selection.
In the same field of endeavor, Chheda teaches a firmware selector 202 that receives from processor 102 an identifier, which may identify the processor's "architecture, manufacturer, and family," at start of the computer, and in response selects, from a plurality of firmware memories 1-N each "appropriate for and correspond[ing] to a particular type [of] processor," the firmware for the installed processor (FIG. 2; col. 4:3-31; col. 4:46-53; see also col. 3:3-13), thereby identifying the installed processor environment, comprising its architecture, from a plurality of possible processor types.
Chheda also maps the firmware memory holding the selected firmware to the address space from which the processor starts executing (col. 4:36-53), i.e., it manages the storage location of the firmware used during boot.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhu's boot-path management so that the platform first identifies the installed processor architecture, as taught by Chheda, and uses that identification to select which stored FVs (and which memory location) are mapped and executed. Zhu and Chheda are analogous art: both are in the field of locating and executing boot firmware from non-volatile memory during start-up of a computer and are reasonably pertinent to the problem of making stored firmware usable by the processor that is installed. Chheda teaches that such selection allows a processor to be changed without changing the firmware memory (col. 3:8-13), a benefit that applies directly to Zhu's boot-partition FVs. The combination uses a known technique (identifier-based firmware selection) to improve a similar system (Zhu's FV mapping table) in the same way, yielding predictable results. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007); MPEP 2143(A). There was a reasonable expectation of success because Zhu already remaps FV entry points through a mapping table (col. 7:49-54) and Chheda performs the analogous mapping with address decoders (col. 4:36-46); keying the choice of mapping to a processor identifier is a routine design choice.
Regarding claim 7, Zhu teaches a system comprising: a processor; a data bus coupled to the processor; and a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium embodying computer program code, the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium being coupled to the data bus, the computer program code interacting with a plurality of computer operations and comprising instructions executable by the processor and configured for (Zhu teaches information handling system 100 with processors 102 and 104 connected to chipset 110 through processor interfaces 106 and 108 (the data bus), and NV-RAM 140 and memory 120 coupled to the chipset (FIG. 1; col. 2:43-58; col. 3:37-41). NV-RAM 140 includes BIOS/EFI module 142, which stores machine-executable BIOS/EFI code that detects, initializes and provides access to the system's resources (col. 3:47-53), and Zhu contemplates a computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution by a processor (col. 11:40-57)). Zhu further teaches providing an information handling system with a distributed BIOS (see claim 1; Zhu, col. 7:49-col. 8:3, col. 8:21-30) and performing a boot path management operation, the boot path management operation managing a memory storage location of the firmware component during an information handling system boot process and a sequence of events that occur during the information handling system boot process to load and initialize a particular operating system (see claim 1; Zhu, col. 6:11-38, col. 7:49-54, col. 8:3-9, col. 8:21-30, col. 8:43-66).
Zhu does not teach identifying a processor environment installed on an information handling system from a plurality of processor environments. In the same field of endeavor, Chheda teaches identification of the installed processor by a firmware selector and selection of the corresponding firmware from a plurality of firmware memories (col. 4:3-31, col. 4:46-53), and mapping of the selected firmware's memory for execution at start (col. 4:36-53). The motivation, analogous-art finding and reasonable expectation of success set forth for claim 1 apply equally here and are incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 13, Zhu teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium embodying computer program code, the computer program code comprising computer executable instructions configured for (Zhu teaches NV-RAM 140 with BIOS/EFI module 142 storing machine-executable BIOS/EFI code (col. 3:47-53) and a computer-readable medium storing instructions for execution by a processor, including a solid-state memory (col. 11:40-58)). Zhu further teaches providing an information handling system with a distributed BIOS (see claim 1; Zhu, col. 7:49-col. 8:3, col. 8:21-30) and performing a boot path management operation, the boot path management operation managing a memory storage location of the firmware component during an information handling system boot process and a sequence of events that occur during the information handling system boot process to load and initialize a particular operating system (see claim 1; Zhu, col. 6:11-38, col. 7:49-54, col. 8:3-9, col. 8:21-30, col. 8:43-66).
