DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied.
NEW REJECTIONS: NECESSITATED BY AMENDMENT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9, 11, 14, 17-18, 21, 79-80, and 83-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Trudeau (US 2018/0149449) in view of US Branda et al. (20150109651 A1).
Re claims 1, 4, 11, 14, 17-18, 21, 79-80, and 83-86, Trudeau discloses a window that is resistant to bullets [12, 13]. The window comprises blowback sheet 14 (corresponding to claimed single ply film), glass 12, and three layer laminate 18, 22, 26 [39, 40, Fig 2]. Layer 18 is a pressure sensitive adhesive [40]. Given that the window is resistant to bullets it would inherently have the break strength and meet the ballistic standard as claimed and the window would necessarily be transparent and inherently have optical clarity as claimed.
Re claim 9, Trudeau discloses window as described above, however, there is no disclosure of thickness as claimed.
However, Trudeau discloses the thickness is about ½ inch which given that “about” includes values slightly above and below those recited would meet the claimed “about” 0.75 inch. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges of thickness recitation of claimed values for improving structural rigidity taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. MPEP 2144.05. Alternatively, Trudeau discloses that other thickness are contemplated [38] and that the glass can be provided in various thicknesses [39].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use glass with thickness, including that presently claimed, in Trudeau in order to produce a window with desired characteristics depending on its end use.
Re claims 83-86, Trudeau doesn’t teach the PSA and plies with PET as claimed.
Branda teaches the substrate is [125] bullet-resistant, has adhesive as claimed and of PET [0075-77] to attach functional layers as needed see further FIG. and associated text for optimal functionality be it light attenuation, strength, and uses at least a 7 stack configuration [191-193], see Tables and FIG. 7 and associated text.
It would have be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the PSA, plies, and PET for Branda teaches use for providing at least additional strength in adhering the constructions, seven additional plies equating to at least 14 embraces that claimed and are deemed obvious under duplication of parts.
Claims 2, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trudeau (US 2018/0149449) in view of US Branda et al. (20150109651 A1) and furhter in view of Teddington (US 5,645,940).
Trudeau is relied upon above.
Re claims 2, 6, and 18, Trudeau discloses window as described above, however, there is no disclosure of adhesive adhering the singly ply to the glass.
Teddington discloses a layer of glass having a coating adhered thereto by a pressure sensitive adhesive having peel strength of at least 3000 g/in2 or at least 6.6 psi (lb/in2) (col.3, lines 39-45). The adhesive provides shatterproof properties to the glass (col.3, lines 50-52 and col.4, lines 1-5).
In light of the motivation for using pressure sensitive adhesive disclosed by Trudeau as described above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary kill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the adhesive to adhere the singly ply to the glass in Trudeau in order to produce a window that is shatterproof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the newly amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new rejection includes a new ground necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The remaining references listed on form(s) 892 and/or 1449 and the International search report have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
US 20220196369 teaches the PET 112, Fig. 1 and adhesive on it, with visibility, and [17] has the tensile strength of between about 30,000 pounds per square inch (psi) (overlapping) and has multiple glass layers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TAMRA L. DICUS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/TAMRA L. DICUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787