DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14, 17-18, & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takei et al. (US 2023/0268132) in view of Sato et al. (US 2007/0047175).
In regards to claim 13,
Takei ‘132 discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (11 – fig. 1; [0040]) including a dielectric layer ([0050]) and an internal electrode (12 & 13 – fig. 2; [0050]) disposed alternately with the dielectric layer in a first direction, the body having first and second surfaces (M1 & M2 – fig. 2; [0042]) opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces (S1 & S2 – fig. 1; [0042]) opposing each other in a second direction, crossing the first direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces (S3 & S4 – fig. 1 & 4; [0042]) opposing each other in a third direction, crossing the first and second directions, the body having a first edge surface (R3 – fig. 1 & 4; [0044]) connected to the first to third and fifth surfaces, a second edge surface (R2 – fig. 1 & 4; [0044]) connected to the first, second, fourth and fifth surfaces, a third edge surface (R4 – fig. 1 & 4; [0044]) connected to the first, second, fourth and sixth surfaces and opposing the first edge surface, and a fourth edge surface (R1 – fig. 1 & 4; [0044]) connected to the first, second, third and sixth surfaces and opposing the second edge surface; and
an external electrode (14 – fig. 1; [0040]) disposed on the body,
wherein the internal electrode includes a first internal electrode (13 – fig. 3 & 14) in contact with the first and third edge surfaces, and a second internal electrode (12 – fig. 2 & 14) in contact with the second and fourth edge surfaces, and
the external electrode includes first and third external electrodes (14c & 14d – fig. 3 & 14) respectively disposed on the first and third edge surfaces to be in contact with the first internal electrode, and second and fourth external electrodes (14a & 14b – fig. 2 & 14) respectively disposed on the second and fourth edge surfaces to be in contact with the second internal electrode. Takei ‘132 fails to disclose the first edge surface includes a straight portion extending between the third and fifth surfaces.
Sato ‘175 discloses a straight portion extending between the third and fifth surfaces is an alternative to a rounded portion connecting between the third and fifth surfaces (fig. 3; [0087] & [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rounded portion of Takei ‘132 as a straight line portion as taught by Sato ‘175 as such a structure is a known alternative to the rounded portion as taught by Sato ‘175.
In regards to claim 14,
Takei ‘132 as modified by Sato ‘175 further discloses wherein with respect to a cross-section of the body in the second and third directions, the first to fourth edge surfaces cross the second and third directions, respectively (fig. 4 of Takei ‘132).
In regards to claim 17,
Takei ‘132 as modified by Sato ‘175 further discloses wherein the first external electrode covers a portion of the third surface and a portion of the fifth surface (fig. 1-3 & 14 of Takei ‘132),
the second external electrode covers a portion of the fourth surface and a portion of the fifth surface (fig. 1-3 & 14 of Takei ‘132),
the third external electrode covers a portion of the fourth surface and a portion of the sixth surface (fig. 1-3 & 14 of Takei ‘132), and
the fourth external electrode covers a portion of the third surface and a portion of the sixth surface (fig. 1-3 & 14 of Takei ‘132).
