Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 8/15/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 8 is new claims 1-8 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In light of amendment the rejections towards JEON have been withdrawn.
The Examiner maintains the ODP rejections.
In light of amendment the Examiner maintains the objections to the specification and drawings. The Examiner still does not know what “gush” or “grush” means. The Examiner made a translation of the original Japanese document which gave the word as “grash” means to gnash or grind teeth [see attached translation]
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant uses the term “gush” 11 times in the specification. This appears to be a mistranslation or a typo.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in steps 14 and 22 the applicant uses the term “gush”. This appears to be either a mistranslation or a typo. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/993,864 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending ‘864 application claims recycled resin from used diaper mixed with pulp to form a resin molded article. The ‘864 application does not explicitly specify that the pulp is from a recycled used paper diaper. On the onset the source of the pulp is not limiting as this is a product by process limitation. In the alternative it would be obvious to additionally reclaim the used pulp from the diaper for use a pulp in a molded product as the resin is already being reclaimed.
Claims 1, 6, and 8 see copending claims 1 and 2.
Claim 2 see copending claim 2.
Claim 3 it is the Examiners position that recycling diapers will leave a small amount of SAP present with the pulp/resin recycled.
Instant claim 4 see copending claim 4.
Instant claim 5 see copending claim 5
Claim 7 see copending claim 8.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. The Examiner notes that the ‘864 application has been granted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2015/0291762 WATANANBE et al., hereinafter WATANABE.
As for claim 1, WATANANBE discloses recycling diapers to obtain a pulp [Figure 1] and molding the recycled fiber into a molded product. The recycled fiber comprises less than 10% super absorbent polymer [0032] and therefore the pulp product is 90% or greater. A superabsorbent polymer is a resin containing product which includes PVA/sodium polyacrylate
As for claim 2, resin amount of less than 10% overlaps with sufficient specificity to the instant claimed range [0024]. WATANABE also gives the specific example of 2.3 and 6.3% resin which falls within the claimed range [0128].
As for claim 3, the resin material is also a superabsorbent polymer and overlaps with sufficient specificity to the instant claimed range [0024]. WATANABE also gives the specific example of 2.3 and 6.3% resin which falls within the claimed range [0128].
As for claim 6, WATANABE discloses a moiled product made with the paper pulp of claim 1 [0024]. The making of the product by “hot molding” is a product by process limitation and is non-limiting.
As for claim 8, WATANANBE discloses a pulp product with 100% recycled fiber use [0150].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2015/0291762 WATANANBE et al., hereinafter WATANABE in view of JP 2002161499 TOSHIYA et al., hereinafter TOSHIYA.
As for claims 4, 5, and 6, WATANABE discloses a molded product but does not disclose how to make the product (hot molding) or the use of colorants/calcium compounds. TOYISHA discloses a method of hot molding pulp [0021]. TOYISHA discloses that powders including calcium carbonate can be added (a white compound) to increase opacity [0023].
At the time of the invention it would be obvious to perform pulp molding of WATANANBE by the hot molding of TOSHIYA. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as TOSHIYA discloses the hot molding method allows for the formation of molded products that are uniform and have a good appearance [0028]. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect success as TOSHIYA states that recycled fiber can be used in the molding process [0022] and WATANANBE discloses that the recycled fiber can be used for molding.
Although TOSHIYA does not give a specific amount of calcium carbonate to use the amount is a result effective variable that effects opacity and color. It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of calcium carbonate powder added through routine experimentation to obtain a desired opacity/color.
As for claim 7, TOYISHA discloses the molded product can have an outer laminated layer [0004, 0015].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748