Zhu does not teach identifying a processor environment installed on an information handling system from a plurality of processor environments. In the same field of endeavor, Chheda teaches identification of the installed processor by a firmware selector and selection of the corresponding firmware from a plurality of firmware memories (col. 4:3-31, col. 4:46-53), and mapping of the selected firmware's memory for execution at start (col. 4:36-53). The motivation, analogous-art finding and reasonable expectation of success set forth for claim 1 apply equally here and are incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 19, Zhu in view of Chheda teaches claim 13. Zhu further teaches that the computer executable instructions are deployable to a client system from a server system at a remote location (baseboard management controller 190 has a network interface 194 connected to a remote management system, receives firmware updates from it, stores them and transfers them to the NV-RAM of the system, which then reboots with the updated firmware image, col. 5:29-39; the remote management system is the server at a remote location and the managed information handling system is the client; Zhu also states its teachings may be used with client/server architectures, col. 2:38-43).
6. Claims 2, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Chheda and further in view of Khatri et al. (US 9,563,439 B2, "Khatri").
The examiner relies on the entire teachings of Zhu and Chheda and Khatri references; the applicant should carefully consider the entire teachings of the above-mentioned references to better understand the examiner’s position.
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 14, Zhu in view of Chheda teaches claims 1, 7 and 13 as set forth above. Zhu further teaches that the boot path management operation performs a boot path smart cache protocol operation, the boot path smart cache operation managing a BIOS cache source device via a boot path smart cache protocol (NVM device 420, whose boot partition 422 non-volatilely holds FVs 316, 320 and 418, is initialized in PEI and is read, validated and used as the execution source for BIOS/UEFI code, col. 7:55-col. 8:30, col. 8:43-66; Zhu positions the boot partition as the faster alternative to the "very slow" SPI ROM, col. 6:39-47), and the boot path smart cache operation managing memory storage locations associated with a plurality of firmware components and a sequence of use of the memory storage locations associated with the plurality of firmware components during the information handling system boot process (Zhu manages the locations of a plurality of FVs, FVs 312 and 314 in SPI ROM and FVs 316, 320 and 418 on the boot partition, with entry points remapped in a BIOS/UEFI code mapping table, col. 7:28-54, col. 8:21-30, and uses them in the order of FIG. 6: PEI, NVMe interface initialization, boot-partition read, FV discovery, FV validation and FV execution, col. 8:43-66). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, "BIOS cache source device" is the non-volatile device from which cached BIOS code is sourced.
Zhu and Chheda do not teach that the boot-partition store operates as a BIOS cache managed by a defined cache protocol. Zhu describes running FVs from the boot partition, "obviating the need to shadow" the code (col. 8:26-30), and does not describe cache states or cache-validity management.
In the same field of endeavor, Khatri teaches an NVDIMM that serves as a BIOS/firmware cache: BIOS, UEFI and other firmware instructions are cached in the NVDIMM and used on subsequent boots to reduce boot time (col. 8:56-62); BIOS code is saved to a designated BIOS cache partition (col. 5:13-16); a cache protocol sets the caching to "inactive," initializes the BIOS chipset and NVDIMM, caches the OPROMs and then the BIOS image, claims the NVDIMM cache as a BIOS resource not available to the OS, and sets the caching to "active" so the processor knows the cache is safe and accurate (blocks 209-214; col. 9:4-21); the cache is write-protected (col. 5:30-33) and is flushed or updated according to intrusion or configuration changes (col. 9:21-29). Khatri thus manages designated locations for a plurality of firmware components (OPROMs and the BIOS image) in a fixed order within the boot flow (col. 9:4-21; col. 5:14-26).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to manage Zhu's NVMe boot-partition FV store with the cache protocol that Khatri applies to its NVDIMM BIOS cache. Zhu and Khatri are directed to the same problem and field: avoiding the slow SPI flash interface by placing BIOS firmware in faster non-volatile memory to shorten platform boot (Zhu, col. 6:39-47, col. 8:26-30; Khatri, col. 5:17-19, col. 8:56-62). Khatri's active/inactive status, validity handling and claim-as-BIOS-resource steps are known techniques for assuring that cached firmware is safe to use, and applying them to Zhu's boot partition, which Zhu already discovers and validates before use (col. 8:56-62), would have produced the predictable result of a validated, protected BIOS cache source. See KSR; MPEP 2143(A). A person of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both references operate in the UEFI/POST flow and store the same kind of firmware images in non-volatile memory outside the SPI ROM. Claims 8 and 14 recite the same added limitations as claim 2 and are rejected on the same grounds, with the base-claim rejections of claims 7 and 13 applied.