In regards to claim 18, Takei ‘132 discloses
A multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (11 – fig. 1; [0040]) including a dielectric layer ([0050]) and an internal electrode (12 & 13 – fig. 2; [0050]) disposed alternately with the dielectric layer in a first direction, the body having first and second surfaces (M1 & M2 – fig. 2; [0042]) opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces (S1 & S2 – fig. 1; [0042]) opposing each other in a second direction, crossing the first direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces (S3 & S4 – fig. 1 & 4; [0042]) opposing each other in a third direction, crossing the first and second directions, the body having a first edge surface (R3 – fig. 1 & 4; [0044]) connected to the first to third and fifth surfaces, a second edge surface (R2 – fig. 1 & 4; [0044]) connected to the first, second, fourth and fifth surfaces, a third edge surface (R4 – fig. 1 & 4; [0044]) connected to the first, second, fourth and sixth surfaces and opposing the first edge surface, and a fourth edge surface (R1 – fig. 1 & 4; [0044]) connected to the first, second, third and sixth surfaces and opposing the second edge surface; and
an external electrode (14 – fig. 1; [0040]) disposed on the body,
wherein the internal electrode includes a first internal electrode (13 – fig. 3 & 14) in contact with the first and third edge surfaces, and a second internal electrode (12 – fig. 2 & 14) in contact with the second and fourth edge surfaces, and
the external electrode includes first and third external electrodes (14c & 14d – fig. 3 & 14) respectively disposed on the first and third edge surfaces to be in contact with the first internal electrode, and second and fourth external electrodes (14a & 14b – fig. 2 & 14) respectively disposed on the second and fourth edge surfaces to be in contact with the second internal electrode. Takei ‘132 fails to disclose with respect to a cross-section of the body in the second and third directions, the body has a substantially octagonal shape.
Sato ‘175 discloses a straight portion extending between the third and fifth surfaces is an alternative to a rounded portion connecting between the third and fifth surfaces (fig. 3; [0087] & [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rounded portion of Takei ‘132 as a straight line portion as taught by Sato ‘175 thus obtaining with respect to a cross-section of the body in the second and third directions, the body has a substantially octagonal shape as such a structure is a known alternative to the rounded portion as taught by Sato ‘175.
In regards to claim 21,
Takei ‘132 as modified by Sato ‘175 further discloses wherein the first external electrode covers a portion of the third surface and a portion of the fifth surface (fig. 1-3 & 14 of Takei ‘132),
the second external electrode covers a portion of the fourth surface and a portion of the fifth surface (fig. 1-3 & 14 of Takei ‘132),
the third external electrode covers a portion of the fourth surface and a portion of the sixth surface (fig. 1-3 & 14 of Takei ‘132), and
the fourth external electrode covers a portion of the third surface and a portion of the sixth surface (fig. 1-3 & 14 of Takei ‘132).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 1-2 & 4-12 is/are allowed.
Claim(s) 15-16 & 19-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) a multilayer electronic component comprising: a body including a dielectric layer and an internal electrode disposed alternately with the dielectric layer in a first direction, the body having first and second surfaces opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces opposing each other in a second direction, crossing the first direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces opposing each other in a third direction, crossing the first and second directions, the body having a first edge surface connected to the first to third and fifth surfaces, a second edge surface connected to the first, second, fourth and fifth surfaces, a third edge surface connected to the first, second, fourth and sixth surfaces and opposing the first edge surface, and a fourth edge surface connected to the first, second, third and sixth surfaces and opposing the second edge surface; and wherein the internal electrode includes a first internal electrode in contact with the first and third edge surfaces, and a second internal electrode in contact with the second and fourth edge surfaces, the first internal electrode is spaced apart from the third to sixth surfaces and the second and fourth edge surfaces, and the second internal electrode is spaced apart from the third to sixth surfaces and the first and third edge surfaces (claims 1-2 & 4-12), wherein the first internal electrode is spaced apart from the third to sixth surfaces and the second and fourth edge surfaces, and the second internal electrode is spaced apart from the third to sixth surfaces and the first and third edge surfaces (claim 15), wherein with respect to a cross-section of the body in the second and third directions, a length BL of one of the first to fourth edge surfaces and a length IEL of the internal electrode in contact with the one of the first to fourth edge surfaces satisfy IEL < BL (claim 16), wherein the first internal electrode is spaced apart from the third to sixth surfaces and the second and fourth edge surfaces, and the second internal electrode is spaced apart from the third to sixth surfaces and the first and third edge surfaces (claim 19), & wherein with respect to the cross-section of the body in the second and third directions, a length BL of one of the first to fourth edge surfaces and a length IEL of the internal electrode in contact with the one of the first to fourth edge surfaces satisfy IEL < BL (claim 20).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847