Continuation
This application is a continuation of U.S application No. 18/076,747 and 16/527,188. Both applications are issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,152,407 and 11,572,708 respectively.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the specification is silent about claim 9 limitation “the third key.” Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because the specification is silent about claim 17 limitation “the second set of grooves have a longer longitudinal length than the first set of grooves.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because the specification is silent about limitation “the third key.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the limitation “withing” in line 4. It is suggested amending the limitation to “within.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because the specification is silent about limitation “the second set of grooves have a longer longitudinal length than the first set of grooves.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-3, and 5-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Chong (U.S. Pub. App. 2008-0236224).
For claim 2, Chong discloses, in Figures 1-52, a method of rekeying a lock cylinder (abstract) comprising:
inserting a first key into a keyway opening of a plug body (40) of a plug assembly (14) disposed within a cylinder body (12), wherein the first key positions at least one key follower (38) and corresponding at least one rack (92) such that a locking bar (94) is moved towards an unlocked position and spaced apart from a groove (29) of the cylinder body (12, Figure 12.);
rotating the plug assembly at least partially around a longitudinal axis of the cylinder body (S104 in Figure 36A);
moving a carrier (90) supporting the at least one rack (92) and the locking bar (94) relative to the plug body such that the at least one rack disengages with the at least one key follower (S106 in Figure 36A);
removing the first key from the keyway opening (Valid key 160 is removed. para. [0091]);
inserting a different second key into the keyway opening (a second valid key is inserted, para. [0091]); and
rotating the plug assembly at least partially around the longitudinal axis, wherein rotation of the plug assembly automatically returns position of the carrier with respect to the plug body such that the at least one rack engages with the at least one key follower at a bitting position that corresponds to the second key (Plug assembly is rotated, causing the rack 92 to re-engage the follower 38. The lock is keyed to the second key. Para. [0091]), and wherein engagement of the at least one rack (92) to the at least one key follower (38) occurs along a direction of the longitudinal axis (Figures 2 and 4), and the at least one rack (92) defines at least one pin follower engagement feature (groove between 122, Figure 18) and the at least one key follower (38) defines at least one rack engagement feature (113), the at least one pin follower engagement feature being a slot defined within the at least one rack and including a series of semi-cylindrical grooves (The groove between teeth defines a slot within the rack 92, and the surface 118 has a series of semi-cylindrical grooves. Figure 18.)
For claim 3, Chong discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the at least one rack (92) is engageable with the at least one key follower (38) at least seven different bitting positions (Rack 92 has at least seven different positions, Figure 18.)
13. For claim 5, Chong discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the at least one rack engagement feature is a post with a set of ridges (In Figure 20, bottom portion of 113 defines the post and 114 defines the ridges. In Figure 28, the structure that carries 248 defines the post and 248 defines the ridge.) and the series of semi-cylindrical grooves includes a first set of grooves disposed on a first side of the slot adjacent the at least one key follower and a second set of grooves disposed on an opposite second side of the slot, and wherein the set of ridges interface with grooves from both the first set of grooves and the second set of grooves (In Figure 18, the space between two adjacent gear teeth, at the mid portion, defines the slot. The portion above the slot defines the first side and the set of teeth on the first side engages at least one key follower. The portion below the slot defines the opposite second side and the set of teeth on the second side engages at least one key follower. The set of ridges of the rack engagement features engages with first and second set of teeth [grooves]. Figure 7.)
For claim 6, Chong discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the first set of grooves are offset from the second set of grooves (Based on claim 5, see Figure 18.)
For claim 7, Chong discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the series of semi-cylindrical grooves includes a first set of grooves disposed on a first side of the slot adjacent the at least one key follower and a second set of grooves disposed on an opposite second side of the slot, and wherein the at least one rack engagement features interfaces with the second set of grooves prior to the first set of grooves during engagement (Figures 18 A and 18B.)
For claim 8, Chong discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the first set of grooves are offset from the second set of grooves (Figures 18A and 18B.)
For claim 9, Chong discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising inserting a different third key into the keyway opening (one of the user keys define a third key, para. [0006]), wherein the third key positions the at least one key follower (38) and the corresponding at least one rack (92) such that the locking bar (94) is moved towards a locked position (Figure 7) and preventing rotation of the plug assembly within the cylinder body, and wherein when the locking bar is in the locked position, at least a portion of the locking bar (94) is disposed within a locking bar engaging groove of the at least one rack (Figure 7.)
For claim 10, Chong discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the carrier (90) moves in a direction that is parallel to the longitudinal axis (Figures 2 and 4.)
16. For claim 11, Chong discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the at least one rack engagement feature is a post (bottom part of 113 defines the post, Figure 20), wherein when the post is engaged with the slot, the post does not extend entirely through the slot (Figure 12.)
16. For claim 12, Chong discloses the method of claim 2, wherein each groove of the series of semi-cylindrical grooves are spaced from one another by an increment distance that is equal to the incremental distance separating each consecutive bitting position on the second key (Figures 7, 12, 18, and 20.)
