DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/922533, filed on 10/31/2022.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20090251654 A1 to Itou et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Itou discloses an array substrate, comprising: a base substrate (See at least Fig. 3); a plurality of gate lines each extending in a first direction on the base substrate (Fig. 3 scanning line GL); a plurality of data lines each extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Fig. 3 signal line SL); a plurality of pixel units located in regions defined by the gate lines and the data lines (See at least Fig. 3), wherein each pixel unit has a first side and a second side each extending in the second direction and opposite to each other in the first direction (as shown in at least Fig. 3), each pixel unit comprises a first electrode, the first electrode comprises a plurality of strip-shaped electrodes (See at least Fig. 25), at least part of the strip-shaped electrodes each have a first part and a second part extending in different directions (as shown in Fig. 25), first parts are connected at the first side, second parts are disconnected at the second side, and lengths of the first part and the second part are different (as shown in Fig. 25), wherein the strip-shaped electrodes each extend along a third direction (See at least Fig. 4) and are arranged along a fourth direction (See at least Fig. 4) intersecting the third direction (as shown in Fig. 4); the first electrode further comprises a connection electrode, the connection electrode comprises a first connection electrode (See Fig. 4 upper portion of electrode PE), a second connection electrode (See Fig. 4 lower portion of electrode PE) and a third connection electrode (See Fig. 4 right edge of pixel PE), the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode each extend in the first direction and are arranged in the second direction (as shown in Fig.4), and the third connection electrode is connected to the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode at the first side (as shown in Fig. 4); each first part is connected to the first connection electrode or the third connection electrode (as shown in Fig. 4); each strip-shaped electrode is connected between the second connection electrode and the third connection electrode (as shown in Fig. 4) and is not overlapped with the second side (as shown in at least Fig. 4), and a length of an orthographic projection of each strip-shaped electrode in the first direction is less than a distance between the first side and the second side (as can be seen from both Fig. 4 and Fig. 24, where the strip shape electrodes do not overlap or exceed the pixel unit edge).
Regarding Claim 2. Itou further discloses an included angle between the direction in which each first part extends and the direction in which each second part extends is greater than about 0° and less than or equal to about 45° (as can be seen from Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 4. Itou further discloses a line width of each first part is the same as a line width of each second part (as shown in Fig. 4 and Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 6. Itou further discloses the strip-shaped electrodes comprises a plurality of first strip-shaped electrodes and a plurality of second strip-shaped electrodes, a direction in which the first strip-shaped electrodes each extend is different from a direction in which the second strip-shaped electrodes each extend (as shown in Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 7. Itou further discloses the first strip-shaped electrodes and the second strip-shaped electrodes are symmetrical with respect to the first direction (as shown in Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 8. Itou further discloses an included angle between the first strip-shaped electrodes and the second strip-shaped electrodes is greater than or equal to about 80° and less than or equal to about 100°, or an included angle between the first strip-shaped electrodes and the second strip-shaped electrodes is greater than about 0° and less than or equal to about 10° (See para 75).