Examiner's note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passages as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 3-6, 9-12 and 15-18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (and if the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues in ¶5 are also corrected).
8. The following is an Examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the limitations of the respective base claim and intervening claim: (i) a boot path smart cache protocol operation that creates a BIOS context cache table (claims 3, 9, 15) having a BIOS section portion, a boot mode portion and a boot phase portion (claims 4, 10, 16); (ii) handing cache operations over to multiprocessor services executing on the information handling system (claims 5, 11, 17); or (iii) assigning portions of the distributed unified BIOS to associated Application Processor Units (claims 6, 12, 18); or (iv) providing software and firmware to users by a service provider on demand (claim 20).
Response to Applicant's After-Final Remarks
9. This Office Action is responsive to Applicant's Remarks filed October 30, 2026 in response to the Final Office Action mailed September 2, 2026.
Applicant argues that Barigi et al. (US 2025/0245015) is disqualified as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) because Barigi and the present application were both assigned to Dell Products L.P. at the time of filing. The Examiner has verified, from the assignment records and the face of Barigi, that Barigi (filed January 31, 2024; published July 31, 2025) is assigned to Dell Products L.P. and that the present application (filed October 10, 2024) is assigned to the same entity. Barigi was neither patented nor published before the effective filing date of the present application, so it qualifies, if at all, only under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Because the subject matter of Barigi and the claimed invention were owned by, or subject to an obligation of assignment to, the same person not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Barigi is excepted under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C). See MPEP 2154.02(c). The same exception removes Barigi as a reference under 35 U.S.C. 103. Applicant's argument is persuasive to that extent, and the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) over Barigi is withdrawn. The Examiner has not reached Applicant's remaining argument that the claims distinguish over Barigi on the merits.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below rely on references that qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (each was patented before the effective filing date), to which the 102(b)(2)(C) exception does not apply. Because these grounds are not necessitated by an amendment to the claims, this action cannot properly be made final. The finality of the Office Action mailed September 2, 2026 is withdrawn, and this Office Action is made NON-FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a), 706.07(d).
Conclusion
10. All claims are rejected.
11. The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McAvoy, US 7,925,875 B2 – boot table keyed to an architecture identifier, used to locate the bootstrap code for the system's processor architecture (multi-architecture boot); an alternative secondary reference to Chheda for the processor-environment limitation.
Bulusu et al., US 7,305,544 B2 – flash holding interleaved boot blocks for multiple CPU architectures so that only the matching block executes.
Gu et al., US 7,584,374 B2 – drivers and configuration variables cached in reserved memory for faster resume instead of reading from slow flash.
Le et al., US 5,794,054 – flash ROM BIOS shadowed into main memory after boot; background for the shadowing practice that Zhu avoids.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [raymond.phan@uspto.gov].
All Internet e-mail communications will be made of record in the application file. PTO employees do not engage in Internet communications where there exists a possibility that sensitive information could be identified or exchanged unless the record includes a properly signed express waiver of the confidentiality requirements of 35 U.S.C. 122. This is more clearly set forth in the Interim Internet Usage Policy published in the Official Gazette of the Patent and Trademark on February 25, 1997 at 1195 OG 89.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the TC 2100 central telephone number is (571) 272-2100.
/RAYMOND N PHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175