17. For claim 13, Chong discloses, in Figures 1-52, a method of assembling a rekeyable lock cylinder comprising:
providing a cylinder body (12) defining a groove (29, Figure 7);
assembling a plug assembly (14) including a plug body (40), at least one key follower (38), and a carrier subassembly (42), wherein the carrier subassembly includes a carrier (90), at least one rack (92) engaged with the at least one key follower (38), and a locking bar (94), and wherein the at least one rack (92) is supported by the carrier and the at least one rack is selectively disengageable from the at least one key follower to facilitate rekeying between different keys (Abstract. Figure 36A-36C); and
rotatably supporting the plug assembly (14) at least partially within the cylinder body (12) and around a longitudinal axis such that the locking bar (94) is movable between a locked position and engaged with the groove (29) of the cylinder body for blocking rotation of the plug assembly (14) with respect to the cylinder body (12, Figure 7) and an unlocked position spaced apart from the groove (29) of the cylinder body to allow rotation of the plug assembly with respect to the cylinder body (Figure 12),
wherein the at least one rack (92) controls movement of the locking bar (94) between the locked and unlocked positions (Figures 7 and 12), the at least one rack (92) defines at least one key follower engagement feature (groove between 122, Figure 18) and the at least one key follower (38) defines at least one rack engagement feature (113), the at least one key follower engagement feature being a slot defined within the at least one rack and including a series of semi-cylindrical grooves (The space between two adjacent teeth, at the mid portion, defines a slot within the rack 92, and the surface 118 has a series of semi-cylindrical grooves. Figure 18.)
18. For claim 14, Chong discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising providing the at least one key follower (38) with the at least one rack engagement feature being a post including at least one barrel (the bottom part of 113 defines the post, and top part defines a barrel with gear teeth n114. Figure 20. The structure that carries 246 defines the post and the 244 defines the barrel, in Figures 28.)
19. For claim 15, Chong discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising providing the at least one key follower (38) with the at least one rack engagement feature being a post including a set of ridges (The bottom part of 113 defines the post and 114 defines the ridges, in Figure 20. 246 defines the ridge and the portion that carries 246 defines the post in Figure 28.)
20. For claim 16, Chong discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising providing the at least one rack (92) with the series of semi-cylindrical grooves including a first set of grooves disposed on a first side of the slot and a second set of grooves disposed on an opposite second side of the slot (Figure 18.)
21. For claim 17, Chong discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the second set of grooves have a longer longitudinal length than the first set of grooves (Figures 18A and 18B.)
22. For claim 18, Chong discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the first set of grooves is offset from the second set of grooves (Figure 18.)
23. For claim 19, Chong discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the at least one rack engagement feature is a post (bottom part of 113 defines the post, Figure 20), wherein when the post is engaged with the slot, the post does not extend entirely through the slot (Figure 12.)
24. For claim 20, Chong discloses the method of claim 13, wherein when the locking bar (94) is in the locked position (Figure 7), at least a portion of the locking bar (94) is disposed within a locking bar engaging groove of the at least one rack (rack 92, Figure 7.)
25. For claim 21, Chong discloses, in Figures 1-52, a rekeyable lock cylinder comprising:
a cylinder body (12) with a longitudinal axis and formed to define a groove (29);
a plug assembly (14) disposed in the cylinder body (12) and being rotatable about the longitudinal axis;
at least one key follower (38) and corresponding at least one rack (92) disposed in the plug assembly (14), wherein the at least one rack (92) is selectively disengageable from the at least one key follower (38) to facilitate rekeying between different keys (Abstract. Figure 36A-36C); and
a locking bar (94) movable between a locked position engaged with the groove of the cylinder body for blocking rotation of the plug assembly with respect to the cylinder body (Figure 7) and an unlocked position spaced apart from the groove of the cylinder body to allow rotation of the plug assembly with respect to the cylinder body (Figure 12),
wherein the at least one rack (92) controls movement of the locking bar (94) between the locked and unlocked positions (Figures 7 and 12), the at least one key follower (38) includes a post (In Figure 20, bottom portion of 113 defines the post, and in Figure 28, the structure that carries 248 defines the post.) and the at least one rack (92) includes a complementary slot, the slot having a first side with a first set of key follower engagement features and an opposite second side with a second set of key follower engagement features, the first set of key follower engagement features offset from the second set of key follower engagement features (In Figure 18, the space between two adjacent gear teeth, at the mid portion, defines the slot. The portion above the slot defines the first side and the set of teeth on the first side defines the first set of key follower engagement features. The portion below the slot defines the opposite second side and the set of teeth on the second side defines the second set of key follower engagement features. The first set of key follower engagement features offset from the second set of key follower engagement features.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
29. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong (U.S. Pub. App. 2008-0236224) alone.
30. For claim 4, Chong discloses the method of claim 3, except for wherein the at least one rack (92) is engageable with the at least one key follower (38) at twelve different bitting positions. Chong discloses at least one rack (92) engageable with the at least one key follower 38 at multiple bitting positions, as in Figure 12. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify Chong to have the at least one rack (92) is engageable with the at least one key follower (38) at twelve different bitting positions, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. One skill in the art would realize that having twelve bitting positions would yield fine adjustments in key setting.
Conclusion
31. Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Huang (U.S. Pub. App. 2009-0277234), Damikolas (U.S. Patent No. 8,291,735), and Walls (U.S. Patent No. 9,435,138).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675