Regarding Claim 9. Itou further discloses each of the second parts is bent toward a side away from a symmetry axis of the first strip-shaped electrodes and the second strip-shaped electrodes, or each of the second parts is bent toward a side close to a symmetry axis of the first strip-shaped electrodes and the second strip-shaped electrodes (See at least Fig. 4 or Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 10. Itou further discloses a distance between each strip-shaped electrode and the symmetry axis gradually decreases from an end of the strip-shaped electrode close to the first side to an end of the strip-shaped electrode close to the second side (See Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 12. Itou further discloses a distance between each strip-shaped electrode and the symmetry axis gradually increases from an end of the strip-shaped electrode close to the first side to an end of the strip-shaped electrode close to the second side (See Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 13. Itou further discloses the connection electrode further comprises a fourth connection electrode, the fourth connection electrode extends in the first direction and is arranged in the second direction, and the third connection electrode is further connected to the fourth connection electrode at the first side (See Fig. 4 and Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 14. Itou further discloses for the first strip-shaped electrodes and the second strip-shaped electrodes having orthographic projections each with a length in the first direction less than a distance between the first side and the second side and not overlapping the second side, each first strip-shaped electrode is connected between the first connection electrode and the third connection electrode, and each second strip-shaped electrode is connected between the second connection electrode and the third connection electrode; the first part of each first strip-shaped electrode is connected to the third connection electrode or the fourth connection electrode; the first part of each second strip-shaped electrode is connected to the third connection electrode or the fourth connection electrode (as show in Fig. 4 or Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 15. Itou further discloses each pixel unit further comprises a second electrode between the first electrode and the base substrate or on a side of the first electrode away from the base substrate, and the second electrode is a planar electrode (See at least para 10 and Fig. 2B common electrode CE).
Regarding Claim 16. Itou further discloses an orthographic projection of the first electrode on the base substrate is within an orthographic projection of the second electrode on the base substrate, and wherein a distance between a boundary of the orthographic projection of the second electrode on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the data line adjacent to the second electrode on the base substrate is less than a distance between a boundary of the orthographic projection of the first electrode on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the data line adjacent to the first electrode on the base substrate (as seen in Fig. 2A).
Regarding Claim 17. Itou further discloses a first alignment layer on a side, away from the base substrate, of a layer where the pixel units are located (Fig. 2 second alignment film AL2), and an alignment direction of the first alignment layer is configured to be in a direction from the first side to the second side (See Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 para 78).
Regarding Claim 18. Itou further discloses the array substrate of claim 1 and a color filter substrate arranged opposite to each other; and a liquid crystal layer between the array substrate and the color filter substrate (See Fig. 2A first substrate SU1 and liquid crystal layer LCL).
Regarding Claim 19. Itou further discloses the color filter substrate comprises a black matrix, or the array substrate comprises a black matrix on a side of the pixel electrode facing the liquid crystal layer; at least part of an orthographic projection of each second part on a layer where the liquid crystal display panel is located is within an orthographic projection of the black matrix on the layer where the liquid crystal display panel is located (See Fig. 2A black matrix BM).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itou as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20160041439 A1 to Sakai et al.
Regarding Claim 5. As stated above, Itou discloses all the limitations of base claim 1
Itou does not specifically disclose that a farthest end of each second part away from the first part is of a round angle.
However, Sakai discloses a farthest end of each second part away from the first part is of a round angle (See at least Fig. 6 para 57) indicating that patterning an electrode without any rounded angles are nearly impossible.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include a farthest end of each second part away from the first part is of a round angle, because it is known in the art that pattern pixels without rounded angle are prohibitive to produce.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itou as applied to claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20. As stated above, Itou discloses all the limitations of base claim 19
Itou does not specifically disclose that a line width dBM of the black matrix satisfies a following relation: dBM=dcell+2×dalignment, dcell is a thickness of a cell of the liquid crystal display panel formed between the array substrate and the color filter substrate, dalignment indicates an alignment accuracy between the array substrate and the color filter substrate of the liquid crystal display panel.
However, Itou discloses a black matrix with a line width (See at least Fig. 2A). The line width dBM of the black matrix is a result-effective variable. In that, a width too wide would reduce pixel aperture resulting in poor imagery, and a width too thin would fail to provide adequate contrast between pixels resulting in poor imagery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that a line width dBM of the black matrix satisfies a following relation: dBM=dcell+2×dalignment, dcell is a thickness of a cell of the liquid crystal display panel formed between the array substrate and the color filter substrate, dalignment indicates an alignment accuracy between the array substrate and the color filter substrate of the liquid crystal display panel to provide proper contrast is based on a result effective variable and would require routine skill in the art. Furthermore, it has been held that that determining the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 (II (A) and (B)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871